Kerry VS Donegal

Replying To Donegalman:  "Can anyone verify the ages of the teams? I was trying to figure out levels of experience today. Seems both teams were in uncharted territories with much of their panel.

Kerry

S Murphy 25
C Coffey 22
J Foley 22
S Enright 29
P Murphy 26
G Crowley 23
R Shanahan 26
Barry O'Sullivan 21
Brendan O'Sullivan 28
M Burns 22
S O'Shea 21
S O'Brien 27
D Clifford 18
Paul Geaney 27
BJ Keane 28
J O'Donoghue 28
J Savage 22
D Casey 28
K Spillane 22
M Flaherty 21
B O Seanachain 21

Donegal
MA McGinley
S McMenamin 21
C Ward 23
T McClenaghan 21
R McHugh 25
L McLoone 28
E Ban Gallagher 22
H McFadden 26
N Mullins 27
M O'Reilly 26
P Brennan 22
C McGonigle
P McBrearty 24
J Brennan 22
O MacNiallais 27

Subs:
P Boyle 28
N O'Donnell 21
C Thompson 29
C McGonigle 21
S McBrearty 21
J McGee 19
D O'Connor 22"
Donegal Age. Wouldn't too far off with this.

MA McGinley 27
S McMenamin 20
C Ward 25
T McClenaghan 21
R McHugh 23
L McLoone 28
E Ban Gallagher 21/22
H McFadden 24
N Mullins 27
M O'Reilly 24
P Brennan 25
C McGonigle 21
P McBrearty 24
J Brennan 21
O MacNiallais 25

Subs: 
P Boyle 25
N O'Donnell 19
C Thompson 22
S McBrearty 21
J McGee 19
D O'Connor 22
E Doherty 27

HandballRef (Donegal) - Posts: 520 - 28/01/2018 22:12:18    2071665

Replying To HandballRef:  "Donegal Age. Wouldn't too far off with this.

MA McGinley 27
S McMenamin 20
C Ward 25
T McClenaghan 21
R McHugh 23
L McLoone 28
E Ban Gallagher 21/22
H McFadden 24
N Mullins 27
M O'Reilly 24
P Brennan 25
C McGonigle 21
P McBrearty 24
J Brennan 21
O MacNiallais 25

Subs: 
P Boyle 25
N O'Donnell 19
C Thompson 22
S McBrearty 21
J McGee 19
D O'Connor 22
E Doherty 27"
Good man Handball.

Donegalman (None) - Posts: 3830 - 28/01/2018 23:21:16    2071701

Great performence by Donegal very unlucky.

I know all the hype is about young David, but Sean O Shea has always looked the pick of the litter to me, think he will be a fantastic player.

TheUsername (Dublin) - Posts: 4445 - 28/01/2018 23:45:58    2071713

Really exciting game and hopefully a sign of things to come for the year ahead. Both teams will be very happy with the way their young players performed and will be having nightmares about their defending. Kerry have a brilliant crop of young players with Sean O'Shea looking like a real superstar.

I think Declan Bonner will be happy with the performance of Donegal although disappointed with some of the defending. We are without our first choice full back line of Neil McGee, Paddy McGrath and Ciaran Gillespie with long term injuries so it is understandable that we look shaky back there. Patrick McBrearty goes from strength to strength and was great to have McNeilis and McLoone back.

Green_Gold (Donegal) - Posts: 1874 - 29/01/2018 10:13:15    2071787

Replying To Rockies:  "See below....It was Sean Doherty...not Brian Mullins"
Mickey Ned incident happened in 75 final which Kerry won.
Pat Spillane ended up lifting cup as Mickey was captain but in hospital after it.

Superglue (Kerry) - Posts: 1283 - 29/01/2018 10:14:48    2071790

Replying To Rockies:  "See below....It was Sean Doherty...not Brian Mullins"
Check out Mullins second half tackle in 1977 semi-final. Mickey Ned incident was 1975 final.

dingle2 (Kerry) - Posts: 278 - 29/01/2018 11:58:53    2071863

Very enjoyable game, fair play to both sides. Seán O'Shea was impressive for the Kingdom but what a player McBrearty is!

Such a pity his family didn't stay in Dublin ;)

MesAmis (Dublin) - Posts: 13707 - 29/01/2018 12:25:12    2071885

Replying To MesAmis:  "Very enjoyable game, fair play to both sides. Seán O'Shea was impressive for the Kingdom but what a player McBrearty is!

Such a pity his family didn't stay in Dublin ;)"
Aw now! Don't be so greedy! :P

Lockjaw (Donegal) - Posts: 9136 - 29/01/2018 13:16:30    2071924

Aw now! Don't be so greedy! :P
Lockjaw (Donegal) - 29/01/2018 13:16:30

I think yous are the greedy ones.

Sure we gave yous a loan of young Mullins as well 2 McBrearty's wha! ;)

MesAmis (Dublin) - Posts: 13707 - 29/01/2018 14:49:11    2071983

Replying To MesAmis:  "Aw now! Don't be so greedy! :P
Lockjaw (Donegal) - 29/01/2018 13:16:30

I think yous are the greedy ones.

Sure we gave yous a loan of young Mullins as well 2 McBrearty's wha! ;)"
MDMA and O'Gara have Tír Chonaill blood in them too!

Lockjaw (Donegal) - Posts: 9136 - 29/01/2018 15:12:22    2071995

As a complete neutral,

Whatever mistakes P.Neilon committed in the match, pales compared to not giving a free to Donegal in the last second.

D.Casey clearly hopped the ball twice before kicking the winner. Blatant free which was missed.

We are all human however.

Ibbecek (Meath) - Posts: 196 - 29/01/2018 17:16:07    2072073

Yes Ibbecek, I did notice the double bounce leading up to the Kerry winning point. My Kerry cousins says" they were only small hops". Strangely the officials on that side of the pitch were very alert bringing Mullins red card offence and the Kerry penalty to the referee`s attention.

Curlew66 (Roscommon) - Posts: 506 - 29/01/2018 21:17:43    2072185

Replying To Curlew66:  "Yes Ibbecek, I did notice the double bounce leading up to the Kerry winning point. My Kerry cousins says" they were only small hops". Strangely the officials on that side of the pitch were very alert bringing Mullins red card offence and the Kerry penalty to the referee`s attention."
Don't like blaming refs but was very dissapointed with the double hop at the end. At the end of the day the ref was the nearest to the Kerry player and the linesmen were the next. You would think one of the three officials would have seen it. If this happened in the last minute of an allerand final with both sides level there would be some uproar.

rorysboys (Donegal) - Posts: 2404 - 29/01/2018 21:48:07    2072196

Replying To Lockjaw:  "Yeah I think I got Premier Sports on Mobdro before so I must try that out. I could try to avoid the score and watch the deferred coverage but I don't think I'd resist the temptation to keep up to date on Twitter!"
Lockjaw Co Donegal

Tomsmith here from Cavan who got a draw on Saturday.

Mr Lockjaw from Liffer your team on Sunday dident represent Donegal. It was a sort of aNational team
Where was Mc Cleland born was it in London derry
Where is Mullins from is it away up in Dunlin
Where id Brennan from is it County Leitrim he lives in
Where is the Sub Goalkeeper from is near Bellek Co Fermanagh

Enough said

tomsmith (Cavan) - Posts: 3857 - 29/01/2018 22:36:36    2072211

Replying To tomsmith:  "Lockjaw Co Donegal

Mr Lockjaw from Liffer your team on Sunday dident represent Donegal. It was a sort of aNational team

Enough said"
God where do we start with that post? Somebody ring the grammar police as a starting point.

mickyrua (Donegal) - Posts: 55 - 29/01/2018 22:56:33    2072224

Enough said"
McClenaghan is from my own club in Moville in north Donegal where he lived all his life, so that is just completely untrue. Nathan Mullins was born in Donegal and his first GAA club was in Donegal and played U21 for donegal. Brennan as far as I know has been living in Donegal for the past 3 years. I don't know about the sub goalkeeper.

Inishowenhead (Donegal) - Posts: 26 - 29/01/2018 22:56:55    2072225

Enough said"
Tom, whatever you're on, pass it round to the rest of us.

MuckrossHead (Donegal) - Posts: 5028 - 29/01/2018 22:59:24    2072227

Enough said"
McClenaghan is from Moville and has played with them all the way up from underage.
Mullins was born and brought up in Carndonagh.
Brennan is from Leitrim. He lives in Bundoran and had played club football with them for last 3 years.
Peter Boyle has playec football with Ballyshannon since under 10s.
No Seanie Johnson's on the Donegal panel.

HEREBENJI (Donegal) - Posts: 421 - 29/01/2018 23:13:31    2072234

Replying To dingle2:  "Brian Mullins should have got the line in 1977 semi-final for the worst clothes line tackle I have ever seen. Ref bottled it and cost Kerry Five-In-A-Row and nearly cost Micko his job. Obviously with his offspring the apple not fall far from tree...only difference was that the referee made the correct decision this time.
Brian Mullins was a fine footballer but had a cynical streak in him which was surprising in that his football pedigree was of Kerry (his uncle was the great & legendary Bill Casey of Lispole and multiple All Ireland winner with Kerry in the late 30's and early 40's."
That's a great compliment you paid your county, Dingle... "surprising".. "of Kerry" ... I'd say Nicholas Murphy was surprised alright after the first minute of the 2009 All Ireland Final. Great biblical type language "of Kerry" ... but of course it's the Kingdom, maybe the Kingdom of God and the chosen people!

DonegalAtlantic (Donegal) - Posts: 111 - 29/01/2018 23:27:06    2072241

Lads he might have missed the double-hop, but he should have also called back the Donegal kick from the mark that lead to that last goal because the Donegal lad took a rake of steps before kicking it instead of playing it from where he caught the ball.
So you know swings and round abouts

TheHermit (Kerry) - Posts: 6354 - 29/01/2018 23:32:45    2072242