Galway Vs Dublin

Why did O'Gara get a straight red??

greysoil (Monaghan) - Posts: 965 - 18/03/2018 20:08:37    2085510

Fight fire with fire

Galway were at plenty of it today and when you're down a man and a point ahead away from home in a tight game to get yourself into a national final.. you do what you gotta do!

As you said so yourself you couldn't deny Galway were cynical today, but seemingly by your logic cynical stuff is ok as long as it's not at the end of the game?

I don't know.. seems a bit convenient

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20600 - 18/03/2018 20:14:43    2085515

Replying To avonali:  "Did you actually see the game? By all accounts Galway were no angels themselves."
Was listening to Monaghan v Donegal, and following Dub V Gal on Twitter. Why was O'Gara given a red card? Looking forward to Dub v Mon.

greysoil (Monaghan) - Posts: 965 - 18/03/2018 20:20:07    2085520

Replying To avonali:  "Did you actually see the game? By all accounts Galway were no angels themselves."
I did. And as I already said, there was plenty of cynicism on both sides, but the fallout stop the game at all costs tactic employed in the dying minutes when Dublin were a point up was a league onto itself.

festinog (Galway) - Posts: 3097 - 18/03/2018 20:21:27    2085522

Replying To Belclare1:  "Great weekend for Galway football, corofin masterclass in Croker yesterday and this young inexperienced Galway team putting it up to Dublin today, a learning curve and no matter what happens in the final huge progress is been made."
Good to see Galway back on the rise, big test for them now coming to Croker, should be good!

Hill16Army (Dublin) - Posts: 88 - 18/03/2018 20:21:34    2085523

Replying To realdub:  "Haha a bit of needle, that's what you want. Hopefully both teams will tear into each other in a few weeks."
My thoughts exactly, really enjoyed today, say whatever you want about the Dub's fans but they really add to the atmosphere of any game. Thought both teams were well up for the physical stuff today especially in the second half. The giving out about bullying/cynicism is ridiculous, no team got bullied and both were cynical.
Also thought it was a good sign for the progress of Galway football that Dublin needed to up their physicality to compete.
Croke Park obviously will be a different story but real improvement made this year.

sean55 (Galway) - Posts: 82 - 18/03/2018 20:25:58    2085524

Absolutely both teams were at it. It needs to be stamped out from the game but both teams were at it. Galway bay are always biased and as a Galway fan its great to listen to when we're playing well but if Galway were to lose by 5+ points there's no quicker commentators to predict the Armageddon for Galway. Mayo game in castlebar in 2016 . Basically Galway have no fans here because we have no chance and we're only here because it's our job. that was the general consensus in Galway but from our local radio it was uncalled for.

galwayfball (Galway) - Posts: 1678 - 18/03/2018 20:43:54    2085532

Just watched the highlights on the SG. Seemed to be a good, competitive game. I don't think you find many angels playing the game so I didn't expect to see any today. It was a big test for Galway and, unfortunately from a Connacht c'ship point of view, it will bring them on big time. I was surprised to see Jayo getting involved with a Galway player on the sideline. It was silly on his part and, no doubt, we will hear more about it.

neverright (Roscommon) - Posts: 1648 - 18/03/2018 23:34:32    2085605

Now that was a battle. It wasn't the highest quality match at times, but the conditions meant that it was never going to be.
For anyone getting on their high horse about cynicism or spoiling from the Dubs or otherwise, we were both at it throughout the game.
Nobody enjoys that type of stuff as supporters, but it's a simple fact that you need to be able 'look after yourself' if you're going to be in any way competitive these days. All of the top teams are at it.
For a league match in March, there was a great atmosphere, thanks in a very large part to the huge support brought by the Dubs. The tight finish also helped obviously.
You can't buy the type of experience a match like this provides for a young team.
We've a lot to learn yet and a lot to improve on, but it's another step on the journey. While we showed naivety and a nervousness near the end in giving away a couple of very soft scores, the drive and more importantly cool heads, our lads showed to work the winning point was very good to see.
It will absolutely be a different test in Croker in 2 weeks' time, but it's another test we need.

WanPintWin (Galway) - Posts: 2040 - 19/03/2018 00:32:54    2085615

For all the talk of playing in Croke Park being a huge advantage for Dublin, when was the last time Dublin were beaten outside of Croke Park, league and championship?

HurlingSnob (Dublin) - Posts: 220 - 19/03/2018 04:25:26    2085620

Thought it was a good competitive game. Crowd bigger than the official attendance so they obviously not counting kids who get in free. Most of the incidents were handbags and our view now is if you can't beat them join them I guess. Too soft for a few years. Thought Jim Gavin was a little disingenuous with his interview last night on TV. He spoke about Galway's defensive strategy and he is correct on that but at times the Dubs only had 2 guys in their forward line when we were attacking so to me both teams had a defensive strategy. Still a great test against the top team.

kiloughter (Galway) - Posts: 1946 - 19/03/2018 08:57:44    2085636

Replying To kiloughter:  "Thought it was a good competitive game. Crowd bigger than the official attendance so they obviously not counting kids who get in free. Most of the incidents were handbags and our view now is if you can't beat them join them I guess. Too soft for a few years. Thought Jim Gavin was a little disingenuous with his interview last night on TV. He spoke about Galway's defensive strategy and he is correct on that but at times the Dubs only had 2 guys in their forward line when we were attacking so to me both teams had a defensive strategy. Still a great test against the top team."
Nothing disingenuous about it at all

That's how you have to setup against a park the bus team when playing away from home.

Dublin aren't a defence first team. Galway are very much looking that way though and fair play it's working so far but it's very early in the year

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20600 - 19/03/2018 09:18:40    2085646

Replying To jimbodub:  "Nothing disingenuous about it at all

That's how you have to setup against a park the bus team when playing away from home.

Dublin aren't a defence first team. Galway are very much looking that way though and fair play it's working so far but it's very early in the year"
So Jim you are saying ye only were defensive at times yesterday due to the opposition. Seems somewhat convenient but I will bow to your wisdom on that as you know your team far better than I do. Reality is though what many miss is how we break from the defensive structure which tells me we are not one dimensional even if anchored by a defensive strategy.

kiloughter (Galway) - Posts: 1946 - 19/03/2018 10:43:20    2085695

Dublin aren't a defence first team. Galway are very much looking that way though and fair play it's working so far but it's very early in the year"
I still hear some Kerry and Dublin people claiming that both county teams play attacking, free flowing, traditional kick passing football. This is self-delusion and snobbery to some degree. Corofin played fast flowing attacking gaelic football on Patrick's day, with a wonderful blend of long & short foot passing along with intricate hand passing - all done at speed and with great skill. The modern game played at county level is not gaelic football anymore, it's based more on soccer as most modern players and managers are consciously or unconsciously hugely influenced by what's happening in the Premiership and in the Champions League. Gaelic football nowadays is a game based on possession, negative defending and counter-attack. When Galway continued to play the traditional style they were derided, being told they played lovely football but that they were naive and would never win an All Ireland.
It's about winning at all costs even though it's an amateur game. There is no reward for sporting behaviour - negativity and cynical fouling is done because it prevents the other team from scoring and the punishment does not fit the crime. All teams will play cynically if they are allowed to do so. Cynicism is part of the game. One way of getting rid of cynical fouling at the end of a tight game is to give a free directly in front of goals. A cynical player will take any card in those last moments but they'll think twice if they know it's going to be a 13 metre free in front of goal.

baire (Galway) - Posts: 1798 - 19/03/2018 11:04:03    2085717

Ridiculous. And massively incorrect. Dublin lads around me (who were great craic) were going mad with our defensive set-up when they saw how many we had behind the ball. They went very quiet very quickly when I continually pointed out every time Dublin had thirteen behind the ball. Dublin do the exact same as every other team. EXACT SAME. It has to be done as nowadays teams attack with twelve players so do you expect three or four forwards to stay up close to goal leaving their men free to roam downfield giving a numerical advantage? No. Didn't think so.

SamandLiamSoon (Galway) - Posts: 591 - 19/03/2018 12:18:12    2085757

The cynical fouling usually happens in the last 10 minutes, by the team in front. Instead of giving cards for fouling how about as suggested above, giving a free in front of the goal - instead of booking or sending off some player.

galwayford (Galway) - Posts: 2519 - 19/03/2018 12:36:02    2085769

Replying To galwayford:  "The cynical fouling usually happens in the last 10 minutes, by the team in front. Instead of giving cards for fouling how about as suggested above, giving a free in front of the goal - instead of booking or sending off some player."
that's a great idea
a real punishment and very easy to implement

rhudson (Galway) - Posts: 1478 - 19/03/2018 13:11:52    2085790

Great game. Huge crowd of Dubs fans brought great atmosphere and banter. Bit disappointed by a very very small minority of fans who had too much to drink repeatedly using very bad language and over the top aggression. Had two small kids with me and had to move them away as they were frightened. Take it easy lads. Been to and played in hundreds of games and it was way over the norm. I thought it was up to the ref to sort the repeated handbags from both sides, take action early and it won't develop. He should have black carded 5 or 6 of the Dublin lads for the very last kick out as that would have stopped teams doing it into the future. Can see why they did it. Why would a team not do it again if there is no consequence. Overall though great day out and really hope we make the super 8s for more of the same. Imagined a sold out Pearse Stadium for a game with the Dubs. Cian O Sullivan is a big loss to them, huge player

Trucker1 (Galway) - Posts: 373 - 19/03/2018 13:17:20    2085791

Just back from a great weekend in Galway. Just to the Dublin poster who thinks neutrals dont go to games. AI champions playing in Galway on Paddys weekend?.... many neutrals at the game. Some us can enjoy the games for what they are. Not just insular tribal values. Good game, but a lot of drunk supporters. Suppose it was the weekend that wad in it, but seen a few families with kids gave leave the section we were in. Sad. Definitely need to do something to stamp out the pulling and dragging. Both sides at it but Was particularly excessive near end. Maybe carry black cards onto next match.

commander (Kildare) - Posts: 225 - 19/03/2018 13:33:59    2085800

Replying To HurlingSnob:  "For all the talk of playing in Croke Park being a huge advantage for Dublin, when was the last time Dublin were beaten outside of Croke Park, league and championship?"
Against Kerry down in Killarney, league 2015

Hill16Army (Dublin) - Posts: 88 - 19/03/2018 13:56:31    2085817