Galway Vs Dublin League Final

Replying To TheUsername:  "I am left with the question is this Galway team, in fact one of the greatest teams of all time. Something tremendously special seems to have been born this spring.

If i was Galway i would leave some in reserve for a tilt at Sam, this Galway team shouldn't be concerning themselves with the likes of the National League.

We had a good run at it to be fair to us."
That's not a bad idea to be honest. Let a few of our minors have a rattle at the dubs & experience the elation of winning in HQ and lifting some silverware.

Sure they'll have to get used to it anyways, as our time for world domination is coming. It cannot be stopped.

Wests_Awake (Galway) - Posts: 877 - 26/03/2018 11:57:40    2088222

There is only one relative question to ask....Is King Con playing????

He doesn't do losing finals.....and he is missing a league medal!

witnof (Dublin) - Posts: 1604 - 26/03/2018 12:39:24    2088244

Replying To Wests_Awake:  "That's not a bad idea to be honest. Let a few of our minors have a rattle at the dubs & experience the elation of winning in HQ and lifting some silverware.

Sure they'll have to get used to it anyways, as our time for world domination is coming. It cannot be stopped."
Agreed mate keep the powder dry for the big games, you cant rely on a handy draw like yee got in the hurling last year :D

Hopefully we go out swinging, fighting the good fight for open expansive football.

Pray for us.

TheUsername (Dublin) - Posts: 4445 - 26/03/2018 12:47:05    2088247

Replying To witnof:  "There is only one relative question to ask....Is King Con playing????

He doesn't do losing finals.....and he is missing a league medal!"
He takes sugar and milk with his Galway.

TheUsername (Dublin) - Posts: 4445 - 26/03/2018 12:50:47    2088248

Replying To Trucker1:  "Dublin will win relatively handy if they start Cluxton in particular and the rest of their first team. Cian O Sullivan is a massive loss. One thing this league campaign has done in my eyes is to show that Dublin minus their top players are not that far ahead i.e their depth is not as good as people thought. However, if they bring back in Cluxton, Connnolly, McManamon etc then they will have too much for us at our stage of development. We will use this game as another opportunity to improve and to set down a marker that we are very hard to beat and are very dangerous for any team. Galway have made unreal progress under Kevin Walsh but we have a good bit to go before we break into Dublin's class. The aim for Galway this year is to stay in Division 1(achieved but mindful of what happened Derry since they reached the league final in 2014), beat Mayo, win Connacht, break into the top 2/3 outside of Dublin and hopefully make a semi final/final and make sure that any team who might beat us will have to work like absolute dogs until the last ball is kicked"
I agree with you but we got to our 6th league final on the bounce while having some poxy injuries, resting others, and blooding young players in every game.

Not bad...

But again I agree. Dublin have had some serious injuries to key men. Losing McCaffrey, Brogan and O'Sullivan to long term injuries is a big setback to the 4 in a row.

Dublin have been particularly unlucky with injuries since the AI final and the players that have been lost are worth their weight in gold. No team can afford to lose such talent!

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20600 - 26/03/2018 12:52:00    2088250

Interesting bit of analysis from Brolly yesterday:

We were only a few miles from MacHale Park last Sunday morning, but life is too short for optional Tyrone watching. Instead, we drove to Salthill to see the Dubs. I have been in Norway in the winter and Salthill was colder. A freezing gale drove up the pitch, the tricolour clinging to its pole for dear life.

Galway had the wind in the first half and instead of taking advantage of it, they immediately went into their ingrained 1-13-1 formation. "We should have gone to watch Tyrone," said the glamorous brunette.

As a result of Galway's game plan, Dublin, with less than half a team - minus Stephen Cluxton, Brian Fenton, four of their championship forwards and so on - were off the hook, and the pattern of the game was established. Dublin's sub goalkeeper kicked out short to an unmarked Dublin defender. They worked the ball upfield without a hand being laid on them, then held possession and probed the Galway wall, the first line of which resembled a defensive line in rugby.

As they probed, the Galway players held their spots, merely shuffling a few metres to either side depending on the direction of the ball or the runner. The wind was so stiff that you could only shoot from close in, and with so many Galway men back it quickly settled into a stalemate. The result was that Galway wasted their valuable time, with the Dubs holding possession for long stretches of the first half. I timed them at one point as holding the ball for four minutes and 11 seconds, as the Galway support roared at their lads to push out.

The pity was that when Galway did win possession and go forward, they looked good. As it was, because they were all breaking forward with no one ahead of the ball, save an isolated, double-marked full-forward who was therefore not an option, they were reduced to carrying the ball upfield, then taking 50 and 60-metre potshots. Several of these went over on Sunday because of the wind. A small child could have thrown the ball up in the air in the right spot and it would have blown over the bar.

At half-time we had tea with the swanks and I got talking to a group of Corofin people still wearing the colours from the day before. "Is it any wonder our lads don't like playing for the county?" said one.

On top of all of their other great attributes, this Dublin group play harder than anyone else. Galway had successfully bullied Mayo when they played them a few weeks earlier. The abiding symbol of that game was Paul Conroy dragging Aidan O'Shea out of a ruck by the neck, then trailing him contemptuously along the ground like a dead calf. Big Aidan should have got up and busted him but as is his wont, opted to respond like Gandhi, not Genghis. .

From the throw-in last week, Conroy was tackling with no little ferocity, only this time he wasn't dealing with pacifists. In the end, the Dubs were lining up to hit him, and he must have been a very sore boy on Monday morning. Likewise, the Galway full-back put himself about throughout, until Eoghan O'Gara poleaxed him, knocking him senseless. He had it coming.

Damien Comer reminds me of a computer-generated warrior from Lord of the Rings and when he came on, he immediately went on a rampaging solo run and kicked an incredible point against the gale. Quickly, Philly McMahon was in his face and there was an important moment. Like the weigh-in for a prize fight, when the psychological war is often won. The much smaller Philly stuck his forehead under Comer's chin and smiled broadly into his face for ten seconds as if to say, "come on, let's see what you've got".

Nothing, as it turned out. Comer disappeared into the half-back line thereafter and wasn't seen again.

In that second half, the Dubs went from five behind to one up with normal time over. Their commitment was absolute. Ciaran Kilkenny went for a suicide ball that had the crowd gasping. I had my hand over my eyes for a split second, but he emerged unscathed. Later, Jonny Cooper went for another one, played chicken with two Galway men, and won. Cooper would put his head where you wouldn't put a crowbar.

Galway played with great desire throughout and even when other teams might have given up they kept going. Their equalising point came with the last kick of the game, deep in a long injury time caused by endless, final-quarter melees. I stood up at the end, and realised my legs were in spasm from the cold. But in truth the second half flew by. This was a championship battle that was absolutely absorbing and totally entertaining.

Kevin Walsh needs to re-balance his system quickly because they cannot do better than a very good league showing with this formation. He ought to watch Dublin v Tyrone last August. In fairness, Tyrone, with Lee Brennan finally being allowed to play in the opposing team's 45, are inching towards that better balance. Galway are not, and Croke Park next Sunday will illustrate that with a vengeance.

TheUsername (Dublin) - Posts: 4445 - 26/03/2018 13:44:54    2088275

Predict the Dubs to do a job on Galway the next day. The Salthill game the last day is not a true barometer of how these teams compare against each other with both managers resting key men on the day. That was a scrappy enough affair but I'd expect Dublin in Croke Park to hit their stride and put 6 or 7 points on Galway if not more. Galway have come on a lot since their last two Croke Park outings but there still has to be some lingering doubts there to whether they can do it on the big day in front of a big crowd in HQ. For me the jury is still out on that one regardless of their impressive league form.

Gavin will still be smarting at losing to Kerry in last year's final and will want this piece of silverware back and as such I think he will field a very strong starting 15. Hope to see Con back in contention too to provide a real lift but he will probably be given a rest this week. Clucko will be back in goal (for what it's worth I think Comerford did quite well last two games and those experiences will bring him on no end), MDMA back in from the start at no.9 with James Mc moving to the half back line with Daly losing out, Up front McHugh won't see any game time next Sunday and with the likes of Kilkenny, Andrews, Mannion (if fit) and Con (perhaps some game time) all due to return. Even with our plethora of injuries I expect us to hit some sort of form and put a lot of the recent doubts surrounding the camp to bed. I haven't mentioned Connolly as if the rumours are to be believed then he won't be involved the next day either and there's a lot of work/decision making required from Gavin to know how best to resolve that particular situation. I just hope beyond hope we see him back in a blue shirt asap.

I also don't think would be overly bothered with a defeat, he needs to keep the confidence of the group intact heading into their May 13th clash with Mayo. To do that they need to keep a potential defeat to low single digits or go out and surprise everyone by winning the game.

TrueBlue35 (Dublin) - Posts: 206 - 26/03/2018 14:09:41    2088283

I've a feeling this will be total dull non event. i hope Galway are back but teams have put a lot into the league before and havent transferred it to the cship. There's no dount however that Galway are on the right track but it's early days. I've a sneaky feeling you will see Mayo and Roscommon as the two Connacht representatives in the Super 8's. I can't see a third Connacht team getting there but having said that there is no doubting Connacht is one, or if not the most competitive province at the min.
Dublin by 8+ without killing themselves would be my guess for this tho.

tiobraid (Tipperary) - Posts: 4119 - 27/03/2018 12:13:55    2088658

Replying To TheUsername:  "Interesting bit of analysis from Brolly yesterday:

We were only a few miles from MacHale Park last Sunday morning, but life is too short for optional Tyrone watching. Instead, we drove to Salthill to see the Dubs. I have been in Norway in the winter and Salthill was colder. A freezing gale drove up the pitch, the tricolour clinging to its pole for dear life.

Galway had the wind in the first half and instead of taking advantage of it, they immediately went into their ingrained 1-13-1 formation. "We should have gone to watch Tyrone," said the glamorous brunette.

As a result of Galway's game plan, Dublin, with less than half a team - minus Stephen Cluxton, Brian Fenton, four of their championship forwards and so on - were off the hook, and the pattern of the game was established. Dublin's sub goalkeeper kicked out short to an unmarked Dublin defender. They worked the ball upfield without a hand being laid on them, then held possession and probed the Galway wall, the first line of which resembled a defensive line in rugby.

As they probed, the Galway players held their spots, merely shuffling a few metres to either side depending on the direction of the ball or the runner. The wind was so stiff that you could only shoot from close in, and with so many Galway men back it quickly settled into a stalemate. The result was that Galway wasted their valuable time, with the Dubs holding possession for long stretches of the first half. I timed them at one point as holding the ball for four minutes and 11 seconds, as the Galway support roared at their lads to push out.

The pity was that when Galway did win possession and go forward, they looked good. As it was, because they were all breaking forward with no one ahead of the ball, save an isolated, double-marked full-forward who was therefore not an option, they were reduced to carrying the ball upfield, then taking 50 and 60-metre potshots. Several of these went over on Sunday because of the wind. A small child could have thrown the ball up in the air in the right spot and it would have blown over the bar.

At half-time we had tea with the swanks and I got talking to a group of Corofin people still wearing the colours from the day before. "Is it any wonder our lads don't like playing for the county?" said one.

On top of all of their other great attributes, this Dublin group play harder than anyone else. Galway had successfully bullied Mayo when they played them a few weeks earlier. The abiding symbol of that game was Paul Conroy dragging Aidan O'Shea out of a ruck by the neck, then trailing him contemptuously along the ground like a dead calf. Big Aidan should have got up and busted him but as is his wont, opted to respond like Gandhi, not Genghis. .

From the throw-in last week, Conroy was tackling with no little ferocity, only this time he wasn't dealing with pacifists. In the end, the Dubs were lining up to hit him, and he must have been a very sore boy on Monday morning. Likewise, the Galway full-back put himself about throughout, until Eoghan O'Gara poleaxed him, knocking him senseless. He had it coming.

Damien Comer reminds me of a computer-generated warrior from Lord of the Rings and when he came on, he immediately went on a rampaging solo run and kicked an incredible point against the gale. Quickly, Philly McMahon was in his face and there was an important moment. Like the weigh-in for a prize fight, when the psychological war is often won. The much smaller Philly stuck his forehead under Comer's chin and smiled broadly into his face for ten seconds as if to say, "come on, let's see what you've got".

Nothing, as it turned out. Comer disappeared into the half-back line thereafter and wasn't seen again.

In that second half, the Dubs went from five behind to one up with normal time over. Their commitment was absolute. Ciaran Kilkenny went for a suicide ball that had the crowd gasping. I had my hand over my eyes for a split second, but he emerged unscathed. Later, Jonny Cooper went for another one, played chicken with two Galway men, and won. Cooper would put his head where you wouldn't put a crowbar.

Galway played with great desire throughout and even when other teams might have given up they kept going. Their equalising point came with the last kick of the game, deep in a long injury time caused by endless, final-quarter melees. I stood up at the end, and realised my legs were in spasm from the cold. But in truth the second half flew by. This was a championship battle that was absolutely absorbing and totally entertaining.

Kevin Walsh needs to re-balance his system quickly because they cannot do better than a very good league showing with this formation. He ought to watch Dublin v Tyrone last August. In fairness, Tyrone, with Lee Brennan finally being allowed to play in the opposing team's 45, are inching towards that better balance. Galway are not, and Croke Park next Sunday will illustrate that with a vengeance."
Except it wasn't interesting at all really. The same Joe Brolly who for the past decade or more was laughing at Galway for playing out-dated football, clueless in the backs, etc. And once they do finally start playing defensive football, he can't wait to put the boot in again, this time for being too defensive. Time for another Padraic Joyce article putting Brolly in his place!

Ailteoir (Galway) - Posts: 861 - 27/03/2018 13:08:40    2088684

Replying To tiobraid:  "I've a feeling this will be total dull non event. i hope Galway are back but teams have put a lot into the league before and havent transferred it to the cship. There's no dount however that Galway are on the right track but it's early days. I've a sneaky feeling you will see Mayo and Roscommon as the two Connacht representatives in the Super 8's. I can't see a third Connacht team getting there but having said that there is no doubting Connacht is one, or if not the most competitive province at the min.
Dublin by 8+ without killing themselves would be my guess for this tho."
I thought u'd immigrated on account of the Galway hurlers winning the AI?

The_DOC (Galway) - Posts: 708 - 27/03/2018 14:13:50    2088721

Dublin havent beaten Galway in league game in 17 years

BartMcQueen (Cork) - Posts: 196 - 27/03/2018 22:22:44    2088878

Really looking forward to this.

Whatever about the tinkering from either team throughout the league, I don't think any team would approach a national final with anything less than a full-blooded tilt.

As for Galway being rightful league champions already: if it had been on the line last week, Gavin would have played a stronger team. It wasn't on the line, so he didn't. This is the format for deciding the champions this year. If Galway want to be moral as well as actual champions, they'll need to do it on Sunday.

I expect a quality tussle. Couple of points in it either way. Dubs favourites, but won't call it.

Gavvygavgav (Dublin) - Posts: 383 - 28/03/2018 01:59:08    2088917

Replying To The_DOC:  "I thought u'd immigrated on account of the Galway hurlers winning the AI?"
Ah I did but I came back now the dust has settled a small bit
Glutton for punishment ;)

tiobraid (Tipperary) - Posts: 4119 - 28/03/2018 08:48:03    2088927

"Damien Comer reminds me of a computer-generated warrior from Lord of the Rings and when he came on, he immediately went on a rampaging solo run and kicked an incredible point against the gale. Quickly, Philly McMahon was in his face and there was an important moment. Like the weigh-in for a prize fight, when the psychological war is often won. The much smaller Philly stuck his forehead under Comer's chin and smiled broadly into his face for ten seconds as if to say, "come on, let's see what you've got".

"

Brolly's bit about Comer makes no sense. He was moved out around the half-back line/midfield to win some ball. We were struggling to get out of our own half at that stage and our kickouts weren't getting past the 45 against that wind.
He would have been absolutely wasted standing inside with nothing going in.
He won a few crucial frees for us in the last 5 mins.
Even the score he kicked came from him getting the ball out around midfield and breaking a few tackles.
He's played out there for stretches in many of our games in the league, as he's able to take some pressure of the defence.

WanPintWin (Galway) - Posts: 2043 - 28/03/2018 08:49:45    2088928

Replying To TheUsername:  "Interesting bit of analysis from Brolly yesterday:

Kevin Walsh needs to re-balance his system quickly because they cannot do better than a very good league showing with this formation. He ought to watch Dublin v Tyrone last August. In fairness, Tyrone, with Lee Brennan finally being allowed to play in the opposing team's 45, are inching towards that better balance. Galway are not, and Croke Park next Sunday will illustrate that with a vengeance."
So many inconstancies in Brolly's piece its a real let down as the contradicts himself on so much of the pints he's trying to make:

1) "As a result of Galway's game plan, Dublin, with less than half a team - minus Stephen Cluxton, Brian Fenton, four of their championship forwards and so on"
- Nothing mentioned about Galway also playing without all Corofin players
- Eamonn Brannigan, Damien Comer, Johnny Heaney and Seán Kelly all on the bench
- Galway also started their no. 3 choice GK

2) "Dubs holding possession for long stretches of the first half. I timed them at one point as holding the ball for four minutes and 11 seconds, as the Galway support roared at their lads to push out."
- I was at the match, Galway fans are well aware of how the team are setting up and no one was calling for this.

3) "They were reduced to carrying the ball upfield, then taking 50 and 60-metre potshots. Several of these went over on Sunday because of the wind. A small child could have thrown the ball up in the air in the right spot and it would have blown over the bar."
- Just no. It doesn't matter how strong the wind is, you still have to put it between the two tall white uprighty things, also is this not the same for both teams as the wind didn't die off in the second half? I don't think Galway took any 'pot shots' to be fair!
- The wind wasn't blowing straight down the field either it had an angle to it, which Heaney used to curl his shot over the bar from the outside of the boot

4) "Corofin people still wearing the colours from the day before. "Is it any wonder our lads don't like playing for the county?"
- Maybe someone did say this but hard to believe seeing as Corofin players have always been a stalwart of Galway teams (this coming from a Westie before ye think Im down putting out cones on the Corofin training field), Ray Silke Captained us to an AI in 98 and many many Corifin players have led the lines for Galway before and since.

5) "From the throw-in last week, Conroy was tackling with no little ferocity, only this time he wasn't dealing with pacifists. In the end, the Dubs were lining up to hit him, and he must have been a very sore boy on Monday morning."
- From the man who previously said things like (I paraphrase):
A) Galway want to win the match like the Rose of Tralee wants world peace"
B) Galway are happy enough to go out of the championship and go surfing etc.
C) Theres no bite to this Galway team, they need to get more aggressive

6) "In that second half, the Dubs went from five behind to one up with normal time over. Their commitment was absolute."
- I don't question that the Dublin commitment was absolute, but ah here, so was Galways - hence it ended in a draw snatched from Dublin having a 1point lead in into injury time

7) Just on inconsistence, and Brolly being a barrister, I will ask for the Hoganstand Jury to compare:
A) "Quickly, Philly McMahon was in his face and there was an important moment. Like the weigh-in for a prize fight, when the psychological war is often won. The much smaller Philly stuck his forehead under Comer's chin and smiled broadly into his face for ten seconds as if to say, "come on, let's see what you've got"

with B) "Likewise, the Galway full-back put himself about throughout, until Eoghan O'Gara poleaxed him, knocking him senseless. He had it coming"

- So from this I can assume that's its OK for Dublin to go in and throw their weight around, but its only an issue when Galway do it?

Anyway lads, just some of my thoughts. Please Dubs, this is in no way anything against you, its against the poorly written article by Brolly. We had might craic with a few of ye in Pearse stadium and hopefully good craic again on Sunday!

Hon GALWAY!

The_DOC (Galway) - Posts: 708 - 28/03/2018 09:41:49    2088940

People are starting to quote Brolly and actually thinkinig the is an analsyst so it is time to stop the thread.

Brolly does not need anymore self promotion!

witnof (Dublin) - Posts: 1604 - 28/03/2018 10:06:32    2088947

Replying To The_DOC:  "So many inconstancies in Brolly's piece its a real let down as the contradicts himself on so much of the pints he's trying to make:

1) "As a result of Galway's game plan, Dublin, with less than half a team - minus Stephen Cluxton, Brian Fenton, four of their championship forwards and so on"
- Nothing mentioned about Galway also playing without all Corofin players
- Eamonn Brannigan, Damien Comer, Johnny Heaney and Seán Kelly all on the bench
- Galway also started their no. 3 choice GK

2) "Dubs holding possession for long stretches of the first half. I timed them at one point as holding the ball for four minutes and 11 seconds, as the Galway support roared at their lads to push out."
- I was at the match, Galway fans are well aware of how the team are setting up and no one was calling for this.

3) "They were reduced to carrying the ball upfield, then taking 50 and 60-metre potshots. Several of these went over on Sunday because of the wind. A small child could have thrown the ball up in the air in the right spot and it would have blown over the bar."
- Just no. It doesn't matter how strong the wind is, you still have to put it between the two tall white uprighty things, also is this not the same for both teams as the wind didn't die off in the second half? I don't think Galway took any 'pot shots' to be fair!
- The wind wasn't blowing straight down the field either it had an angle to it, which Heaney used to curl his shot over the bar from the outside of the boot

4) "Corofin people still wearing the colours from the day before. "Is it any wonder our lads don't like playing for the county?"
- Maybe someone did say this but hard to believe seeing as Corofin players have always been a stalwart of Galway teams (this coming from a Westie before ye think Im down putting out cones on the Corofin training field), Ray Silke Captained us to an AI in 98 and many many Corifin players have led the lines for Galway before and since.

5) "From the throw-in last week, Conroy was tackling with no little ferocity, only this time he wasn't dealing with pacifists. In the end, the Dubs were lining up to hit him, and he must have been a very sore boy on Monday morning."
- From the man who previously said things like (I paraphrase):
A) Galway want to win the match like the Rose of Tralee wants world peace"
B) Galway are happy enough to go out of the championship and go surfing etc.
C) Theres no bite to this Galway team, they need to get more aggressive

6) "In that second half, the Dubs went from five behind to one up with normal time over. Their commitment was absolute."
- I don't question that the Dublin commitment was absolute, but ah here, so was Galways - hence it ended in a draw snatched from Dublin having a 1point lead in into injury time

7) Just on inconsistence, and Brolly being a barrister, I will ask for the Hoganstand Jury to compare:
A) "Quickly, Philly McMahon was in his face and there was an important moment. Like the weigh-in for a prize fight, when the psychological war is often won. The much smaller Philly stuck his forehead under Comer's chin and smiled broadly into his face for ten seconds as if to say, "come on, let's see what you've got"

with B) "Likewise, the Galway full-back put himself about throughout, until Eoghan O'Gara poleaxed him, knocking him senseless. He had it coming"

- So from this I can assume that's its OK for Dublin to go in and throw their weight around, but its only an issue when Galway do it?

Anyway lads, just some of my thoughts. Please Dubs, this is in no way anything against you, its against the poorly written article by Brolly. We had might craic with a few of ye in Pearse stadium and hopefully good craic again on Sunday!

Hon GALWAY!"
Absolutely. Brolly was a McGuinness fanatic 6 yrs ago then turned on him. He rattled our noisey neighbours on a number of occasions (unfairly may I add) but had a bit of a love in with them since. Pay no attention to him.

kiloughter (Galway) - Posts: 1946 - 28/03/2018 13:40:35    2089035

Replying To tiobraid:  "Ah I did but I came back now the dust has settled a small bit
Glutton for punishment ;)"
Good to have you back, if nathin else you'll keep us honest over on the hurling threads!

The_DOC (Galway) - Posts: 708 - 28/03/2018 13:49:46    2089037

Replying To The_DOC:  "Good to have you back, if nathin else you'll keep us honest over on the hurling threads!"
Ye let me down badly against Wexford on the hurling predictions thread!
It's all only a bit of craic!

tiobraid (Tipperary) - Posts: 4119 - 28/03/2018 14:20:31    2089050

We're in a league final, in football. So good saying that.

The dubs are good, all Ireland champions and are they to be shot at.

We are there on merit, unbeaten in a very tough league so we can go to Croker with confidence and a bit of that old Galway swagger....

I believe we can win but in the scheme of things, all that matters is may and the green and red.

HON THE TRIBES!!!

tribeinbrum (Galway) - Posts: 4155 - 28/03/2018 14:28:58    2089054