Meath V Cork

MOD; how are people not seeing MOD is a better manager than Mc Entee, in MOD first 2 years they were unlucky not to get to div 1only for Mícheál Murphy kicked a outrageous sideline to draw the game.
More lads left the panel this year because of Mc Entee than any other year.

SS6 (Meath) - Posts: 149 - 12/03/2018 09:11:06    2083795

Replying To SS6:  "MOD; how are people not seeing MOD is a better manager than Mc Entee, in MOD first 2 years they were unlucky not to get to div 1only for Mícheál Murphy kicked a outrageous sideline to draw the game.
More lads left the panel this year because of Mc Entee than any other year."
Really we are where we are.........in a serious situation for the last few years. talent at our disposal very limited number one. However holding on to talent when it emerges is also a problem. You will always have some players who have other priorities ,and good luck to them. We have an issue also in trying to make it more attractive for players to remain with the commitment required which is massive timewise. So, 5 or 6 nights a week training with Meath. My question remains same as it was 3 years ago. Doing what in training ? How can you expect lads to continue doing the same thing, that does not produce results indicating progress?? Answer: you can't... full stop. I still want Andy McEntee to continue as manager!! I. know his passion for the job. He is a novice at this level,but we knew that from the the start!. My problem with Andy is that i cannot see sufficient learning taking place on his part regarding the massive role as manager. Management style..well Andy has to ask himself does my management style get the best from lads individually and as a team? if not what do i need to change? or even can i change if that is required? Can i delegate some tasks particularly any areas dealing with preparation such as mental toughness, and tactical awareness. Or do i want to be a one man band? Andy if you want to be a one man band or unwilling to use required resources forget it. That's not how it works nowadays.. ask Jim Gavin. May not even have a requirement for extra money from County Board .It may mean looking at how money can be redirected to meet clearly identified needs at this point . Fair play to Andy he took the job on the condition that he could have his identified person used for physical fitness. That worked very well. Maybe now Andy you might do the same to meet the other needs. I imagine at this point the County Board would be very interested to hear your views on moving forward from here .Totally separate maybe the CB may also advise on how they may assist you with holding emerging players with potential. Other counties have that one down to a fine art.

nobull456 (Meath) - Posts: 1224 - 12/03/2018 10:46:45    2083846

I have been and continue to be fully behind Andy as the best man to lead Meath, however there are clearly problems,
We dont seem to have a game plan, we are set up defensively but are far to easy to score against
Certain players seem to be un droppable, certain others are seen as soft targets. for instance yesterday the entire half back line were non existent in the first have but only Mickey Burke gets pulled. We have no dynamism in the half back line at all,

longroadback (Meath) - Posts: 325 - 12/03/2018 11:09:40    2083861

Did anyone else hear the Cork team shouting and encouraging each other from the start ? I could clearly hear them. They had real positive attitude. That was in stark contrast to us there was very little communication going on.

bobkarlgees (Meath) - Posts: 1263 - 12/03/2018 11:58:56    2083886

Replying To longroadback:  "I have been and continue to be fully behind Andy as the best man to lead Meath, however there are clearly problems,
We dont seem to have a game plan, we are set up defensively but are far to easy to score against
Certain players seem to be un droppable, certain others are seen as soft targets. for instance yesterday the entire half back line were non existent in the first have but only Mickey Burke gets pulled. We have no dynamism in the half back line at all,"
Absolutely there are problems. I was on a mad one yesterday over Andy I got caught up in my own frustration. I did think he was the man part of me still does but unless we see improvement (not over next few years...now) he is wasting his & players time. He is slowly losing the respect of his players , this is 100% obvious and when this happens we all know that we are going to fall apart rapidly.
Ive no doubt we will beat Louth next week but God forbid if Louth do beat us i think Andy is going to be questioning his own position and rightly so!! There are alot of errors been made out field and as you said supporters can see them why cant he? Surely he can? Why is he continuing to play lads like this? Mickey in fairness to him should have gotten pulled long before he did, Why did he put Tobin, one of our best players on with 9 mins to go, was he punishing him cos of the misunderstanding they had, he didn't just punish him, he punished the county. I don't know anymore, i just cant figure out whats going on and the more games we play the more mind boggling this is becoming. Anyone would think he was sending them lads out to fail. So many questions!!

Loyalroyal17 (Meath) - Posts: 627 - 12/03/2018 12:11:43    2083894

Replying To bobkarlgees:  "Did anyone else hear the Cork team shouting and encouraging each other from the start ? I could clearly hear them. They had real positive attitude. That was in stark contrast to us there was very little communication going on."
Funny you should say that, as we were commenting on the Meath lads. At one point i thought Graham Reilly was going to lose the plot, you could see how frustrated he was roaring and shouting at lads to get back into position. Ben Brennan asking the linesman was he blind cos Cillian O S was pushed over the line, Brian Menton encouraging the lads to push up..only mentioning some of what i heard. Meath had a serious attitude out there aswell, alot of communication going on...i don't now how you could only hear Cork?? The only reason the teams could be heard shouting at one another was because of lack of supporters. You could hear word for word what was been said. You could hear a pin drop out on that pitch yesterday.

Loyalroyal17 (Meath) - Posts: 627 - 12/03/2018 12:18:26    2083900

I would question Andy's backroom team and what they are bringing. Andy was on his own on the sideline for most of the game yesterday. He spoke to Curtis a few times but that just seemed to be getting Donal to relay some decision to a player.

I am finding it very difficult to see what Gerry McEntee and Finian Murthagh are bringing to the setup. Gerry was an absolute legend in the 80's - possibly my favorite player - but i dont thing he knows enough about the club scene in Meath or has sufficient management / coaching experience as would be needed for Meath going forward. Our forwards do not seem to be playing to a system and you would have hoped that Finian would have contributed to that area.

oldsam_newsam (Meath) - Posts: 638 - 12/03/2018 12:21:04    2083901

Replying To SS6:  "MOD; how are people not seeing MOD is a better manager than Mc Entee, in MOD first 2 years they were unlucky not to get to div 1only for Mícheál Murphy kicked a outrageous sideline to draw the game.
don't forget Micko dropped about nine lads in there late 20s and that where the problems stated to get major lads were put in the deep in and what happen against West Meath has affected them lads long term

meath1977 (Meath) - Posts: 534 - 12/03/2018 12:52:53    2083919

completely agree. MOD issue was fitness and that could be fixed. The tactics or lack of are a disgrace. The most important player now is the goal keeper. What do we do, 50 odd first team keepers in Meath and bring in a fella that is close to 40 and plays out field. Our tactics is to lump it down the field and hope we get the break. Club teams dont even do this and this is supposed to be inter-county.
Players are also hamstrung by the non sense of playing off the shoulder so ever time they get possession they have to off load it to a runner. This team is afraid of making mistakes and that is why they are permanently off loading and this inevitably leads to losing possession.
I cannot for the life of me figure out what is going on in training. We kicked 3/4/5 shots short from no more than 25 yard out on front of goal.
Tobin, Mc Keever subs when we had others out there that would not get on a senior club team. Joey Wallace playing for Ratoath.
I am not faulting anyone effort but the crowd was near gone before the final whistle. Mc Entee and his team need to shape up something seriously and get with it. I have never been so shocked with the last 3 games and there is regression in every game.
Forget about promotion next year also considering who is coming up and going down.
At least with O Dowd players expressed themselves and was good to watch. Now it is dire.

pretender (Meath) - Posts: 358 - 12/03/2018 12:56:48    2083921

Replying To Loyalroyal17:  "Funny you should say that, as we were commenting on the Meath lads. At one point i thought Graham Reilly was going to lose the plot, you could see how frustrated he was roaring and shouting at lads to get back into position. Ben Brennan asking the linesman was he blind cos Cillian O S was pushed over the line, Brian Menton encouraging the lads to push up..only mentioning some of what i heard. Meath had a serious attitude out there aswell, alot of communication going on...i don't now how you could only hear Cork?? The only reason the teams could be heard shouting at one another was because of lack of supporters. You could hear word for word what was been said. You could hear a pin drop out on that pitch yesterday."
I could hear Meath lads from time to time but not enough compared to Cork. but as you say it was a lot negative but Cork seemed way more positive from the start. But That time COS was rugby tackled over the side was a disgraceful decision. But the standard of refereeing is shocking and having to pay money in to watch it is starting to wear thin with me, For example yesterday the refs interpretation of the advantage rule was terrible, He blew up one time when Cork had scored a point and he pulled back for free not allowing enough time. same again a few minutes later he pulled it back as cork where taking a shot at goal and the ball hit the ball ended up hitting the cross crossbar.

bobkarlgees (Meath) - Posts: 1263 - 12/03/2018 13:18:12    2083929

Replying To bobkarlgees:  "Did anyone else hear the Cork team shouting and encouraging each other from the start ? I could clearly hear them. They had real positive attitude. That was in stark contrast to us there was very little communication going on."
yes and it's not a good sign when you here the players number one the crowd was low and the lack of believe is in the stands too

meath1977 (Meath) - Posts: 534 - 12/03/2018 13:22:44    2083931

Replying To bobkarlgees:  "I could hear Meath lads from time to time but not enough compared to Cork. but as you say it was a lot negative but Cork seemed way more positive from the start. But That time COS was rugby tackled over the side was a disgraceful decision. But the standard of refereeing is shocking and having to pay money in to watch it is starting to wear thin with me, For example yesterday the refs interpretation of the advantage rule was terrible, He blew up one time when Cork had scored a point and he pulled back for free not allowing enough time. same again a few minutes later he pulled it back as cork where taking a shot at goal and the ball hit the ball ended up hitting the cross crossbar."
The refs always were a law on themselves but of late its just gone out of control. You are right, I dont know what rule book he was playing from. That melee was again a result of poor refereeing and lads having to fight back because ref turns a blind eye.

Loyalroyal17 (Meath) - Posts: 627 - 12/03/2018 13:32:59    2083935

Replying To pretender:  "completely agree. MOD issue was fitness and that could be fixed. The tactics or lack of are a disgrace. The most important player now is the goal keeper. What do we do, 50 odd first team keepers in Meath and bring in a fella that is close to 40 and plays out field. Our tactics is to lump it down the field and hope we get the break. Club teams dont even do this and this is supposed to be inter-county.
Players are also hamstrung by the non sense of playing off the shoulder so ever time they get possession they have to off load it to a runner. This team is afraid of making mistakes and that is why they are permanently off loading and this inevitably leads to losing possession.
I cannot for the life of me figure out what is going on in training. We kicked 3/4/5 shots short from no more than 25 yard out on front of goal.
Tobin, Mc Keever subs when we had others out there that would not get on a senior club team. Joey Wallace playing for Ratoath.
I am not faulting anyone effort but the crowd was near gone before the final whistle. Mc Entee and his team need to shape up something seriously and get with it. I have never been so shocked with the last 3 games and there is regression in every game.
Forget about promotion next year also considering who is coming up and going down.
At least with O Dowd players expressed themselves and was good to watch. Now it is dire."
Lads now please lets not start looking at the MOD era through Green tinted glasses... Remember Derry? remember Cavan league game? remember Westmeath in Croke Park? we were an absolute shambles under him, I expected better from the new manager but maybe we are all guilty of thinking "We are Meath, we should be contenders" when realistically we have had one decent Minor team in 10 years, have not won an Leinster U21 in I dont know how long, maybe just maybe we dont have the footballers.... I was looking at the Graham Geraghty programme last week and I just thought, there is not 1 fella playing football in Meath who could lace his boots, and that is not slagging anyone off, merely my opinion, When we look back realistically, how many of the current squad would get into the starting teams of 87, 88, 96 or 99, and playing in the role of the fella that they are replacing? Certainly not many, is there even 3?

longroadback (Meath) - Posts: 325 - 12/03/2018 13:39:43    2083937

Replying To Loyalroyal17:  "The refs always were a law on themselves but of late its just gone out of control. You are right, I dont know what rule book he was playing from. That melee was again a result of poor refereeing and lads having to fight back because ref turns a blind eye."
The advantage seems to be becoming more of a problem recently, could do with being looked at again

leftandwide (Meath) - Posts: 91 - 12/03/2018 13:55:41    2083943

Further to my earlier comments about the backroom team and lack therof thisis what we are up against........

https://www.rte.ie/sport/gaa/2018/0312/946760-gavin-hires-lisa-fallon-dublin-footballers-gaa/

oldsam_newsam (Meath) - Posts: 638 - 12/03/2018 14:09:22    2083950

Replying To longroadback:  "Lads now please lets not start looking at the MOD era through Green tinted glasses... Remember Derry? remember Cavan league game? remember Westmeath in Croke Park? we were an absolute shambles under him, I expected better from the new manager but maybe we are all guilty of thinking "We are Meath, we should be contenders" when realistically we have had one decent Minor team in 10 years, have not won an Leinster U21 in I dont know how long, maybe just maybe we dont have the footballers.... I was looking at the Graham Geraghty programme last week and I just thought, there is not 1 fella playing football in Meath who could lace his boots, and that is not slagging anyone off, merely my opinion, When we look back realistically, how many of the current squad would get into the starting teams of 87, 88, 96 or 99, and playing in the role of the fella that they are replacing? Certainly not many, is there even 3?"
The way the are playing at the moment. They would struggle to get in anyone of the Div 1 teams, never mind an All-Ireland winning team. Your right we have won nothing at under age level in years now. But leaving that a side I still think by default. We still should be producing 1 or 2 top class players that would walk on to a All-Ireland team no questions asked. I really dont understand it.

bobkarlgees (Meath) - Posts: 1263 - 12/03/2018 14:11:44    2083951

On a slight tangent folks, how much of a loss is Alan Forde? Seemed to be flying before he got injured.

GlasgowRoyal (Meath) - Posts: 293 - 12/03/2018 14:46:27    2083962

Replying To longroadback:  "Lads now please lets not start looking at the MOD era through Green tinted glasses... Remember Derry? remember Cavan league game? remember Westmeath in Croke Park? we were an absolute shambles under him, I expected better from the new manager but maybe we are all guilty of thinking "We are Meath, we should be contenders" when realistically we have had one decent Minor team in 10 years, have not won an Leinster U21 in I dont know how long, maybe just maybe we dont have the footballers.... I was looking at the Graham Geraghty programme last week and I just thought, there is not 1 fella playing football in Meath who could lace his boots, and that is not slagging anyone off, merely my opinion, When we look back realistically, how many of the current squad would get into the starting teams of 87, 88, 96 or 99, and playing in the role of the fella that they are replacing? Certainly not many, is there even 3?"
Based on yesterday, Graham Reilly would get on any of the teams. Cillian O'Sulivan would be a sub and I think Conor McGill would be a good option for cover for full back when considering that the winning teams had Mick Lyons and Darren Fay.

oldsam_newsam (Meath) - Posts: 638 - 12/03/2018 14:57:54    2083967

In my opinion Graham Reilly 100% would get a start on any of those teams...

Loyalroyal17 (Meath) - Posts: 627 - 12/03/2018 15:12:27    2083970

Replying To Loyalroyal17:  "In my opinion Graham Reilly 100% would get a start on any of those teams..."
I couldn't see any of these fellas getting on that side. None of the current crop are anywhere near good enough. That's just the plain and simple truth. That side created chances out of nothing, never dropped the heads and above all had a skill set equal to or greater than most in Leinster and indeed Ireland which no player possesses today.

ClonardGael (Meath) - Posts: 75 - 12/03/2018 16:27:54    2084000