Professor Niall Moyna says Dublin are too dominant

Replying To KingdomBoy1:  "Ya cork were the next highest at 250,000 that's some disparity in all fairness ."
The funding figures published today just go to back up the argument. Dublin €1.3m, Cork €250,000 and the rest after that. Then we get told to make the best of OUR resources.

kildare73 (Kildare) - Posts: 854 - 31/01/2018 19:08:37    2072877

Replying To jimbodub:  "Oh jeeze

I see the "per registered player" rubbish numbers are still going strong for some.

How convenient to hoover up such rubbish numbers handed to them by an ABD journalist attention seeker..

How convenient indeed :)"
So are you saying the numbers published by the GAA are false??

kildare73 (Kildare) - Posts: 854 - 31/01/2018 19:11:52    2072878

Replying To kildare73:  "The funding figures published today just go to back up the argument. Dublin €1.3m, Cork €250,000 and the rest after that. Then we get told to make the best of OUR resources."
If this was only a one-off it could be forgiven, but this outrageous inequality has been going on for almost 15 years!!!!

Why can't the AIG (and many many other foreign sponsors) money not cover the funding costs and not devour it from those who really need it???? Do Dublin fans want a fair competition or a financially gerrymandered competition?

37thHeaven (Kerry) - Posts: 102 - 31/01/2018 19:15:47    2072880

Replying To DannyMcA:  "Talent!"
Ah! but what kind of talent?

neverright (Roscommon) - Posts: 1648 - 31/01/2018 19:17:01    2072881

Replying To KingdomBoy1:  "Well said Kildare 73."
WOW great contribution there kid :-0

superbluedub (Dublin) - Posts: 2837 - 31/01/2018 19:24:36    2072883

Replying To jimbodub:  "Oh jeeze

I see the "per registered player" rubbish numbers are still going strong for some.

How convenient to hoover up such rubbish numbers handed to them by an ABD journalist attention seeker..

How convenient indeed :)"
Why is the "per registered player" argument rubbish? I'd love to hear why.
I purposely didn't bring sponsorship into this because I 100% agree with you, if you raise it you should keep it and I didn't see anyone one on here saying any different so again, that's deflection. This debate is about how Central funding is distributed.
Can you calibrate these "millions" Dublin make for the rest? A game in Croke Park with 25k to 30k at it is hardly making millions for anybody by the time costs are taken out. The GAA used to say they needed 35,000 at Croke Park to cover itself. I don't think the Spring Series is bulging the coffers that much. I know Dublin fans will be defensive about all this and that's fair enough..........but so is equality in funding.

kildare73 (Kildare) - Posts: 854 - 31/01/2018 19:29:43    2072884

People can deflect. They can point to Kerry and Kilkenny and whoever else and shout from the top of the mountain that these counties are successful too and therefore its hypocrisy to be having an issue with Dublin's success.
The issue however is not Dublin's success, rather the way it has been facilitated through outside factors, most notably a scandalous imbalance in State and GAA central funding.

To put it simply, every other county that has enjoyed All-Ireland glory (be it temporarily or consistently in the case of Kilkenny/Kerry) has achieved that success largely down to utilising their own resources and working from within to create the conditions that achieved that success.

Now I'm not for a second claiming Dublin don't at present have a great current bunch of senior players. I am not denying the great history and tradition of the Dublin GAA. Nor am I trying to imply that there are not some really good people running it and working hard to coach and develop players across all ages in that county. However, this good work has been facilitated hugely by outside money. It has been facilitated by a gravy train which is out of all proportion to the number of players and clubs in Dublin. It is, in my opinion, a grotesquely large source of funding and the amounts made available to the other 31 counties are a pittance in comparison.
All anyone who doubts this has to do is compare the amount of funding from State and Croke Park given to Dublin in any given year in contrast to Cork, a county which has a similar number of registered players and even more clubs.

That is the issue plain and simple: a landscape now in place where the other 31 counties are expected to compete with a golden child created by Croke Park. A golden child created to ensure that the attendances and commercial possibilities generated by a successful Dublin football team (predominately) would keep the profits ticking over nicely for the top brass in Jones Road. Now maybe IF the financial results of such a policy were divided equally among all, the GAA could stand over it, but as we so plainly see, they are not. Instead Dublin continues to enjoy the fruits of this grossly unfair financial imbalance.

One other point, which I never see expressed;
I've often heard this argument that, well sure Dublin are only winning All-Ireland's by a point or two - that's not dominance. Even our soon to be ex-Gen Sec, Mr Duffy, reiterated this point last week on radio.
Now we are always told that at the very elite level, sport is a matter of percentages.
Indeed there was a controversial article in the Examiner last summer where the author, a noted sports scientist and coach, made the claim that Mayo will never win an All-Ireland. He pointed to mitigating factors, such as the difficulties they experience in arranging collective training due to the distances their players travel etc, as a rationale, i.e. those small little percentages that can be the difference between winning and losing.

Now consider the following:
-we have one county which plays every major game effectively at home (and remember even with this Super 8 structure, Dublin are still effectively being given 2 home games, while every other county will get 1).
-we have one county which enjoys so much funding and sponsorship that they can afford to put in place a large, essentially professional, backroom support team for their panel.
-we have one county which, on its doorstep, has access to the best training, fitness, medical and support facilities available on the island.
-and it is also a county where players travel little or no distance to collective training in contrast to their main rivals.

Are the above factors not the very definition of the small percentages that those in the elite level of sport talk about? Are the above not valid reasons why Dublin players, have that small extra fitness, that small extra freshness that gets them over the line in these big games?

Veritas numquam perit...

TheHermit (Kerry) - Posts: 6354 - 31/01/2018 19:44:51    2072889

The conspiracy theory's here are great craic, maybe dublin are a great team and have one of the best coaching team's around, it's not as if you can buy player's and in actual facts both mayo and kerry have spent more money on their senior football teams it's comes in cycles and I'm sure normal service will resume some day and kerry will be back winning all Irelands and all this financial doping won't be mentioned but for now the dubs will be winning more all irelabds

mightydubs (Dublin) - Posts: 48 - 31/01/2018 19:50:31    2072893

Replying To superbluedub:  "WOW great contribution there kid :-0"
Thanks bud , glad you agree :-)

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 31/01/2018 20:01:44    2072895

Replying To mightydubs:  "The conspiracy theory's here are great craic, maybe dublin are a great team and have one of the best coaching team's around, it's not as if you can buy player's and in actual facts both mayo and kerry have spent more money on their senior football teams it's comes in cycles and I'm sure normal service will resume some day and kerry will be back winning all Irelands and all this financial doping won't be mentioned but for now the dubs will be winning more all irelabds"
And who's going's to beat Dublin? If we didn't beat ye in the league final Dublin would be 45 games unbeaten, and yer saying it has nothing to do with money?

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 31/01/2018 20:15:41    2072899

Replying To KingdomBoy1:  "Ya cork were the next highest at 250,000 that's some disparity in all fairness ."
Do they give funds based on population, clubs, GAA members, how do they allocate funds anyway?

Are those figures given to county boards for all GAA inter county activities, or just for men's Gaelic football?

GreenandRed (Mayo) - Posts: 7344 - 31/01/2018 20:54:28    2072907

Replying To kildare73:  "Why is the "per registered player" argument rubbish? I'd love to hear why.
I purposely didn't bring sponsorship into this because I 100% agree with you, if you raise it you should keep it and I didn't see anyone one on here saying any different so again, that's deflection. This debate is about how Central funding is distributed.
Can you calibrate these "millions" Dublin make for the rest? A game in Croke Park with 25k to 30k at it is hardly making millions for anybody by the time costs are taken out. The GAA used to say they needed 35,000 at Croke Park to cover itself. I don't think the Spring Series is bulging the coffers that much. I know Dublin fans will be defensive about all this and that's fair enough..........but so is equality in funding."
Haha

So simplistic to think it's about ticket sales :)

TV rights revenue, live Saturday night games with all the sponsorship attached to boot!

There was a bidding war for the last set of Spring series TV rights... it's run into the millions and thats only for the rights! Never mind all the other add on's...

It's big money and Eir spent a fortune on the exclusive live rights

So yes it's millions. It's been running since 2011 and was all spear headed by Dublin CB.

It's made millions for the GAA and all off the back of Dublin. It's no coincidence the profile of the league has changed considerably since its introduction.

But sure #ignore

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20600 - 31/01/2018 21:01:39    2072909

Replying To jimbodub:  "Haha

TV rights revenue, live Saturday night games with all the sponsorship attached to boot!

There was a bidding war for the last set of Spring series TV rights... it's run into the millions and thats only for the rights! Never mind all the other add on's...

So yes it's millions. It's been running since 2011 and was all spear headed by Dublin CB.

It's made millions for the GAA and all off the back of Dublin. It's no coincidence the profile of the league has changed considerably since its introduction.

But sure #ignore"
Oh yeah lads, remember how before 2011 no one ever took notice of the League?
Remember how no newspaper ever reported on it, how TG4 didn't even televise it.

Isn't it great that Dublin gave us this wonderful second competition to enjoy before the Championship began.

FFS....

TheHermit (Kerry) - Posts: 6354 - 31/01/2018 21:07:23    2072912

But sure #ignore"
How many millions does it make? And how many millions are you claiming the rest of the counties benefit from it? You are very vague throwing around these "millions" claims.
And you haven't addressed the funding disparity which is what this thread is all about.
But sure#ignore as you say yourself.

kildare73 (Kildare) - Posts: 854 - 31/01/2018 21:11:36    2072913

Like it's always been folks

It's never been fair

Dubs will always have more. They even had that when they weren't winning!

Dublin has the largest population so deserves the largest amount of funding. Now fair enough the GAA have taken steps to lessen that now.

But if that's the case there is no fecking way a single hard earned sponsorship cent should be shared to dysfunctional County Boards who have only proven that they can't be trusted with money.

There's a reason why the GAA doesn't throw money at anyone that wants it.. because they don't trust them.

Put a strategic plan in place and prove that it can be run within budget and every cent is accounted for as it is in Dublin. Until that happens... dream on fella's.

This is the real world...

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20600 - 31/01/2018 21:16:24    2072916

But sure #ignore"
Why don't Dublin just play themselves then?

Shure if nobody else makes the GAA any money like you say ye should just play yereselves at Croke Park every week and save us the money and effort of having to go to Croke Park. Then all the money raised can go into the DCB coffers and there will be no complaint.

The GAA have missed a trick here.....................

37thHeaven (Kerry) - Posts: 102 - 31/01/2018 21:27:07    2072917

Replying To jimbodub:  "Like it's always been folks

It's never been fair

Dubs will always have more. They even had that when they weren't winning!

Dublin has the largest population so deserves the largest amount of funding. Now fair enough the GAA have taken steps to lessen that now.

But if that's the case there is no fecking way a single hard earned sponsorship cent should be shared to dysfunctional County Boards who have only proven that they can't be trusted with money.

There's a reason why the GAA doesn't throw money at anyone that wants it.. because they don't trust them.

Put a strategic plan in place and prove that it can be run within budget and every cent is accounted for as it is in Dublin. Until that happens... dream on fella's.

This is the real world..."
Who said anyone wanted Dublin's sponsorship money??? The conversation is about how Central funding is given out! And you never explained why a per registered club player was "A rubbish argument " as you claimed. Got any thoughts?

kildare73 (Kildare) - Posts: 854 - 31/01/2018 21:27:53    2072918

Replying To mightydubs:  "The conspiracy theory's here are great craic, maybe dublin are a great team and have one of the best coaching team's around, it's not as if you can buy player's and in actual facts both mayo and kerry have spent more money on their senior football teams it's comes in cycles and I'm sure normal service will resume some day and kerry will be back winning all Irelands and all this financial doping won't be mentioned but for now the dubs will be winning more all irelabds"
Not going to comment on the wider argument as it's pointless, but how much of mayo and Kerry's spending was on travel and subsistence? Travel and overnight stays for several teams is expensive, along with expenses for players to come home from college and Work for training. Dublin don't have these costs given they get every game at home and I would guess that none of their players live outside Dublin. It's not a fair comparison.

GeniusGerry (Kerry) - Posts: 2105 - 31/01/2018 21:30:22    2072920

But sure #ignore"
LOL

GeniusGerry (Kerry) - Posts: 2105 - 31/01/2018 21:37:50    2072921

maybe if Cork put the million s it got and raised into Game development rather than the " white Elephant" that is PUC they be better off. I 've yet to hear a county board official cone out and say something about the funding . There is a reason why they don't. It's the lack of accountability and trust from Croke park of county boards and how they ate e's. Were kildare not bailed out recently along with Offaly and their inability to pay for O Connor park.?

Rohanhorsemaste (Tipperary) - Posts: 26 - 31/01/2018 21:59:59    2072924