The Dubs In Aughrim

Replying To 37thHeaven:  "Game drew less than 12,000 and yet everyone else has to go out of their way to make room for the hordes and hordes of travelling Juggernaut fans

What am I missing????"
Quite a lot apparently - a bit of perspective

arock (Dublin) - Posts: 4896 - 27/05/2018 18:56:17    2104242

No interest in this game whatsoever. It's like sending an Amazonian tribe armed with bows and arrows into battle with the US 101st Airborne. It's so unequal and farcical and it's making a total mockery of the GAA. Gaelic football is dying on it's arse.

Ulsterman (Antrim) - Posts: 9702 - 27/05/2018 21:14:02    2104337

Replying To Ulsterman:  "No interest in this game whatsoever. It's like sending an Amazonian tribe armed with bows and arrows into battle with the US 101st Airborne. It's so unequal and farcical and it's making a total mockery of the GAA. Gaelic football is dying on it's arse."
It was always unequal. You'll find a lot of team sports can be.

Jackeen (Dublin) - Posts: 4097 - 27/05/2018 21:30:31    2104352

Replying To 37thHeaven:  "Game drew less than 12,000 and yet everyone else has to go out of their way to make room for the hordes and hordes of travelling Juggernaut fans

What am I missing????"
Funny thing about that was they annonunced that attendance 20 mins before the game started and half the crowd were still trying to get in, easily north of 15k there in my opinion.

The N7 was almost shut down after the game, to be fair there was racing on in the curragh as well! I detoured through Newbridge myself and went cross country to the N4, N7 was bumper to bumper!

Fair play to the Wicklow fans they were great. Great scenes at the end with the kids on the pitch with all the players.

TheUsername (Dublin) - Posts: 4445 - 27/05/2018 21:51:56    2104372

I thought the dubs fans loved to travel?

I think that myth has been busted.

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 27/05/2018 22:23:31    2104402

Replying To Ulsterman:  "No interest in this game whatsoever. It's like sending an Amazonian tribe armed with bows and arrows into battle with the US 101st Airborne. It's so unequal and farcical and it's making a total mockery of the GAA. Gaelic football is dying on it's arse."
And yet we went to your home ground in Ahoghill and drew with you.....

Wicklowman (Wicklow) - Posts: 1138 - 28/05/2018 10:41:51    2104612

Replying To KingdomBoy1:  "I thought the dubs fans loved to travel?

I think that myth has been busted."
No one wants to go to Portlaoise for a game.

Leinster counties need to sort this out.

Laois complaining in 2016 but other 10 counties quiet, Carlow complaining last year but other 10 counties quiet, Wicklow complaining this year and, guess what? Other 10 counties quiet! Same thing will probably happen next year too.

Piss up and brewery.

MesAmis (Dublin) - Posts: 13707 - 28/05/2018 11:32:56    2104646

Leinster council + Gaa should explain why game wasn't in Aughrim...on sidenote best advertisement for 2 tier competition

dubinroyal (Dublin) - Posts: 73 - 28/05/2018 12:16:54    2104679

Replying To MesAmis:  "No one wants to go to Portlaoise for a game.

Leinster counties need to sort this out.

Laois complaining in 2016 but other 10 counties quiet, Carlow complaining last year but other 10 counties quiet, Wicklow complaining this year and, guess what? Other 10 counties quiet! Same thing will probably happen next year too.

Piss up and brewery."
Why don't ye want to go to portlaoise? Iv been to o'moore park on many occasions and I think it's a brilliant stadium.

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 28/05/2018 13:14:39    2104723

With regards to the attendance yesterday there is no way there was only 12k at the game, unless they didn't include U-16s or something in the count. The attendance last year against Carlow was given in the region of 13k and there was a lot more there yesterday than last year.
On another note,while the concern about Wicklow losing home advantage is admirable, it was similar sentiment for Carlow last year, yet when Carlow had to give up home advantage to play in Tullamore yesterday nobody seemed to care one bit about them.
The simple fact is that the Leinster council has put big money into both O'Moore and O'Conner parks and that is why they are putting as many games as possible into them.

AHP (Dublin) - Posts: 323 - 28/05/2018 13:41:09    2104739

Kildare weren't playing at home either and haven't I believe since 1993!!!!!!!!!!!!

You haven't a leg to stand regarding home advantage debates!!!!!!

37thHeaven (Kerry) - Posts: 102 - 28/05/2018 14:09:04    2104762

Replying To 37thHeaven:  "Kildare weren't playing at home either and haven't I believe since 1993!!!!!!!!!!!!

You haven't a leg to stand regarding home advantage debates!!!!!!"
I didn't realise I was in a 'home advantage debate' to be honest. I simply pointed something out in relation to the attendance. as for your other point, Kildare weren't drawn at home so not sure why you are making that point, or wasting so many exclamation marks in doing it.
Simple fact is three of the four Leinster quarter finals were played at neutral venues yet the only fixture that concerns anyone seems to be the one involving Dublin every year.

AHP (Dublin) - Posts: 323 - 28/05/2018 14:44:17    2104787

Replying To KingdomBoy1:  "Why don't ye want to go to portlaoise? Iv been to o'moore park on many occasions and I think it's a brilliant stadium."
Don't like the ground and don't like getting in and out of the town. I've been there plenty over the years and it just isn't great imo. It's far from brilliant. It's grand at best. Tullamore on the other hand is great.

This year we should played in Aughrim.

2017 should've been in Carlow, Carlow Town is a great spot.

2016 should've been in Portlaoise, at least at that stage it would have been against Laois which should be the only reason to play a game in Portlaoise.

MesAmis (Dublin) - Posts: 13707 - 28/05/2018 14:51:02    2104795

This game should absolutely have been played in Aughrim
It was a no brainer. I despair at how the powers that be think

Jackeen (Dublin) - Posts: 4097 - 28/05/2018 18:32:24    2104965

In fairness to a lot of the Dubs here, in the media & most neutral commentary, they all agreed that if only to help promote Gaa in a weaker county, the game should have been played in Aughrim. The fact that the Leinster council, the Gaa & the DG have remained silent & hoping it all blows over till it's forgotten next week shows how they really don't care, are incapable of putting their hands up & saying yes we made a mistake. Super 8 format is going to affect attendances as people don't have the money to be spending on tickets, food, travel every week. The Ulster Council displayed pure arrogance in this regard in pricing tickets. Super 8 will be eventually Super 4 as apathy sets in. Kildare are going to take some lifting to get interest going again this Summer. Duffy's master plan is a farce already & club C'ship in most counties won't be played now for two & a half months.

moc.dna (Galway) - Posts: 1212 - 28/05/2018 19:38:35    2105001

Kevin McStay has insisted that the Connacht SFC final will be played in Dr Hyde Park and nowhere else should Galway be Roscommon's opponents.

When I spotted this and read through it I began to wonder, what argument, (if any) was put up in defence of the Wicklow team that their game with Dublin should and must be played in Aughrim, Aughrim is an historic venue, a fortress even, well then so be it, first and foremost it belongs to the people of Wicklow, it's there county grounds, us challengers are secondary full stop, surely there must be someone in defence of the Aughrim venue capable of putting up the argument and winning it, for the sake of Wicklow football - - -someone like Kevin McStay for example.
"Silence is golden"

supersub15 (Carlow) - Posts: 2907 - 31/05/2018 09:53:50    2105853

Replying To supersub15:  "Kevin McStay has insisted that the Connacht SFC final will be played in Dr Hyde Park and nowhere else should Galway be Roscommon's opponents.

When I spotted this and read through it I began to wonder, what argument, (if any) was put up in defence of the Wicklow team that their game with Dublin should and must be played in Aughrim, Aughrim is an historic venue, a fortress even, well then so be it, first and foremost it belongs to the people of Wicklow, it's there county grounds, us challengers are secondary full stop, surely there must be someone in defence of the Aughrim venue capable of putting up the argument and winning it, for the sake of Wicklow football - - -someone like Kevin McStay for example.
"Silence is golden""
Longford were the only team to get a home quarter final should be remembered as well.

MesAmis (Dublin) - Posts: 13707 - 31/05/2018 10:11:23    2105860

Replying To supersub15:  "Kevin McStay has insisted that the Connacht SFC final will be played in Dr Hyde Park and nowhere else should Galway be Roscommon's opponents.

"Silence is golden""
Do not be surprised if Galway beat Sligo that the Connacht Council fix the Connacht final for Mc Hale Park. The same reasons as Wicklow had to play in Portlaoise, the capacity & especially the extra LOLLY it would bring in will be a factor & also to show Kevin Mc Stay who dictates the decisions in Connacht after his definitive statement. I do agree with Mc Stay though that with the home & away venue in place between the counties it should be played in Hyde Park regardless of capacity. Who will win out Kevin Mc Stay or Connacht Council ?

moc.dna (Galway) - Posts: 1212 - 31/05/2018 21:49:23    2106114

Replying To moc.dna:  "

"Silence is golden""
Do not be surprised if Galway beat Sligo that the Connacht Council fix the Connacht final for Mc Hale Park. The same reasons as Wicklow had to play in Portlaoise, the capacity & especially the extra LOLLY it would bring in will be a factor & also to show Kevin Mc Stay who dictates the decisions in Connacht after his definitive statement. I do agree with Mc Stay though that with the home & away venue in place between the counties it should be played in Hyde Park regardless of capacity. Who will win out Kevin Mc Stay or Connacht Council ?"
The Connacht Council will win out. No way will the Rossies not turn up to play wherever it is and risk, even if they lost, being one game away from the Super 8s. That's where everyone wants to be.

kildare73 (Kildare) - Posts: 854 - 31/05/2018 22:53:45    2106122

The connacht council will win out. If they decide the final should not be Hyde park then that will be that. If the capacity is an issue or they feel in anyway that there is a health and safety issue then they simply cannot play it there. What if someone got hurt? Simply cannot happen.

leitrim4sam (Leitrim) - Posts: 644 - 31/05/2018 23:10:41    2106128