Meath v Cavan

Replying To Furlong1949:  "Of course Im not saying it has all to do with tradition. There are 20 or 30 reasons are more why a county is sucessful. But tradition is one of the reasons that can play a role. To deny that would be nonsense. Of course teams can have sucess with no tradition. Everyone starts off with no tradition. We have had 4 new All Ireland winners in the last 25 years. Were are they from Ulster eg Derry Donegal Armagh abd Tyrone.

Why Ulster? . Ulster have had the best players best managers best tactics. But now they have created a winning tradition. The reasons why Tyrone and Armagh made the breakthrough in 02 and 03 was because they had great players and great managers. But also they could look to the sucess of neighbours like Derry and Donegal and this also helped. Why didnt Laois make the breakthrough and Armagh did. Armagh had better players and a better manager. They also come from provience that now has a winning tradition. Tyrone Donegal players dont fear Dublin or Kerry. Why should they when they saw Ulster teams like Derry Down and Donegal all beat Dublin in the 90s.

Regards Meath appearing on the scene in 1949. It didnt happen over night. It took 15 years for Meath to build to 1949. Meath were resurgent in the 30s. Meath won national league div 1 title in 1933. And narrowly lost an All Ireland senior final to kerry by 2 points in 1939. They won leinster titles in 1939 1940 and 1947. And they also won the national league div 1 title in the early 1940s. So Meath did not appear overnight. They were building from the 1930s onwards. Meath where a top division 1 team from the early 1930s onwards. That was not an overnight sucess.

Of course to beat Dublin you need top players great underage and work and an investment in time and money. It depends on the standard of player and manager you have. These are the single most important things. But you need belief also. And this is where tradition can help. Tradition can give you belief. Look at Mayo. Clearly Mayo are good enough to win Sam. They should have won the last two years. But the weight of history to close that gap since 51 is a massive weight. No team in gaelic football has won an All Ireland after a 40 year gap. When you dont win for generations the weight of history becomes a massive issue. Look how it took the golden generation of Irish rugby players to win the grand slam after 60 year gap. We had better players then Wales. But Wales won more. The weight of history was an issue. In soccer only Chelsea have won the league after a 50 year gap. Even in pro sport it has a role. And in Gaa why did Galway beat Mayo not Roscommon recently. I think the tradition of Galway football had a role.

Howcome I believe that Meath will win a leinster title in the next few years. And I meet many people in Meath at all different ages from young to old who think the same. When I meet kildare supporters very few have any sort of believe that kildare will beat Dublin in the coming years. They hope but they lack belief. I hope but I also believe and expect like many of my fellow Royals that we wil. Maybe of the below facts and stats will explain what give us this belief. A long winning tradition v the Dubs. Is it not better to have it then dont have it. Its not the main thing for sucess. But it can help.

Who was the last team to beat Dublin at underage in leinster ? Meath
Who was the last team to hammer Dublin at underage in leinster? Meath
Who was the last team to get close to Dublin in leinster? Meath in 2013
Who was the last team to beat Dublin at senior level in leinster? Meath
Who was the last team to hammer Dublin at senior kevel in leinster? Meath
Who was the last team to draw with Dublin in leinster at senior level ? Meath
Who was the last team to beat Dublin in a senior leinster final? Meath
Who was the last team to beat Dublin to beat Dublin two years in a row in leinster at senior level? Meath
Who was the last team to beat Dublin three years in a row in leinster? Meath

So who has the best tradition and best record v Dublin in the country? Meath

Stats
Kildare have beaten Dublin twice in leinster in 45 years
Offaly have not beaten Dublin in 35 years in leinster
Louth have not beaten Dublin in over 40 years in leinster
Longford have not beaten Dublin in 50 years in leinster
Westmeath have only beaten Dublin 1 time in over 70 years in leinster
Laois have only beaten Dublin 1 time in the last 35 years in leinster. And twice in the last 60 years in leinster.
Wexford have not beaten Dublin in over 70 years in leinster.
Wicklow have not beaten Dublin in over 70 years in leinster
Carlow have not beaten Dublin in over 70 years in leinster

Meath have beaten Dublin 10 times and had 4 draws v Dublin in the last 35 years in leinster. Only kerry come close with 5 wins. The two teams with best winning tradition v the Dubs.

Who will be the team to topple next outside leinster. More then likely Kerry. Who will be the team to topple Dublin in leinster next?. I believe it will be Meath. And Im not the only Meath person that thinks that. We are years behind Dublin. But we will beat them in the coming years. Its not a question of if but a question of when. Probaly in 2020 or 2021. Every generation of Meath footballers have beaten Dublin in every decade since the 20s . We did it in the 30s 40s 50s 60s 70s 80s 90s 00s and this decade. We dominated the Dubs in the 40s 50s 60s 80s and 90s. No teams has had that level of consitent sucess over Dublin. No team has had more sucess over Dublin in the country then Meath. Thats why one of the reasons are under 17 defeated Dublin in leinster final last year. And our minor hammered them two years.l ago. They were good footballers with good management. And good work has been done at underage level. But they were also standing on the shoulders of Meath greats. Our tradition of beating Dublin generation after generation has been taken on by our next generation. Now that is not nonense. That is Meath football. That's what we do. Beat the Dubs.
Is it not better to have the tradition then dont have it. It is not negative thing to have a tradition. Theres no harm in believing is there?"
You speak all about history and tradition I too think it can't be ignored. I think the differance sometimes can as for an example part of meath u17's mgmt team was martin oconnell 3 time all Ireland winner and a place in team of the milliuem. I don't any other team in Leinster have someone like that has seen and done it all and if that dosent inspire a young lad nothing will.

bobkarlgees (Meath) - Posts: 1263 - 08/02/2018 21:43:05    2075130

Replying To royal69er:  "Huge game for us this weekend. Our performance, win or lose, will show how far we have progressed under Andy. I think we're movin along nicely and was good to see lads giving 100% trying to press clare in their own half when time was up, that comes from Andy. If any team regardless of ability give 100% from start to finish they will be hard to beat and that will also come from Andy. We have a young team which is a plus in that they're more open to being moulded into what Andy wants them to be. It's great to follow Meath around the country and know we're gonna put up a fight, hasn't happened for a while but I think it might be on the way back. I've always liked McGill he's a no nonsense player and he's growing with every game, likewise Flanagan. As other posters have said we now have 3 midfielders fighting for 2 places which can only be good. All in all we've a lot to look forward to but there will be bad days on the way, hopefully saturday night is not one of them."
I am concerned about Sat. On paper all the pundits will be tipping a Meath win. But this a local derby. And with local derbys, form goes out the window. And when it comes to Meath v Cavan, Cavan always up their game v Meath. The one county over any county in the division Cavan would to like to beat is Meath. Breffini Park on a sat night is a tough place to go to play.

Also we do have a problem playing the big physical Ulster teams. We have a small team. People always think Meath have a physical big powerful team. We havent had one since 1996 with the exception of 2009 to 2010, which was a big team. We lose the ball in the tackle against physical Ulster teams and the our midfield battle record and breaking ball v Ulster teams is poor also.
T
he stats are not good. We have only beaten 1 Ulster team away in the last few years in the league . That was Down in Newry I think in 2015 . While we have gone from been Ulster teams bogey team for 60 or 70 years . (We played Ulster teams in 14 All Ireland semi finals and we have 14 Meath victories over Ulster teams in those semi finals). To where we now, in the last 15 years , we have found it hard to beat Ulster teams. We have been knocked out of the championship 7 times in the last 15 years by Ulster teams and have been knocked out of the championship 5 times in a row in the last few years eg Fermanagh 2004 Cavan 2005 Tyrone 2013 Armagh 2014 Tyrone 2015 Derry 2016 Donegal 2015.

So we need to improve that record. If we win on Saturday, we will probaly go top of the table. And if Roscommon lose we could be two points clear. In a great position. But more importantly we will have beaten an Ulster team in Ulster. Last year we played Down away in the league and lost. It was the result that cost us promotion. If we lose on sat it could cost us promotion. Win and it will be sign we are making really good progress. I think we will suceed with McEntee. We need to be patient. More then likely we will be stronger under McEntee. And under McEntee I believe it is not far away. Probably 12 to 24 months away. It took Walsh in his 4th year to have impact to where Galway are having now. It could take Andy the same. The result on saturday is not a referemdum on McEntees tenures. It just another step on the journey .

But it is clear we are improving under McEntee. And I dont buy into this idea that Meath have a second half tactic. Holding back in the first half. Yes we have gone more defensive since kildare team. But Meaths strong second half performances are more a sign of the old Meath fighting spirit is coming back. We all know we had poor second half recently and since Boylan left eg Cork 2007 Kildare 2010. But under McEntee in every game we finishing like a train.

This is not really a tactic. In the last 20 mins of a match teams are getting tired and the pressure is at its highest. That Meath are finishing strongly , is a sign that the so the old Meath mental resolve is returning. Unfer Boylan in nearly every big game Meath always finished games strongly. While other teams wilted Meath stood up and delivered the victories.

Meath are now showing the old never say die spirit. This is not a tactic. This is down to good teams management and giving the players the belief to fight to the bitter end. Look below in how every game under McEntee with exception of two kildare games we gave finished strongly.
There is definitely is a good spirit in the team.

League
Fermanagh Clare and Derry finished all games strongly after getting into lead
Down while poor display we did fight to the bitter end and could have nicked a draw at the end
Cork 9 points down with 25 mins to go and we draw the game. Meaths first proper comeback in league or championship since Boylan
Galway were ahead by 4 points we 15 mins to go. A strong finish and we win the match

Championship
Finished v louth strongly scoring 7 in a row
Finished strongly v Sligo to win
Donegal while we lost we finshed strongly and only for a bit Paddy McBrearty magic injury time we might have won

Byne Cup Finished Carlow Wicklow and Longford games strongly
League finished Roscommon game strongly we were 6 points with 25 mins to go. We draw the match.
We finish strongly v Clare

Results above , That is just not now down to tactics . Yes we are getting men behind the ball more since Kildare game. But the the results are down to strong mentality, never say die spirit and strong mental resolve. The old Meath spirit is resurfacing under McEntee. When others wilt and feel tired in the last 15 to 20 mins, we get stronger. That is a trademark of any good Meath team . It's what we are known for throughout the county, a never say die spirit.

Furlong1949 (Meath) - Posts: 1067 - 08/02/2018 22:19:35    2075140

Replying To bobkarlgees:  "You speak all about history and tradition I too think it can't be ignored. I think the differance sometimes can as for an example part of meath u17's mgmt team was martin oconnell 3 time all Ireland winner and a place in team of the milliuem. I don't any other team in Leinster have someone like that has seen and done it all and if that dosent inspire a young lad nothing will."
Yes if a player like Martin O Connell doesnt inspire young player no one will. He is one the greatest defenders of all time. Only modern player on the team of the millenium. You are right no other county in leinster outside Dublin would have a player as decorated O Connell. He is one of the most sucessful footballers in the history of leinster football. In the last 90 years since the foundation of the state outside Dublin only 3 leinster men have 3 All Ireland winning medals . They are Martin Furlong 1971 1972 1982 Offaly Colm Coyle 87 88 96 and O Connell 87 88 96. Only Wexford players on the 4 in a row 1914 to 1918 Wexford All Ireland winning team would be more sucessful footballers in leinster outside Dublin, then Martin Connell. He truly is one of the players of millenium.

Furlong1949 (Meath) - Posts: 1067 - 08/02/2018 22:32:36    2075146

Great to have the game on the box this weekend. Don't have Eirsport but I'm sure good old Mobdro won't let me down! Should be an entertaining, bruising encounter but I feel we are just a few points better in a couple of different positions. At the risk of being biased I hope Adam has another good game. He is really coming into his own in the current set up and we are all very proud of him here in Clonard. Meath by 4.

ClonardGael (Meath) - Posts: 75 - 08/02/2018 23:19:59    2075157

Replying To royaldunne:  "I don't know. While we certainly won't see the 14 point turnaround like last time we met. I for one wouldn't underestimate Cavan for one second, we are going to lose a game in league, I just hope it's not this weekend, I was a hell of a lot more confident going to Hyde than I am to breffni , the reason is twofold, 1 Cavan are not a one man team unlike rossies and 2 , Cavan have a decent management, unlike the 2 spoofers in Roscommon, massaging each other's inflated ego , probably telling each other all the time how they deserve a all ire medal, anyway for that I think Cavan possesses a more dangerous meeting than we have had this year."
Agree Cavan have a decent management team but they had 10 opt outs from last year's panel, not good for them. I wouldn't be surprised if Cavan fail to win another game in the league. They are lucky Louth and Clare are in the division as I think they're worse. Expect a comfortable enough win. If we have any realistic designs on promotion it's a must win.

pauk123 (USA) - Posts: 189 - 09/02/2018 01:27:13    2075165

So team not been announced until tomorrow morning. For once im not worried about it, i reckon we wont see many changes from last week. Buzzing for this game. We should win this and win it well absolutely no reason why we wont. Hon the Royals

Loyalroyal17 (Meath) - Posts: 627 - 09/02/2018 08:57:22    2075184

Replying To pauk123:  "Agree Cavan have a decent management team but they had 10 opt outs from last year's panel, not good for them. I wouldn't be surprised if Cavan fail to win another game in the league. They are lucky Louth and Clare are in the division as I think they're worse. Expect a comfortable enough win. If we have any realistic designs on promotion it's a must win."
I see there 6 changes from the team that played Clare to team that played Louth. Did some Cavan players return ?

bobkarlgees (Meath) - Posts: 1263 - 09/02/2018 10:11:52    2075193

Replying To bobkarlgees:  "I see there 6 changes from the team that played Clare to team that played Louth. Did some Cavan players return ?"
Dont know whats going on?? Think they are trying to mess with our heads cos all im reading about is the lads they are missing and injuries etc. Makes me laugh, they are talking aswell about new comers like they are making excuses before we play them incase it doesnt go their way. We have alot of changes with lads & new comers but you dont hear us complaining.

Loyalroyal17 (Meath) - Posts: 627 - 09/02/2018 11:00:35    2075205

Replying To bobkarlgees:  "I see there 6 changes from the team that played Clare to team that played Louth. Did some Cavan players return ?"
Yes. We had a few players that were injured just getting back towards match fitness. Cian Mackey played a full half and Gearoid McKiernan came on with 15 mins left. Two key players.

Conor Moynagh, last years ctr back, again coming back from injury started against Louth - came on as a sub against Clare.

Niall Murray regular last year had a prolonged run with Cavan Gaels in the Ulster club, Gaels lads only went back in training few weeks ago. He didnt feature at all against Clare but started against Louth. Stephen Murray and Sean Johnston also from Gaels returned to the bench.

Martin Reilly was away getting married and doing the honeymoon so missed McKenna cup and 1st league game, started against Louth.

We changed Goalies with Farrelly coming in for Galligan. Galligan is most likely to start against Meath though.

Adrian Cole started against Louth having missed Clare. He is new to the panel but is one of the best forwards in club football.

I wouldnt read to much into the Clare game, there was a lot of negative talk in the county about the falling away of a few players but with a lot of key lads coming back and a bit of momentum I expect Cavan to win this game. Mackey likely to start and Gearoid probably will get a half.

fredflint (Cavan) - Posts: 1483 - 09/02/2018 11:03:48    2075206

Replying To Furlong1949:  "Yes if a player like Martin O Connell doesnt inspire young player no one will. He is one the greatest defenders of all time. Only modern player on the team of the millenium. You are right no other county in leinster outside Dublin would have a player as decorated O Connell. He is one of the most sucessful footballers in the history of leinster football. In the last 90 years since the foundation of the state outside Dublin only 3 leinster men have 3 All Ireland winning medals . They are Martin Furlong 1971 1972 1982 Offaly Colm Coyle 87 88 96 and O Connell 87 88 96. Only Wexford players on the 4 in a row 1914 to 1918 Wexford All Ireland winning team would be more sucessful footballers in leinster outside Dublin, then Martin Connell. He truly is one of the players of millenium."
Colm Coyle managed last years Minors - it is not a new thing in Meath

Royalblufill (Meath) - Posts: 475 - 09/02/2018 12:10:05    2075213

Where is Donncha Tobin these days?

Bread (Meath) - Posts: 53 - 09/02/2018 12:17:09    2075217

Replying To fredflint:  "Yes. We had a few players that were injured just getting back towards match fitness. Cian Mackey played a full half and Gearoid McKiernan came on with 15 mins left. Two key players.

Conor Moynagh, last years ctr back, again coming back from injury started against Louth - came on as a sub against Clare.

Niall Murray regular last year had a prolonged run with Cavan Gaels in the Ulster club, Gaels lads only went back in training few weeks ago. He didnt feature at all against Clare but started against Louth. Stephen Murray and Sean Johnston also from Gaels returned to the bench.

Martin Reilly was away getting married and doing the honeymoon so missed McKenna cup and 1st league game, started against Louth.

We changed Goalies with Farrelly coming in for Galligan. Galligan is most likely to start against Meath though.

Adrian Cole started against Louth having missed Clare. He is new to the panel but is one of the best forwards in club football.

I wouldnt read to much into the Clare game, there was a lot of negative talk in the county about the falling away of a few players but with a lot of key lads coming back and a bit of momentum I expect Cavan to win this game. Mackey likely to start and Gearoid probably will get a half."
If you only have a bit of momentum i wouldn't expect ye to win at all. We have a lot of momentum and as fit as fiddles....just saying.

Loyalroyal17 (Meath) - Posts: 627 - 09/02/2018 12:30:24    2075224

Down were is disarray last year (when Meath produced their worst away performance in the league) ... there is no room for complacency against Cavan. Meath may well be in better shape now, but they must put in a performance for more than 20-35 minutes.

GlasagusOr (Meath) - Posts: 1348 - 09/02/2018 12:33:52    2075226

If we switch off for 5-10 minutes tomorrow at any stage Cavan could punish us be getting a lead that we may not claw back as they won't be as open at the back like Clare and Longford so scores will be more difficult to come by.
I expect the first half to be absolute muck by both sides as neither will go all out attack. Cavans ability to catch teams on the counter has been one of their strengths in the last few years, it's very similar to Tyrone and Donegal.

Regarding the team selection I would keep it the same as the last day and have the likes of Lenihan to come on at half time when we try to open it up.

UsernameInvalid (Meath) - Posts: 355 - 09/02/2018 12:54:18    2075233

Replying To GlasagusOr:  "Down were is disarray last year (when Meath produced their worst away performance in the league) ... there is no room for complacency against Cavan. Meath may well be in better shape now, but they must put in a performance for more than 20-35 minutes."
We seem to be in a good position at the moment but have not become worldbeaters overnight, this is a 50/50 game and I,m sure Cavan expect home advantage to swing it for them. A win for either would be a great result and set up a promotion push, loser will most lightly remain in Div 2, so plenty at stake

seadog54 (Meath) - Posts: 2142 - 09/02/2018 13:32:59    2075237

Replying To UsernameInvalid:  "If we switch off for 5-10 minutes tomorrow at any stage Cavan could punish us be getting a lead that we may not claw back as they won't be as open at the back like Clare and Longford so scores will be more difficult to come by.
I expect the first half to be absolute muck by both sides as neither will go all out attack. Cavans ability to catch teams on the counter has been one of their strengths in the last few years, it's very similar to Tyrone and Donegal.

Regarding the team selection I would keep it the same as the last day and have the likes of Lenihan to come on at half time when we try to open it up."
Can't see lenihane play anytime tomorrow, still getting over knee surgery, maybe last 10 minutes if anything

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 09/02/2018 16:17:59    2075264

Replying To seadog54:  "We seem to be in a good position at the moment but have not become worldbeaters overnight, this is a 50/50 game and I,m sure Cavan expect home advantage to swing it for them. A win for either would be a great result and set up a promotion push, loser will most lightly remain in Div 2, so plenty at stake"
" Seem to be in a good position at the moment" not sure what you mean by that ? A repeat of first half last day will mean defeat against Cavan. HOPING that rubbish will not be repeated. This game will tell us if we have learned; for example 7 balls kicked short into keepers hands in first half....thats rubbish by any standards. The only positives i see full back line improving. Midfielders improving with each other with hard work . i still cannot see forwards working as a team where each player is taking responsibility for scoring attempts when feasible. Most forwards too slow to use space to take a pass.Need to be far more pro active to receive quick direct ball. Mc Keever looks promising and seems alert. Hope Reilly can maintain persistence and concentration ,and use his undoubted talents for full game.We need him at his best.
I expect to see a big improvement from team overall . At best we are developing ,and a work in progress. This match will tell us more.

nobull456 (Meath) - Posts: 1224 - 09/02/2018 17:46:06    2075278

Replying To nobull456:  "" Seem to be in a good position at the moment" not sure what you mean by that ? A repeat of first half last day will mean defeat against Cavan. HOPING that rubbish will not be repeated. This game will tell us if we have learned; for example 7 balls kicked short into keepers hands in first half....thats rubbish by any standards. The only positives i see full back line improving. Midfielders improving with each other with hard work . i still cannot see forwards working as a team where each player is taking responsibility for scoring attempts when feasible. Most forwards too slow to use space to take a pass.Need to be far more pro active to receive quick direct ball. Mc Keever looks promising and seems alert. Hope Reilly can maintain persistence and concentration ,and use his undoubted talents for full game.We need him at his best.
I expect to see a big improvement from team overall . At best we are developing ,and a work in progress. This match will tell us more."
Sit back let them come at us, for first half. HOPING FOR EXACTLY same tactics as v clare. It's how we play now. Embrace it.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 09/02/2018 18:07:52    2075282

Replying To royaldunne:  "Sit back let them come at us, for first half. HOPING FOR EXACTLY same tactics as v clare. It's how we play now. Embrace it."
NO.........IT IS NOT. That is NOT a "tactic" at all . Andy does not condone that rubbish. You will NOT see it again....hopefully. You should ask some of the players what he thought of the "tactic'" Furthermore ,i suggest it is an insult to Andy to suggest he would condone that rubbish. Andy is better than that !!

nobull456 (Meath) - Posts: 1224 - 09/02/2018 19:23:43    2075292

Replying To nobull456:  "NO.........IT IS NOT. That is NOT a "tactic" at all . Andy does not condone that rubbish. You will NOT see it again....hopefully. You should ask some of the players what he thought of the "tactic'" Furthermore ,i suggest it is an insult to Andy to suggest he would condone that rubbish. Andy is better than that !!"
It's a tactic to hold play and play defensive running game for first 35.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 09/02/2018 19:36:42    2075294