Meath V Longford

Replying To royaldunne:  "The players who left are for the most part. NOT GOOD ENOUGH. And would not have featured today. what is so hard to understand about that??"
McKeever and Tobin would have made a difference today if they were on the panel.

UsernameInvalid (Meath) - Posts: 355 - 27/05/2018 20:24:39    2104306

I was not at all shocked today. I did think we would pull it off up until midway through the second half and the passage of play that went from a Meath attack to a Longford point and the sending off. Also the passage of play where 3 meath players conspired to give the ball to a Longford player resulting in a point. But I wasn at all shocked at the loss. Let's face it, Longford took much better scores than us today.

I think that Meath played as well as that team of players can. We have lost Rooney, Tobin, McKeever, Douglas, Conlon and Power amoung others in recent months and I would suggest that most of these losses were avoidable. Sean Boylan had Brian Smyth in his background team and he did a super job on the man management side. It seems that Andy doesnt see that side of the jo to be important. I would go as far as saying that a team of other players in the county (currently fit) would beat that team out there today.

Another point on Andy, I have a few issues with his interviews. In the chronicle interview in the lead up to the game he stated that the players on this panel are the ones that want to play for meath. If I was one of the players that dropped off I would take offence at that. They trained hard since last november and played the league and O'Byrne Cup and are continuing to fulfill club duties. i suggest that they are just as committed to the players out there today.

Also, Andy was a little aggrieved when the interviewer on LMFM suggested that both teams had goal chances in the first half stating that only Meath had goal chances. Well I saw Longford get at least two good goal chances in that time.

Best of luck to Longford against the Dubs, they'll need it.

oldsam_newsam (Meath) - Posts: 638 - 27/05/2018 20:25:59    2104307

I was not at all shocked today. I did think we would pull it off up until midway through the second half and the passage of play that went from a Meath attack to a Longford point and the sending off. Also the passage of play where 3 meath players conspired to give the ball to a Longford player resulting in a point. But I wasn at all shocked at the loss. Let's face it, Longford took much better scores than us today.

I think that Meath played as well as that team of players can. We have lost Rooney, Tobin, McKeever, Douglas, Conlon and Power amoung others in recent months and I would suggest that most of these losses were avoidable. Sean Boylan had Brian Smyth in his background team and he did a super job on the man management side. It seems that Andy doesnt see that side of the jo to be important. I would go as far as saying that a team of other players in the county (currently fit) would beat that team out there today.

Another point on Andy, I have a few issues with his interviews. In the chronicle interview in the lead up to the game he stated that the players on this panel are the ones that want to play for meath. If I was one of the players that dropped off I would take offence at that. They trained hard since last november and played the league and O'Byrne Cup and are continuing to fulfill club duties. i suggest that they are just as committed to the players out there today.

Also, Andy was a little aggrieved when the interviewer on LMFM suggested that both teams had goal chances in the first half stating that only Meath had goal chances. Well I saw Longford get at least two good goal chances in that time.

Best of luck to Longford against the Dubs, they'll need it.

oldsam_newsam (Meath) - Posts: 638 - 27/05/2018 20:26:08    2104308

Replying To Furlong1949:  "Well done to longford well deserved win.

Meath, well I would say and I know we are all very disappointed. Im sick with disappointment to the pit of my stomach. But it was always going to be this way. We are years behind the top teams. McEntee needs to be given two more years. We will probaly have Forde Mckeever Jones Rooney O Coilean back in next 2 years and some of the underage players will come through. Try to get into div 1 next year. The fact is Dwyer Boylan and McGee had nightmare results in their first 3 years. Boylan hammered by laois , Dwyer walks away frm kildare and McGee losing first round match to div 4 team all in third year in charge. Walsh had hammerings in year 2 v Tipp and year 3 with Rossies. Gilroy had record defeats v kerry in year 1 and Meath in year 2. This part of the course. I know i know this is a gut wrenching sickening feeling to the guts. Criticize the management the team say negative things. You are entitled to be angry and furious. You are right to feel this way. But I plead for the sake of Meath football no knee jerk reactions. As long as McEntee is given another 2 years that is the only chance we have of digging ourselves out of this mess. Armagh gave McGeeney 4 years and he hasnt won 1 single match in Ulster and spent 3 of the last 4 years in division 3. We have to give McEntee the same timescale.If after year 4 the same results then he goes. Use the next two years to develop an sucessor. Someone like Geraghty should be charge of the under 20s.

Again this is bad result in our history. The same as as louth in 75, Wexford 81, Longford 82, Laois 85, Dublin 95, Fermanagh in 03 and 04 , Cavan in 05, Wexford in 06 and 08, limerick in 08, Dublin 14, Westmeath and Derry in 15. The train will leave the station again next year. We arent as bad as we are today. There is light at the end of the tunnell. I believe we are 12 to 24 months away were we want to be. Thats just my opinion I could be right I could be wrong.

We are all hugely disappointed. And you are right to criticise and be angry. But I would plead with Meath supporters that gettin McEntee out aint going to help us in the long run and I believe if he goes this year we more then likely follow the path of laois and Derry to div 4. Thats just my opinion. Thats all.
It is a bad bad day for Meath football. Hugely disappointed. But well done to longford. The better team won."
Were you actually at the game today? This looks like a post from someone not at the game who listened on the radio and supplemented with facts freely available elsewhere.

oldsam_newsam (Meath) - Posts: 638 - 27/05/2018 20:30:32    2104310

Replying To meath1977:  "it's time you Amit you have been badly wrong. we lost about 16 SINCE last July no team can cope with that. if this manger can't get the best players to play for Meath he must stand by his sword the same one you Mr Dunne had for our last manger who tried his best but was not good enough the same as Andy"
Derry have lost 19 players since last July Cork have lost the same. Offaly have lost 17 players. Nearly every team in div 2 3 or 4 has lost players in the double digits ( plus 10 ). I can put the stats up again for the 20th time. The fact is the counties who have not lost masive amount of players since last summer are Dublin Mayo Tyrone Donegal and Monaghan all div 1 teams. Players leaving panel is a nationwide problem from Armagh to Wexford from Sligo to Down players are leaving panels on masse. The GAA is asleep as Meath kildare Down Armagh Derry Galway Cork Offaly laois have all had their worst decade in generations. Kildares worst was the 80s , the second worst in this decade. Cork have not been as low since the 50s..Neitheir have Down or offaly. Armgh and Derry havent been as low as the 60s. And this is Galways worst decade since 1900. Our worst since 1920s. Something is going on here and it aint just a Meath problem.

Furlong1949 (Meath) - Posts: 1067 - 27/05/2018 20:34:41    2104313

Replying To Furlong1949:  "Derry have lost 19 players since last July Cork have lost the same. Offaly have lost 17 players. Nearly every team in div 2 3 or 4 has lost players in the double digits ( plus 10 ). I can put the stats up again for the 20th time. The fact is the counties who have not lost masive amount of players since last summer are Dublin Mayo Tyrone Donegal and Monaghan all div 1 teams. Players leaving panel is a nationwide problem from Armagh to Wexford from Sligo to Down players are leaving panels on masse. The GAA is asleep as Meath kildare Down Armagh Derry Galway Cork Offaly laois have all had their worst decade in generations. Kildares worst was the 80s , the second worst in this decade. Cork have not been as low since the 50s..Neitheir have Down or offaly. Armgh and Derry havent been as low as the 60s. And this is Galways worst decade since 1900. Our worst since 1920s. Something is going on here and it aint just a Meath problem."
Another history lesson. Do yourself a favour and stop with all the constant thrawling back through the years. Focus on the here and now. Meath have big problems yet you say we'd be foolish to get rid of Andy?

RoylerKing (Meath) - Posts: 809 - 27/05/2018 20:36:56    2104314

Replying To royaldunne:  "The players who left are for the most part. NOT GOOD ENOUGH. And would not have featured today. what is so hard to understand about that??"
so Harry Rooney Sean Tobin donnacha Tobin padraic Harnan Brian colon power Mac keever ruairi o coileain Jones Newman all of them would not have been good enough today. look I thought Andy was the saviour I Amit now I was wrong. all of these footballers are honest to God lads they would not have walked away without a reason yes some have gone on their travels but was it not up to Andy to try and keep them here.

meath1977 (Meath) - Posts: 534 - 27/05/2018 20:42:45    2104317

Replying To royaldunne:  "To the match itself. Firstly if I was to criticize Andy it would be leaving on Kennelly, O'Sullivan and McMahon for too long. Changes should have been made earlier. We are better than we played today. The players who performed today were colgan, McGill lavin keoghan too a lesser extent burke as his pace let's him down at times. And of course our best player graham Reilly , and there in lays the problem , we have a one man forward line. I'm absolutely gutted. However as always I try to find some shred of hope. I will continue to look for that and get back. As for calling for management head? Ahh come on if we had a management team of micky harte Jim Gavin jimmy McGuiness sean boylan and mick O'Dwyer it wouldn't make a bit of difference . So I ask who's the great manager that will take us over? Let's not forget that Meath championship winners have come and been beat by longford champs including a town team taken asunder by a club with a catchment area of less than a hundred."
Not sure I agree that Graham Reilly played well today. I have defended and praised him on here but you must agree that there were significant portions of the game where he was anonomous. Granted he didnt get great service and he did take a few nice but easy enough scores. Not the worst of them by a margin but not a leading or a leadership role that you would need from one of your markee players.

oldsam_newsam (Meath) - Posts: 638 - 27/05/2018 20:45:34    2104320

I have to admire Denis Connerton the longford manager for getting his tactics right today, i think he did a wonderful job in getting the best out of his team today,he got his tactics spot on today and i guess thats what a good manager does !

WhyTheLongFace (Meath) - Posts: 876 - 27/05/2018 20:46:33    2104321

Replying To Furlong1949:  "Derry have lost 19 players since last July Cork have lost the same. Offaly have lost 17 players. Nearly every team in div 2 3 or 4 has lost players in the double digits ( plus 10 ). I can put the stats up again for the 20th time. The fact is the counties who have not lost masive amount of players since last summer are Dublin Mayo Tyrone Donegal and Monaghan all div 1 teams. Players leaving panel is a nationwide problem from Armagh to Wexford from Sligo to Down players are leaving panels on masse. The GAA is asleep as Meath kildare Down Armagh Derry Galway Cork Offaly laois have all had their worst decade in generations. Kildares worst was the 80s , the second worst in this decade. Cork have not been as low since the 50s..Neitheir have Down or offaly. Armgh and Derry havent been as low as the 60s. And this is Galways worst decade since 1900. Our worst since 1920s. Something is going on here and it aint just a Meath problem."
it's up to the manger to get players to buy into his plans he has failed on this and this is why a division 3 team beat us today. fair play to longford you could see how happy they were at the end

meath1977 (Meath) - Posts: 534 - 27/05/2018 20:48:08    2104323

Replying To meath1977:  "so Harry Rooney Sean Tobin donnacha Tobin padraic Harnan Brian colon power Mac keever ruairi o coileain Jones Newman all of them would not have been good enough today. look I thought Andy was the saviour I Amit now I was wrong. all of these footballers are honest to God lads they would not have walked away without a reason yes some have gone on their travels but was it not up to Andy to try and keep them here."
If they were not considered good enough to make the starting 15, they certainly would make a strong bench to call upon!!

ROYALOPTIMIST (Meath) - Posts: 179 - 27/05/2018 20:53:29    2104325

Well That was a disaster in Many Different ways but before I give my 10 cents worth Furlong give up the completely irrelevant posts..Talking about a game in 1985 on a Meath v Longford 2018 thread,Just after we were beaten out the gate..Honestly you couldn't make this stuff up.

The game itself we could and should have been 3+ Points up at half time..Missing great goal chances killed us..
We kicked some terrible wides.I felt that everytime they went forward they were going to do damage.In fairness to McGill hes a excellent full back and did himself proud today..Colgan did well also and kick outs were good.Corner backs did OK i Thought also.James mcentee got forward well but with very little end Product..Gave they ball away badly..Donal Keoghan is a top player that would get onto any team in Ireland and Never let us down today..Shane McEntee is not good enough and I have said it for 12 Months and will be no loss the next day..Menton and Kenelly struggled I thought, neither is a natural 8 or 9..Square pegs in round Holes..Burke did ok but hes no Forward..Lack of pace gets him..Ben Brennan showed Glimpses of Talent and I think he could be an asset to the team in fairness to him but he wasn't in the game enough today..it passes him bye. Cillian missed a great goal chance and kicked one into the goalies hands and Wasn't at the races today but still I would have left him on..McMahon was poor again I do like him but he hasn't produced the goods in a long time,,With regards to Biggy im surprised no one has mentioned he was clearly injured from the start..He hadn't got it in the tank today but saying that I thought he gave his all and Kicked some great scores..When he times his runs from deep he is unstoppable..Cant fault him today..Lenihan didn't hit the highs of last year when we needed him..Struggled today

With Regards the Management I dont think getting rid of Andy is the answer yet..Give him this year and next and if nothing changes then re visist it..The tactics were strange today and its been pretty dire stuff under Him..Were gone back for sure under his management.its quite obvious these players are just not good enough

Finally well Done To Longford you were the better team today and Good Luck Going Forward,Who knows where we go from here..

grahamc9897 (Meath) - Posts: 1174 - 27/05/2018 20:55:18    2104326

Replying To Crinigan:  "Jesus Christ your posts are terrible. It's like listening to grandpa Simpson. A long post about the league restructurings if 1985 for no apparent reason.
Honestly who cares about what happened in 1985?

McEntee took charge with his tough guy approach which has turned out to be all a load of bluster. His managent has been an unmitigated disaster.

Players have left the panel en masse...the style of football is frankly shameful...he has to go. End of. The whole thing has been a waste of time and effort.

To think that the club championship is being held up for this embarrassing shambles. I'll say it again, inter county football is dead. The GAA in their greed balls it up and you have one professional team playing the rest. Forget about it. Focus on the club championship, pump the meager resources into the clubs and focus on the 99% of footballers in Meath."
The reason was I mentioned 1985 loss to laois. In response to me Miller x told me in this forum he said that the defeat to laois in 85 was not as worst as today. He said that my comments dont hold up to scrutiny. So in response to Millerx saying 85 wasnt as bad I was just giving stats to prove laois were div 3 team in 85 that played in relegation play off in that spring and were a div 4 team in 1986..They had two good results in 12 months and then disappeared of the face of the earth football wise. When I try to explain anything I try and back up what I say with stats. When I told Miller X that Laois were bottom div 3 div 4 team in 85 , his response was , dont go to details. Because the details, basically the facts did agree with what he was saying. Someone queried one of my comments I was just giving an answering back with a pile of stats to prove the validity of my comments.

Furlong1949 (Meath) - Posts: 1067 - 27/05/2018 20:55:36    2104328

Replying To grahamc9897:  "Well That was a disaster in Many Different ways but before I give my 10 cents worth Furlong give up the completely irrelevant posts..Talking about a game in 1985 on a Meath v Longford 2018 thread,Just after we were beaten out the gate..Honestly you couldn't make this stuff up.

The game itself we could and should have been 3+ Points up at half time..Missing great goal chances killed us..
We kicked some terrible wides.I felt that everytime they went forward they were going to do damage.In fairness to McGill hes a excellent full back and did himself proud today..Colgan did well also and kick outs were good.Corner backs did OK i Thought also.James mcentee got forward well but with very little end Product..Gave they ball away badly..Donal Keoghan is a top player that would get onto any team in Ireland and Never let us down today..Shane McEntee is not good enough and I have said it for 12 Months and will be no loss the next day..Menton and Kenelly struggled I thought, neither is a natural 8 or 9..Square pegs in round Holes..Burke did ok but hes no Forward..Lack of pace gets him..Ben Brennan showed Glimpses of Talent and I think he could be an asset to the team in fairness to him but he wasn't in the game enough today..it passes him bye. Cillian missed a great goal chance and kicked one into the goalies hands and Wasn't at the races today but still I would have left him on..McMahon was poor again I do like him but he hasn't produced the goods in a long time,,With regards to Biggy im surprised no one has mentioned he was clearly injured from the start..He hadn't got it in the tank today but saying that I thought he gave his all and Kicked some great scores..When he times his runs from deep he is unstoppable..Cant fault him today..Lenihan didn't hit the highs of last year when we needed him..Struggled today

With Regards the Management I dont think getting rid of Andy is the answer yet..Give him this year and next and if nothing changes then re visist it..The tactics were strange today and its been pretty dire stuff under Him..Were gone back for sure under his management.its quite obvious these players are just not good enough

Finally well Done To Longford you were the better team today and Good Luck Going Forward,Who knows where we go from here.."
great post apart from giving Andy another year unless he can get all the players back I mentioned earlier

meath1977 (Meath) - Posts: 534 - 27/05/2018 21:19:10    2104342

Replying To RoylerKing:  "Another history lesson. Do yourself a favour and stop with all the constant thrawling back through the years. Focus on the here and now. Meath have big problems yet you say we'd be foolish to get rid of Andy?"
Ok here and now. Here and now.
Today May 26th 9.00 2018. Can you name the manager this top class manager who can take over to turn us into this top team you think we should be?

Again here and now today in the present can you name the manager who can take over from inside or even outside that can turn us into top class team.
Dont say McGuiness or Horan they aint coming to Meath, a credible candidate in the county who will turn us into this top class team.

Some of the people that have been mentioned are ex players who have no or little experience of managing senior teams at any level and no or little sucess at any level. They would be more inexperienced then Mick O Dowd even. And how did that inexperienced appointment turn out. It would be Mick O Dowd Mark 2. But worse at least O Dowd would have had some senior experimences ans sucess managing skyrne to county title. These ex players I have heard as potential Meath managers would have little or no experience managing senior teams at any level compared to Barry ( Leinster club title) Coyle ( managing Monaghan to beat All Ireland champions Armagh) O Brien ( All Ireland winning selector) Banty ( brought Monaghan to div 1 from div 4 ) O Dowd ( County title) McEntee ( Club All Ireland).

Whoever takes over would have a worst CV then our last 6 managers. And we were not happy with any of them. Laois got rid of McNulty they ended up in div 4 within 4 years. Derry got rid Lally as coach the current galway coach 4 years later they are in div 4.
laois and Derry replaced McNulty and lally with managers with poorer cvs and of course things worsened.

Again here and now at 9.15 on May 26th name this top class manager that is going to do better job then the most sucessful Meath manager of this decade. eg Club All Ireland and minor final.
Can you list these outstanding candidates that will lead us to the promised land. Any names here and now.

Furlong1949 (Meath) - Posts: 1067 - 27/05/2018 21:20:49    2104345

Replying To Furlong1949:  "Ok here and now. Here and now.
Today May 26th 9.00 2018. Can you name the manager this top class manager who can take over to turn us into this top team you think we should be?

Again here and now today in the present can you name the manager who can take over from inside or even outside that can turn us into top class team.
Dont say McGuiness or Horan they aint coming to Meath, a credible candidate in the county who will turn us into this top class team.

Some of the people that have been mentioned are ex players who have no or little experience of managing senior teams at any level and no or little sucess at any level. They would be more inexperienced then Mick O Dowd even. And how did that inexperienced appointment turn out. It would be Mick O Dowd Mark 2. But worse at least O Dowd would have had some senior experimences ans sucess managing skyrne to county title. These ex players I have heard as potential Meath managers would have little or no experience managing senior teams at any level compared to Barry ( Leinster club title) Coyle ( managing Monaghan to beat All Ireland champions Armagh) O Brien ( All Ireland winning selector) Banty ( brought Monaghan to div 1 from div 4 ) O Dowd ( County title) McEntee ( Club All Ireland).

Whoever takes over would have a worst CV then our last 6 managers. And we were not happy with any of them. Laois got rid of McNulty they ended up in div 4 within 4 years. Derry got rid Lally as coach the current galway coach 4 years later they are in div 4.
laois and Derry replaced McNulty and lally with managers with poorer cvs and of course things worsened.

Again here and now at 9.15 on May 26th name this top class manager that is going to do better job then the most sucessful Meath manager of this decade. eg Club All Ireland and minor final.
Can you list these outstanding candidates that will lead us to the promised land. Any names here and now."
I asked that before. Nobody offered an answer, they just procrastinated or passed the buck. I'm as disappointed as any Meath fan today but bulleting the manager, especially with zero plan of anyone to potentially replace him would be pointless.

GlasgowRoyal (Meath) - Posts: 293 - 27/05/2018 21:32:16    2104354

Can you list these outstanding candidates that will lead us to the promised land. Any names here and now."
I think it could be colm o rourke turn

meath1977 (Meath) - Posts: 534 - 27/05/2018 21:37:44    2104359

Listen no one is suggesting that there is a manager to take us to the so called promised land..So stop being so sarcastic and grow up.People just dont want to log onto this straight after a game and read you waffling about a game 30 years ago..I do enjoy your posts at times for the record.But when we have had a bad a year as this people are entitled to question management..Between the bad results performances and Players Leaving I think people are suggesting that another manager could do a little better .Theres no magic wand that will fix this
This is a results business and McEntee aint getting them.I would personally give him another year but to be perfectly honest if he was given the boot and the end of the year I wouldnt be Overly upset

grahamc9897 (Meath) - Posts: 1174 - 27/05/2018 21:41:29    2104364

Replying To meath1977:  "great post apart from giving Andy another year unless he can get all the players back I mentioned earlier"
I wouldnt be Crying if he got the boot put it that way..But think that we need stability

grahamc9897 (Meath) - Posts: 1174 - 27/05/2018 21:44:09    2104368

Best of luck to Andy, Bryan & the lads in the Qualifiers. Let's get behind the boys. They will need us more than ever. Hon the Royal!

Evernal (Meath) - Posts: 74 - 27/05/2018 21:47:42    2104370