Galway Vs Dublin League Final

Congratulations to Dublin but by god the reff rode poor Galway all day long . Could they not get a reff from ulster or Munster?

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 01/04/2018 18:25:46    2090061

Tiresome " ref giving everything to Dublin" posts on here in what was a very decent final to follow the first game cracker. Dubs get a harsh red, MDMA gets a yellow for getting himself fouled but saying ref didn't always get it right for either team is not allowed for games involving Dublin.

I like Galway. Good team who can mix it up and compete. May need to question why they done very little with the extra man advantage but they did put a lot into matching Dublin. Tiredness and a little inexperience perhaps but plenty to be optimistic about. For Dublin, thought MDMA looked like his old self. CK and Mannion also stood out. Defence very solid. Hope James Mc injury is not a concern. Roll on the championship.

poguemahone (Dublin) - Posts: 365 - 01/04/2018 18:29:10    2090063

Replying To DonegalAtlantic:  "Well think plenty of other neutral posters are suggesting referee's decisions were more favourable to Dublin. As for cyncical well let's not start. Again how Cooper, Small amd McMahon stay on the field as often as they do beggars belief. They are great players though, no doubt about that whatsoever. Anyway, am sure Dublin are happy with the win and a good competitive game given they don't get too many until late championship and Galway can now feel they've arrived. So a good day for both."
Neutral? I'd hardly say neutral. Philly sailed pretty close to the wind and was lucky not to get the line, maybe Cooper too. But John small, there were at least two Galway players that should have seen the line. Galway were very cynical, as were Dublin at times, but ofcourse you and all your neutral friends only see the dubs at it.

Marse (Dublin) - Posts: 217 - 01/04/2018 18:29:44    2090065

Replying To KingdomBoy1:  "Congratulations to Dublin but by god the reff rode poor Galway all day long . Could they not get a reff from ulster or Munster?"
Doesn't matter where the ref is from.

He'll get dogs abuse from the idiot brigade if Dublin win no matter where he's from.

We've seen it time and time again.

MesAmis (Dublin) - Posts: 13710 - 01/04/2018 18:45:24    2090071

Fair play to Galway they done themselves proud today and put it up to the Dubs.I was afraid they were going to get hammered from listening to all the sports pundits on TV and reading the papers.They stayed with them for 55-60 mins and took some beautiful scores but no better team than Dublin to finish out a game in the last 10-15 mins.Galway have experienced and hopefully learnt a lot from this league campaign,Looks like they've developed consistency and not as easily bossed around or scored against.Also have the makings of a large skilled panel like Dublin has.Time will tell.

johndsands (Galway) - Posts: 8 - 01/04/2018 18:53:41    2090075

Super win and delighted that even when things go against this team there's a drive and work rate that as a fan you can only but take pride in!

Lose key lads to injury and a man down for 25 mins and they drive on and seize the game.

Well done to Galway, really good performance.

I really enjoyed that game and delighted to see so many young lads seizing their opportunity and for Dublin to turn it on down to 14... a pleasure to watch!

Yeasss Champions once again

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20600 - 01/04/2018 18:53:55    2090076

Come on posters you're better than this, blaming the ref after every Dublin game is getting boring.

Galway are savage , from back to front very impressive, Comer is a beast but Galway need to get him the ball more , Shane Walsh very disappointing if he comes good Galway can go all the way.

Well done Dublin hung in there and got the win , hope to god we get Connolly back we need him big time this summer. Roll on the summer starting with May 13th can't wait

clondalkindub (Dublin) - Posts: 9926 - 01/04/2018 19:00:33    2090079

Well done to Dublin. I think experience was the key, poor decisions by us in last ten minutes probably due to tiredness. Still a great performance by us

Trucker1 (Galway) - Posts: 373 - 01/04/2018 19:04:18    2090080

Good game between two good teams. Nothing bar Dublin's experience won it in the end. Galway are far from a million miles away and look a great bet for silverware in the West.

Harsh enough red for Scully but having looked back at the replay the Galway man was lucky to escape fish-hooking MDMA on the floor.

Credit to Galway, they are a serious outfit. Comer is a bull - Defender's nightmare. Hopefully there or thereabouts come late summer.

Hill147 (Dublin) - Posts: 16 - 01/04/2018 19:17:36    2090084

Very impressed with Galway today

But again this Dubs team and the spirit they have to succeed is fecking inspiring to me.

Had my own serious health problems over the last 6 months and used their sort of commitment as an example and tried to apply it to myself, trust me you use what you can!

I know as cringe as it comes but it's the truth.

They are an inspiration to the game and many others off the pitch.

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20600 - 01/04/2018 19:27:59    2090088

Happy enough. Showed we can compete. Also some poor decision making but this game will help bring that on.

Yes a few dodgy calls by ref but Dublin deserved it. Showed their class a man down. We're definitely closing the gap but there is a gap.

Onwards and upwards May 13th is the key.

Gallimh Abù!

Mayonman (Galway) - Posts: 1829 - 01/04/2018 19:35:51    2090093

Replying To jimbodub:  "Very impressed with Galway today

But again this Dubs team and the spirit they have to succeed is fecking inspiring to me.

Had my own serious health problems over the last 6 months and used their sort of commitment as an example and tried to apply it to myself, trust me you use what you can!

They are an inspiration to the game and many others off the pitch."
Hope your ok pal

clondalkindub (Dublin) - Posts: 9926 - 01/04/2018 19:45:09    2090098

Important for people to realise where we have come from, 12 months ago we were a div 2 team with a questionable defence, and today we went toe to toe with one of the great teams in the last 30years. The expierience we will get from today will be huge going forward. I feel we were a little slow making changes however if we get Michael Daly fit and integrate Ian Burke Kieren Molloy and one or two other Corofin lads i feel we are getting there. Well done Dublin.

Belclare1 (Galway) - Posts: 1626 - 01/04/2018 19:50:19    2090101

Fair play Jimbo. Keep the head up lad.

festinog (Galway) - Posts: 3097 - 01/04/2018 19:50:20    2090102

Haven't read back on this thread so not sure has it already been mentioned but surely someone else noticed twice Galway were giving frees in which should have been frees out when running at the Dublin defence, Comer firstly had the ball in one arm and a hold of Coopers jersey who was chasing him at the same time, and got his free when he fell to the ground, then near the start of the second half Conroy Running with the ball grabbed Coopers arm and pulled him to the ground, when Coopers arm wasn't even out to make a tackle. Definitely wouldn't say the referee favoured the Dubs today.

mayoboy1 (Mayo) - Posts: 1654 - 01/04/2018 19:51:13    2090103

Replying To galwayford:  "Galway were naive in the last 10 minutes. Kevin Walsh made too many subs for a start. Also Galway should have gone for goals. Goals win matches. Galway did'nt get one. slán"
Yeah that number 11 for galway got greedy and kicked it wide. He had 3 lads running off his shoulder. Could have created a goal chance.

Jack_Goff (Meath) - Posts: 2920 - 01/04/2018 20:04:31    2090113

Replying To clondalkindub:  "Come on posters you're better than this, blaming the ref after every Dublin game is getting boring.

Galway are savage , from back to front very impressive, Comer is a beast but Galway need to get him the ball more , Shane Walsh very disappointing if he comes good Galway can go all the way.

Well done Dublin hung in there and got the win , hope to god we get Connolly back we need him big time this summer. Roll on the summer starting with May 13th can't wait"
Won't see Connolly back this year, supposedly he is gone off the wall all together i hope I'm wrong.

mightydubs (Dublin) - Posts: 48 - 01/04/2018 20:05:46    2090117

That certainly didn't feel like a 4 point win. Nothing comes easy against this Galway team. I hope they win Connacht so we avoid them in the super 8s. For all the talk about Dublin's strength in depth some players are just irreplaceable. We are a different animal with O'Sullivan and Connolly.

Ref was poor and inconsistent but the players don't make it easy for him. Nothing but rugby tackles and off the ball shenanigans. Not just these two teams but every county in the country is at it. I'd like to see a sin bin trialed. Cooper got a yellow today but a 10 minute sin bin would have been a fairer punishment imo.

Pantani (Dublin) - Posts: 48 - 01/04/2018 20:07:06    2090118

Well at least the rest of the country have a little bit of hope and I also admit I was wrong to doubt Tally

essmac (Tyrone) - Posts: 1141 - 01/04/2018 20:15:04    2090122

Replying To BlueHeaven:  "What is that referee on? Incredibly poor performance. What do GALWAY have to do to get a free?"
Nonsense .what about comers blantant diving and pulling players down on top of him to win frees.cry all ye want about referees..galway got 6 scores from frees dublin got 5..dublin also had scully sent off.dublin won that game by 4 points because they were the better team. Simple as

GGdub (Dublin) - Posts: 260 - 01/04/2018 20:21:36    2090124