Meath V Westmeath

Replying To bert09:  "Anywhere that does a good 99er?"
Cards and things In shopping center. Lol.
Very flat first half. Graham Reilly having a very off day. Lenihane , McMahon, mcentee and particularly O'Sullivan playing out of skins. Downey having a good display along with memton, Kennelly second yellow was not a yellow , ref just played to crowd after first card.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 13/05/2018 15:44:00    2100014

Great performance, and with 14 for the most part. Moved the ball very well and patient when needed.
Lenihan will get plaudits and rightfully so, but thought James McEntee was fantastic.
Ref was shocking.,

ziggy320001 (Meath) - Posts: 2432 - 13/05/2018 17:01:02    2100029

Did we end up with 13 players?

GlasgowRoyal (Meath) - Posts: 293 - 13/05/2018 17:09:50    2100030

Replying To GlasgowRoyal:  "Did we end up with 13 players?"
Yeah wallace got straight red

Loyalroyal17 (Meath) - Posts: 627 - 13/05/2018 17:20:59    2100034

Replying To GlasgowRoyal:  "Did we end up with 13 players?"
Yes, no complaints either about both spendings off.

bert09 (Meath) - Posts: 1790 - 13/05/2018 17:45:01    2100040

Replying To ziggy320001:  "Great performance, and with 14 for the most part. Moved the ball very well and patient when needed.
Lenihan will get plaudits and rightfully so, but thought James McEntee was fantastic.
Ref was shocking.,"
Agree on James Mcentee. Incredible performance from him. Best I have seen of him in a Meath jersey.

bert09 (Meath) - Posts: 1790 - 13/05/2018 17:48:26    2100046

Replying To royaldunne:  "Cards and things In shopping center. Lol.
Very flat first half. Graham Reilly having a very off day. Lenihane , McMahon, mcentee and particularly O'Sullivan playing out of skins. Downey having a good display along with memton, Kennelly second yellow was not a yellow , ref just played to crowd after first card."
Good man royaldunne. Nothing like a 99er before a game.

bert09 (Meath) - Posts: 1790 - 13/05/2018 17:49:26    2100050

Replying To bert09:  "Yes, no complaints either about both spendings off."
No but it was, in general, the worst refereeing performance I've seen at intercounty level for a long long time

southmeathgael (Meath) - Posts: 888 - 13/05/2018 17:50:21    2100051

A nice run out for the lads a good win also.

WhyTheLongFace (Meath) - Posts: 876 - 13/05/2018 18:05:12    2100063

Replying To southmeathgael:  "No but it was, in general, the worst refereeing performance I've seen at intercounty level for a long long time"
Agree, poor performance alright. Going 13 men down and playing against ref and the breeze in second half...decent result. Well done to the lads!

bert09 (Meath) - Posts: 1790 - 13/05/2018 18:14:01    2100069

Replying To bert09:  "Agree, poor performance alright. Going 13 men down and playing against ref and the breeze in second half...decent result. Well done to the lads!"
Yeah very very poor ref. I honestly don't know what can be done bout the standards.
Game itself was hugely heartening, good mix of football, defending in numbers, runners doing exactly what you'd expect, variation in play too with some long quick ball. Lot of very very good performances from a lot of players. I agree with others. James mcentee had a unbelievable game, so did cos. E wallace was provoked. But needs to keep the head a bit better in those situations . It was a red. Brennan ran his socks off. McGill also quite good. And what about micky burke? He is like the durecell bunny. He just keeps going and going. Look was it a perfect display? No. Is there room for improvement for longford? Absolutely. But it dusted the cobwebs off. Great touch by the lads too waiting out on field for pictures and autographs. My young one was delighted. Fair play to all.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 13/05/2018 19:23:19    2100119

Great performance, only issue I would have had is discipline.

UsernameInvalid (Meath) - Posts: 355 - 13/05/2018 19:31:29    2100129

I think the type of display today is needed more often. Consistency of performance and hard to beat.
Work rate was excellent and we outplayed Westmeath with 14 men.
When we were down to 13, we kept the ball very well too..

ziggy320001 (Meath) - Posts: 2432 - 13/05/2018 19:53:49    2100146

Replying To UsernameInvalid:  "Great performance, only issue I would have had is discipline."
The auld slow start would be a bit of a concern too...

bert09 (Meath) - Posts: 1790 - 13/05/2018 19:53:52    2100147

Replying To royaldunne:  "Yeah very very poor ref. I honestly don't know what can be done bout the standards.
Game itself was hugely heartening, good mix of football, defending in numbers, runners doing exactly what you'd expect, variation in play too with some long quick ball. Lot of very very good performances from a lot of players. I agree with others. James mcentee had a unbelievable game, so did cos. E wallace was provoked. But needs to keep the head a bit better in those situations . It was a red. Brennan ran his socks off. McGill also quite good. And what about micky burke? He is like the durecell bunny. He just keeps going and going. Look was it a perfect display? No. Is there room for improvement for longford? Absolutely. But it dusted the cobwebs off. Great touch by the lads too waiting out on field for pictures and autographs. My young one was delighted. Fair play to all."
Great stuff onto the big one..Nothing like Meath Championship Football
Well done to the lads and management,And Who Lifted the cup pal?? :)

grahamc9897 (Meath) - Posts: 1174 - 13/05/2018 19:56:30    2100148

Replying To ziggy320001:  "I think the type of display today is needed more often. Consistency of performance and hard to beat.
Work rate was excellent and we outplayed Westmeath with 14 men.
When we were down to 13, we kept the ball very well too.."
You know if you were the manger you couldn't ask for a better preparation match...go 14 man down see how the lads respond, then go 13 man down they dealt with situation with maturity and professionally..you couldn't ask for better

These are the matches you want to see are the players able to deal with these difficult situations ...and they did it

Now to sit back and wait for a disgruntled fan on here to call it only the Obyrne cup or Westmeath are crap

WhyTheLongFace (Meath) - Posts: 876 - 13/05/2018 20:12:03    2100160

I took heart from that today Longford could b in trouble.

Reco (Meath) - Posts: 419 - 13/05/2018 20:15:05    2100163

Replying To Reco:  "I took heart from that today Longford could b in trouble."
in all honestly we should be winning this game

grahamc9897 (Meath) - Posts: 1174 - 13/05/2018 20:26:16    2100171

Replying To bert09:  "The auld slow start would be a bit of a concern too..."
I don't think we started slow, we missed a lot of chances. It was clear we were better from early on

ziggy320001 (Meath) - Posts: 2432 - 13/05/2018 20:48:36    2100191

Replying To WhyTheLongFace:  "You know if you were the manger you couldn't ask for a better preparation match...go 14 man down see how the lads respond, then go 13 man down they dealt with situation with maturity and professionally..you couldn't ask for better

These are the matches you want to see are the players able to deal with these difficult situations ...and they did it

Now to sit back and wait for a disgruntled fan on here to call it only the Obyrne cup or Westmeath are crap"
Exactly, said that myself after the game. We didn't really look like we were down to 14.
Also near the end (while down to 13) we kept the ball for a long time before eventually getting a point.

ziggy320001 (Meath) - Posts: 2432 - 13/05/2018 20:51:22    2100192