Meath v Cavan

Replying To hawkeye1:  "Exactly"
Back to the dubs forum with you

grahamc9897 (Meath) - Posts: 1174 - 06/02/2018 19:16:33    2074639

Interesting to see Oisin Kiernan play against the county in which he played all his club football up until the past year get on. Another example of a talented player from a small north meath rural club not getting opportunities at county level for meath. Seems to be a bias around navan, ashbourne and dunboyne at the moment. I guess it would be ironic for Oisin to cause Shane McEntee problems if they happen to be marking each other Saturday night.

winatallcost (Meath) - Posts: 509 - 06/02/2018 20:00:02    2074644

Replying To grahamc9897:  "Back to the dubs forum with you"
On that note...where's Wayno?

Usually around this time he pokes his nose around this forum....

bert09 (Meath) - Posts: 1790 - 06/02/2018 20:26:01    2074650

Replying To SheridansTry:  "This Tactic is very clever. Under O'Dowd we were going at teams full steam straight from kick off and we would be out of our feet by 50th min hence we were getting hammered in the last 20 mins of every game. this new tactic is giving us good legs for the last 20 and a good bench to empty like T O'Reilly and S, Tobin etc. if we play top teams from Division 1 and can go full pelt in the last 10 mins of the 1st half and the whole 2nd half we would be a match for most of those teams. But we have to make sure we are playing the ugly defensive football for the first 25 mins and conceding very little."
Yeah, I agree also. It would hold top teams in the first half. If you attacked a team like Dublin from the start they would most likely kill you especially a young experienced team like Meath.
Also it builds versatility in to your over all plan. You can play defense when you have too. or if your playing a weaker maybe you could attack from the start. You can change your system depending on opposition. Donegal started out very defense 2010 but by 2012 they where way more adaptable and attack minded. And where able to change there system to suit opposition.

bobkarlgees (Meath) - Posts: 1263 - 06/02/2018 21:00:48    2074658

Replying To bert09:  "On that note...where's Wayno?

Usually around this time he pokes his nose around this forum...."
Dont encourage him!! :)

grahamc9897 (Meath) - Posts: 1174 - 06/02/2018 21:00:55    2074659

I don't think the tactic is very clever myself, good possibility of it working to get to division 1 but a complete rethink will be required then I think. The better managers and teams in division 1 will easily see what Meath are doing and will have a plan to stop it.

A good thing I noticed since the start of the league is we seem to have a tactic for our own kickouts, Menton seems to win his own kick out standing by himself in acres of room and sometimes Flanagan the same, I hope this is something that they have worked on behind the scenes and hope to see more in the future.

I see Power played full back for DIT tonight, have we any other lads playing in the Sigerson Cup?

Barney123 (Meath) - Posts: 676 - 06/02/2018 21:35:40    2074669

Replying To Barney123:  "I don't think the tactic is very clever myself, good possibility of it working to get to division 1 but a complete rethink will be required then I think. The better managers and teams in division 1 will easily see what Meath are doing and will have a plan to stop it.

A good thing I noticed since the start of the league is we seem to have a tactic for our own kickouts, Menton seems to win his own kick out standing by himself in acres of room and sometimes Flanagan the same, I hope this is something that they have worked on behind the scenes and hope to see more in the future.

I see Power played full back for DIT tonight, have we any other lads playing in the Sigerson Cup?"
Better managers in division 1. ? I hope you talking about the other teams in division 2, as not only have we got the best management in this division, I would say we have one of the best in country, and I include gavin in that. Let's see what he could do with another county other than what he has the cash flow, the professional set up from i10 up.
We have I believe the most tactical astute man in charge of county, and whatever he decides is best , will be best.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 06/02/2018 22:27:48    2074689

Replying To royaldunne:  "Better managers in division 1. ? I hope you talking about the other teams in division 2, as not only have we got the best management in this division, I would say we have one of the best in country, and I include gavin in that. Let's see what he could do with another county other than what he has the cash flow, the professional set up from i10 up.
We have I believe the most tactical astute man in charge of county, and whatever he decides is best , will be best."
absolutely, Mc Entee will do his utmost with the limited players we have. He will get the best out of them and it must drive him mad with all the lose passes and fumbling the players are at. First half last week with the missed goal chances and ball dropping short was dire and must frustrate the hell out of him. Never mind this lateral passing and then ultimately fumbling the ball. A win Saturday is an absolutely pre requisite as it will take pressure of these very young players and then we maybe able to play without the fear of losing. More so for the mgm team i would love to see us getting promoted but there will be a seriosuly long road for this.

pretender (Meath) - Posts: 358 - 07/02/2018 08:11:42    2074724

Replying To Barney123:  "I don't think the tactic is very clever myself, good possibility of it working to get to division 1 but a complete rethink will be required then I think. The better managers and teams in division 1 will easily see what Meath are doing and will have a plan to stop it.

I see Power played full back for DIT tonight, have we any other lads playing in the Sigerson Cup?"
'Better Managers'...wow! We happen to have the best management team in the country and to work with what we have ie funds etc. Or are you are talking about the management team Dublin have where thousands are pumped into them because that's a different story....

Loyalroyal17 (Meath) - Posts: 627 - 07/02/2018 09:02:51    2074733

Replying To pretender:  "absolutely, Mc Entee will do his utmost with the limited players we have. He will get the best out of them and it must drive him mad with all the lose passes and fumbling the players are at. First half last week with the missed goal chances and ball dropping short was dire and must frustrate the hell out of him. Never mind this lateral passing and then ultimately fumbling the ball. A win Saturday is an absolutely pre requisite as it will take pressure of these very young players and then we maybe able to play without the fear of losing. More so for the mgm team i would love to see us getting promoted but there will be a seriosuly long road for this."
Exactly...........Cant understand how it can be suggested that its some sort of tactic to play rubbish like that in the first half. Certainly not !! Andy was tearing his hair out .i was about 15 yards behind him. You hit the nail on the head when you used the .word FEAR . If we could shake of that it would be a big step forward. I agree 100% with your analysis.

nobull456 (Meath) - Posts: 1224 - 07/02/2018 09:39:53    2074740

Replying To pretender:  "absolutely, Mc Entee will do his utmost with the limited players we have. He will get the best out of them and it must drive him mad with all the lose passes and fumbling the players are at. First half last week with the missed goal chances and ball dropping short was dire and must frustrate the hell out of him. Never mind this lateral passing and then ultimately fumbling the ball. A win Saturday is an absolutely pre requisite as it will take pressure of these very young players and then we maybe able to play without the fear of losing. More so for the mgm team i would love to see us getting promoted but there will be a seriosuly long road for this."
Not sure i understand what you mean by limited players??
I honestly dont know how Andy didnt just burst onto the field and start grabbing lads, the amount of times that ball dropped short into keepers hands was a sin. You knew as soon as the ball was kicked this was going to happen, unbelievable. I disagree with you on taking the pressure off these young lads, they need to be going into games feeling some sort of pressure and Andy breathing down their necks. I don't think they are playing with the fear of losing on their minds either! If and when we get promoted it will be the start of a new road for the lads.

Loyalroyal17 (Meath) - Posts: 627 - 07/02/2018 09:54:48    2074745

Replying To nobull456:  "Exactly...........Cant understand how it can be suggested that its some sort of tactic to play rubbish like that in the first half. Certainly not !! Andy was tearing his hair out .i was about 15 yards behind him. You hit the nail on the head when you used the .word FEAR . If we could shake of that it would be a big step forward. I agree 100% with your analysis."
Ah come on now. What team ? or management ? goes out to play rubbish in te first half ? I think you missing the point Meath are defense in the first half and seem to more attack minded in the second half. I wasnt at the last game but we certainly set up that way v Lonford and Rosscommon.
Indecently I see Lonford have had a good run since we played them beating Offaly and Derry. So they look to decent team. And Rosscommon had good away win V Tipp.

bobkarlgees (Meath) - Posts: 1263 - 07/02/2018 14:35:52    2074806

Replying To hawkeye1:  "Back were you belong ??? Did your fellow county man furlong not put up a post about how long it's been since Meath were in division 1...."
I have been qouted above.

When I was talking about Meaths record recently in league football, I was trying to show that Meaths recent lack of sucess was because of Meath not playing divsion 1 football. But it must be then said if Meath return to Division 1 soon. All the evidence would suggest a young and coming team that is top of division 2 at the moment and finished 3rd 3 times in the last 4 years like Meath, would be stronger and more sucessful after playing divsion 1 football

Hawkeye you are wrong when you say meath dont belong in divsion 1. Why?. Well because Meath are one of the most successful counties in the county in national league football. Only Kerry Dublin Mayo and Cork have won more national league Division 1 titles then Meath. Meath have won national league Division 1 titles in the 1930s 40s 50s 70s 80s and 90s. Meath have reached the national league division 1 final in the 30s 40s 50s 70s 80s 90s and 00s. Meath have basically spent near 80 years in division 1. In terms of longevity in division 1 , only kerry and Dublin have spent longer in the national division league 1 then Meath.

Mayo are another county with a great league tradition and our the longest team in div 1 at the moment with 20 years there and they won multiple league titles in the 30s. But they didnt win Connacht title in the 70s and did not reach an All Ireland for 30 years. So they would have been absent from Division 1 for many periods in the above timescale. Overall Kerry Dublin and Meath have spent the longest time in divsion 1 over the last 100 years.

And in league football the number of winners and spread of winners are even lesser then the spread of winners in the All Ireland championship. Many counties have only recently tasted sucess in league football. Donegal late 00s , Tyrone early 00s, Armagh mid 00s and Offaly 1998 have only won their first and only national league division 1 title in recent years. While kildare have never won a national league division 1 title. Meaths haul of 7 national league division 1 titles from the 30s to the noughties is one of the best records at league football sucess in the country.

Meath league sucess has been the foundation for future All Ireland sucess. Sucess in divsion 1 football has always led to sucess in championship football in the past for Meath and all counties. This thread has cont'd in modern football. Monaghan Donegal Roscomon have all spent multiple years in divsion 1 recently. They all had provicial sucess afterwards. Its linked. Reach divsion 1 and stay there and sucess will follow. So that was my point. Meath are so close to being promoted in recent years. With one of the youngest teams in the country , reaching div 1 is not impossible. And staying there is difficult ,but Meath have always and even recently always up their game v top counties. All the evidence would suggest that this would lead to a stronger Meath, division 1 football would lead to a stronger Meath.

So in conclusion maybe saying Meath belong in divsion 1 might be a bit elitist. But if ur saying Meath dont belong in divsion 1 , then you would have to then say after Kerry and Dublin, very few would then belong in divsion 1. But to say that Meath dont belong in divsion 1 would be like saying Arsenal dont belong in the premiership or AC Milan dont belong in Serie A. It would only be said by supporters from neighbouring counties who would be happy to hear only bad things about Meath and enjoy Meaths defeats. And who want and need Meath not be sucessful.

For in the past everytime Meath played divsion 1 football every Meath team since the 1920s defeated the Dubs in the championship. A record better then any other county in the country. And on 5 occasions Meath knocked from their perch and became the dominant force in leinster football as the Dubs where set packing to the football wilderness. Meath have been in worst positions many many times in the past and the Dubs have been in stronger positions. And Meath have toppled the Dubs. The history of leinster football since the 1920s has been Dublin go up a level and our unbeatable. Meath are completely written off. They then come from nowhere and topple the Dubs. This has happened generation after generation after generation, decade after decade.

What gives me hope was when I saw young Meath footballers 17 year olds hammering the Dubs 2 years ago at minor level and last year 16 year old Meath footballers comprehensively beat the Dubs in the under 17 leinster final last year. The tradition goes on. Meath are not as bad as people want or need them to be. In my view Meath are 12 to 24 months away from doing what Galway are doing in divsion 1 now. Walsh is in his 4th year, McEntee is in his 2nd year. McEntee has completely overhauled the Meath panel and the team this year with a possible 6 new players on the first 15 that did not play v kildare last year. It will take time.

For people who want Meath to be unsucessful this year . It will probaly be good viewing for them. As I expect these new players and this young team will take a while to gel. But when they do we will be stronger. How strong? . Time will tell. But playing divsion 1 football would change everything for Meath or any county that plays Division 1 football.
You can qoute me on any of the above Hawkeye but I get the feeling you wouldnt. There is to much good things and positively written about Meath.

Furlong1949 (Meath) - Posts: 1067 - 07/02/2018 15:28:44    2074820

I hope for yer sake Meath live up to your high expectations. Its a long time since I thought of Meath as a top team and I will be disappointed if Cavan don't win on Saturday. That said the bookies have it as evens for both teams probably due to many of our Big Players not having a lot of game time under their belts yet - Mackey, Mckiernan etc.

You only deserve to be in Div 1 if you earn it. What you did 20 years ago is irrelevant. We deserved to be there last year and we deserved to get relegated too. Div 2 is the level for both teams until the prove otherwise.

fredflint (Cavan) - Posts: 1483 - 07/02/2018 16:24:04    2074834

Replying To Loyalroyal17:  "'Better Managers'...wow! We happen to have the best management team in the country and to work with what we have ie funds etc. Or are you are talking about the management team Dublin have where thousands are pumped into them because that's a different story...."
I may have worded it wrong, even when players were leaving the panel and at the end of last season I have been 100% behind Andy and his backroom team. If he leaves there is not a chance of us getting a better manager and his progress to date has been very good in my opinion.

What I meant to say is that tactic he has at the minute of being defensive in the first half and then going attacking in the 2nd half won't work against the better teams.

If a manager of a team in division one sees that we are only scoring 6 in the first half and then scoring 15 in the second half and they are doing it consistently than that manager will come up with a way to stop it.

I'm not a county manager but If I was managing a team that was going to play against this current Meath side I would go all out attack in the first half, get as many scores as possible and then go ultra defensive in the second half and look to get the odd score on the counter attack. We all know Meath struggle against 15 men behind the ball so they probably wouldn't get many scores in the first half because they are playing defensively and wouldn't get many scores in the second half because the opposition are playing defensively.

Barney123 (Meath) - Posts: 676 - 07/02/2018 17:17:32    2074839

To use a boxing term I think pound for pound we have the better players and our fitness and running game is superb, sideline would also get the thumbs up, but it's in Cavan under floodlights, and very few of our lads now have experience of playing under lights , it actually does make a difference even if slightly. But I still expect us to get the win, just .

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 07/02/2018 17:41:58    2074841

Replying To royaldunne:  "To use a boxing term I think pound for pound we have the better players and our fitness and running game is superb, sideline would also get the thumbs up, but it's in Cavan under floodlights, and very few of our lads now have experience of playing under lights , it actually does make a difference even if slightly. But I still expect us to get the win, just ."
I dont like watching Meath under lights. I think we play better in daylight. It might just be me. Never really liked going to Navan on Saturday night.

bobkarlgees (Meath) - Posts: 1263 - 07/02/2018 18:32:05    2074860

Replying To bobkarlgees:  "I dont like watching Meath under lights. I think we play better in daylight. It might just be me. Never really liked going to Navan on Saturday night."
I'm interested to understand on what basis and evidence do you think Meath players are pound for pound better than Cavan. Ye might win Saturday or we might, league is hard to judge. However if we met in the qualifiers in summer i'd expect cavan to win.

Also, a superb running game? Bit early to make an assertion like that?

fredflint (Cavan) - Posts: 1483 - 07/02/2018 19:13:42    2074872

Replying To fredflint:  "I'm interested to understand on what basis and evidence do you think Meath players are pound for pound better than Cavan. Ye might win Saturday or we might, league is hard to judge. However if we met in the qualifiers in summer i'd expect cavan to win.

Also, a superb running game? Bit early to make an assertion like that?"
"Meath beat Clare by 14 points and we only managed a draw against them, so we know we're up against it. No doubt about it," McVeety stated.

"They're a serious running team. They really ran through them in the second-half and we'll have our work cut out to try and get them stopped."

well according to your captain that's exactly what we have!!!

Northsidegaels (Meath) - Posts: 237 - 07/02/2018 19:30:12    2074878

Replying To fredflint:  "I hope for yer sake Meath live up to your high expectations. Its a long time since I thought of Meath as a top team and I will be disappointed if Cavan don't win on Saturday. That said the bookies have it as evens for both teams probably due to many of our Big Players not having a lot of game time under their belts yet - Mackey, Mckiernan etc.

You only deserve to be in Div 1 if you earn it. What you did 20 years ago is irrelevant. We deserved to be there last year and we deserved to get relegated too. Div 2 is the level for both teams until the prove otherwise."
Meath have huge potential. We have one of the youngest teams in the country. This is a new and upcoming Meath team. This is a new Meath team. We will probaly have 6 players on the team to play longford in June that did not play v kildare last even . And everyone of these new player have been excellent and have improved the team. Our backs our slowly improving with a top class full back line . Our midfield is much stronger this year then last year or in the last 2 to 3 years. While our forwards as they showed v Clare with 21 points and v louth in the championship with a record 27 points scores have plenty of scores in them. Also our bench is stronger then I have seen in a long. We also have a manger with a top class CV and in my view and in others view, a brillant man manger.

We might not win on Saturday. As we are a team in progress. But in 12 to 24 months I can see us making the impact Galway are at the moment. Kevin Walsh is 4 years in charge of Galway. McEntee is two years in charge. And like Galway Meath up their games v the top teams. Meath dont have an inferior complex to the top teams. Many teams are heating before they even walk on the field in their heads to play kerry Dublin Mayo. Meath have always played well v the top teams. We have the best record v Dublin in the country, we have a very good record v kerry. And we our Mayo and Corks bogey team in the championship. Even in recent times when we played Tyrone twice Donegal twice ( league and championship) and Roscommon this year, we always up our game and take the battle to the top teams( leaving Dublin to oneside, but only Mayo can compete with Dublin at the moment). If Meath go up I think Meath wouldnt be in awe of the top teams. That is proven in results even in recent times.

Furlong1949 (Meath) - Posts: 1067 - 07/02/2018 19:32:07    2074880