Meath v Cavan

Replying To southmeathgael:  "Meath totally outplayed everywhere today ......first thing everyone says is take off biggy......what a pathetic bunch of county supporters"
Whos everyone,! I only seen one poster suggesting it on here!

grahamc9897 (Meath) - Posts: 1174 - 18/02/2018 18:28:35    2078006

I thought it was a good contest today and hard to gauge our level as Meath were poor. It was refreshing to see us play mainly man for man albeit with a sweeper which is commonplace in county football these days. But if Meath has moved the ball quicker today this would have been much tighter. Meath kicked a lot of wides today too. We won't be getting carried away and I don't think it's time for panic for Meath either.

Plenty more twists and turns in the division but not sure either of us will play division one football next year.

Reformation (Cavan) - Posts: 356 - 18/02/2018 18:35:29    2078009

Replying To Royalio11:  "Royaldunner - "Look we will win as we much improved since we last played Cavan, plus last time we did not have Andy. I'll never forget that day a 14 point turnaround, I don't think that prior to that game we had very many of those, we effectively promoted Cavan. Anyway those days are gone and thankfully we will not see them anytime in the future , we have better players than Cavan and certainly have a better sideline"

Well you have been proving fully wrong on todays account."
Yes absolutely proven wrong, very disappointed with today's game some very good footballers but just didn't gel, onwards and upwards, that's what been a Meath supporter is all about, belief, faith and total commitment, I know you don't know that as you obviously not one , we all remember your astrix after 2010, .
But for us real supporters it's all about the long journey to thurles to get behind the team management and lend them our unwavering support. I don't expect you to understand.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 18/02/2018 18:45:25    2078015

Replying To Royalio11:  "Royaldunner - "Look we will win as we much improved since we last played Cavan, plus last time we did not have Andy. I'll never forget that day a 14 point turnaround, I don't think that prior to that game we had very many of those, we effectively promoted Cavan. Anyway those days are gone and thankfully we will not see them anytime in the future , we have better players than Cavan and certainly have a better sideline"

Well you have been proving fully wrong on todays account."
I fancied Meath to win today myself but Royaldunne sets himself up for fall with statements like these! He's got his opinion and to his credit he sticks to it..He's never going to come out and admit he was wrong.. I still think were on the right track with this team so 4 more games to put today behind us..but we have to start better in future ! First half performances are flat and need to get sorted!! Player's need to learn to play away in the league! How big is the Roscommon collapse looking now..

grahamc9897 (Meath) - Posts: 1174 - 18/02/2018 18:46:58    2078016

Replying To royaldunne:  "Yes absolutely proven wrong, very disappointed with today's game some very good footballers but just didn't gel, onwards and upwards, that's what been a Meath supporter is all about, belief, faith and total commitment, I know you don't know that as you obviously not one , we all remember your astrix after 2010, .
But for us real supporters it's all about the long journey to thurles to get behind the team management and lend them our unwavering support. I don't expect you to understand."
I'm proud of you Royaldunne!!

grahamc9897 (Meath) - Posts: 1174 - 18/02/2018 18:54:45    2078020

Replying To Barney123:  "Was that a meath or cavan supporter? I think Cillian O'Sullivan made a bad foul and then the bottle was thrown on, not really sure why."
Was the bottle full or empty? No way would a Cavan man throw away a bottle with something still in it

bobjaffacake (Meath) - Posts: 1400 - 18/02/2018 19:02:45    2078029

Replying To royaldunne:  "Yes absolutely proven wrong, very disappointed with today's game some very good footballers but just didn't gel, onwards and upwards, that's what been a Meath supporter is all about, belief, faith and total commitment, I know you don't know that as you obviously not one , we all remember your astrix after 2010, .
But for us real supporters it's all about the long journey to thurles to get behind the team management and lend them our unwavering support. I don't expect you to understand."
I read your first line and a very small tear of pride formed in my eyes. Thank you for your admission. I ignores the rest of your nonsense as it was utterly irrelevant.

Look I'm not having a pop at you at all. However a number of posters were sceptical about this match and it was proven this afternoon. There was little to suggest that we would beat Cavan in Cavan.

Next weekend in Thurles is massive. Most important game our season so far. If we don't come back with 2 points it's almost certain that promotion is gone.

We will know where this squad truly is after Tipp game.

Royalio11 (Meath) - Posts: 757 - 18/02/2018 19:07:05    2078032

The Tipp, Cork and Down games look a lot tougher now, than this morning. Meath were second best today throughout. Cavan were much sharper and took some really fine scores. Meath had very few scoring options (players inside) or chances in the first half, kicked a fair few wides, and didn't make good use of the wind either in the second half. The team needs to be set up better to play more direct football at times. The heavy pitch didn't suit them (which is a worry for now at least).

GlasagusOr (Meath) - Posts: 1348 - 18/02/2018 19:10:31    2078036

Replying To grahamc9897:  "Not jumping on the drop Biggy bandwagon because I firmly believe that he has plenty to offer..He's a victim of his own success and as soon as Meath lose its "drop Biggy".. James McEntee was poor today as well..Maybe play Graham in the full forward line and play to his strengths and tell him to stay there basically forget about tracking back as a half forward does in today's game ! Keep his energy for attacking! Meath seen to be away with the fairies in the first half of games and this must be addressed fast ! Lord jaysus the game was over at half time!! Too many wides pace of meaths play to slow ! Hand passing side to side struggled to penetrate ! They went a little more direct in 2nd half and was a bit better !! I was really talking Meath up this week to doubters and stressed that this team are improving but today the same old Meath away day day blues returned! Not giving up on these lads and Andy because I do think we have a good team here I really do ! Just a very disappointing day all round"
Wasn't at the game today but I'm not surprised James mcentee was poor, he was a very promising Meath minor in 2012/13 but hasn't made the jump I'd hoped he'd make with the seniors, I actually think he'd be a better corner back than wing forward, disappointing stuff

redser123 (Meath) - Posts: 402 - 18/02/2018 19:22:19    2078043

Replying To bobjaffacake:  "Was the bottle full or empty? No way would a Cavan man throw away a bottle with something still in it"
Haha bob. Brilliant. Good to see you back man, you have been missed around these parts.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 18/02/2018 19:26:16    2078046

Replying To redser123:  "Wasn't at the game today but I'm not surprised James mcentee was poor, he was a very promising Meath minor in 2012/13 but hasn't made the jump I'd hoped he'd make with the seniors, I actually think he'd be a better corner back than wing forward, disappointing stuff"
Jesus here's a good example of people having a totally different opinion......he was poor today but I think he's a really good wing forward and there for the year

southmeathgael (Meath) - Posts: 888 - 18/02/2018 19:53:12    2078057

Replying To GlasagusOr:  "The Tipp, Cork and Down games look a lot tougher now, than this morning. Meath were second best today throughout. Cavan were much sharper and took some really fine scores. Meath had very few scoring options (players inside) or chances in the first half, kicked a fair few wides, and didn't make good use of the wind either in the second half. The team needs to be set up better to play more direct football at times. The heavy pitch didn't suit them (which is a worry for now at least)."
Breaking ball is becoming a serious issue too.....its far more important then primary possession theae days and we are struggling with it

southmeathgael (Meath) - Posts: 888 - 18/02/2018 19:57:03    2078063

Replying To Loyalroyal17:  "Exactly Andys not stupid, far from it and when i was standing there watching that 1st half i just thought to myself how can this be happening again. Brand new team 2nd half. Its a learning curve for him aswell and he is doing a great job so far. Hes trying things and seing they are not working and changing them for the better. Hes turning this team around and i think hes going to do it alot quicker than what people are giving him credit for. We have some super players there who kind of made me forget about the likes of O'Coilean, i was gutted to hear he wasnt playing this year and i didnt think he would be replaced that easy, how wrong was i!"
what about starting players that have proven themselves time and time again , it's time Dan O Neill is tried out a CHB and played there to develop . Another score going forward . And has the required physicality and football brain . What's the. Issue

Meath_True (Meath) - Posts: 285 - 18/02/2018 20:08:13    2078073

Replying To Royalio11:  "I read your first line and a very small tear of pride formed in my eyes. Thank you for your admission. I ignores the rest of your nonsense as it was utterly irrelevant.

Look I'm not having a pop at you at all. However a number of posters were sceptical about this match and it was proven this afternoon. There was little to suggest that we would beat Cavan in Cavan.

Next weekend in Thurles is massive. Most important game our season so far. If we don't come back with 2 points it's almost certain that promotion is gone.

We will know where this squad truly is after Tipp game."
I apologise for been tetchy, honestly I do.
Two trips to Cavan and a few stereotypical Cavan men around me wrecking my head, and for us to put in worst performance since last year v Kildare, is disappointing.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 18/02/2018 20:08:14    2078074

Ok firstly can I preface what I'm about to write, in saying Cavan were deserving of their win today, better team on the day.
However was it only me or was the officiating today one of the worst I have seen in a long long time , the black card for harry Rooney was very harsh , the yellow for Shane mcenetee was totally undeserved, and can someone tell me why wasyit a black/red card for the penalty on cillian they are just the headline ones, there were others.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 18/02/2018 20:13:14    2078077

Replying To southmeathgael:  "Jesus here's a good example of people having a totally different opinion......he was poor today but I think he's a really good wing forward and there for the year"
Yeah I agree..Leave him there for sure

grahamc9897 (Meath) - Posts: 1174 - 18/02/2018 20:17:24    2078078

A disappointing first half display cost us. Cavan were able to get their scores much easier than Meath. Cavan played some lovely football at times, some great diagonal kick passing and long range scores. Meath's style of football is very hard to watch at the moment so much lateral handpasses with no pace or penetration. We flood the middle third with bodies but usually only have 1 man in the full forward line to play the ball to and we also leave our defence exposed. I was expecting a much closer game maybe two or three points either way but cavan dominated in most sectors and their subs that came on were very strong. Meath will need to pick up at least 7 points from the next 8 available to have a chance to qualify so next weeks game is crucial. Hopefully we can dust ourselves down and get stuck into Tipp. Thought Keoghan and Menton were our standout performers today in difficult conditions and I like the look of McKeever. He will be a great addition to the forwards this year.

Westtip (Meath) - Posts: 24 - 18/02/2018 20:29:07    2078082

Never mind promotion. Relegation could be on the cards yet. Things really have to improve big time and soon or we are in big trouble. Paddy O'Rourke is probably right that we are not heading in the right direction and indeed skipping slowly backwards.

latouche25 (Meath) - Posts: 520 - 18/02/2018 20:30:10    2078083

Jeez lads relax. bad day at the office today but still loads to play for. 4th & 5th rounds are moving day. These games will shape the division & give a better picture of the promotion & relegation candidates. A win against Tipp puts us right back up there, I'm not saying we will defo get promoted but we have a chance. Its the league & teams are still training hard so you're going to get performances like today. Having said that I thought we were poor on the line today, very slow to make changes & then taking off players that weren't the worst out there.But everyone makes mistakes, look at Tyrone against dubs last year Mickey Harte was totally convinced he had the plan to beat dubs, game over after 20 mins & no change to plan. Does that make him a bad manager ? As regards game plan I think Andy is trying to develop a running game that will be also effective against blanket defenses. A few times today we got through them, but the one mistake we're making especially today is everyone going forward & when ball is lost we're outnumbered. This will take time to develop & perfect but I believe in Andy He's a tough, no nonsense meath man & his players will eventually reflect that. Fella behind me on the way out says "they're not good enough" then in next breath says" all this f**kin passing across the pitch & gettin nowhere ! let in the ball long & if a lad is good enough he'll win it" f**ks sake man u just said they weren't !! Thank god he was in the stands & not on sideline. Anyway onwards & upwards Semple on saturday, I'll be there hopefully cheering a win. Hon The Royals!!

royal69er (Meath) - Posts: 96 - 18/02/2018 20:33:57    2078086

How can we play the ball forward when our forward line are out the field. Look if this doesn't change we are goin to be a laughing stock. The day that was in it should have gauged how our team selection was. Horses for courses big men for direct ball into them not little lads on there own most of the time being marked by 3 players. It's what I'm seeing anyway someone tell me different please. What is the matter with playing to our strengths? Use Biggy as target man feed the runners then. cavan had big and small combination and they worked well. Are better coached as far as I can see. We are training 4 nights a week wot the f.. K are they doing. Questions must b asked of the sideline now this is poor stuff

Reco (Meath) - Posts: 419 - 18/02/2018 20:34:58    2078087