Galway Vs Dublin League Final

Replying To galwayford:  "Joe Brolly is from Derry. I think Derry are in division 4 of the football. Colm O Rourke is from Meath, who are not in division 1. Pat Spillane won his all Ireland medals in the 80's. At a time when communism was still active in Europe. Charlie Haughey was Taoiseach and there was no motorways in Ireland. Time for some new faces."
Spillane actually tried to talk about Galways tackling showing a clip of a mighty turnover from cathal sweeney but Joe just kept talking over him and shut him down. His thing with paddy tally is a bit ridiculous. Build a bridge and get over it

galwayfball (Galway) - Posts: 1678 - 02/04/2018 19:56:40    2090421

Replying To Pope_Benedict:  "That is nonsense. You're making the crazy leap of faith, that your team will break even in the 13 'one on one' matchups, or that your extra man can fully compensate for any carnage that might ensue from 'plan B'. Dublin have won 5 of the last 7 titles. Galway haven't contested a semi for the past 15 seasons. Why are you so sure that one on one matchups would come without a health warning versus this Dublin team? Your simplistic 14 v 15 view seems to assume that all players are of an equal talent level. If that were so, Dublin wouldn't be winning all the silverware in recent seasons."
You are obviously confused as its irrelevant what anyone has won or not won. 14 against 15 is no advantage if you cannot man-up. To win in football it comes down to being able to man-mark at the correct time- marking space wins nothing. Being able to man mark has little to do with equal talent level. Dublin have being winning because they have currently the best team and are not afraid to express their own style which involves a high work rate.

browncows (Meath) - Posts: 2342 - 03/04/2018 01:35:40    2090513

14 against 15 dose not always make a difference for example Dublin hurlers had 15 players on the field and Tipperary had 14 players for most of the match yet they hammered Dublin last week.

getting back to the Galway v dublin match Galway were only 1 point behind in the closing stages when dublin were wrongly awarded a easy score free,they quickly added another point and their experience stood to them as they closed out the game.

the positives for Galway are they were in with a chance to win with 5 mins to go and they showed tremendous pace which will have teams worried when Galway meet them in the summer .

Galway will grow from this match where a doubt has now been put in the dublin camp should these teams meet later on in the summer.

while we all want to win it will serve galway football better that we put up a display against a dublin team who got all the important calls in their favor.

heartbroken (Galway) - Posts: 370 - 03/04/2018 09:29:02    2090534

Entertaining game and not going to get into this referee debate. Thought he was poor for both sides and if we did shade the decisions then it's not Dublin's fault, you can only play away as the ref lets it. I am enjoying the optimism of Galway's resurgence but I just hope they don't head to Castlebar thinking they've won it already. They played well on Sunday but I'm not buying this stuff of pushing Dublin all the way. Dublin are well behind Galway in terms of training progress this year, are missing easily 6 top class players (Galway missing a couple too but not at the level of our absentees, of our finsihsing 14 on Sunday only 8 started last years All Ireland Final), went down to 14 men and still had 4 points to spare come the final whistle. I know Galway have come a long way since Div 2 last year and have some great talent coming onto the scene but I can't help feeling a Mayo ambush is on the cards. In fact Mayo will be loving all the praise that is coming lately for Galway. I think Galway will come on a lot after Sunday but are they more equipped to challenge for an All-Ireland than Kerry, Mayo or Tyrone? Don't want to rain on Galway's parade, far from it as it's great to see them coming on like they have but just genuinely asking the question if they're as close to the top as a lot of people are making out?

TrueBlue35 (Dublin) - Posts: 206 - 03/04/2018 09:54:59    2090542

I didnt give Galway a chance in this one but fair play, they pushed Dublin all the way. Unfortunately I didnt see the game but for Galway to go to Croke Park and push Dublin to the end takes fair going.
I hope they can now push on and reach the super 8's. A semi final appearance now has to be the aim and it's achievable but a lot of hurdles ahead.

tiobraid (Tipperary) - Posts: 4119 - 03/04/2018 10:50:00    2090569

Replying To TrueBlue35:  "Entertaining game and not going to get into this referee debate. Thought he was poor for both sides and if we did shade the decisions then it's not Dublin's fault, you can only play away as the ref lets it. I am enjoying the optimism of Galway's resurgence but I just hope they don't head to Castlebar thinking they've won it already. They played well on Sunday but I'm not buying this stuff of pushing Dublin all the way. Dublin are well behind Galway in terms of training progress this year, are missing easily 6 top class players (Galway missing a couple too but not at the level of our absentees, of our finsihsing 14 on Sunday only 8 started last years All Ireland Final), went down to 14 men and still had 4 points to spare come the final whistle. I know Galway have come a long way since Div 2 last year and have some great talent coming onto the scene but I can't help feeling a Mayo ambush is on the cards. In fact Mayo will be loving all the praise that is coming lately for Galway. I think Galway will come on a lot after Sunday but are they more equipped to challenge for an All-Ireland than Kerry, Mayo or Tyrone? Don't want to rain on Galway's parade, far from it as it's great to see them coming on like they have but just genuinely asking the question if they're as close to the top as a lot of people are making out?"
Very difficult to know. Without question Galway have been the best team that Dublin have played in the league, very tight defence, pacey forwards and potent attack. Very like us a few years ago. It looks like they have thrown everything at the league though. Apart from the Corofin lads coming back have they any other cards up their sleeve? They may have peaked and summer football is a different beast especially from QF stage on. Dublin experimenting and behind on training but I would worry about the loss of players. DC, Brogan and Flynn not likely to feature. Mayo always time their run for summer and Kerry will be there or thereabouts, with Monaghan and Tyrone dangerous also. I think Galway will do well in super 8s but need another year or two to refine their system and game management.

Joxer (Dublin) - Posts: 4700 - 03/04/2018 11:16:14    2090584

Replying To Joxer:  "Very difficult to know. Without question Galway have been the best team that Dublin have played in the league, very tight defence, pacey forwards and potent attack. Very like us a few years ago. It looks like they have thrown everything at the league though. Apart from the Corofin lads coming back have they any other cards up their sleeve? They may have peaked and summer football is a different beast especially from QF stage on. Dublin experimenting and behind on training but I would worry about the loss of players. DC, Brogan and Flynn not likely to feature. Mayo always time their run for summer and Kerry will be there or thereabouts, with Monaghan and Tyrone dangerous also. I think Galway will do well in super 8s but need another year or two to refine their system and game management."
Solid assessment Joxer. I'd agree and say this year for them should be about aiming for a semi and anything after that is bonus territory. Encouraging news re McCaffrey being back in light training and also have seen Paul Flynn posting on social media that he is on track with his rehab and should be back soon enough. Even if not a starter he is a great man to bring in as he is a very intelligent player and his experience is invaluable as is his ability to kick a long rage score - something increasingly important when facing defensive set ups. There's a nice break now before the first round so would hope Dublin ramp things up and kick into a higher gear than we've seen so far. Get a few of those injured lads back, try and sort the Connolly mess and the outlook come May could be a lot rosier. Encouraging thing for both managers on Sunday was that both sides have plenty to work and improve on which will help keep the focus over the next few weeks.

TrueBlue35 (Dublin) - Posts: 206 - 03/04/2018 11:37:21    2090586

Lads actually I don't think Galway played anywhere near their full potential (maybe 70% at most). Yes I know many posters will say Dublin didn't either but I can only go on what I have seen so far. The Corofin contingent (perhaps 5 or 6 of them) plus the likes of Daly, Cummins and Armstrong would definitely have improved that team. Midfield is still a problem and the best midfielder for Galway IMO is Cian D'Arcy who we didn't get to see much apart from 5 minutes against Kildare where he scored a point.

tommy k (Galway) - Posts: 3326 - 03/04/2018 11:55:24    2090595

Replying To tommy k:  "Lads actually I don't think Galway played anywhere near their full potential (maybe 70% at most). Yes I know many posters will say Dublin didn't either but I can only go on what I have seen so far. The Corofin contingent (perhaps 5 or 6 of them) plus the likes of Daly, Cummins and Armstrong would definitely have improved that team. Midfield is still a problem and the best midfielder for Galway IMO is Cian D'Arcy who we didn't get to see much apart from 5 minutes against Kildare where he scored a point."
Do you have a problem with the style of play tho? I think its boring 1 deminsional and the good teams when on form know how to play against it easily,
No point having some of the best young forwards in the country if not being used to their full potential ,has to be a balance but at the moment I don't think walsh or tally are too concerned about that,comer is a beast and has to what it takes to become best full forward in country but for long spells he is either isolated up too by himself or back in his own half defending

Galwayjoe86 (Galway) - Posts: 258 - 03/04/2018 12:24:33    2090617

Replying To tommy k:  "Lads actually I don't think Galway played anywhere near their full potential (maybe 70% at most). Yes I know many posters will say Dublin didn't either but I can only go on what I have seen so far. The Corofin contingent (perhaps 5 or 6 of them) plus the likes of Daly, Cummins and Armstrong would definitely have improved that team. Midfield is still a problem and the best midfielder for Galway IMO is Cian D'Arcy who we didn't get to see much apart from 5 minutes against Kildare where he scored a point."
If 5or6 Corofin lads can improve that Galway team, then 4or5 of those same 5or6 players still have everything to prove at senior intercounty level. There has never been a good winning Galway senior football team that had 5or6 Corofin players in it. Not a criticism of Corofin or their players that, but just a fact. When you see them mow through Nemo and Slaughtneil in recent Croker club finals, you'd be thinking, 5or6 easily yeah, but when it boils down to actually making it happen, it doesn't happen, it hasn't happened, and I'd suspect that it won't happen going forward either.

Pope_Benedict (Galway) - Posts: 3425 - 03/04/2018 12:28:26    2090620

When Scully got the line I thought we had them. I said earlier on in this thread that Dublin indiscipline would cost them. But instead they played like they had an extra man and the game got away from us.

Congratulations to Dublin. Hopefully see you in the summer.

Gaillimh abú.

Wests_Awake (Galway) - Posts: 877 - 03/04/2018 12:30:39    2090623

The Dublin lads says the ref was bad both ways, not sure what decisions they have an issue with? I'm not blaming the ref for the defeat as Galway weren't good enough in those last 10 mins but there's no a few decisions went Dublins way.

I'd agree Scully shouldn't have received a second yellow card but you have to remember he got away with no card for pulling Comer down in the first half. As for the free Rock got at 9-9, it was a dreadful decision. Never looked like a free and after seeing the replay it confirmed it.

Dublin deserved their victory and their experience showed in the last 10 minutes, they kept possession brilliantly and made sure they were guaranteed a score before they shot at the posts.

I do laugh at when Dublin posters come out this time of year about their fitness, you'd have to be very naive to think that Dublin players fitness levels aren't high at this time of years, thats the reason why they've hammered Mayo during the league the last 5 years yet their games are so close come September. They might not have as many collective training sessions as Galway but they'll be doing as much work on their own as any Galway player and who could blame them, nobody wants to miss out on All Ireland's and there's no shortage of talent who's capable of taking a place.

JDF (Galway) - Posts: 322 - 03/04/2018 12:34:44    2090625

Replying To Wests_Awake:  "When Scully got the line I thought we had them. I said earlier on in this thread that Dublin indiscipline would cost them. But instead they played like they had an extra man and the game got away from us.

Congratulations to Dublin. Hopefully see you in the summer.

Gaillimh abú."
Played like they had an extra man because they were allowed to seen as we sat back in that blanket defense even tho we had the extra man ,play more attacking football we have the forwards to blow teams away but not been allowed to ,Walsh its time to start making brave calls and when the moments arise in games give the attacking players the freedom or u are the mourinho of the gaa with tally

Galwayjoe86 (Galway) - Posts: 258 - 03/04/2018 12:38:26    2090628

Replying To Joxer:  "Very difficult to know. Without question Galway have been the best team that Dublin have played in the league, very tight defence, pacey forwards and potent attack. Very like us a few years ago. It looks like they have thrown everything at the league though. Apart from the Corofin lads coming back have they any other cards up their sleeve? They may have peaked and summer football is a different beast especially from QF stage on. Dublin experimenting and behind on training but I would worry about the loss of players. DC, Brogan and Flynn not likely to feature. Mayo always time their run for summer and Kerry will be there or thereabouts, with Monaghan and Tyrone dangerous also. I think Galway will do well in super 8s but need another year or two to refine their system and game management."
On what we were missing Sunday. If we played again exact same starting fifteen and replace subs with what we were missing: Mike Daly (nominated young player of the year 2017) Danny Cummins (injured most of last year finally got his op after Claregalway were knocked out) Sean Armstrong (had an excellent league this year injured for Sunday) Ian Burke (Galways best forward last year) Kieran Molloy from Corofin is a serious prospect. So hopefully if we can everyone fit come summer we will have players off the bench that can make a serious impact. Two or three of these lads coming on on Sunday with 60mins gone could of made a difference. Instead we went to the well for another 10mins with tired players then making a rash of subs that made little impact other than to disjoint us. To beat a side as great as Dublin everything will need to be done with almost military precision. Hopefully Sunday was a learning curve for management as well as the players.

SamandLiamSoon (Galway) - Posts: 591 - 03/04/2018 12:49:45    2090635

Disappointed last Sunday evening but my God did our players + management do us proud. To say that we could match Dublin at the start of the season you would have said you were mad. This Dublin team apparently is the greatest of all time and our lads really put it up to them. I am so happy that Galway Football is getting the credit it deserves. Galway GAA must get credit to be so competitive on both fronts. May13th will be awesome. Mayo suppoters are great and the banter has started already. Gaillimh abu

philip3 (Galway) - Posts: 196 - 03/04/2018 13:01:38    2090644

Replying To Galwayjoe86:  "Played like they had an extra man because they were allowed to seen as we sat back in that blanket defense even tho we had the extra man ,play more attacking football we have the forwards to blow teams away but not been allowed to ,Walsh its time to start making brave calls and when the moments arise in games give the attacking players the freedom or u are the mourinho of the gaa with tally"
Couldn't agree more. I said this on an earlier post but having seen Galway in Salthill and Dublin, their system is too defensive, one dimensional and teams will read it. It reminds me of the Gilroy era when we played overly defensive and it was far from pretty. Like I said above though, Dublin used that as a foundation and Gavin refined it over a season or two to deliver a more attacking game plan. We still defend in numbers but generally keeping 2 or 3 players in the opposition half, ready for an outlet pass. Dublin also adapt that system based on the opposition, man to man like Mayo or heavy defence like Tyrone or Galway now. If Galway refine their strategy they will be a serious force.

Joxer (Dublin) - Posts: 4700 - 03/04/2018 13:02:33    2090646

Replying To Joxer:  "Couldn't agree more. I said this on an earlier post but having seen Galway in Salthill and Dublin, their system is too defensive, one dimensional and teams will read it. It reminds me of the Gilroy era when we played overly defensive and it was far from pretty. Like I said above though, Dublin used that as a foundation and Gavin refined it over a season or two to deliver a more attacking game plan. We still defend in numbers but generally keeping 2 or 3 players in the opposition half, ready for an outlet pass. Dublin also adapt that system based on the opposition, man to man like Mayo or heavy defence like Tyrone or Galway now. If Galway refine their strategy they will be a serious force."
I still think the best way to beat the dubs when it matters is man to man like mayo do against them,hasn't worked yet but in 3 games they were mighty unlucky not to ,the Galway style etc dublin will always come out on top ,will be very interesting to see what mayo are like when they have the full contingent back Higgins came back yesterday but still a lot more to come back ,like last couple years I dont think will see the real mayo til a few games in and if they can survive possibly with a few scares I still see them as the only genuine contenders to take Dublin on in croke park and beat them when it matters ,time will tell .hope Galway get good and far but as a pure gaa fan I wouldn't be against the idea of another battle in the final between the dubs and mayo because they are some games,haven't seen such intense exciting games as them ones in a long time,kerry seem to coming under the radar a bit as well which can dangerous they have a few brilliant young players coming through so can never rule them out either

Galwayjoe86 (Galway) - Posts: 258 - 03/04/2018 14:14:25    2090668

Replying To Pope_Benedict:  "13pts in div1 & running the Dubs to 4pts in a league final appears to be a heck of a step forward for this Galway squad. 'Appears to be', because progress won't be really confirmed until we perform v Mayo, and until we perform throughout the 2018 championship, through either front door, or back door. We seemed to flag for fitness down the stretch yesterday I thought, butchering two glorious 'front foot' possessions late on, that should have been definite Galway points.....at least. One ended with a pressured Kelly shot up in the air, the other Conroy's left footed wide. The options on both of those possessions looked particularly exciting, but we were either too tired, or too mentally flustered, or both, to execute accurately on them. If we'd nailed those two, we'd have had the opportunity to have taken the Dubs all the way to the wire.

It must be the big Croker pitch, but we seem to have flagged for fitness & 'legs' v Tipp, Kerry & Dublin at HQ in the past 3 seasons. Is this squad as fit as it can get? We seem to need a bit more energy down the stretch. Another weakness in this team imo is our lack of capability under long kickout ball. We were cleaned for this stuff in phases of yesterday's game, and Dublin punished us a lot with these possessions. We seem to have a plethora of big mobile midfielders coming through, who can play ball, but aren't particularly a factor in the art of winning primary possession, especially from long kickout ball. When teams 'push up' as they say these days, long kickouts become a necessity, and it's an area that we've looked vulnerable in, during this exciting NFL campaign. The other trick for KW now is integrating the Corofin contingent, and getting the best out of the entire 'mix' going forward."
I felt Galway waited too long to bring on their subs. By the 67th minute, Galway had only made one substitution while Dublin had made four (granted, two were enforced but Gavin has a habit of bringing on subs at an early enough juncture). The lads on the field were flagging while the subs barely had enough time to get up to speed, let alone influence the game. If Walsh could get a better balance of when to use his bench, this could well go a long way towards eliminating or, at least, minimising the fatigue factor.

Kurt_Angle (Dublin) - Posts: 567 - 03/04/2018 14:55:26    2090687

Now that the dust has settled on the final, im increasingly pleased with Dublin and the campaign in some ways it has been won of the most competitive of the few we have won and from that score you have to be pleased.

To reflect on Galway a bit im a bit on the fence with them, they scared the bejaysus out of us in both Salt Hill and Croke Park. They have no fear of Dublin and physically could match them. The games were hugely competitive and i expect them to be dining at the top tbale or very close for a while. But you are left with a little doubt, they seem to have played a lot of FBD, Sigurrdson and league games, their fitness seems optimal as a result, others will get closer i think in the summer months. But talent is talent and Galway have it in abundance. I think they will just bully a lot of teams and have quality to finish, some they wont like Sunday.

That leaves me with questions about Galway. I never felt really in the games in Salt Hill or Corke park theat Galway were likely to outscore Dublin, i thought we were there for taking when Scully got sent off, i think you also have to factor in we were cursed with injuries to James McCarthy and John Small through out the game and many of the lads that finished were playing their second or third game for Dublin. In the melting pot with 14 men, a loose cannon ref and against the wind, significant injuries and a make shift team Dublin still outscored Galway in the last quater by 6-2 i think.

Now im not bigging up Dublin, but what does that tell us about Galway, the system, composure, game management and ability to take inititive in the melting pot. Yes they matched Dublin for significant periods of the game, but like so many teams they are beaten by themselves throwing everything in to 50 mins with nothing left in the tank. These are serious questions if you want to talk about all irelands or silver ware. If you take the two games against against Galway in the league who took more from the game in Salt Hill, you have to say Dublin. I also wonder have Galway shown there hands very early this year, certainly Dublin had better dieas against the defensive system then they did in salt hill.

The other thing is this was far from Dublin starting team or panel all fit, it was a hybrid of young, fringe and experienced players. The starting 15 for Dublin is going to be very different in the championship and i think you could see the galway system creaking as the calibre of player for Dublin increased in the forward line with Basquel, O Callaghan and Mannion all causing significant damage at respective periods of the game. Im just not sure Galway can outshoot a team like Dublin the way they play the game and are set up. Even if they can physically match them.

On game management i think Galway shot themselves in the foot a bit, i think they wasted an awful lot of their time, trying to break up the momentum of the game. They had a strategy for Cluxtons kickouts to look for attention on the ground, make subs etc, that fine ultimately they ran out of their own time. The only way that tactic and system is effective if you have your noses in front which they never really had in a meaningful way. Galway wer emassively hungry but to much focus in physically matching Dublin, they were so focused on putting it up to Dublin, i think it took away from their composure, quality and decision making and ultimately they were spent. Its a snare teams fall into time time again.

Dont get me wrong im citiuqing rather then critising, im a huge fan of what Galway are doing (im about to have a go at Dublin too). The two games against Galway were at Championship pitch and two of the most competitive in many years at this stage. I think Galway are shoulder to shoulder with some of the best players in the country and other contenders and would not be surprised to see them in the final. But there are definite areas of development and progress and questions that remain around them. Great credit has go to Galway a real coming force, maybe even this year, but some lingering doubts remain and areas to improve on. The fabled Corofin lads might make a difference, but i think every team leaving the league campaign has plenty of head room to improve and i think teams are maybe that little bit wiser about Galway then other teams. We will see galway will be there r thereabout for me and will only improve,. perhaps to the very top, they will certainly do damage.

TheUsername (Dublin) - Posts: 4445 - 03/04/2018 15:09:21    2090694

On to Dublin you have to happy with the campaign as a whole, The positives have been the padding out of the squad and some genuine contenders for starting slots just look at what has been blooded in this league Comerford, O Shea, Small, Mually, Murchan, Howard (looks very speical), Basquel all getting their 1-5 apperances for Dublin. Other lads who have been on fringes like McHugh, Redden, O Conghaile, Carthy etc have all been opportunists and all go home with league medals.

The team has largely been hybrid throughout the league with a core of 5 established very successful players, rotating in and out and young and fringe lads playing. Its made us look human at times but is critical to developing the panel for the summer which is one of our huge strengths.To go home with the title is a massive bonus.

Yet plenty to be critical about from a Dublin perspective. For me the forward line has looked a little limp, if you look at Dublin results we haven't scored that many goals or have put in performances that have left goals behind, that concerns me. Some players who really should have made this league their own just haven't in Costello and McHugh and raises question about the great hopes that were there for both as young layers that could make the big breakthrough, time is passing them by to be definite starters.

My own opinion in that Dublin can be got at centrally, i thought the half back line on Sunday was poor and offered little protection for the back three, who themselves looked overwhelmed by Galway in the first 20 minutes. Dublin could really do with a player like ROC to emerge for the ranks especially against your Comers of this world. A concern for me was Jim after the game talking about the defensive system and how good it was, not for me Jim. without Cian we are absolutely at sea centrally. To be fair we were missing our first choice half back line for much of the league.

Dublin to me seem to be playing more functional ball then the swashbuckling (but ultimately flawed) style of recent years. Gavin seems to have a long term plan in his head of retaining possession or recycling the ball and picking the perfect score, with the added benefit of making other teams empty their tank chasing us. It works to a degree but we loose something in the spontaneity of our play or forcing teams into defensive errors, if we are turned over in attack its a lot of work for very little reward.

Jim also seems to have a picture in his head of hybrid footballers, we have seen players like Scully, Killkenny, Howard, McCarthy, O Sullivan and Cooper move between the lines and flood different lines at different points, i cant say it hasn't worked but again its very functional and tactical. You also wonder where it leaves some of the mavericks on the team in Dermot Connolly, Macker and one or two others.

Overall you have to be happy and we look in very good nick coming into the championship and the panel looks stronger, with the injured and rested players coming back and a positive outcome to the beast of the east situation and we can get him playing to his rouge best we will be competitive

TheUsername (Dublin) - Posts: 4445 - 03/04/2018 15:31:14    2090705