Pitch Invasions - Yay Or Nay

Replying To KingdomBoy1:  "Well said llaw I also like heading on to a pitch for a gallop after a game, there is nothing like it in fairness and if you can meet 1 of your heroes then that just makes the whole thing worth it."
I remember being on the pitch in Croke Park after the 96 final and Matin O Connell sprinted past with Sam in his big paws and half of Meath running after him. In 97 I shook hands with your centre back, can't remember his name, told him he broke our hearts and wished him well. I can understand, maybe, why they stopped people going on to the Croke Park pitch but it was still a thrill to walk on the holy ground. Kinda of made the day win or lose. Changing times but we sort of lose sight of the things that matter.

Llaw_Gyffes (Mayo) - Posts: 1113 - 20/03/2018 22:18:31    2086464

I would be in favour of spectators being allowed on to the pitch, after the game, to celebrate a final win. I remember, as many of you will, the days when there was difficulty finishing All-Ireland finals as the crowd moved down to the side-lines and end-lines waiting to charge on when the final whistle went. There were generally several 'false-starts' as any whistle close to the end of the game was mistaken for the final whistle.

neverright (Roscommon) - Posts: 1648 - 20/03/2018 23:04:30    2086478

Pitch Invasions - Yay Or Nay
Just wondering on the views on pitch invasions. I always loved them but they were stopped at most grounds due to player safety. I have now seen this twice this year in the league; first in Castlebar where kids are looking for autographs while players are trying to do warm downs. The players look like di*ks for ignoring the kids but its all very pro now. Then in Galway yesterday (am amazed this is not already a topic) some fans accosted and abused players after running on at full time (adults btw). So should county boards do more to keep people off the pitch. Should it go as far as fines?? Discuss...
Rawsy (Dublin) - Posts: 2 - 19/03/2018 18:21:39
No. They shouldnt be allowed. Its not just player safety. Its spectator safety and helps the pitches as well as i know from sportsground in galway that the groundsmen dont like them as they can cause damage to the pitches.
Fine counties if there is an invasion. Kids if they want autographs can wait by tunnel. or contact county boards. I know at connacht/munster rugby games as players exit dressing rooms/tunnel players will always sign autographs if asked.
Pitch invasions are a joke, they are also potentially dangerous, Tomas O' Sé alluded to the fact that he was hit a box at the end of a game when a pitch invasion took place, that is an assault and whoever did that should have been brought to court.
You wouldn't see these pitch invasions going on in any other country in the world, it is totally ridiculous and should be stopped immediately.
If it's a case of children wanting to get autographs there are more orderly ways of doing that.
G.A.A._fan (Laois) - Posts: 91 - 19/03/2018 19:03:21
spot on in every aspect.
Get rid of them. It isn't long ago Jonny Cooper was attacked with a knife which would naturally have left not only visible scars but mental scares aswell, Yesterday immediately after the game he was approached from behind by a fan and was dragged by this fan (witnessed this myself) Jonny was obviously caught off guard and with the help of the guards managed to get back into the dressing room area but was clearly distressed.
Now listen. Jonny Cooper is no angel by any stretch and he was probably luck having already had a yellow card, not to get a second towards the end when he dragged and threw a galway player to the ground in an attempt to get the ball back for a Dublin line ball, I understand that people may not like Jonny as a player and some of his antics and people are well within their right to hold that opinion, But it is wholly unacceptable for any player to be approached by a fan in such a manner when tensions are high. It was one Galway fan, and there where hundreds out there on the field of play immediately after the game that behaved impeccably but it only takes one gobshite to act the muppet before someone else gets involved and before you know it you can have a real issue on your hands. Luckily enough the guards where there to put an end to it very quickly.
Joe McQuillan was also approached I believe, didn't see that personally but its what ive been told. Again, irrespective of my opinion on how he handled/didn't handle big decisions on the day, The dude is doing a very difficult job and I don't believe for one second a ref intends to have a bad game and he will never, ever get 100% of decisions right, but no matter how many he gets right he will always have his critics and its dangerous letting fans approach referees or his officials.
So to sum up, Stop these pitch invasions. They are dangerous. The playing field should be for the players end of story.
waynoI (Dublin) - Posts: 12541 - 19/03/2018 19:26:31
Playing pitch is for players, coaches and at max family of those players and coaches.
I understand the dangers of them but after we won connacht last year it made the day for us fans and actually for the players too to be able to enjoy to whole win with there teammates, family's and friends with them. Was also one of the scenes of the year. Was no trouble at all and everyone enjoyed themselves. If you do get clowns and lowlifes who use it as a chance to cause trouble they I obviously don't agree them
Cuckoosinging (Roscommon) - Posts: 644 - 19/03/2018 19:28:01
But should players/coaches have to risk having to potentially deal with the "clowns and lowlifes"?

A correction they do allow pitch invasions in some sport, in Aussie rules tears ago a player scored 100 goals in a season and after he scored his 100 thousands of fans invaded the pitch to congratulate him, afterwards they returned to their seats, also rugby matches in Galway the same happens even though you are asked not to, do the invasions in a safe manner, when you stop people entering the pitch they will try to find a way around it and usually it's from 4 directions which catch stewards off guard, if you allow supporters onto the pitch from the centre field then opposition players have time to leave the pitch if like some grounds there is a way off the pitch at the corner flag areas or if the only exit is at midfield then let the crowd enter the pitch from behind the goals. Done properly and respectfully it won't create any problems, the current system is a mess which can go horribly wrong where stewards, players and supporters can get hurt. For me the answer is Yay
riverboys (Mayo) - Posts: 1175 - 19/03/2018 22:23:33
But how do you allow them in a proper way and what is a respectful way?
The pitch invasions only occur in Galway at Connacht matches because of at each end there isnt any barriers so people can comfortably get onto pitch and there has been several injuries by people invading the pitch. Thats why they shouldnt happen.

Pitch celebration is a better word than invasions. Love to see kids on the field after a game having kick or puck about on the field of play and getting autographs off their heroes. What some seem to forget is our great sport is amateur game and every player goes back to work or college once playing a game for his county. Sadly pitch celebrations are no longer allowed in Croke Park because grey haired men in suits at HQ thought it was the way to go with the people sport.
ispeakwisdom (Roscommon) - Posts: 1778 - 20/03/2018 00:12:28
kids can get autographs without going on a pitch and they have no right to have a puck/kick about on any pitch.
And theyre not allowed in Croke Park because there has been enough incidents and there is then major issues with people exiting the ground as they leave through far fewer exits than they would if they had stayed at their seats.

Was in the Gabba in Brisbane about 10 years ago, was class to see the way things were done after the match. Amazing how relaxed it was, unlike when it used to happen in Croke Park when at the start everyone rushes it was lovely and laid back as people just knew the idea was just to wait 5 mins and stewards would just let you on. Pity it can't be arranged like this here. Presentations are so soleless now that crowd can't go on pitch after matches in Croke Park.
bdbuddah (Meath) - Posts: 408 - 20/03/2018 22:16:52
But should players not get to celebrate directly with each other and their families in the immediacy of winning a title and not have any joe soap be slapping them on the back etc. The joe soap can thank the player in the days after a win but straight after final whistle should be for players, coaches and their family.

ormondbannerman (Clare) - Posts: 13473 - 20/03/2018 23:15:11    2086482

Ormondbannerman "You asked how do you allow them in a proper way which is respectful, avoiding injuries?"
I would agree with you on the autographs, It can be done after leaving dressing rooms, on way to bus etc. People leaving after should be exiting the way they came in and be instructed/advised this of this by stewards etc.
Spot on Bdbuddah for the "Kick 2 Kick" people have to wait till all the players leave the ground then on the signal/siren let the people on the pitch. I copied this part below from Australian stadium website.

"There are a variety of risks associated with participating in Kick 2 Kick. Fans are advised that they enter the playing arena and participate in Kick 2 Kick at their own risk.
• After the game, once all players and officials have exited the playing arena, a second siren will sound indicating the start of Kick 2 Kick. At this point fans can enter the playing arena via the perimeter gates.
• Fans are to follow the instruction given by event staff and security at all times and are not permitted to enter the restricted zones including the centre square.
• Fans must exit the playing arena when the second siren sounds via the perimeter gates.
• Food and drink is not permitted at any time onto the playing arena.
• Enjoy the opportunity and look after others.

GAA should try it for a few games and advertise it on big screen/match day programs etc.
Let the kids on the pitch after the game, would be good experience memories of the day. They are the future of the game.
As for families and friends celebrating with players after the game, it seems as if families/friends are invited to the warm up area (Croke Park has one) or dressing room area afterwards. Have a look at this video of Conor McKenna of Essendon/Tyrone, his friends are celebrating with him afterwards and even get interviewed on TV
Perhaps RTE could follow this and have Marty Morrissey doing interviews like this, would be great addition to the game on the day for people watching on TV at home and the families.

CJ2017 (Australia) - Posts: 10 - 21/03/2018 02:30:57    2086499

Replying To bdbuddah:  "Was in the Gabba in Brisbane about 10 years ago, was class to see the way things were done after the match. Amazing how relaxed it was, unlike when it used to happen in Croke Park when at the start everyone rushes it was lovely and laid back as people just knew the idea was just to wait 5 mins and stewards would just let you on. Pity it can't be arranged like this here. Presentations are so soleless now that crowd can't go on pitch after matches in Croke Park."
Yeah it was the Gabba I was at when it happened. Brisbane v Sydney I think.

I agree with you about the presentations now. The crowd on the pitch was once quite unique but now GAA presentations just look the same as in other sports. I think it is a shame.

I understand the concerns around them of course but I don't understand why it has to be so black and white!

It doesn't have to be a case of choosing between everyone haring onto the field just as the referee blows the full time whistle or everyone staying in the stands/terrace.

I'd like to see the winning players given time to celebrate and the losing team time to gather themselves. And then the fans that want to be allowed onto the pitch after 10 minutes or so for the presentation. It could be done in a calm and controlled manner by the stewards.

I think the authorities should respect and trust the supporters. If everyone knew what the protocol was beforehand I think it would work quite well.

The presentations now are done to half empty stadiums as the fans of the losing team tend to make their way out, this was always the case but it was masked by the fact there was a huge crowd on the pitch.

MesAmis (Dublin) - Posts: 13707 - 21/03/2018 08:35:17    2086515

I understand the concerns around them of course but I don't understand why it has to be so black and white!

It doesn't have to be a case of choosing between everyone haring onto the field just as the referee blows the full time whistle or everyone staying in the stands/terrace.

I'd like to see the winning players given time to celebrate and the losing team time to gather themselves. And then the fans that want to be allowed onto the pitch after 10 minutes or so for the presentation. It could be done in a calm and controlled manner by the stewards.

I think the authorities should respect and trust the supporters. If everyone knew what the protocol was beforehand I think it would work quite well.

The presentations now are done to half empty stadiums as the fans of the losing team tend to make their way out, this was always the case but it was masked by the fact there was a huge crowd on the pitch.
MesAmis (Dublin) - Posts: 11562 - 21/03/2018 08:35:17
Because you would have eejits causing stewards and match day security hassle and abuse and issues would arise on the touchline
And i think supporters should respect the authorities on this issue. They say pitch invasions need to be stopped because of injuries occuring/risk of people leaving grounds from fewer exits than they would if stayed in seats.
People can celebrate as much/the same from the stand as on the pitch.

ormondbannerman (Clare) - Posts: 13473 - 22/03/2018 10:34:29    2086883

Because you would have eejits causing stewards and match day security hassle and abuse and issues would arise on the touchline
And i think supporters should respect the authorities on this issue. They say pitch invasions need to be stopped because of injuries occuring/risk of people leaving grounds from fewer exits than they would if stayed in seats.
People can celebrate as much/the same from the stand as on the pitch.

ormondbannerman (Clare) - Posts: 13426 - 22/03/2018 10:34:29 208688

How do they manage to get crowds in and out of the pitch for concerts?

If everyone is well informed and know the score before the game it could be done easily.

People should be given a little more credit I think.

MesAmis (Dublin) - Posts: 13707 - 22/03/2018 11:51:59    2086913

How do they manage to get crowds in and out of the pitch for concerts?

If everyone is well informed and know the score before the game it could be done easily.

MesAmis (Dublin) - Posts: 11563 - 22/03/2018 11:51:59
Circumstances of concerts are completely different. People shouldnt be given that credit as the pitch invasions were stopped because the gardai/stadium management had to stop them on matchdays because the risks that were occuring

ormondbannerman (Clare) - Posts: 13473 - 22/03/2018 13:59:28    2086962

Traditionally I was all for the pitch invasions, I was sickened and angered they stopped them and laid blame to insurance companies as the root cause for the end of pitch invasions. I was on the pitch as a young lad in 98 after Galway winning and I'll never forget it, the atmosphere, The Fields of Athenry - amazing and sadly this will be missed by future generations. I was there (albeit in my seat) in 2001 for the presentation in the middle of the pitch to Gary Fahy and the place just lacked atmosphere.

HOWEVER, that said. To see the minors being able to celebrate with the seniors and young Jack Canning out celebrating with big JC at the final whistle after the hurling last year. That's an amazing moment for them and one they will never forget - one they would never have been afforded if there was a pitch invasion.

I still feel (in general society not just GAA), that modern Ireland is sacrificing too much of our traditions for the sake of insurance companies et al.

The_DOC (Galway) - Posts: 706 - 22/03/2018 14:27:43    2086977

Circumstances of concerts are completely different. People shouldnt be given that credit as the pitch invasions were stopped because the gardai/stadium management had to stop them on matchdays because the risks that were occuring

ormondbannerman (Clare) - Posts: 13427 - 22/03/2018 13:59:28

I understand why they stopped them, and actually agree with stopping that type of pitch invasion.

I'm not advocating a return to the pitch invasions right on the stroke of full time.

If they can get lots of people onto the pitch for a concert then I'm sure they've got the intelligence and ability to come up with a plan to allow people safely on the pitch, after an allotted time, post match.

It's not trying to get fans to the moon here. It's extremely doable but it requires effort, organisation and some cost, and that's the real reason they just go for the easy and cheap option of banning everyone from the pitch.

MesAmis (Dublin) - Posts: 13707 - 22/03/2018 14:28:41    2086978

I understand why they stopped them, and actually agree with stopping that type of pitch invasion.

I'm not advocating a return to the pitch invasions right on the stroke of full time.

If they can get lots of people onto the pitch for a concert then I'm sure they've got the intelligence and ability to come up with a plan to allow people safely on the pitch, after an allotted time, post match.

It's not trying to get fans to the moon here. It's extremely doable but it requires effort, organisation and some cost, and that's the real reason they just go for the easy and cheap option of banning everyone from the pitch.

MesAmis (Dublin) - Posts: 11564 - 22/03/2018 14:28:41
The circumstances are completely different for a concert. Gates opened for several hours before concert starts and crowd will come in gradually. And is there generally not protective covering in areas/all of the pitch for concerts. That isnt the case for a match.
It isnt simply the cheaper or easier option. its the most practical and theres a difference in most practical and easiest.
The effort required isnt worth the hassle that arises from allowing invasions occur

ormondbannerman (Clare) - Posts: 13473 - 22/03/2018 14:51:15    2086991

Players get a certain amount of tickets- could they not get pitch passes so that at the end they could celebrate with their families while still stopping pitch invasions

galwayfball (Galway) - Posts: 1678 - 22/03/2018 19:14:28    2087082

Yay.
Running onto St Tiernach's and Croke in '94 as an u-14 to celebrate are probably my fondest and most enduring memories of following football.

I accept they don't do it now but I would be in favour of the authorities trying out some of the suggestions above for safer access to the field when the game is over.

Can ye imagine trying to shtop the Mayo men getting on if/when they finally win Sam?

Suas Sios (None) - Posts: 1550 - 22/03/2018 20:09:30    2087100

Replying To ormondbannerman:  "I understand why they stopped them, and actually agree with stopping that type of pitch invasion.

MesAmis (Dublin) - Posts: 11564 - 22/03/2018 14:28:41
The circumstances are completely different for a concert. Gates opened for several hours before concert starts and crowd will come in gradually. And is there generally not protective covering in areas/all of the pitch for concerts. That isnt the case for a match.
It isnt simply the cheaper or easier option. its the most practical and theres a difference in most practical and easiest.
The effort required isnt worth the hassle that arises from allowing invasions occur"
If we're talking about a safety risk the biggest issue would be most of the people on the pitch leaving through a few exits around the same time. This actually would be a much bigger issue for concerts than after when a supporters comes on the pitch to celebrate. The reason being is that there would be much more people on the pitch for a concert and a concert everyone leaves as soon as the concert is over (even more so than after a match).

bdbuddah (Meath) - Posts: 1346 - 22/03/2018 20:24:00    2087105

Replying To ormondbannerman:  "How do they manage to get crowds in and out of the pitch for concerts?

MesAmis (Dublin) - Posts: 11563 - 22/03/2018 11:51:59
Circumstances of concerts are completely different. People shouldnt be given that credit as the pitch invasions were stopped because the gardai/stadium management had to stop them on matchdays because the risks that were occuring"
In truth the reason they were stopped was less because of the risk of people getting serious injuries, it was more that people were getting minor injuries in their rush to get on to the pitch and in the way modern Ireland has went people were getting big insurance payouts for these. The point that's being made here is with a bit if organisation if people knew you don't get on the pitch until 5 minutes after the match is over you could move away from supporters making mad rushes to get onto the pitch as soon as the match is over.

bdbuddah (Meath) - Posts: 1346 - 22/03/2018 20:38:28    2087114

Replying To Suas Sios:  "Yay.
Running onto St Tiernach's and Croke in '94 as an u-14 to celebrate are probably my fondest and most enduring memories of following football.

I accept they don't do it now but I would be in favour of the authorities trying out some of the suggestions above for safer access to the field when the game is over.

Can ye imagine trying to shtop the Mayo men getting on if/when they finally win Sam?"
One of my best memoires as a child was myself and my cousin going onto the pitch after the 1987 All Ireland final with my father, a 50 year old man, and when he saw some negative containers left over by media camera men beside the canal end goals, kicking them as if scoring goals. I never saw him as excited or saw this side if him.

bdbuddah (Meath) - Posts: 1346 - 22/03/2018 20:50:09    2087118

Suas Sios & MesAmis totally agree, Bdbudah great memory for both of you to have, who wouldn't want to walk onto the pitch after a game?

I understand it cost the GAA €200,000 a year in insurance claims (2008) - https://www.independent.ie/sport/gaelic-football/croker-pitch-invasions-costing-200000-a-year-26497680.html

And that it had the same impact of 8 games. I would say a lot of the claims happened during the rush to the pitch but I am only guessing, would love to the see the claim details. I would guess the best time for a crowd to be on the pitch would be after the season is over or before pitch is relayed etc, obviously groundkeepers would say never!

If the AFL can organise it and make it happen why can't the GAA?

As long as the referee and both teams have exited the pitch I really can't see with an issue with it and as a few people have mentioned have it at least 10/15 mins after the game has finished, it would take the mad rush of it. People can choose to wait these 10/15 mins or they can choose to go home or pub, it means that people leaving the ground would be staggered, better flow for public transport etc.

If you were told before and during the game that you and your son or daughter could go onto the pitch 10/15 minutes after the game, would you choose to leave or wait behind and have a priceless unforgettable memory?

How can we make this happen?

CJ2017 (Australia) - Posts: 10 - 23/03/2018 01:00:28    2087149

MacHale Park Castlebar a few years ago, can't remember if it a League match or Connacht championship but a few kids managed to get onto the pitch for a kick about with a ball when the teams were in the dressing rooms, within a minute there must have been nearly 100 kids on the pitch, that lasted for 5 minutes then the stewards tried to shepard the kids off the pitch, would have been easier to move a mountain, the kids ran everywhere like a game of catch and with the kids laughing and the crowd laughing it was probably the funniest thing I saw at a GAA match, stewards eventually had to give up, the kids then ran back to their seats

riverboys (Mayo) - Posts: 1389 - 23/03/2018 13:43:22    2087251

Replying To riverboys:  "MacHale Park Castlebar a few years ago, can't remember if it a League match or Connacht championship but a few kids managed to get onto the pitch for a kick about with a ball when the teams were in the dressing rooms, within a minute there must have been nearly 100 kids on the pitch, that lasted for 5 minutes then the stewards tried to shepard the kids off the pitch, would have been easier to move a mountain, the kids ran everywhere like a game of catch and with the kids laughing and the crowd laughing it was probably the funniest thing I saw at a GAA match, stewards eventually had to give up, the kids then ran back to their seats"
This should be encouraged more! Brilliant

The_DOC (Galway) - Posts: 706 - 26/03/2018 08:33:08    2088092