Tyrone in 00s v Dublin in the 10s

Replying To KingdomBoy1:  "Fenton v O'Sé well Fenton would end up in a wheelchair , he wouldn't run far then :-)"
Anthony Tohill would have both in his pocket at the same time. Pace, power, fielding, ball carrying, score taking and free taking. Along with Jacko the greatest midfielder ever:-)

DonegalAtlantic (Donegal) - Posts: 111 - 27/04/2018 22:52:04    2095399

Replying To KingdomBoy1:  "The Kerry team of the noughties would have ate this Dublin team , fact."
Ha yer a gas man, ain't no fact cos ain't never happened. Fact. Anyway I still think we'd be too fast for ye :D

realdub (Dublin) - Posts: 8596 - 27/04/2018 23:49:15    2095409

Replying To jimbodub:  "Maybe not the Mayo forwards but..

I personally think the current Mayo defense is better and certainly on par with the Kerry or Tyrone equivalent across the 00's

For me the best bunch of defenders never to win an AI - they are as good as it gets as a defensive unit seen across the last 30 years and their consistency is there for all to see.

Mayo cannot be considered a great side yet I agree but you have to put them right
up there as they are a more consistent side compared to Tyrone in the 00's who couldn't reach back to back finals."
Ulster competition was above anything in that period. You obviously are unaware that 4 different Ulster teams in a row won Ai's in that period- that has never happened in the history association before, tow in a row was never on. Mayo are a good team who should have beaten ye last year (9 steps) but would they have beaten Tyrone in that era -definitely not.

browncows (Meath) - Posts: 2342 - 28/04/2018 01:43:28    2095414

Tohill what a player up their with the greats if not the greatest on his own outstanding Gaelic Footballer had it all as you said.

But for any poster to dismiss Brian Fenton right now is just plain wrong I've never seen anything like Fenton he is unbelievable for Dublin along with Kilkenny our most important out field player he's a class act as good imo as anything I've seen the last 25 years (as far back as I can remember)

clondalkindub (Dublin) - Posts: 9926 - 28/04/2018 01:53:22    2095415

Replying To realdub:  "Ha yer a gas man, ain't no fact cos ain't never happened. Fact. Anyway I still think we'd be too fast for ye :D"
2011 was fairly close, to the real deal, but we have kicked on from there.

TheUsername (Dublin) - Posts: 4445 - 28/04/2018 09:33:12    2095425

Replying To browncows:  "Ulster competition was above anything in that period. You obviously are unaware that 4 different Ulster teams in a row won Ai's in that period- that has never happened in the history association before, tow in a row was never on. Mayo are a good team who should have beaten ye last year (9 steps) but would they have beaten Tyrone in that era -definitely not."
Yeah ok whatever you say I don't like Dublin winning things Meath bloke

Wouldn't beat Tyrone... stop would you

Beyond daft. Tyrone lost plenty of times against inferior opposition in the 00's compared to this Dubs team.

Tyrone perfectly capable of challenging Dublin alright but the way Dublin setup now would greatly negate Tyrone's tactical advantage seen in the 00's when really managers were clueless in their approach to counteract it... completely just walked into the trap

Dublin have a superior panel, a much deeper panel and when Tyrone got tired chasing Dublin and trying to stop wave after wave of lads that can kick off both feet and running off shoulders, making runs, creating little pockets of space, recycling and holding when necessary.. we then send on (insert several gifted match winner Dub names here)

Tyrone are not going to catch this Dubs team on the counter chief... it ain't happening. They can use all the harsh language they want..

Look at what we did to a Mickey Harte Tyrone side playing the same tactics as his 00's teams in 2017, that Tyrone side came to win and were prepared and of course their minus players compared to 00's (but sure we were weaker then too) but just as an example of how Dublin would counteract the swarm defence.. it's all there to see.

What did big Sean say at the end of the game

"That was the greatest team I've ever played against"

But sure what would he know right ?

Sure chief Dublin beat Tyrone in 2010 when they had just walked an Ulster title and were widely tipped for a Sam push... we just figured them out tactically and won with a lesser team compared to the current model!

2010 is pretty close to the 00's no... only two years after they hammered a poor Dublin outfit in 08, they still had a chunk of their 00's panel and again cake walked Ulster and were hot favourites to give Dublin another trimming... what happened?

Dubs beat them. Gilroy figured them out.

So go now for yourself and watch your Meath glory days VHS tapes and learn a thing or two about how far the game has advanced since Meath were winning things...

That Meath side couldn't live with this current Mayo side or the Donegal team of 2012/2014

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20600 - 28/04/2018 09:36:18    2095426

Replying To GeniusGerry:  "Would agree that for pure determination and consistency Dublin would have an edge over both Kerry and Tyrone. Dublin are the best prepared side to ever grace a football pitch in my view and much of their success is built on meticulous preparation as well as having exceptional footballers. I wonder if they had even a very good manager would they be as dominant as they are, Gavin really is something else. I think by the time he is finished he will be held above O'Dwyer in many peoples eyes. As much as he is lauded, I think his contribution is often understated.

Looking at the teamsheets of all three teams you'd have to say there is not a lot between them in terms of talent, but the highly tuned system that Dublin play separates them from the others. That said, things were a lot simpler back on the 00's and sports science wasn't really a big factor so really we are comparing apples with oranges. If Kerry now had Moynihan, the O'Se's, Galvin, Gooch and the others at their peak and implemented modern training techniques and tactics I don't know what way it would go, same with Tyrone. I couldn't see Dublin dominating both but who knows. It's an impossible question to answer, but an interesting one all the same."
You're spot on in relation to Gavin. I think he is the constant that is the vital cog in this team.
All great sides have been influenced by great managers and Gavin has that X factor required. We are very fortunate to have him and Pat Gilroy in Dublin. Gilroy may well not succeed with the hurlers but it won't be for want of organisation or having the right people on board.
Players require ,obviously talent and natural ability but they have to have leadership to make the most of them gifts and Gavin I think is inspirational and what makes him special.

Dubh_linn (Dublin) - Posts: 2312 - 28/04/2018 09:46:21    2095428

Replying To jimbodub:  "Yeah ok whatever you say I don't like Dublin winning things Meath bloke

Beyond daft. Tyrone lost plenty of times against inferior opposition in the 00's compared to this Dubs team.

Tyrone perfectly capable of challenging Dublin alright but the way Dublin setup now would greatly negate Tyrone's tactical advantage seen in the 00's when really managers were clueless in their approach to counteract it... completely just walked into the trap

Dublin have a superior panel, a much deeper panel and when Tyrone got tired chasing Dublin and trying to stop wave after wave of lads that can kick off both feet and running off shoulders, making runs, creating little pockets of space, recycling and holding when necessary.. we then send on (insert several gifted match winner Dub names here)

Tyrone are not going to catch this Dubs team on the counter chief... it ain't happening. They can use all the harsh language they want..

Look at what we did to a Mickey Harte Tyrone side playing the same tactics as his 00's teams in 2017, that Tyrone side came to win and were prepared and of course their minus players compared to 00's (but sure we were weaker then too) but just as an example of how Dublin would counteract the swarm defence.. it's all there to see.

Sure chief Dublin beat Tyrone in 2010 when they had just walked an Ulster title and were widely tipped for a Sam push... we just figured them out tactically and won with a lesser team compared to the current model!

2010 is pretty close to the 00's no... only two years after they hammered a poor Dublin outfit in 08, they still had a chunk of their 00's panel and again cake walked Ulster and were hot favourites to give Dublin another trimming... what happened?

So go now for yourself and watch your Meath glory days VHS tapes and learn a thing or two about how far the game has advanced since Meath were winning things...

That Meath side couldn't live with this current Mayo side or the Donegal team of 2012/2014"
2011 in the rain i think was the end of that cycle of the 00's Tyrone team, god Connolly caught airplanes that night and scored some of the most outrages points i have seen in those in those conditions and a star was born.

2011 is often forgotten in these debates, Kerry and Tyrone teams weren't very far way from anything they fielded throughout the 00's, maybe Tyrone had lost more to be fair, but arguably the 2011 team retired many on both teams of the 00's and ended both teams cycles.

TheUsername (Dublin) - Posts: 4445 - 28/04/2018 10:21:28    2095432

Replying To TheUsername:  "2011 in the rain i think was the end of that cycle of the 00's Tyrone team, god Connolly caught airplanes that night and scored some of the most outrages points i have seen in those in those conditions and a star was born.

2011 is often forgotten in these debates, Kerry and Tyrone teams weren't very far way from anything they fielded throughout the 00's, maybe Tyrone had lost more to be fair, but arguably the 2011 team retired many on both teams of the 00's and ended both teams cycles."
Off the back of a deserved win against the much fancied Tyrone side in 2010

They took Tyrone apart in the rain in 2011

Can recall walking out of Kennedys and it was lashing.. exactly the same conditions as 2008!

Gulp...!

But then..

I remember turning to my brother while looking on from the Hill early in the first half. Could really see the set up and movement spread out in front of us..

"Tyrone don't look like they know what they are doing here"

Dublin had zero fear of them and completely dictated the game. Played their own game and bossed it

When you think about it..

An average to poor Dubs side in the 00's had a better championship result against the greatest Tyrone side of all time compared to the great Kerry side.. at least we drew with them!

A bog standard Dub setup was good enough to draw against Tyrone in their pomp!

And our current team couldn't have done better...

Pfffhh

Whatever makes yiz feel better lads!

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20600 - 28/04/2018 11:02:16    2095436

2 great teams but in my estimation that Tyrone team had a fantastic mix of skill, speed, aggression all over the pitch and they had scores all over the pitch - the Dublin team although fantastic don't have the same quality of defenders and I believe in Canavan, ONeill and Mugsy they had 3 forwards who are much better than Dublin have - so Red Hands for me - I bet the Tyrone lads would love to have cloned them for this current squad who don't have the same quality at all up front.

IrishGael3 (USA) - Posts: 1092 - 28/04/2018 11:49:26    2095440

'Yeah ok whatever you say I don't like Dublin winning things Meath bloke'
jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 18004 - 28/04/2018 09:36:18 '

That reply sums you up nicely!

browncows (Meath) - Posts: 2342 - 28/04/2018 12:11:24    2095444

Replying To TheUsername:  "2011 in the rain i think was the end of that cycle of the 00's Tyrone team, god Connolly caught airplanes that night and scored some of the most outrages points i have seen in those in those conditions and a star was born.

2011 is often forgotten in these debates, Kerry and Tyrone teams weren't very far way from anything they fielded throughout the 00's, maybe Tyrone had lost more to be fair, but arguably the 2011 team retired many on both teams of the 00's and ended both teams cycles."
I don't know about that Username. The leaders of the Kerry team Seamus Moynihan and Dara O'Se were well gone by 2011 and several of the other had slowed down a bit. I think that Kerry team were at their best between 04-07. I wouldn't be using it as a yardstick to judge that 00's team. That game could have gone either way too, it's not like Dublin blew Kerry away that day.

Dublin are a very different team now as well, they are a much more ruthless side since that 2014 defeat to Donegal and unrecognisable from the 2011 outfit.

GeniusGerry (Kerry) - Posts: 2105 - 28/04/2018 14:12:12    2095472

Replying To jimbodub:  "Yeah ok whatever you say I don't like Dublin winning things Meath bloke

That Meath side couldn't live with this current Mayo side or the Donegal team of 2012/2014"
In fairness I think Tyrone were coming towards the end of their cycle in 2010. Dooher could barely run, Stephen O'Neill was injured most of the year and came on as a sub. Canavan long gone, Ryan McMenamin was 33. Dublin weren't at their best in 2010 either to be fair, they got better and better in intervening years.

MichaelO (Tyrone) - Posts: 820 - 28/04/2018 16:27:18    2095500

Replying To jimbodub:  "Off the back of a deserved win against the much fancied Tyrone side in 2010

They took Tyrone apart in the rain in 2011

Can recall walking out of Kennedys and it was lashing.. exactly the same conditions as 2008!

Gulp...!

But then..

I remember turning to my brother while looking on from the Hill early in the first half. Could really see the set up and movement spread out in front of us..

"Tyrone don't look like they know what they are doing here"

Dublin had zero fear of them and completely dictated the game. Played their own game and bossed it

When you think about it..

An average to poor Dubs side in the 00's had a better championship result against the greatest Tyrone side of all time compared to the great Kerry side.. at least we drew with them!

A bog standard Dub setup was good enough to draw against Tyrone in their pomp!

And our current team couldn't have done better...

Pfffhh

Whatever makes yiz feel better lads!"
The "Dermo Connolly in the rain, tra, la la la, la" game against Tyrone is a special memory for me. So many lads stood up that night and have been stars since.

It was the first time I believed we could win the whole thing and had the sense something special was stiring in Dublin. Years before promised a bit, but the boom and bust mentality was evident. Even the Leinster final in the game before I remember we were getting Mullard by Wexford at half time.

But the Tyrone game in the rain was the game that marked the turning point for Dublin football and the Jacks were back! :D

TheUsername (Dublin) - Posts: 4445 - 28/04/2018 17:02:08    2095504

Replying To GeniusGerry:  "I don't know about that Username. The leaders of the Kerry team Seamus Moynihan and Dara O'Se were well gone by 2011 and several of the other had slowed down a bit. I think that Kerry team were at their best between 04-07. I wouldn't be using it as a yardstick to judge that 00's team. That game could have gone either way too, it's not like Dublin blew Kerry away that day.

Dublin are a very different team now as well, they are a much more ruthless side since that 2014 defeat to Donegal and unrecognisable from the 2011 outfit."
I suppose defeat is the great dictator mate, I'm sure the time will come when The Dubs will be beaten and it will be evident it's the time for other young pups and we will say in hindsight a lot of the lads are getting on.

After living through it Dublin were the underdogs against Tyrone and Kerry, there was still the feel and narrative of big guns at the time it was a continuation of the 00's era. It was a strong looking Kerry team on paper: B Kealy; M O Se, T O'Sullivan, K Young; T O Se, E Brosnan, A O'Mahony; A Maher, B Sheehan; D Walsh, Darran O'Sullivan; K Donaghy, C Cooper, Declan O'Sullivan, K O'Leary. Subs: P Galvin for O'Leary (24), BJ Keane for Walsh (51), D Bohan for Brosnan (63).

I suppose it's debatable whether Dublin just got better then the counties of the 00s, ended their cycles or naturally those counties regressed will be down to opinion. Personally I think Tyrone may have regressed but Kerry were close to muster

It was immensely close game, really you should have seen it out, maybe it was the first showing of the now renowned mental toughness. We were lucky the momentum swung our way when it did, I think sometimes that breeds the luck that's required when it's in the melting pot.

Dublin have moved on alright different animal these days, 2011 was special for us for many reasons, the 2013 semi still stands out for me as the best, high quality and most entertaining games of this era, maybe the best of all time for my money.

TheUsername (Dublin) - Posts: 4445 - 28/04/2018 17:16:56    2095505

Replying To TheUsername:  "The "Dermo Connolly in the rain, tra, la la la, la" game against Tyrone is a special memory for me. So many lads stood up that night and have been stars since.

It was the first time I believed we could win the whole thing and had the sense something special was stiring in Dublin. Years before promised a bit, but the boom and bust mentality was evident. Even the Leinster final in the game before I remember we were getting Mullard by Wexford at half time.

But the Tyrone game in the rain was the game that marked the turning point for Dublin football and the Jacks were back! :D"
For me personally

I think it was EOG's goal against Tyrone in 2010

Most Dubs just hoped we weren't going to get well beaten again!!

All of a sudden I was looking at Dublin out Tyrone, Tyrone!

Tyrone were hot favourites and Ulster Champs and fancied themselves going all the way that year after winning Ulster with such pomp

Then bang!!

All of a sudden we had leaders.. Rory, Ger, Flynn, Brogan and EOG.. you could see the fire in them and they could have won through the back door in 2010 but we weren't the finished article

But after that we had a great league campaign in 2011 - beating Kerry in Croke Park for the first time in a long time and all of a sudden we were looking good. Lost another close game to Cork in the final having gone unbeaten on route to the final but that loss perhaps helped out Gilroy... kept Dublin out of the eye of the bookies and Kerry were favourites for the eventual AI final...

Dubs put it up to that Kerry team just like Armagh and Tyrone did and like said teams came out on top..

Dubs got a taste and with the monkey off their back wanted more.. in came Mr Gavin and the best crop of U21 talent we ever had.

Beelzedub (Dublin) - Posts: 480 - 28/04/2018 17:39:59    2095507

Replying To TheUsername:  "I suppose defeat is the great dictator mate, I'm sure the time will come when The Dubs will be beaten and it will be evident it's the time for other young pups and we will say in hindsight a lot of the lads are getting on.

After living through it Dublin were the underdogs against Tyrone and Kerry, there was still the feel and narrative of big guns at the time it was a continuation of the 00's era. It was a strong looking Kerry team on paper: B Kealy; M O Se, T O'Sullivan, K Young; T O Se, E Brosnan, A O'Mahony; A Maher, B Sheehan; D Walsh, Darran O'Sullivan; K Donaghy, C Cooper, Declan O'Sullivan, K O'Leary. Subs: P Galvin for O'Leary (24), BJ Keane for Walsh (51), D Bohan for Brosnan (63).

I suppose it's debatable whether Dublin just got better then the counties of the 00s, ended their cycles or naturally those counties regressed will be down to opinion. Personally I think Tyrone may have regressed but Kerry were close to muster

It was immensely close game, really you should have seen it out, maybe it was the first showing of the now renowned mental toughness. We were lucky the momentum swung our way when it did, I think sometimes that breeds the luck that's required when it's in the melting pot.

Dublin have moved on alright different animal these days, 2011 was special for us for many reasons, the 2013 semi still stands out for me as the best, high quality and most entertaining games of this era, maybe the best of all time for my money."
Two good posts!

Lots to agree with on both accounts

But sure listen...

I honestly feel we're in for one hell of a good championship coming up!

I think it'll be as close as it has been over the last number of seasons

I'm putting a score on Kerry as I think they will come good and worth a go on their current odds

But yeah it's always good to have a chat about the past.. although it's wide open this year and that'll be proved soon enough

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20600 - 28/04/2018 17:49:28    2095508

Replying To MichaelO:  "In fairness I think Tyrone were coming towards the end of their cycle in 2010. Dooher could barely run, Stephen O'Neill was injured most of the year and came on as a sub. Canavan long gone, Ryan McMenamin was 33. Dublin weren't at their best in 2010 either to be fair, they got better and better in intervening years."
Good post.

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20600 - 28/04/2018 17:49:56    2095509

Replying To waynoI:  "My pet hate.

An absolutely pointless discussion as it is LITERALLY impossible to know

Person A will say Dublin would win, Person B would say Tyrone, Itll probably be dragged out over pages and pages of nonsense arguments for and against one team. Quality of individuals, Team work and ethic, The opposition in respective eras, And in the end, We will still not know.

So why waste your time arguing one way or the other..."
Yeah it's daft

But so are sports fans in general

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20600 - 28/04/2018 18:05:50    2095511

Replying To neverright:  "Even in that relatively short period of time the game has moved on. The pace of the game today is phenomenal. I don't think the Tyrone team of that period would live with the Dublin/Mayo teams of the last few years."
Tyrone's had a lot going for them back then

Top players, top management

But above all else their ace up tgeir sleeve was their tactical setup!

It bamboozled most managers and most teams played right into Mickey Hartes wishes.. over coconut forward, get boxed in, run into swarm tackles and then get caught on the counter..

Their tactics is what really put them ahead of most teams in 03,05,08

Those tactics have now been made redundant by Dublin and hence why I'd really fancy Dublin's chances and see plenty of scope for winning.

Jim Gavin is also a major factor for Dublin nowadays you can underestimate what he brings, and the way he's played the media he's done it all behind closed doors and he feeds the media nothing. Very little.

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20600 - 28/04/2018 18:14:15    2095512