The pinnacle of cute Kerry h***r*sm

But funding for DCU = bad

MesAmis (Dublin) - 17/01/2018

So Funding for UCD = good?

Pesky Leinster Rugby and Irish hockey lapping it up on the southside...

if_in_doubt (Kildare) - Posts: 3685 - 17/01/2018 16:11:53    2068917

Replying To Wally:  "The reaction from Kerry folk on here is hilarious. Sure bring up every other random issue at the moment and forget about the topic in hand!

There are two issues here and none of them are to do with the fund raiser itself.

Fair play to the Kerry county board for organising this for one of their natives and a legend within the GAA and its understandable that the proceeds would go to centre of excellence for the betterment of Kerry GAA.

The issue here is why Croke Park have got directly involved in promoting this and why are they issuing invitations? I have never seen this done before. As stated previously Mícheál Ó Muircheartaigh worked for RTE and not for Croke Park.

There was plenty of fund raising events for our centre of excellence in Garvaghy and I cant remember Croke Park getting involved and asking for donations from other county boards.

Very strange indeed."
Did Tyrone county board ask the GAA to endorse their fundraiser for yer center of excellence?

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 17/01/2018 16:31:00    2068919

Replying To TheHermit:  "Look Gotmilk I don't know why Croke Park are pushing it, but the point stands it is an optional event and I doubt very much that any County Board hard pressed for money up your side or the country will feel themselves obliged to go.

Yes I'm aware the IT Tralee's Sports Facility has gotten State aid, (I'm glad the Kildare poster above has acknowledged it was for the IT's Sports Academy as before Christmas he was on another discussion claiming it was the Kerry GAA that got this money). But that doesn't pay for everything and Kerry, like every other county bar Dublin, has to put in huge efforts with fund-raising to cover the balance between what it can get from Croke Park and the final cost of projects.

The Dublin example is perfectly valid, a state of the art sports campus was given to the Dublin GAA to use for several years now, at no cost to them. Even though they are the one county which could fund such things out of their own, very deep, pockets.

Username thinks this is a "poor Kerry the victim argument", to be honest he probably isn't the only one and that is what is concerning me most.

For me the biggest issue facing the inter-county scene is that one county has been funded out of all proportion at the expense for the others 31 for over a decade now. Dublin people and their admires can dance around this all they want but it is an irrefutable fact.

Yet the coverage of this is sporadic at best, and even on here it doesn't seem to be discussed too often anymore. This is an issue that should be flung at the GAA every time they hold a public function, but instead it is left slide off the table and people who question it are told they are playing the poor mouth.

The inter-county scene is going to become a wasteland, and is already following what we see in actual professional sports where money is all that matters to win.

But hey, lets all get annoyed about a dinner celebrating the contribution to the GAA MOM has made, give me strength..."
The world doesn't operate in that black and wide view you have. Has your boss never said something to you but followed it up with, "only when you get a chance do it" or "Go if you want to"? You don't have much choice, you have to do as you're suggested to. Also are you really going to tell me that those who choose not to spend five grand on a table will still be held in as high of regard as they are at the minute?

gotmilk (Fermanagh) - Posts: 4971 - 17/01/2018 16:39:50    2068920

Replying To KingdomBoy1:  "Did Tyrone county board ask the GAA to endorse their fundraiser for yer center of excellence?"
Truthfully I really don't know. I would be very surprised if they did.

Did Kerry county board ask Croke Park to directly endorse their fundraiser and invite all other county boards in the country to attend and contribute €5,000?

Wally (Tyrone) - Posts: 912 - 17/01/2018 17:04:43    2068925

Replying To MesAmis:  "So funding for IT Tralee = good

But funding for DCU = bad

Got it now!"
Ahh now I get it!!

Thanks for clearing that up Mes

An idiot like myself needs such things made simple

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20600 - 17/01/2018 19:17:28    2068945

The usual crew with nothing to contribute only the usual snide remarks I see, new year same old same old.

My reaction to this story is based on the fact that the biggest funding scandal in the GAA is what has gone on with Dublin in the last 10 years.

Yet rather than talking about that as the most pressing issue regarding funding, grants and county facilities, people get on their horses about a fundraising dinner! Just like the Gooch thing before Christmas.

The Sports Council has helped finance the Tralee IT's sports academy which will benefit a number of other sports in Kerry, but the Kerry GAA are also helping to finance it out of their own pocket and fundraising efforts.
The Kerry GAA also got funding for their Center of Excellence, like any county would, but the balance was made up by fundraising, which will have to continue to help run the thing.

What money did the Dublin GAA put into developing DCU for their own use? What money have they had to cough up to use Croke Park as their new home ground? In fact show me one red cent of money that they have received from Croke Park or which the tax payer has given them, that they ever had to use to provide their own training facilities?

Sure they've thrown a strop because that GAA national center of excellence (another bad joke) actually told them to join the queue to use their facilities.

I expect many of the Dublin posters on here and their sycophants to have nothing to say on this, but surely to God some of the rest of ye care.

TheHermit (Kerry) - Posts: 6354 - 17/01/2018 20:01:14    2068960

Replying To Wally:  "Truthfully I really don't know. I would be very surprised if they did.

Did Kerry county board ask Croke Park to directly endorse their fundraiser and invite all other county boards in the country to attend and contribute €5,000?"
Looks like they did Wally .

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 17/01/2018 20:17:36    2068965

Replying To jimbodub:  "Ahh now I get it!!

Thanks for clearing that up Mes

An idiot like myself needs such things made simple"
No bother Jimbo!

MesAmis (Dublin) - Posts: 13707 - 17/01/2018 20:35:24    2068971

Replying To TheHermit:  "The usual crew with nothing to contribute only the usual snide remarks I see, new year same old same old.

My reaction to this story is based on the fact that the biggest funding scandal in the GAA is what has gone on with Dublin in the last 10 years.

Yet rather than talking about that as the most pressing issue regarding funding, grants and county facilities, people get on their horses about a fundraising dinner! Just like the Gooch thing before Christmas.

The Sports Council has helped finance the Tralee IT's sports academy which will benefit a number of other sports in Kerry, but the Kerry GAA are also helping to finance it out of their own pocket and fundraising efforts.
The Kerry GAA also got funding for their Center of Excellence, like any county would, but the balance was made up by fundraising, which will have to continue to help run the thing.

What money did the Dublin GAA put into developing DCU for their own use? What money have they had to cough up to use Croke Park as their new home ground? In fact show me one red cent of money that they have received from Croke Park or which the tax payer has given them, that they ever had to use to provide their own training facilities?

Sure they've thrown a strop because that GAA national center of excellence (another bad joke) actually told them to join the queue to use their facilities.

I expect many of the Dublin posters on here and their sycophants to have nothing to say on this, but surely to God some of the rest of ye care."
You're right it is really strange and pretty much unbelievable that DCU would spend so much money and time developing their sports facilities and then just hand over the keys to Dublin GAA completely free of charge for the totally exclusive use of the Dublin Senior football team!

Real out of this world unbelievable stuff.

MesAmis (Dublin) - Posts: 13707 - 17/01/2018 20:39:16    2068973

You're right it is really strange and pretty much unbelievable that DCU would spend so much money and time developing their sports facilities and then just hand over the keys to Dublin GAA completely free of charge for the totally exclusive use of the Dublin Senior football team!

Real out of this world unbelievable stuff.

MesAmis (Dublin) - 17/01/2018

Only Dublin get to use DCU as well. You'd think with their state of the art facilities DCU would be willing to let others benefit from them as well. Tralee IT let sporting bodies and athletes other than Kerry GAA use their facilities so you'd have to wonder why DCU don't let Tennis Ireland and Cricket Ireland use their facilities on a regular basis either, also why don't they have an arrangement with Sport Ireland and the IIS to let staff and international athletes use them?

I'd be very surprised if Dublin get a free run of DCU at no cost at all, but if they do then more power to them it's an incredible arrangement to have in place. I mean if they went and developed their own facility then they'd only be taking grant money from the GAA and government that could have been to other counties that needed it more.

A bit lost as to what this has to do with Croke Park promoting a Kerry fundraiser with other county boards though.

if_in_doubt (Kildare) - Posts: 3685 - 17/01/2018 20:57:57    2068980

Replying To TheHermit:  "The usual crew with nothing to contribute only the usual snide remarks I see, new year same old same old.

I expect many of the Dublin posters on here and their sycophants to have nothing to say on this, but surely to God some of the rest of ye care."
Why so bitter about Dublin mate? Dublin aren't the boogie man and has been illustrated Kerry are taking as much out of the GAA as anyone and more then most, if I was from counties of a similar make up like Mayo or Donegal or actually more compelling cases like Down and Galway I would be annoyed. We are a different animal of course, hosting most of the country in our fair borders, cradling expats etc.

I'll answer your question, St Claire's in DCU, the GAA facilities there were developed by Pat Gilroy, I think most people know his calibre in industry and was developed from contributions from the buisness community. Or fundraising as they call it Kerry. Dublin train at Innisfallin club ground in glasnevin for the O Byrne cup and league and St Claire's for the championship. Where are you getting the information on your funding?, tax payers etc.

I think it's a matter of public record that central council pay rent to Croke Park annually so the cost of playing in Croke Park is the same regardless if it's Dublin, Mayo, Kerry or Roscommon.

As for a red cent given, the county board bought the spawell site in March last year for 9 million, the site is going to be developed by the county board and home the Dublin COE. The whole Currens project I think was 7 mill with both the IT and Currens facility largely subsidised.

I don't understand why you feel the need to attack Dublin, success, hurt at failure.

I really don't understand the Kerry narrative, why the need to always be the victim. Yee have plenty of funding from the GAA and every other source going, just be great full, you do significantly better then almost any other county.

TheUsername (Dublin) - Posts: 4445 - 17/01/2018 21:23:08    2068989

It might have been more helpful to wheel Micko out to sell a few more washing machines... btw great tele

Anyhow its amazing about the attitude of catchup with the Dubs, what about the areas of the country with no dedicated School coaches, clubs that are in trouble etc.. nah go for centres of excellence, 7m a pop

It should be about enabling the lower tier to catch up, not push the upper tier further and further ahead. To be honest i think we really need to go back to Hayes' Hotel in Thurles and look at our roots because we are loosing the run of ourselves

ponger (Cavan) - Posts: 540 - 17/01/2018 21:46:55    2068993

Replying To gotmilk:  "Just saw Declan Bogues tweet from last night. Croke Park have sent a letter to every county board asking if they want to take part in a tribute dinner to Micheál Ó Muircheartaigh. It's five grand for a table and all proceeds go to the Kerry sports academy in Tralee. Effectively the GAA want the rest of the country to pay for Kerry's development of their players. If you attend you're helping Kerry out, if you don't your considered to be dissing a legend.

On a side note why is croke park encouraging county boards to do this? Micheál Ó Muircheartaigh, while considered to be a figure of folklore among GAA patrons up and down the country for his in depth coverage and excellent articulation of games was an employee of RTE. As far as I am aware he was never an employee of Croke Park, surely it should be RTE encouraging those to buy these tables."
Fair play to them. A novel way to raise a good chunk of money for a great centre which will benefit different sports and great facilities to allowed disabled people participate in sports. Obviously it will benefit Kerry football and hurling, but IT Tralee has benefitted plenty of non-Kerry GAA people over the years and will continue to do so. If you don't want go to Micheál Ó Muircheartaigh's dinner because you think it benefits Kerry then don't go.

GreenandRed (Mayo) - Posts: 7342 - 18/01/2018 03:26:41    2069012

Glad to see the Kerry Defence Force getting called out on their rubbish.

greatpoint (USA) - Posts: 427 - 18/01/2018 07:28:33    2069014

This is down to Dublin again make no mistake about it.
They are behind this help kerry carry on undoubtedly. The ungrateful tinkers should be delighted. We are a kind bunch of course and are happy to help in any way we can. Sure the poor beggars have nothing.

Their obsession with us is amazing to behold !

Dubh_linn (Dublin) - Posts: 2312 - 18/01/2018 08:12:48    2069016

I hear Mel Gibson has bought the rights to the movie franchise
Breffni39 (Cavan) - 17/01/2018 15:38:30

MesAmis (Dublin) - Posts: 13707 - 18/01/2018 09:33:52    2069028

I hear Mel Gibson has bought the rights to the movie franchise
Breffni39 (Cavan) - 17/01/2018 15:38:30

Coming to theatres this summer, in the role he was born to play, Mel Gibson is…….Danny Healy-Rae.

MesAmis (Dublin) - Posts: 13707 - 18/01/2018 09:35:44    2069029

Only Dublin get to use DCU as well. You'd think with their state of the art facilities DCU would be willing to let others benefit from them as well.

I'm not sure that this is true: Bohemians trained at DCU when I was a student there, about a decade ago, and Tennis Ireland also had a Centre of Excellence on campus. I also knew a lot of scholarship athletes who had use of the same elite gym facilities that the Dubs have. DCU's Sigerson team definitely use the same pitches.

Gleebo (Mayo) - Posts: 2208 - 18/01/2018 09:52:17    2069034

My fella in last four years has trained in Abbottstown, DCU,UCD, Alfie Byrne Clontarf, innisfails, Cuala, craobh Ciarans,basically where ever was available, marches have been played at all those venues including Parnell Park and DIT grangegorman , nomads for four years constantly waiting for the text never knowing where your training one week to another, yet Kermit would have you think differently, yet in our travels we have played in some fantastic and some not so fantastic centers of excellence as well as being hosted by limerick IT , Waterford IT , Kermit hasn't a clue but opinions are like you know what and everyone has one , as to the function go don't go it's a free world.

Damothedub (Dublin) - Posts: 5193 - 18/01/2018 11:07:32    2069050

The usual insults, the usual collective shout-downs for anyone who questions anything to do with Dublin. But hey everyone loves an echo chamber right??

Kerry do well out of grants etc, no question. But its in proportion to what schemes they have submitted for consideration, which any other county can and has done. We have decent sponsorship too, but we still have to fund-raise the hell out of things to try and keep above water and ensure our facilities are as much a match as they can be with what the capital enjoys.

As for Dublin: A backroom team the size of a small army, funded by multiple major sponsorships, in addition the funding for player development from Croke Park out of all proportion to the number of GAA players actually in the City, grants given by the Sports Council on top of that just to make it more even more egregious and state of the art facilities like DCU for ye to avail of for nothing or as near as.

But no, sure ye actually don't use DCU at all, sure if ye did ye would be paying loads to use it, sure ye have nowhere but the side of a road to train on most weeks!

TheHermit (Kerry) - Posts: 6354 - 18/01/2018 11:58:24    2069057