Who Goes Down - Donegal Or Mayo?

Where would we be without Kevin McLoughlin? One of the fittest, most skillful, intelligent and underrated players around. Brilliant Kevin. He has done it again for Mayo.

GormlaighG (Mayo) - Posts: 77 - 25/03/2018 18:07:18    2087794

Fair dues to Mayo, Donegal handed them the initiative and no better men to take it.

I have to say that Donegal's tactics in the second half mystified me. They ended the first half completely on top & then tried to see it out in the second half with a combination of keep ball & time wasting.

Frustrating isn't the word for it.

MuckrossHead (Donegal) - Posts: 5028 - 25/03/2018 18:30:48    2087818

Well done Mayo they battled on to the finish, thought the dragging down at the end was disgusting though, ref was weak not to allow more time, the cynical play gets rewarded as has been said,
anyway we should have been further ahead, good to see Paddy and Neil back,
we'll put this behind us now and focus on Cavan, they'll be buoyant after getting promoted, encouraging how Declan has us trying to play but we need to step up the attack a few more gears for Championship,
we might meet Mayo when the sun is higher in the sky and get revenge for today.

Tirchonaill1 (Donegal) - Posts: 2749 - 25/03/2018 18:32:35    2087820

Replying To MuckrossHead:  "Fair dues to Mayo, Donegal handed them the initiative and no better men to take it.

I have to say that Donegal's tactics in the second half mystified me. They ended the first half completely on top & then tried to see it out in the second half with a combination of keep ball & time wasting.

Frustrating isn't the word for it."
Yeah I agree Muckross, we should have pushed on, they were there for the taking, should have kicked the ball into Paddy more, he kicked some spectacular points, worth paying in just to see skill like that, Michael is a brilliant footballer but he slows the play down too much at times for me,
learn the lessons from today, maybe it's no harm to get a kick in the arse before Ulster starts, time to stop the messing and learn how to put teams away. we have the ability to beat anyone, just need to believe in ourselves, Div 2 meeting RG next year will be good craic anyway,
we'll be back Mayo and maybe get our revenge in Croker in August, Tir Chonaill abu.

Tirchonaill1 (Donegal) - Posts: 2749 - 25/03/2018 18:40:52    2087828

You want to hate them but you can't they just keep coming back total respect to the Mayo men Loftus came of age today serious second half from him.

Unlucky Donegal a fit Mcbreaty today and you's win that game , but come champo with everyone fit I think you can give Ulster a right rattle and who knows after that.

clondalkindub (Dublin) - Posts: 9926 - 25/03/2018 18:44:44    2087832

Replying To galwayford:  "Donegal indulged in time wasting in the last 10 minutes ie from 60th to 70th minute. Mayo pulled and dragged in the last minute. Ref should have added 2 minutes for the melee. But well done Mayo, they just about deserved it."
Maybe he could have seen if Donegal wonn the kick out and then let them have one last attack but 2mins is a bit extreme. Mayo survived with a big injury list so well done

dave1988 (Roscommon) - Posts: 1057 - 25/03/2018 18:50:13    2087841

Replying To Tirchonaill1:  "Well done Mayo they battled on to the finish, thought the dragging down at the end was disgusting though, ref was weak not to allow more time, the cynical play gets rewarded as has been said,
anyway we should have been further ahead, good to see Paddy and Neil back,
we'll put this behind us now and focus on Cavan, they'll be buoyant after getting promoted, encouraging how Declan has us trying to play but we need to step up the attack a few more gears for Championship,
we might meet Mayo when the sun is higher in the sky and get revenge for today."
Yep there was that. Mayo were very cynical at the end and ref should have added more time on like in last year's final where he added nearly 4 mins of extra added time on when Dublin got cynical. McBrearty is a joy to watch though and I think you'll have a long summer.

DannyMcA (Dublin) - Posts: 260 - 25/03/2018 18:50:32    2087842

Experience was very telling today. They kept their composure, even when the clock was against them, and reeled off the points to get them the draw. Loftus came of age but A O'Shea, Boyle , Moran and McLoughlin were excellent also. A stint in D2 may be helpful to Donegal as it will allow Bonner to build his team in a less demanding division. They have a lot of potential but can't be rushed too quickly.

neverright (Roscommon) - Posts: 1648 - 25/03/2018 19:06:19    2087855

Replying To Belclare1:  "When we beat ye on route to Connacht.. Good man...."
And not a lot after and mayo saw more of the summer than Galway to boot. Cheer up belcare!

Spoddgy (Mayo) - Posts: 660 - 25/03/2018 19:12:09    2087859

McBrearty really blew that in the end. Should have either passed or just recycled possession. Instead he took a pot shot on the turn and dropped it into the keepers arms. If an U-14 player did it you'd go mad. Let alone an experienced intercounty footballer.

Marooned (Galway) - Posts: 2216 - 25/03/2018 19:14:28    2087862

We are struggling at the minute and the panel is stretched but fair play these boys never, ever give up. Bit of luck as well when needed. As is so often the case, the ref ignores the basic rules, Kevin Mc took about 8 steps before he had a pop.

TheFlaker (Mayo) - Posts: 7902 - 25/03/2018 19:24:30    2087874

Replying To essmac:  "Worst team of the two staying up. Some inexplicable frees awarded to Mayo."
Not sure how you can back that up. We came into the game missing five regular defenders, playing Donegal on a pitch that is a bit of a fortress for them and came away with the point we needed. Even though we had to score two points late on, it wasn't exactly smash and grab as we created four goal chances which we didn't take. There was very little between the teams and while I wouldn't argue had Donegal won, to say that mayo didn't deserve to stay up is a little disingenuous. By the way I would have agreed with you after last weeks display against Tyrone but a week is a long time in football.

Llaw_Gyffes (Mayo) - Posts: 1113 - 25/03/2018 19:49:20    2087892

Donegal spent the last 20 minutes looking for soft frees, lying down pretending to be injured & then taking an age with each free. If they had still been ahead it would have been 'blow it up ref, where are u getting the time from'...as it was, Mayo were horribly cynical themselves when they got level & the Donegal lads were furious there wasn't more time added on......I'm not trying to have a go particularly at Donegal supporters, we're all the same when it comes down to it, everything is viewed through our own bias. They're just today's example.

Have to hand it to Mayo. Some heart in that team.

KildareKelly (Kildare) - Posts: 593 - 25/03/2018 20:16:12    2087912

Experience counted.Mayo deserved to stay up...just.

endgame (Roscommon) - Posts: 2168 - 25/03/2018 20:20:32    2087917

Replying To Llaw_Gyffes:  "Not sure how you can back that up. We came into the game missing five regular defenders, playing Donegal on a pitch that is a bit of a fortress for them and came away with the point we needed. Even though we had to score two points late on, it wasn't exactly smash and grab as we created four goal chances which we didn't take. There was very little between the teams and while I wouldn't argue had Donegal won, to say that mayo didn't deserve to stay up is a little disingenuous. By the way I would have agreed with you after last weeks display against Tyrone but a week is a long time in football."
Don't mind him. He is just sore cause he hates Mayo. We may not be liked but we provide the best entertainment.

yew_tree (Mayo) - Posts: 11232 - 25/03/2018 20:23:55    2087921

Well done Mayo, they really dug deep and pulled out that result when it looked over. Donegal can't complain as we had about 5 chances to kill the game off near the end. I thought the Donegal performance was good and hopefully we can come good in the championship. Mayo played some great stuff at times but just don't get enough scores for all their brilliant build up play.

Finally I must compliment the Mayo supporters, they came to Donegal in huge numbers and really got behind their team. They really are a magnificant bunch of fans.

Green_Gold (Donegal) - Posts: 1876 - 25/03/2018 20:34:15    2087930

On the time wasting at the end I don't think us Donegal fans can complain too much as we were doing the same when we were ahead.

Green_Gold (Donegal) - Posts: 1876 - 25/03/2018 20:42:34    2087934

Replying To WunderBar:  "If the rules were enforced properly all the pulling and dragging would have been black cards, players could not be replaced until the next break in play. Mayo would have to defend with ~ 12 Players and the referee should have adjusted the extra time accordingly. If you start to reward the cycnical fouls with a 13 metre free every player will be looking for a 'black card' type of foul in contact.

Its creeping into the club whereby star club players are occasionally targeted when they are tracking back with players stepping across them or running into them after making a pass. The reward far outweight the risk already in most of these instances the addition of the 13 metre free would make a holy show of it altogether."
I was at the Roscommon v Meath game in the first game of the league this year.

The game was in the last minute and Roscommon were given a free and tried to take it quickly as they were 3 points behind and needed a goal. Two Meath players (both brothers actually) pulled down the nearest two Roscommon players thus preventing the quick free.

The Ref did exactly the right thing though. He stopped the game, black carded both Meath players, and as they could not get replacements on quick enough, Meath had to defend with 13 men.

Roscommon played through the defence, were awarded a penalty and they scored from it.

Even though I am a Meath man, I was glad to see the ref take the action he did because what we seen in the All Ireland final last year was just a farce.

ROYALOPTIMIST (Meath) - Posts: 179 - 25/03/2018 20:57:13    2087948

Pulling and dragging at the end of matches trying to waste time, 1 simple answer, ref to blow the whistle and punish the guilty party by awarding a 13m free in front of the goals even if it means moving the ball forward 80 metres so when it happened in last years All Ireland Final Mayo would have been awarded a free 13m in front of the Dublin goal, it is the only way to punish that nonsense, black card etc no good, that doesn't stop it. Now todays game the linesman told the ref who was involved, he booked both Gallagher Donegal and Durcan Mayo for it, if Durcan started it then the ref should have allowed the kick out and let another play take place as it was Mayo who were wasting time, if Gallagher started it then the ref took the correct decision to blow up for the end as Donegal were time wasting. I wasn't at the game and the TV cameras didn't show what started it. For me Donegal threw this game away, they were far better than Mayo and deserved a win

riverboys (Mayo) - Posts: 1389 - 25/03/2018 22:28:33    2088006

Replying To riverboys:  "Pulling and dragging at the end of matches trying to waste time, 1 simple answer, ref to blow the whistle and punish the guilty party by awarding a 13m free in front of the goals even if it means moving the ball forward 80 metres so when it happened in last years All Ireland Final Mayo would have been awarded a free 13m in front of the Dublin goal, it is the only way to punish that nonsense, black card etc no good, that doesn't stop it. Now todays game the linesman told the ref who was involved, he booked both Gallagher Donegal and Durcan Mayo for it, if Durcan started it then the ref should have allowed the kick out and let another play take place as it was Mayo who were wasting time, if Gallagher started it then the ref took the correct decision to blow up for the end as Donegal were time wasting. I wasn't at the game and the TV cameras didn't show what started it. For me Donegal threw this game away, they were far better than Mayo and deserved a win"
Why would Donegal time waste? They needed to win the game , Mayo time wasted sure it's clear as day when the cameras go onto it you see O Conor dragging a Donegal man down. Come on Riverboys sometimes your lads are guilty in all fairness.

clondalkindub (Dublin) - Posts: 9926 - 26/03/2018 07:42:42    2088081