Minor Football Championship 2018

No thread that I can see yet?
Great win for Meath last night v dubs after a very convincing win over Westmeath.
Are Kerry as strong this year?

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 24/05/2018 07:42:38    2103440

Congrats to Meath, they seemed to have more resilience last night and showed great fight.

Never any harm for a young Dublin team to loose a game and learn the lessons, this age group is all about development for me and ive been delighted with the round robin format, It does have things stacked against Leinster counties if you have interest in winning it but like i say the grade is all about development. I very much like a few of the individual players togging out for Dublin some very decent prospects and individual performances.

TheUsername (Dublin) - Posts: 4445 - 24/05/2018 10:44:44    2103477

Replying To royaldunne:  "No thread that I can see yet?
Great win for Meath last night v dubs after a very convincing win over Westmeath.
Are Kerry as strong this year?"
Congrats to Meath last night royaldunne, and no our young Kerry minors aren't great this year, we're poor enough around the middle, by all accounts I hear Tyrone are the team to watch out for this year.

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 24/05/2018 11:18:30    2103499

Replying To KingdomBoy1:  "Congrats to Meath last night royaldunne, and no our young Kerry minors aren't great this year, we're poor enough around the middle, by all accounts I hear Tyrone are the team to watch out for this year."
Dublin minors must be starting from a lower ebb kingdom boy?

I thought money was suppose to make us win everything? And all these suppose top class coaches we have? And the 1.5 million people we have playing Gaa?

clondalkindub (Dublin) - Posts: 9926 - 24/05/2018 11:36:56    2103506

Well done Meath good to see a winning Meath team.

I'd never of said this back in the day but Meath have gone too far back it's not even funny any more.

clondalkindub (Dublin) - Posts: 9926 - 24/05/2018 11:40:04    2103509

Replying To KingdomBoy1:  "Congrats to Meath last night royaldunne, and no our young Kerry minors aren't great this year, we're poor enough around the middle, by all accounts I hear Tyrone are the team to watch out for this year."
Seen Tyrone in the flesh. Strong around the middle and have a very good powerful full forward. Did they strike me as All Ireland winners? I am not so sure. They swatted aside Donegal in emphatic fashion but by all accounts Donegal were a shambles off the field with alot of unrest on the sideline. The two sides were closely matched in the league and the year before in the Buncrana cup. Donegal were very wasteful in the first half and should have gone into half time ahead before imploding in the 2nd half. I also seen Monaghan who won the Ulster league but gotta outta jail against Donegal in the qualifiers. No question Donegal should have won but the young Monaghan side showed great character and resilience to get a result that day. They will make it hard for anybody to beat them. My hunch is that the winner will come from one of the other provinces this year but this is a call in the dark as I have no idea how teams there are shaping up.

panamasam (Australia) - Posts: 2782 - 24/05/2018 12:46:49    2103533

Replying To clondalkindub:  "Dublin minors must be starting from a lower ebb kingdom boy?

I thought money was suppose to make us win everything? And all these suppose top class coaches we have? And the 1.5 million people we have playing Gaa?"
Hi yer not gone yet , lets return to this again in August.

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 24/05/2018 15:13:29    2103581

Not sure where Galway are at in the grand scheme of things, but two hammerings so far in Connacht. 4-18 to 0-08 v Ros, and followed that up with 3-15 to 0-10 over Sligo. Funnily enough Mayo beat Leitrim well (as expected), but got beat out the gate by Roscommon then. Hard to read into these things since the lads are all so young, but you'd assume the Rossies had an off day v Galway. We're going for 4 in a row Connacht Minor titles so if that can be secured then could surely be in the mix come the business end of the All-Ireland series. That said, we could be blown apart outside of Connacht. Very hard to read these things as I said.

Townee2018 (Galway) - Posts: 281 - 24/05/2018 15:45:08    2103594

Replying To panamasam:  "Seen Tyrone in the flesh. Strong around the middle and have a very good powerful full forward. Did they strike me as All Ireland winners? I am not so sure. They swatted aside Donegal in emphatic fashion but by all accounts Donegal were a shambles off the field with alot of unrest on the sideline. The two sides were closely matched in the league and the year before in the Buncrana cup. Donegal were very wasteful in the first half and should have gone into half time ahead before imploding in the 2nd half. I also seen Monaghan who won the Ulster league but gotta outta jail against Donegal in the qualifiers. No question Donegal should have won but the young Monaghan side showed great character and resilience to get a result that day. They will make it hard for anybody to beat them. My hunch is that the winner will come from one of the other provinces this year but this is a call in the dark as I have no idea how teams there are shaping up."
Are ye playing the round robin in ulster Panamasam? I think we're changing to it down here next year which will give all teams more games.

Should they have a super 8s for minor and U20s I wonder?

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 24/05/2018 16:13:45    2103603

Meath were brillant from start to finish. The hunger and passion was a sight to behold. It was old school Meath. They werent going to leave that field without victory. There is definalty a seachange at underage football. But we still need to turn this into trophies, something we have failed to do.

The change is for most of this decade Dublin have been wiping the floor at under 21 and minor with us, Kildare also. kildare have had their best underage period since the late 60s early 70s. And Dublin in this decade have produced the best minor team ever to come from the capital and some of the greatest under 21 teams from Dublin ever. Meath have had some bad defeats v the Dubs recently.

But after 10 years of ignoring underage Meath have started to put in the work at underage recently. In the last 3 or 4 years at under 14 16 17 you could see that the gap had not only closed. But Meath were now beaten Dublin regularly . This is so important. In terms of Meath football sucess has always been based on the ability to beat Dublin. Because of the rivalry. But also a realisation if you want to be sucessful in leinster you have to beat the Dubs. The Dubs have always been the benchmark and the kingpins of leinster football.

So Meath underage teams now to start beating the Dubs year after year is great not because its the old rival, but its means that when these players turn senior they will have no fear or aura v Dubs. This more then likely could lead to defeats at senior level for Dublin. Its not guaranteed but it is a masive massive help and positive development.

Look at this way in the last 3 years Meath have played Dublin 4 times at minor level ( including the new minor grade under 17 leinster final last year).In those 4 games v Dublin , Meath minors have had 3 victories v the Dubs in 3 years and in the other minor game v Dublin, Meath played Dublin off the field for 30 mins with 10 point lead at half time before a second half Dublin come back. Its been a long, long, long time since any county in leinster or lreland has in 3 years had 3 victories and another 1 strong performance v the Dubs at any grade, at any level. Its good to see for Meath and for leinster football in general.

But the problem is, we have a issue . That issue in that we now need to win trophies. When we hammered the Dubs at minor level in 2016 ,we didnt win leinster. kildare beat us the semis. For me now we should be going for our second or even are third leinster minor title in 3 or 4 years.If you beat Dublin you really should be winning leinster. I get the feeling we sometimes we believe , when Dublin are beaten we now have the title. We dont seem to realise when we beat Dublin, everyone else gets a lift and feels they can win leinster. And what has happened is we beat Dublin and then kildare beat us.Kildare have been a real nemesis for us at underage recently also. And my worry is they will knock us out and you have Dublin v kildare final. We need to start turning these results into titles. We have had some real results in last few years with the exception of under 17 new minor title last year, we havent won leinster. We need to follow this win up with a leinster title. If not, its another missed opportunity and very worrying development.

We had two strong minor teams in last 2 years ,1 team hammered Dublin the other played the Dubs off the field for half an hour. But we didnt even reach leinster final after. Kildare have been just as a big team for us beat at underage level recently. We need to turn these results into trophies. We have failed badly so far. But last night and under 17 win last year v the Dubs does give one hope there is still life and fight in the old county of Meath yet. We havent gone away and we are still here beating Dublin teams. Its great to see. Good for Meath and good for leinster and even good for the Dubs , for a strong competitive Meath is important. To give the Dubs credit they have alway relished great battles with Meath. And many of their supporters would welcome a more competitive Meath. Football needs a strong Meath v Dublin rivalry. Hopefully this is a new beginning for Meath football. Not another false dawn .

Furlong1949 (Meath) - Posts: 1067 - 24/05/2018 16:15:37    2103605

Fantastic result and it's very deserved. Looking like a Meath Dublin final now, which I would very confident of winning. Let us hope this recent underage success follows through to senior level and we can start winning Leinsters again. We are slowly but surely getting back to where we belong.

TrimJim (Meath) - Posts: 24 - 24/05/2018 16:26:23    2103609

GO ON DA ROYAL!!!

Htaem (Meath) - Posts: 8657 - 24/05/2018 16:45:30    2103615

Replying To KingdomBoy1:  "Are ye playing the round robin in ulster Panamasam? I think we're changing to it down here next year which will give all teams more games.

Should they have a super 8s for minor and U20s I wonder?"
No but there was a back door system which was not in place before. Meaning teams got a second chance when beaten or as in the case of Tyrone 2 games to an Ulster semi final if unbeaten. Where those beaten like Monaghan have 4 games all in a row as far as I am aware or definitely 3 in a row.

I would not like to see a Super 8's system in place for minors or U-20's. While I am looking forward to the Super 8's and the possibility that it might bring about change to the unequal provincial systems I do believe that its main purpose is about money. I thought the system that was in place with quarter finals was perfectly fine the problem was the different paths teams had to get there a problem not really addressed. If it was in place young players in Ulster would be fleeced games wise before any minor or U-20 Super 8 system. Plus there is no real financial gain there for the GAA. We seen what happened to the Donegal U-21's last year who were clearly a very talented bunch but would have needed to be exceptional to beat the Dubs given their contrasting schedules.

I think a quarter final system is fine for underage football where the gaps are more marginal than at senior level. The turnover of players from year to year means that a side not necessarily strong one year can be the following year something which is not comparable to senior football. Like I said the same system at senior level was perfectly fine the problems were the comparable paths to get there. Ulster finally have given teams beaten a 2nd chance which I am all in favour of. There is a good Ulster league in place where players get plenty of experience before championship.

panamasam (Australia) - Posts: 2782 - 24/05/2018 16:51:45    2103618

Replying To Furlong1949:  "Meath were brillant from start to finish. The hunger and passion was a sight to behold. It was old school Meath. They werent going to leave that field without victory. There is definalty a seachange at underage football. But we still need to turn this into trophies, something we have failed to do.

The change is for most of this decade Dublin have been wiping the floor at under 21 and minor with us, Kildare also. kildare have had their best underage period since the late 60s early 70s. And Dublin in this decade have produced the best minor team ever to come from the capital and some of the greatest under 21 teams from Dublin ever. Meath have had some bad defeats v the Dubs recently.

But after 10 years of ignoring underage Meath have started to put in the work at underage recently. In the last 3 or 4 years at under 14 16 17 you could see that the gap had not only closed. But Meath were now beaten Dublin regularly . This is so important. In terms of Meath football sucess has always been based on the ability to beat Dublin. Because of the rivalry. But also a realisation if you want to be sucessful in leinster you have to beat the Dubs. The Dubs have always been the benchmark and the kingpins of leinster football.

So Meath underage teams now to start beating the Dubs year after year is great not because its the old rival, but its means that when these players turn senior they will have no fear or aura v Dubs. This more then likely could lead to defeats at senior level for Dublin. Its not guaranteed but it is a masive massive help and positive development.

Look at this way in the last 3 years Meath have played Dublin 4 times at minor level ( including the new minor grade under 17 leinster final last year).In those 4 games v Dublin , Meath minors have had 3 victories v the Dubs in 3 years and in the other minor game v Dublin, Meath played Dublin off the field for 30 mins with 10 point lead at half time before a second half Dublin come back. Its been a long, long, long time since any county in leinster or lreland has in 3 years had 3 victories and another 1 strong performance v the Dubs at any grade, at any level. Its good to see for Meath and for leinster football in general.

But the problem is, we have a issue . That issue in that we now need to win trophies. When we hammered the Dubs at minor level in 2016 ,we didnt win leinster. kildare beat us the semis. For me now we should be going for our second or even are third leinster minor title in 3 or 4 years.If you beat Dublin you really should be winning leinster. I get the feeling we sometimes we believe , when Dublin are beaten we now have the title. We dont seem to realise when we beat Dublin, everyone else gets a lift and feels they can win leinster. And what has happened is we beat Dublin and then kildare beat us.Kildare have been a real nemesis for us at underage recently also. And my worry is they will knock us out and you have Dublin v kildare final. We need to start turning these results into titles. We have had some real results in last few years with the exception of under 17 new minor title last year, we havent won leinster. We need to follow this win up with a leinster title. If not, its another missed opportunity and very worrying development.

We had two strong minor teams in last 2 years ,1 team hammered Dublin the other played the Dubs off the field for half an hour. But we didnt even reach leinster final after. Kildare have been just as a big team for us beat at underage level recently. We need to turn these results into trophies. We have failed badly so far. But last night and under 17 win last year v the Dubs does give one hope there is still life and fight in the old county of Meath yet. We havent gone away and we are still here beating Dublin teams. Its great to see. Good for Meath and good for leinster and even good for the Dubs , for a strong competitive Meath is important. To give the Dubs credit they have alway relished great battles with Meath. And many of their supporters would welcome a more competitive Meath. Football needs a strong Meath v Dublin rivalry. Hopefully this is a new beginning for Meath football. Not another false dawn ."
Meath underage is showing signs of progress.

It's not essential that you win titles though. Development is key at that age.

The one thing that titles can do is forge an identity with the county team. Create a positive atmosphere around representing Meath.

Otherwise getting good quality games are the main thing.

The new Leinster minor football championship is a great format for that goal. Loads of games for teams to get stuck into.

Ulster could do with looking at similar.

Whammo86 (Antrim) - Posts: 4226 - 24/05/2018 17:01:54    2103621

Replying To panamasam:  "No but there was a back door system which was not in place before. Meaning teams got a second chance when beaten or as in the case of Tyrone 2 games to an Ulster semi final if unbeaten. Where those beaten like Monaghan have 4 games all in a row as far as I am aware or definitely 3 in a row.

I would not like to see a Super 8's system in place for minors or U-20's. While I am looking forward to the Super 8's and the possibility that it might bring about change to the unequal provincial systems I do believe that its main purpose is about money. I thought the system that was in place with quarter finals was perfectly fine the problem was the different paths teams had to get there a problem not really addressed. If it was in place young players in Ulster would be fleeced games wise before any minor or U-20 Super 8 system. Plus there is no real financial gain there for the GAA. We seen what happened to the Donegal U-21's last year who were clearly a very talented bunch but would have needed to be exceptional to beat the Dubs given their contrasting schedules.

I think a quarter final system is fine for underage football where the gaps are more marginal than at senior level. The turnover of players from year to year means that a side not necessarily strong one year can be the following year something which is not comparable to senior football. Like I said the same system at senior level was perfectly fine the problems were the comparable paths to get there. Ulster finally have given teams beaten a 2nd chance which I am all in favour of. There is a good Ulster league in place where players get plenty of experience before championship."
The back door system is in place for minor level only. I would like to see something similar adapted to U-20 level but most of the players there will have had plenty of inter county games at U-16 with the Buncrana Cup, the U-17 Ulster league and championship before reaching U-20 level.

panamasam (Australia) - Posts: 2782 - 24/05/2018 17:55:45    2103644

Replying To Furlong1949:  "Meath were brillant from start to finish. The hunger and passion was a sight to behold. It was old school Meath. They werent going to leave that field without victory. There is definalty a seachange at underage football. But we still need to turn this into trophies, something we have failed to do.

We had two strong minor teams in last 2 years ,1 team hammered Dublin the other played the Dubs off the field for half an hour. But we didnt even reach leinster final after. Kildare have been just as a big team for us beat at underage level recently. We need to turn these results into trophies. We have failed badly so far. But last night and under 17 win last year v the Dubs does give one hope there is still life and fight in the old county of Meath yet. We havent gone away and we are still here beating Dublin teams. Its great to see. Good for Meath and good for leinster and even good for the Dubs , for a strong competitive Meath is important. To give the Dubs credit they have alway relished great battles with Meath. And many of their supporters would welcome a more competitive Meath. Football needs a strong Meath v Dublin rivalry. Hopefully this is a new beginning for Meath football. Not another false dawn ."
I really admire the passion and commitment behind your post mate, but i would say its a little misleading, Dublin are historically poor at minor level for many different reasons. Im not so sure we are the benchmark at that level with only 11 titles in our history 1930, '45, '54, '55, '56, '58, '59, '79, '82, '84, 2012. I think we have won 33 odd in Leinster which a poor return across the grades. All the more remarkable given the lack of success at minor but the massive success at U21 in quick succession.

Im not so sure its that telling toward the senior game to be honest, some counties go out for titles others use it as a vehicle for development and experimentation.

Dublin didnt win 1 minor title in 00's and one in 2012 but went on to dominate the decade at senior.

I think Dublin have an development approach to minor myself, its about playing games and exposure, less so about the end result, not that they dont go out to be competitive but its all about collecting the cream for senior at the end of the day, the U21's/20's is finishing school and the harvesting of that developed with an eye to senior, the difference between success between the grades is evident so the approach has been worthwhile.

TheUsername (Dublin) - Posts: 4445 - 24/05/2018 21:15:09    2103681

Replying To panamasam:  "No but there was a back door system which was not in place before. Meaning teams got a second chance when beaten or as in the case of Tyrone 2 games to an Ulster semi final if unbeaten. Where those beaten like Monaghan have 4 games all in a row as far as I am aware or definitely 3 in a row.

I think a quarter final system is fine for underage football where the gaps are more marginal than at senior level. The turnover of players from year to year means that a side not necessarily strong one year can be the following year something which is not comparable to senior football. Like I said the same system at senior level was perfectly fine the problems were the comparable paths to get there. Ulster finally have given teams beaten a 2nd chance which I am all in favour of. There is a good Ulster league in place where players get plenty of experience before championship."
Ya you make some good points there Panamasam and ya ye were really hamstrung last year at U21 having to play the Wednesday night before a Saturday semifinal.

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 24/05/2018 22:35:03    2103699

Well done Meath lads, future ain't so bleak after all!

realdub (Dublin) - Posts: 8592 - 24/05/2018 22:48:46    2103702

Replying To KingdomBoy1:  "Ya you make some good points there Panamasam and ya ye were really hamstrung last year at U21 having to play the Wednesday night before a Saturday semifinal."
It was actually the Monday night having played the Wednesday prior to that. But alot of the players did not get home till 2 or 3 am. Plus a postponement, and a replay over a shorter period than the Leinster championship was run off. Anyways the point is still the same. I would leave the minor and U-20 as it is in terms of how they are run with minor having a round robin or back door system. Something similar could be run for the U-20's but I am ok with the more traditional winner takes all scenario with quarter finals for the provincial finalists. Actually a back door system at U-20 similar to senior could be very interesting but I am not sure if there would be much appetite for that with the hierarchies or county boards.

panamasam (Australia) - Posts: 2782 - 25/05/2018 00:16:18    2103711

Replying To TheUsername:  "I really admire the passion and commitment behind your post mate, but i would say its a little misleading, Dublin are historically poor at minor level for many different reasons. Im not so sure we are the benchmark at that level with only 11 titles in our history 1930, '45, '54, '55, '56, '58, '59, '79, '82, '84, 2012. I think we have won 33 odd in Leinster which a poor return across the grades. All the more remarkable given the lack of success at minor but the massive success at U21 in quick succession.

Im not so sure its that telling toward the senior game to be honest, some counties go out for titles others use it as a vehicle for development and experimentation.

Dublin didnt win 1 minor title in 00's and one in 2012 but went on to dominate the decade at senior.

I think Dublin have an development approach to minor myself, its about playing games and exposure, less so about the end result, not that they dont go out to be competitive but its all about collecting the cream for senior at the end of the day, the U21's/20's is finishing school and the harvesting of that developed with an eye to senior, the difference between success between the grades is evident so the approach has been worthwhile."
You say Dublin arent the benchmark at minor level in leinster, I think the below says something different
Top 5 teams in leinster minor football

1 Dublin 33 leinster minor titles
2 Meath 10 leinster minor titles
3 laois 9 leinster minor titles
4 Kildare 8 leinster minor titles
5 Louth 8 leinster minor titles

Below are all the counties in leinster who have won or reached an All Ireland minor final

1 Dublin 11 All Ireland minor titles / 10 All Ireland minor runners up
2 Meath 3 All Ireland minor titles / 3 All Ireland minor runners up
3 Laois 3 All Ireland minor titles/ 3 All Ireland minor runners up
4 Louth 2 All Ireland minor titles/ 2 All Ireland minor runners up
5 Offaly 1 All Ireland minor title/ 1 All Ireland minor runners up
6 Westmeath 1 All Ireland minor title/ 1 All Ireland minor runners up
7 Kildare 0 All Ireland minor titles/ 1 All Ireland minor runners up
8 Longford 0 All Ireland minor titles/ 1 All Ireland minor runners up

Furlong1949 (Meath) - Posts: 1067 - 25/05/2018 02:29:18    2103715