"I'M Finished With That Now, And Life Is Already Much Better"

Interesting article about Meath goalkeeper Paddy O'Rourke on his decision to quit the county panel. He cites three reasons for his decision to walk away: the ever increasing levels of commitment, the fact that Meath are way off the pace with regard to winning a Leinster or All-Ireland and the new All Ireland championship structure which he claims has made the game "more elite-focused than ever". How many more players around the country are in O'Rourke's shoes at the moment and not interested in playing for their county anymore?

ISupposeSoSheehan (Meath) - Posts: 86 - 15/02/2018 17:20:39    2077179

Replying To ISupposeSoSheehan:  "Interesting article about Meath goalkeeper Paddy O'Rourke on his decision to quit the county panel. He cites three reasons for his decision to walk away: the ever increasing levels of commitment, the fact that Meath are way off the pace with regard to winning a Leinster or All-Ireland and the new All Ireland championship structure which he claims has made the game "more elite-focused than ever". How many more players around the country are in O'Rourke's shoes at the moment and not interested in playing for their county anymore?

link"
He makes some good valid points. But I think the undertone of his obvious loyalties to odowd cloud his view points. Everyone in Meath knows under mod things were very easy going, no stress , no real modern prep and plenty of excuses. Every player could hide and they would get away with it cause that was the type of nice guy mick was, no pressure lads.
Under Andy things have changed and it's sh1t or get off the pot, young colgan has so far been a more than adequate replacement for paddy, and so far touch wood has had none of the weekly calamities that befelled paddy. I wish him well and thank him for his service, he no longer feels he has it in him, he was man enough to admit it, but we must now praise those who have given it all in 18 still unbeaten (hopefully will continue for a bit longer).

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 15/02/2018 18:50:27    2077205

Replying To royaldunne:  "He makes some good valid points. But I think the undertone of his obvious loyalties to odowd cloud his view points. Everyone in Meath knows under mod things were very easy going, no stress , no real modern prep and plenty of excuses. Every player could hide and they would get away with it cause that was the type of nice guy mick was, no pressure lads.
Under Andy things have changed and it's sh1t or get off the pot, young colgan has so far been a more than adequate replacement for paddy, and so far touch wood has had none of the weekly calamities that befelled paddy. I wish him well and thank him for his service, he no longer feels he has it in him, he was man enough to admit it, but we must now praise those who have given it all in 18 still unbeaten (hopefully will continue for a bit longer)."
Fair play to him. Slog hard to play puke football.

I used to watch and play football but now all I seem to see is handpassing and packed defence.

Bernardo (Monaghan) - Posts: 595 - 15/02/2018 20:08:14    2077230

Being an intercounty player can't be easy, it demands huge dedication and sacrifice and I don't blame any person for either walking away or refusing the call in the first place. But here's the thing.....it's not compulsory, and to be honest I found Paddy's comments a bit defeatist, it's no wonder Meath football has slipped off the radar if Paddy's attitude is a reflection on the rest of the squad.

Now some will argue that he's only being honest and that's fair enough but I do get a sense that he's a little defeatist also.

All the best to Paddy, stay retired and stay happy.

Htaem (Meath) - Posts: 8657 - 15/02/2018 20:44:02    2077244

Replying To Htaem:  "Being an intercounty player can't be easy, it demands huge dedication and sacrifice and I don't blame any person for either walking away or refusing the call in the first place. But here's the thing.....it's not compulsory, and to be honest I found Paddy's comments a bit defeatist, it's no wonder Meath football has slipped off the radar if Paddy's attitude is a reflection on the rest of the squad.

Now some will argue that he's only being honest and that's fair enough but I do get a sense that he's a little defeatist also.

All the best to Paddy, stay retired and stay happy."
Do you get the feeling that should Meath get promotion and maybe get into the super 8s paddy would be front and centre looking for his old jersey back next year? Now maybe I am reading him all wrong , an. I hope I am, as I always liked him as a player and indeed a individual, could be irritating as anything but I still liked him. I look at the likes of graham geraghty and Ollie Murphy when they retired and there wasn't this type of attitude, now maybe it was easier with all ire medals , all stars, Leinster etc. Maybe that's what's wrong. I don't know.
But I just get as you said a defeatist attitude, maybe that's why Andy has torn apart the old team apart and is building his own which seem to have a lot more steel about them.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 15/02/2018 21:23:37    2077258

Replying To royaldunne:  "Do you get the feeling that should Meath get promotion and maybe get into the super 8s paddy would be front and centre looking for his old jersey back next year? Now maybe I am reading him all wrong , an. I hope I am, as I always liked him as a player and indeed a individual, could be irritating as anything but I still liked him. I look at the likes of graham geraghty and Ollie Murphy when they retired and there wasn't this type of attitude, now maybe it was easier with all ire medals , all stars, Leinster etc. Maybe that's what's wrong. I don't know.
But I just get as you said a defeatist attitude, maybe that's why Andy has torn apart the old team apart and is building his own which seem to have a lot more steel about them."
I don't know if he'd look for a way back in if we got better, I think possibly not, quite honestly I'd say given his comments the squad would rather he didn't come back. Not that he said anything scandolous but he doesn't have the passion or hunger for it anymore and younger players would pick up on that so he's better off away from the intercounty scene.

McEntee himself is certainly a stern character that doesn't lack any steel himself and hopefully he'll be able to translate that through the squad. I do think this generation is a bit soft though royaldunne, obsessed with iphones and tables, whatever happened to catching kickouts and giving lickouts ;-)

Htaem (Meath) - Posts: 8657 - 15/02/2018 22:01:02    2077275

This is the beginning of the end. Fair play to him for making the very difficult decision and moving on. Think of how many weaker county players who have considered this exact decision, and couldn't handle the fact of 'missing out'. I respect his strength in making the decision.

Something needs to change, the overall bigger picture. Otherwise, this will be the beginning of the end, and I predict a domino effect....if nothing changes.

pati (Meath) - Posts: 80 - 15/02/2018 22:07:12    2077280

Replying To Htaem:  "I don't know if he'd look for a way back in if we got better, I think possibly not, quite honestly I'd say given his comments the squad would rather he didn't come back. Not that he said anything scandolous but he doesn't have the passion or hunger for it anymore and younger players would pick up on that so he's better off away from the intercounty scene.

McEntee himself is certainly a stern character that doesn't lack any steel himself and hopefully he'll be able to translate that through the squad. I do think this generation is a bit soft though royaldunne, obsessed with iphones and tables, whatever happened to catching kickouts and giving lickouts ;-)"
*tables?? that should say *tablets.....my ass really is getting old :-)

Htaem (Meath) - Posts: 8657 - 15/02/2018 22:36:33    2077286

Great read, have to agree on his choice to leave.

oakleafersir (Derry) - Posts: 808 - 15/02/2018 23:19:34    2077299

Lots of players are becoming disillusioned with the inter county game these days with the excessive demands being placed on them.

gaelicgab (USA) - Posts: 878 - 16/02/2018 10:28:02    2077341

All through the history of the GAA or any sport, it has been the team that put the most effort into the training and the match that have been the winners. Kerry footballers know what it takes to win the all ireland because they have seen previous generations out kicking the ball and practicing the skills for hours apon hours. The great Dublin teams of the 70s and now put more effort in than other teams whether it's through their management looking after every detail or the academy coaches training the young players.. or the players looking at what it takes to pull on the jersey and meeting or exceed the effort to do so.. all the best to Paddy, but Meath are closer to beating Dublin without him..

Farney (Monaghan) - Posts: 801 - 16/02/2018 12:09:53    2077373

It's a sad state of affairs and it's hard to take but when you're a weak county it's very easy for your players to become disillusioned. It's easy to claim he's defeatist but what he say's is true. We are a weak county currently and we have no hope of beating Dublin for possibly another decade. It would appear that a lot of work is going on at underage but it will take a long time to bear fruit and Dublin have got the jump on us by the guts of 20 years. We can't just assume that a magically good team will appear without us winning anything at underage and on top of that the senior club scene in the county is particularly average at the moment. We've simply been too late putting the investment in at underage and have become antiquated tactically at club level. Even the investment we are putting in is a lot less then the strong counties. We might be building a new stadium but without a decent team it will struggle to pay for itself. Also the longer this malaise lasts the less young people in Meath will want to play football. They're already taking interests in other sports be it soccer, rugby, MMA etc.

HighKings (Meath) - Posts: 271 - 16/02/2018 15:28:17    2077422

Replying To ISupposeSoSheehan:  "Interesting article about Meath goalkeeper Paddy O'Rourke on his decision to quit the county panel. He cites three reasons for his decision to walk away: the ever increasing levels of commitment, the fact that Meath are way off the pace with regard to winning a Leinster or All-Ireland and the new All Ireland championship structure which he claims has made the game "more elite-focused than ever". How many more players around the country are in O'Rourke's shoes at the moment and not interested in playing for their county anymore?

link"
Nothing but a whinger like his uncle..split dublin in 2 he might come back then..so hes giving up because hes not winning..better off without lads with that mentality..call a spade a spade sure hes crap keeper anyway..

GGdub (Dublin) - Posts: 260 - 16/02/2018 18:10:25    2077468

Players are under huge pressure to perform and are meant to be all things to all people. One only has to look at the abuse they get online.

yew_tree (Mayo) - Posts: 11231 - 16/02/2018 18:29:49    2077475

Replying To GGdub:  "Nothing but a whinger like his uncle..split dublin in 2 he might come back then..so hes giving up because hes not winning..better off without lads with that mentality..call a spade a spade sure hes crap keeper anyway.."
Actually agree with you can't stand this whingeyness. Was there any need to do this interview. There's putting their lives into trying to get Meath back up closer to the top teams and this lads practically saying you'd be better off not bothering. Should have retired earlier if this was his attitide last year Nobody was holding a gun to his head

Royalace (Meath) - Posts: 121 - 16/02/2018 19:11:55    2077486

Replying To Royalace:  "Actually agree with you can't stand this whingeyness. Was there any need to do this interview. There's putting their lives into trying to get Meath back up closer to the top teams and this lads practically saying you'd be better off not bothering. Should have retired earlier if this was his attitide last year Nobody was holding a gun to his head"
He probably didn't say it because he lives in Meath but I'm sure the abuse hurled at him from some Meath supporters was a big factor too. Don't know how the man put up with it for so long. Unfair to call him a whinger for being so up ftont, hats off to him.

St.Conleth (Kildare) - Posts: 1700 - 16/02/2018 19:53:44    2077493

Paddy Orourke has pulled the pin a bit to quick here, Meath are improving all the time they will be their or their abouts come the business end of the season (the obyrne cup final) even hes bound to know they have a 50/50 chance in the obyrne cup? after that he might aswel retire.

abitawit (Fermanagh) - Posts: 274 - 16/02/2018 20:07:40    2077495

Replying To abitawit:  "Paddy Orourke has pulled the pin a bit to quick here, Meath are improving all the time they will be their or their abouts come the business end of the season (the obyrne cup final) even hes bound to know they have a 50/50 chance in the obyrne cup? after that he might aswel retire."
And that would still be more than Fermanagh could hope to win.

Royalace (Meath) - Posts: 121 - 17/02/2018 09:17:06    2077566

Replying To Royalace:  "And that would still be more than Fermanagh could hope to win."
Well said.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 17/02/2018 10:18:10    2077578

Replying To St.Conleth:  "He probably didn't say it because he lives in Meath but I'm sure the abuse hurled at him from some Meath supporters was a big factor too. Don't know how the man put up with it for so long. Unfair to call him a whinger for being so up ftont, hats off to him."
Sorry that's a lie, he was critiqued when needed, but no abuse was hurled towards him.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 17/02/2018 10:19:23    2077580