Galway Vs Dublin League Final

I really like Galways attitude to playing Dublin to be honest, its very refreshing. Plenty of teams are beaten before they play Dublin or feel their is an aura around Dublin, yee lads are dead right we are there to be shot at and knocked of our pedestal. Fair play.

Cant wait.

TheUsername (Dublin) - Posts: 4445 - 28/03/2018 14:37:46    2089057

Replying To TheUsername:  "I really like Galways attitude to playing Dublin to be honest, its very refreshing. Plenty of teams are beaten before they play Dublin or feel their is an aura around Dublin, yee lads are dead right we are there to be shot at and knocked of our pedestal. Fair play.

Cant wait."
Like Fergie said, 'knock them right off their f*cking perch'.

Pope_Benedict (Galway) - Posts: 3425 - 28/03/2018 17:13:47    2089101

I predict a very exciting game indeed. It will depend on Cluxton how close it is going to be in the end. I think that Galway are very strong defensively as well as having a lot to offer up front. Hard to know if they are good enough to win in croke park. Monaghan did it last week but it was really a bit of a sham game. I will be tuned in for sure.

Donegalman (None) - Posts: 3830 - 28/03/2018 17:21:43    2089103

Replying To Pope_Benedict:  "Like Fergie said, 'knock them right off their f*cking perch'."
It your opportunity mate, come Sunday evening we will know whether you can break from the herd and actually be contenders.

Must be exciting.

TheUsername (Dublin) - Posts: 4445 - 28/03/2018 17:30:45    2089107

Winning the league is ok once you don't bust your chops in doing so. I reckon that's what happened Kerry last year. Too hung up on beating us but I reckon if they had of been as focused as that V Mayo last year they probably could've beat them in the first game.
Remember it's nice to win trophies but this one is soon forgotten so pick your fights.

realdub (Dublin) - Posts: 8592 - 28/03/2018 19:01:20    2089133

Replying To realdub:  "Winning the league is ok once you don't bust your chops in doing so. I reckon that's what happened Kerry last year. Too hung up on beating us but I reckon if they had of been as focused as that V Mayo last year they probably could've beat them in the first game.
Remember it's nice to win trophies but this one is soon forgotten so pick your fights."
Between yourself and The Username colleague fair enough points. We have to be playing these games though to get to the point where ye, Mayo etc have been for the last few yrs I.e. at the business end of things. May 13th all the same is our critical date given the road to be travelled beyond for the defeated team that day.

kiloughter (Galway) - Posts: 1946 - 28/03/2018 19:49:47    2089145

I don't buy into this rubbish about "Its only the league". Its a national final and both teams will be going all out to win it. I have been impressed by Galways progress under Walsh.They have talent, hunger and a real belief about them. I understand Galway folk being cautious about their prospects because they are a bit too defensive at times but I think themselves and Kerry are best placed to stop Dublins gallop come summer. I think Dublins experience will just edge it on Sunday in an exciting encounter. Na Dubs Abu

CaogaCuig (Dublin) - Posts: 63 - 28/03/2018 20:29:40    2089153

Dublin get two much respect as such they have teams bet before the game starts. We seen this with Ferguson/ Man Utd and like man u the bubble will bust and I hope it's this Sunday.
The last time we were in croker we played worse then usless. The players let them self down and their fans. I truly believe that Galway will channel that hurt and put it up to Dublin. I expect it to be a close game with Galway winning by a point or Dublin winning by no more than 3 points

heartbroken (Galway) - Posts: 370 - 28/03/2018 20:47:33    2089157

Replying To heartbroken:  "Dublin get two much respect as such they have teams bet before the game starts. We seen this with Ferguson/ Man Utd and like man u the bubble will bust and I hope it's this Sunday.
The last time we were in croker we played worse then usless. The players let them self down and their fans. I truly believe that Galway will channel that hurt and put it up to Dublin. I expect it to be a close game with Galway winning by a point or Dublin winning by no more than 3 points"
Losing a league final won't bust our bubble

realdub (Dublin) - Posts: 8592 - 28/03/2018 21:36:08    2089178

Looking forward to a good game, it could go either way. Galway will be playing the Dubs several times over the next 12 months so we are hoping to improve our game with each meeting. Dublin are a joy to watch and are on course for a 5 in a row, great to see Galway back to challenge. Gaillimh Abu

suckvalleypaddy (Galway) - Posts: 1669 - 29/03/2018 10:22:29    2089267

Win lose or draw

The league has been a success for Dublin while preparing for the championship ahead.

It was all about introducing, resting and practicing/competing and Gavin has done that well once again. Always good to remain unbeaten away from home.

But on the downside - very unfortunate injuries to key men and the ongoing issue with Connolly. I've heard what's going on from a very good source and thankfully it is something that can be resolved but it'll take a wee bit of reflection and maturity.

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20600 - 29/03/2018 11:01:32    2089280

So i wonder what way we will try and play Galways Blanket?

For me there are two ways go for the throat early and then turn their own system into a straight jacket like Tyrone last year.

Hold possession make them chase shadows and wear them down then change gears.

Given its the league i think it will be no 2, if it was the championship id expect No1.

No one is going to play all their tactical cards at this stage of the season.

TheUsername (Dublin) - Posts: 4445 - 29/03/2018 11:53:07    2089295

Wouldn't be surprised at all if Dublin adopt a blanket against Galway the next day. Clearly struggled against the offensive strength of a Galway second string attack the last day in Salthill.

WunderBar (Galway) - Posts: 290 - 29/03/2018 15:04:08    2089343

Replying To WunderBar:  "Wouldn't be surprised at all if Dublin adopt a blanket against Galway the next day. Clearly struggled against the offensive strength of a Galway second string attack the last day in Salthill."
Agreed mate, clearly struggled.

Imagine being a Dublin defender and wondering where all the forwards are.

:D

TheUsername (Dublin) - Posts: 4445 - 29/03/2018 15:36:10    2089355

pls stop calling it Galway's blanket...it's the Galway Shawl

Maroonatic (Galway) - Posts: 1060 - 29/03/2018 16:30:50    2089374

Replying To TheUsername:  "Agreed mate, clearly struggled.

Imagine being a Dublin defender and wondering where all the forwards are.

:D"
Not that I agree with the Galway poster, but were you at the Galway - Dublin game? Don't buy into all the hype around Galway being so negative, OK at times there were few forward left in the Dublin half but it wasn't as much as some in the media make out and it wasn't ever for very long.

Once in possession the Galway attack was great to watch, from our perspective anyway!

See ye Sunday!

The_DOC (Galway) - Posts: 708 - 29/03/2018 16:37:35    2089376

Replying To The_DOC:  "Not that I agree with the Galway poster, but were you at the Galway - Dublin game? Don't buy into all the hype around Galway being so negative, OK at times there were few forward left in the Dublin half but it wasn't as much as some in the media make out and it wasn't ever for very long.

Once in possession the Galway attack was great to watch, from our perspective anyway!

See ye Sunday!"
I was at the game alright, I was surprised over all if I am being honest, I thought there was more balance to Galway's play then I saw in that game. That said that is the only game I saw Galway live in this year and to be fair if their is one team you are going to play conservative against it's Dublin.. It was a very defensive display and comparable with the Donegal and Tyrone systems of years gone by.

I'm not knocking by saying that as if it's the system chosen to be the most successful, then it's up to others to break it down. Galway have the forwards to play the system and you need it because attacking expansive play needs to be efficient given it's economy. My fear for Galway is you can contain Dublin with a huge effort but you also have to outgun them, that's the tricky part, the only team to have done it are Donegal in 2014. Mayo, Kerry and Tyrone have tried the blanket and it just hasn't worked. A great opportunitys the for Galway, I think it's curious that lads from Galway are trying to say that Galway aren't a defensive team, maybe it's the history of attacking football in the county or librelness of the city, but yee play defensive conservative football at the moment, own it, support and embrace it, it could be very successful.

TheUsername (Dublin) - Posts: 4445 - 29/03/2018 17:04:13    2089380

Replying To TheUsername:  "I was at the game alright, I was surprised over all if I am being honest, I thought there was more balance to Galway's play then I saw in that game. That said that is the only game I saw Galway live in this year and to be fair if their is one team you are going to play conservative against it's Dublin.. It was a very defensive display and comparable with the Donegal and Tyrone systems of years gone by.

I'm not knocking by saying that as if it's the system chosen to be the most successful, then it's up to others to break it down. Galway have the forwards to play the system and you need it because attacking expansive play needs to be efficient given it's economy. My fear for Galway is you can contain Dublin with a huge effort but you also have to outgun them, that's the tricky part, the only team to have done it are Donegal in 2014. Mayo, Kerry and Tyrone have tried the blanket and it just hasn't worked. A great opportunitys the for Galway, I think it's curious that lads from Galway are trying to say that Galway aren't a defensive team, maybe it's the history of attacking football in the county or librelness of the city, but yee play defensive conservative football at the moment, own it, support and embrace it, it could be very successful."
I don't think anyone is denying that we're very defensive when we don't have the ball. We get a huge amount of bodies back when not in possession.
You can only 'play football' when you have the ball the ball though, and on that count we actually play a nice brand which involves moving the ball very quickly with hard running and quick kick passing.
From the Mayo game we had a massively higher kick to handpass ratio than they did.
We've created a huge amount of goal chances in this campaign through this style, but have spurned the vast majority of them, which is worrying. We missed at least 4 very makeable chances against Kerry, two 1-on-1s in the Dublin game as well as another decent chance.
The lack of detailed analysis from some quarters is what some Galway people have an issue with. A conservative style overall for me would be a team who move slowly up the pitch with endless lateral handpassing. This is the type of football that I find very hard to watch.
We're very conservative when we're defending, but we generally play a very direct game when attacking.
This Dublin team have been excellent to watch over the past number of years. Likewise, Mayo when they get to Croker. Both teams have been able to move the ball quickly on the break through running at pace and as well as accurate kick passing.

WanPintWin (Galway) - Posts: 2043 - 29/03/2018 17:35:36    2089388

Galway get plenty of numbers back when defending. There's an easy way to beat that, go direct and don't let them get back in time. However winter football isn't suited to that play, so teams like Mayo and Dublin went very lateral in the league, allowing Galway time to get back. They won't have so much time to get back on harder pitches later in the year.

However a very defensive team doesn't commit many players to attack and doesn't put up big scores. That's hasn't been the case at all with Galway. I doubt there's many wing backs in the league who have got forward and had as many shots as their two, Heaney and Sweeney (Heaney can score, Sweeney can't). All their forwards and midfielders have put up scores also. They certainly get bodies back but they attack in great numbers. Not sure if you can call that defensive overall. I suspect if Dublin go direct as opposed to lateral on Sunday, we'll see a different game

PressureKick (UK) - Posts: 210 - 29/03/2018 19:34:24    2089406

Really looking forward to this game Sunday but the problem is I don't know what outcome I want. If Dublin were to win easily it would dispel the faint hope we have that they may be starting to slip just a little bit, even though it might lead to a little complacency on their part. And if Galway lose heavily, even though it might take the wind out of their sails, it will make us favourites for our game in May and we are not good at the favourites thing. On the other hand if Galway hammer the Dubs, even though it might reinforce the Dubs slipping bit, it might just annoy them and they might get Connolly back with a point to prove and come back better than ever. As for Galway, if they can hammer the Dubs it will mean they will be too good for our injured, recently injured and soon to be injured geriatrics in McHale Park. If it is a close game, whatever the outcome, it will probably suit both of them as it will be all the motivation Gavin will want to wake the Dubs up for the Championship and Galway will be as cocky as bedamned and flying come May. I just can't figure an outcome that would be a win, win for us. Maybe I'll just sit back and enjoy it as at least we're not involved.

Llaw_Gyffes (Mayo) - Posts: 1113 - 29/03/2018 20:16:53    2089413