Confess Your Really Unpopular View/Opinion

I'm the best poster on this forum.

Breffni40 (Cavan) - Posts: 12116 - 27/02/2018 10:17:04    2080850

GAA players whinge like professionals.............. they do so well to fit the whinging into their busy days because you know they have to get up for work tomorrow...........

Mayonman (Galway) - Posts: 1826 - 27/02/2018 10:22:40    2080854

Donegal's 2012 All-Ireland was the most completely dominant summer from a single team I've seen in my time watching football. The Dubs in the past few years, for all they dish out hammerings, always came up against Kerry or Mayo that really put it up to them and they pulled through. Donegal 2012 nobody laid a hand on us all summer.

JoeSoap (Donegal) - Posts: 1432 - 27/02/2018 10:24:22    2080855

A strong Dublin is a great thing for GAA summers and it's up to the rest of us to match the current crop.

The model adopted by the Dublin County Board with their funding and methods across the county should be brought in country wide for any county that wants the help.

JoeSoap (Donegal) - Posts: 1432 - 27/02/2018 10:30:24    2080859

Big town clubs do not have the same parish spirit of rural clubs. A huge disconnect between a large town's adult senior team and their junior team for example. Might as well be two different clubs even if they play under the same name.

The Super 8's will be a disaster for the club scene in bigger counties but now that I am retired from playing I look forward to the feast of football in August.

Players "look" a lot harder than they are these days. It's all gym work, creatine and protein compared with traditional harder players in the past who honed their strength naturally on farms and building sites.

GAA fans reminisce with rose tinted glasses worse than any other sports fans, particularly the so-called expert pundits. Old school games on TV look completely devoid of any tactics or game-plan. It was a kick and hope game a lot of the time.

Lockjaw (Donegal) - Posts: 9116 - 27/02/2018 13:31:44    2080917

Replying To JoeSoap:  "Donegal's 2012 All-Ireland was the most completely dominant summer from a single team I've seen in my time watching football. The Dubs in the past few years, for all they dish out hammerings, always came up against Kerry or Mayo that really put it up to them and they pulled through. Donegal 2012 nobody laid a hand on us all summer."
Id say most counties could say the same thing when they win an All Ireland. When Meath won All Ireland in 1987 and 1999 no one laid a hand on us all summer. Kerry won All Irelands in 78 79 84 85 nonone laid a hand on them as well. When Cork won the All Ireland in 1973 no one could touch them eitheir. Are just a few I can remeber when teams went whole summers and no one could touch them.

Donegal had a great year in 2012. One of the best defensive systems ever in Croke Park. But in the final while they started like a train with Murphy and McFaddens goals. After the first 20, 25 mins of the game. Mayo were in the ascendency. I though the final wasnt one of their better performances on the year. The Donegal performance in the 1992 All Ireland final was a much better performance. Donegal were brillant in that final in 92.
I would say teams who won with better performances in All Ireland finals in the last 50 years were Tyrone in 2005 and 2008, kerry in 04 06 1985 1984 1978 1979 1981 1970 ,Galway 98 1966, Donegal 92. Meath 1967 1987 1988 1999 , Dublin 1977, Cork in 1973 Offaly in 1972 and Down 60 61 68 1994 .

Furlong1949 (Meath) - Posts: 1067 - 27/02/2018 14:16:50    2080936

I should not have included 1985. Monaghan drew with kerry in semi final. And were lucky not to beat them. It went to a replay. In any other era that Monaghan team with Nudie Hughes would have won Sam.

Furlong1949 (Meath) - Posts: 1067 - 27/02/2018 14:21:13    2080937

I don't believe we (Mayo) are everybody's fav second team. There are many out there who take joy in seeing another final defeat.

In fairness it's not pity we were wanted. To be Hated while winning All Ireland's would be much more fun from our perspective.

yew_tree (Mayo) - Posts: 11227 - 27/02/2018 14:42:59    2080943

At least 50 per cent of die hard supporters who go to every game including the pre league ones tend to be the least knowledgeable and biased people in the GAA. Well from my own county anyway.

TheFlaker (Mayo) - Posts: 7885 - 27/02/2018 14:51:55    2080948

I hate seeing players hitting the ground like a sack of spuds when they get a tip or a soft shoulder and yes plenty of Mayo forwards are at it, I'd rather see a player take the shoulder, roar or egg the opponent on to do the same again and get the team and crowd roaring. If you as a player gave a hard shoulder but your opponent didn't hit the ground instead told you to do that again you'd be doubting yourself whether you should shoulder him again, that puts doubt in your mind and your opponent now has the mental advantage over you. To me football is getting too soft, yes some of the tackling is border line rugby or a boxing match but compared to the shouldering from back in the 60s, 70s and 80s it's babies v mountains (babies are the current players). TG4 used to show All Ireland Gold it was All Ireland Finals from the past, the games back then were brilliant to watch, maybe the fitness wasn't up to current standards but by God could they clatter you with a shoulder. Man up and take the shoulder. GA bring back the shoulder rule and let us enjoy playing and watching the game, hurling is miles ahead of football in the physicality aspect

riverboys (Mayo) - Posts: 1389 - 27/02/2018 15:22:36    2080960

Replying To grellans89:  "Offaly is one of the true great GAA counties tiny playing base, with one half playing Football and the other hurling and have won All Irelands in both codes, a fact that is never acknowledged fully"
I agree 110%. Offaly achievements in football and hurling in the 70s 80s and 90s is one of the greatest achievements in modern gaa. Down winning 3 All Ireland in the 60s, kerry under Dwyer, Harte winning 3 Sams with Tyrone, Boylan winning 4 Sams with Meath, Clare winning hurling in 95 and 97 the 3 Ulster teams winning their first All Irelands ever in early 90s, Cork winning the Double, Dublins sucess this decade, Cork hurling 3 in a row in 70s and Galways in the 60s are are great achievements . But in the last 50 years Offaly winning 7 All Irelands in both codes is extraordinary and in my opinion the greatest achievement in modern GAA.

Remeber Offaly has a small population with under 100000. It is midlands county that wouldnt have the same stature or power of a Dublin Cork or Galway in Irish society. Yet look what they did. They dont get the recognition they deserve. I think they're not one of the cooler counties maybe. A midlands county that I dont think they get the praise for what they did. It would be like if Westmeath in the next 25 years won 3 football All Irelands and 4 hurling All Irelands. Thats an modern equivalent of what Offaly did. Its not just they won but they took on the superpowers in hurling of kilkenny particularly and Kerry and Dublin in football and won.

In football they first arrived in 60s. Before the 60s they were division 3 county at best. Reached All Ireland finals in the 60s and won leinster titles. And had a good rivalry with Meath. Meath were the dominant team in leinster in the 60s but Offaly were not to far off.

It was in 70s they made the breakthrough. With the most underated team of all time. When people talk about great teams they never mention Offaly 1971 1972. But they should why?. 1 They won 2 All Ireland in a row 2 They are the only team to win their first All Ireland ever and follow this up with a win the following year. It would have been like Donegal in 92 or Tyrone in 03 winning Sam the following year. Remeber all the excitement after Donegal and Tyrone won their first titles. Well Offaly had that in 71, but still won in 1972.
3 They defeated Kerry by 9 points in an All Ireland final , kerrys worst defeat in a final ever. And that kerry team had won a two in a row itself in 1969 1970.

They were known as hard team. Ask anyone of that era and they will say that Offaly were much tougher then the Dublin team of 70s or the Meath team of 80s. Their full back a legend was called Paddy " Iron man from Rhodes " McCormack. Yet he was only 5ft 9. Willie Bryon was the star midfielder and Tony McTeague is considered by many to be one of the greatest free takers ever.

They built another brillant new team to win famously in 82. Dublin were just as strong as they are now in late 70s. But under Eugene McGee they toppled Dublin and then kerry. Basically defeated two of the greatest teams of all time. McGee is another unrated fugure. When people name the greatest managers of all time, he is never mentioned, yet he is one. Only himself and John O Mahony are the only outside managers to win Sam. Eugene McGee was the Jimmy McGuiness of his say. He was an innovative new manager who defeated Heffernan and Dwyer , the only manager to do that. He was manager of the greatest gaa college team ever in the UCD 70s team which won many Sigerson cups and Dublin senior county title.

He took over and his first three Offaly were average. But he kept building and in his 4th years beat Dublin 70s team in 1980. They reached a final v kerry in 81. They lost but they were improving. In 1982 they won their third leinster title in a row beating Dublin by 9 points. Dublins worst ever defeat in a leinster final. And of course they defeated kerry in probaly the greatest final.with probaly greatest gaa moment ever in 82 final with the Darby goal.

However they say that team never recoverd from the car accident that Matt Connor had in 84 and after the team broke up. Matt Connor is simply one of the greatest forwards of all time. Yet he never played again after 24 after his tragic car accident. He had it all with pace power and skill. Forget about Gouch or Peter the great Matt, Connor is the best of them all, if George Best was a gaelic footballer he would have been Matt Connor, both had extraordinary balance and skill.

Offalys hurling sucess is even more extraordinary. They won their first ever leinater title in 1979 v kilkenny . And in the next 20 years would become almost a bogey team for kilkenny with year after year of victory over the Cats. They won their first ever title in hurling when they beat Galway in 81. It was the first time a new name had won iam Mcarthy since Waterfords won their first title in tge 50s and Galway won their first title in the 20s. No new team has won their first hurling title since.

They reached the century final in 1984 but lost to excellent Cork,but in 85 again they defeated Galway to win their second title. The team of the 80s played a ground hurling type of game which also the 90s did play. The 80s was a big powerful strong team with players like Pat Fleury Padraig Horan Pat Delaney liam Cummins ( a man who came close to being the first player to win an hurling and football title in 1 year in both codes before Teddy Mcarthy did in 1990 with Cork).

In the 90s a new Offaly team with skilful players emerged. Players like Michael Duignan Daithi Regan Jim Troy Billy and Johnny Dooley Kevin Martin The Pilkington brothers and of course Brian Whelehan. They defeated limerick in 94 final in the most amazing manner ever with a 2-5 scoring blitz in the final minutes of the game, as limerick looked like they had won. They reached final.again in 95 but it was in the backdoor they defeated kilkenny in 98 All Ireland final. That was the final that showed the genius of Brian Whelehan .

Whelehan is one of the greatest hurlers of all time. The only modern player on the team of the millennium. He was an outstanding wing back. They said no one could outhurl Br5an Whelehan. In 98 before the final he had the flu. They thought he couldnt play. In first ten 15 mins he was looking under the weather with the flu and still very sick. So Offaly decided to move him full forward. At full forward and still very sick he scored 1- 4 and won Offaly the All Ireland. Matt Connor and Brian Whelehan , two Offaly GAA geniuses.
Offaly played in a great semi final v Cork in 99 and reached the final in 2000 but they were now in decline and the end of Offalys remarkable hurling golden age came to an end.
So that is the story of Offaly. A truly great GAA county every way.

Furlong1949 (Meath) - Posts: 1067 - 27/02/2018 15:37:33    2080969

Replying To Breffni39:  "I'm the best poster on this forum."
Haha

The Kerry lads love ye anyway

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20600 - 27/02/2018 15:55:50    2080975

Jeez furlong is like our very own uncle Albert "during the war" Im getting on a bit and I like to finish reading posts before they bury me:)

lilypad (Kildare) - Posts: 1363 - 27/02/2018 16:01:13    2080976

Semple Stadium is a kip, it seriously needs modernising

PyatPree (Cork) - Posts: 376 - 27/02/2018 16:12:53    2080982

Limerick are not a good GAA county. For a "sporting city" they are not good at GAA. Na Piarsaigh not withstanding. Cuala will win that club final.

galwayford (Galway) - Posts: 2517 - 27/02/2018 17:01:31    2080999

Replying To OLLIE:  "Haha Hteam that is me down to a T. Actually the fleadh is coming to my home of Drogheda this year for the very first time. I am looking forward to it. You should come up to it. I will bring you to the Bull."
Good man OLLIE, sorry never even checked this page since I posted. Truth be told I like most of those things aswell.

Sorry OLLIE, I see Fleadh is on in August, I have 2 stags, a wedding and a couple of landmark birthdays that month....it's gonna be a bitch of a month!

Htaem (Meath) - Posts: 8657 - 27/02/2018 18:51:58    2081051

The vast majority of administrators and referees do their jobs just because they love the games and want to give something back
The club secretary who does the job for 20 years is every bit as great a servant as the lad who plays into his 40s
The GAA is not a particularly money-hungry organisation, they just realise that to continue to invest in facilities and coaching they need to continue to look to grow their income.

Soma (UK) - Posts: 2630 - 27/02/2018 19:03:15    2081056

Replying To JoeSoap:  "Donegal's 2012 All-Ireland was the most completely dominant summer from a single team I've seen in my time watching football. The Dubs in the past few years, for all they dish out hammerings, always came up against Kerry or Mayo that really put it up to them and they pulled through. Donegal 2012 nobody laid a hand on us all summer."
If it wasnt for papa's big toe, Tyrone would have beat you's that summer.

TakeyourPoint. (Tyrone) - Posts: 133 - 27/02/2018 19:11:16    2081059

Replying To galwayford:  "Limerick are not a good GAA county. For a "sporting city" they are not good at GAA. Na Piarsaigh not withstanding. Cuala will win that club final."
Limerick City is a Hurling wasteland.. There are more senior rugby clubs than GAA by a long shot in the city. Soccer is probably second most popular sport.. GAA comes third, so yeah you're right.
It's not good GAA territory in the city anyway.

no other county in the country has to contend with rugby as a competitor in its main population base like we do here.
As for limerick not being a good GAA county.
Whats your barometer for good?
Senior success?
That's most of the counties in Ireland discounted if that's the case. We're underachieving for definite in hurling at senior level but have won 2 u21 All Irelands recently. both Kilmallock and Na P have both won munster club titles in the last few years.
Na Piarsaigh hae won a club AI and have done fantastic work this decade to be as successful as they are in the city.
Wouldn't dismiss them as lightly as your doing.

skillet (Limerick) - Posts: 1057 - 27/02/2018 19:26:25    2081063

Replying To jimbodub:  "Haha

The Kerry lads love ye anyway"
Just as much as we are fond of you Jimbodub. Hard to choose between the pair of ye-)

KY4SAM2015 (Kerry) - Posts: 898 - 27/02/2018 19:43:28    2081069