Meath V Tyrone

I understand we're all frustrated, it was a gutting loss and we should have been given a free near the end and so on, but game is over boys and girls, nothing we can do about it now. Fact of the matter is the game was in our hands, we were a point up with seconds to go and couldn't hold on, that's entirely own fault, not Tyrone's, not the referee's, it was us, we threw it away.

Now I'm honestly not having a go at our players, it was a heart breaking loss after a great effort but as long as they learn from this, that's the important thing. I also hope that McEntee reflects and realizes that no matter how frustrating things get you need to hold the head better than that, how can he credibly tell his players not to react when he gets so irate himself. It's nice to see such passion for Meath football, but shouting abuse at an official is not the correct way of expressing such passion.

Cooler heads need to prevail.

Htaem (Meath) - Posts: 8657 - 11/06/2018 12:37:08    2109907

Replying To longroadback:  "49 frees awarded during the match, Tyrone were awarded 30 of them, says a lot, Paddy Neilans Championship should be over the same as ours, We need to learn to be a bit more savvy but my god, the Tyrone medical staff would have covered as much ground as some of the players, the play acting and down right cheating and time wasting. so frustrating that the ref seemed to buy it all the time, think that we will have to go the way of soccer, if a player is down for treatment he should be made leave the field for a play, It is an absolute cancer of the game and leaves it impossible for the refs to tell if someone is genuinely injured."
I hate to see our supporters publicly moaning so much about the ref. It reminds me of the Mayo supporters going back. We have had our fair share of luck with referees decision in the past so while I agree we didn't get some of the correct decisions at key moments in this game it comes around and goes around. Its an amateur game with amateur refs. We just need to take in on the chin and move on.

Poormouth (Meath) - Posts: 204 - 11/06/2018 12:39:44    2109908

Happened to overhear the match being "discussed" on Newstalk this morning. Brushed over ref performance and spent most of time critising Andy McEntee and what sanctions he will face. Sounded like they had no idea what happened during the match

leftandwide (Meath) - Posts: 91 - 11/06/2018 12:42:26    2109911

Replying To royaldunne:  "Well then no problem with them coming back. But anyone who left cause of management, there can be no return,"
dead right

meath1977 (Meath) - Posts: 534 - 11/06/2018 12:42:41    2109912

Replying To royaldunne:  "Well then no problem with them coming back. But anyone who left cause of management, there can be no return,"
I must have missed your appointment to the Meath management setup?

RoylerKing (Meath) - Posts: 809 - 11/06/2018 13:34:13    2109931

Disgraceful behaviour by the manager at the end of the game, the poor referee trully shocking to see, Meath can thank God that RTÉ hadn't been televising it live cause they'd be in big big trouble over the attack on the referee.

THE_SNAPPER (Louth) - Posts: 2019 - 11/06/2018 13:54:11    2109942

Replying To THE_SNAPPER:  "Disgraceful behaviour by the manager at the end of the game, the poor referee trully shocking to see, Meath can thank God that RTÉ hadn't been televising it live cause they'd be in big big trouble over the attack on the referee."
Irony hasn't reached the wee county yet

leftandwide (Meath) - Posts: 91 - 11/06/2018 14:10:38    2109951

Replying To THE_SNAPPER:  "Disgraceful behaviour by the manager at the end of the game, the poor referee trully shocking to see, Meath can thank God that RTÉ hadn't been televising it live cause they'd be in big big trouble over the attack on the referee."
Sure look it could have been worse, could have actually been attacked by supporters.
The ref wasn't attacked thank God verbally abused yes. We have abit more decorum & respect for our county.
Whats RTE got to do with it, it was aired live on SkySports.

Loyalroyal17 (Meath) - Posts: 627 - 11/06/2018 14:25:55    2109964

Replying To royaldunne:  "Ahh Jesus can you not see he actually questioned them , each and every single one of them."
RD not so long ago that some posters on here were questioning Kevin Reillys committment to Meath jearsey,

seadog54 (Meath) - Posts: 2142 - 11/06/2018 15:30:57    2110012

Replying To GlasgowRoyal:  "See to be honest, unless its players who have left for work/study or-and I'm guessing here in this instance-Rooney say going back to get his fitness up, I not sure I'd want the players who have dropped off the panel this year to come back. I've far greater respect for those who put their shoulder to the wheel in difficult times than the likes of those who followed POR's mantra and left when the going got tough. On a side note, I hope Alan Forde will make his return at some stage, he was missed."
I understand where you are coming from, however I would like to know exactly why so many called it a day, Tobin for example has been a good servant to Meath content to play his part mostly off the bench. Why would lads put in so much over winter months just to pack it in before championship. All thes lads cannot be tarred with same brush there is simply too many of them. Hope we get some honest feedback over coming months. Agree Forde would be a great addition

seadog54 (Meath) - Posts: 2142 - 11/06/2018 15:42:57    2110017

Replying To Loyalroyal17:  "Sure look it could have been worse, could have actually been attacked by supporters.
The ref wasn't attacked thank God verbally abused yes. We have abit more decorum & respect for our county.
Whats RTE got to do with it, it was aired live on SkySports."
Not everyone has SkySports, RTÉ is the national broadcaster, many many people would not have witnessed the scenes at the end of the game. The stewards saved the referee from a physical assault I've no doubts, the verbal attack looked to be a particularly vicious one by a Meath manager who was clearly out of control. God only knows what may have ensued had he not been restrained, the referee is only human.....where is dellboypolecat, I'd like to hear the views of a Tyrone man (and referee) now living in Meath ?

THE_SNAPPER (Louth) - Posts: 2019 - 11/06/2018 16:42:53    2110080

Replying To longroadback:  "49 frees awarded during the match, Tyrone were awarded 30 of them, says a lot, Paddy Neilans Championship should be over the same as ours, We need to learn to be a bit more savvy but my god, the Tyrone medical staff would have covered as much ground as some of the players, the play acting and down right cheating and time wasting. so frustrating that the ref seemed to buy it all the time, think that we will have to go the way of soccer, if a player is down for treatment he should be made leave the field for a play, It is an absolute cancer of the game and leaves it impossible for the refs to tell if someone is genuinely injured."
Frees: Tyrone 26 (9, 5); Meath 17 (6, 3

Please see above free count for normal and extra time . so your numbers are not accurate

Dellboypolecat (Tyrone) - Posts: 15069 - 11/06/2018 17:05:06    2110098

Replying To SS6:  "Who exactly left because of work and studies?

Jones and??

The rest left because of management, we have gone backwards in the last 2 years"
Jones, O'Coilean, Harnan all for work/studies. Somebody on the forum said Tobin and McKeever in America, not sure about them two. And maybe instead of criticising the manager the players who left should take a look at themselves. Considering Andy is more successful as a manager than any of them are as players

LeitrimRoyal99 (Meath) - Posts: 1458 - 11/06/2018 17:17:18    2110111

Replying To royaldunne:  "Jones I think will be back, as hopefully will Alan Forde. Newman if he can get his fitness up. Harnan might also."
Pretty sure Jones' college course is two years in America and he just finished the first one, so unless he opts for a different option in college he won't be back for the 2019 season

LeitrimRoyal99 (Meath) - Posts: 1458 - 11/06/2018 17:18:57    2110113

Replying To THE_SNAPPER:  "Not everyone has SkySports, RTÉ is the national broadcaster, many many people would not have witnessed the scenes at the end of the game. The stewards saved the referee from a physical assault I've no doubts, the verbal attack looked to be a particularly vicious one by a Meath manager who was clearly out of control. God only knows what may have ensued had he not been restrained, the referee is only human.....where is dellboypolecat, I'd like to hear the views of a Tyrone man (and referee) now living in Meath ?"
Pot calling kettle black I wonder??

ClonardGael (Meath) - Posts: 75 - 11/06/2018 17:32:41    2110122

Jones most likely won't be back as another poster said unless something changes and Harnan won't be back either. I though Alan Forde would be back playing club football by now but it is hard to come back from such a long term injury.

I hope if Andy stays on that he can try to get the players the left back in, if our bench was stronger on Saturday we could have won the game, players coming off the bench are so important and some of the players we brought in on Saturday just aren't up to inter county standard in my opinion.

Players like D.Tobin, S Tobin, P McKeever, b.Conlon, M Newman, Alan Forde and R O'Coilean would add serious strength to our squad and will be needed if we are to improve next year.

Barney123 (Meath) - Posts: 676 - 11/06/2018 17:51:06    2110136

Replying To LeitrimRoyal99:  "Jones, O'Coilean, Harnan all for work/studies. Somebody on the forum said Tobin and McKeever in America, not sure about them two. And maybe instead of criticising the manager the players who left should take a look at themselves. Considering Andy is more successful as a manager than any of them are as players"
Well said

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 11/06/2018 17:59:02    2110141

Replying To LeitrimRoyal99:  "Pretty sure Jones' college course is two years in America and he just finished the first one, so unless he opts for a different option in college he won't be back for the 2019 season"
Didn't know it was for two years. That's a pity. But the guys studies must come first. It's also a pity as he had huge praise for mcentee.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 11/06/2018 18:01:09    2110143

There is the difference when your on the sideline if your ranting and raving and questioning everything. Stopping the linesman etc your not fully concentrating on the game. fit and well looked after maybe that's a given for any team but at end of day it's a game of football with on any given day can change so you ned to b thinking and fully concentrating on job at hand. Let's hope he learnt now.

Reco (Meath) - Posts: 419 - 11/06/2018 18:30:41    2110164

Despite a good performance, in both 2nd halves in particular we, once again are out of the Championship early. It was a great opportunity missed.
I was livid with the ref. after the game, I have since watched the game back and the refs terrible performance was confirmed. He was awful and really shouldn't ref at inter county level again. Having said that his incompetence wasn't only against Meath. If we had of come out on top Tyrone would have been moaning (with equal justification) at a number of decisions that went against them.
At the end of the day it was a disappointing end to a very disappointing year. If we get the best players playing for the county we have a chance. If a change in management must happen to facilitate that so be it. Coming after the worst Championship defeat in decades against Longford I think Andy knew this was last chance saloon time for him and this cause the overly emotional reaction.

pauk123 (USA) - Posts: 189 - 11/06/2018 18:42:23    2110170