Can Galway repeat feat as All Ireland/League Champs?

Replying To Pope_Benedict:  "Never pushed on after 2001? Wtf! Referee 'pushed' them over the line in '01 imo. Only place most teams '99-'15 were 'pushing on' to, was into Cody's pocket."
Barry Kelly with his 18 frees to 6 and failure to send off a player for breaking a helmet never mind interfering with it pushed ye over the line in the semi this year!!

PremierGold (Tipperary) - Posts: 121 - 30/11/2017 13:46:31    2064114

Replying To baire:  "I suppose Maher's pull on Michael Rice's hand wasn't a free either when he more or less finished Rice's playing career. How would that compare to Hanbury's pulling of Callinan to the ground? Maher's pull across J Flynn in this year's AISF wasn't given either, that doesn't mean it wasn't a deliberate and dangerous foul. I have seen Callinan getting away with lots of dirty strokes. Canning's tearing of an ankle ligament in last year's AISF came from a push in the back. Galway didn't even get a free from it, a free that would have more than likely drawn the game. Keep the Tipp blinkers on!"
Its such a shame that people can't debate on these threads without someone looking at where you're from and making an assumption.
When there are lads comparing a push in the back to a spear tackle then you can only wonder who has blinkers on. It's a pity users can't be vetted on this site because the standard of knowledge of some posters is baffling...why bother coming on threads like this if you don't even know basic facts about your own county teams and star players? People with only a remote interest in hurling knows what injury Canning came back from.
I went off this forum for years in the past due to some silly posters and they certainly have returned again.It's next to impossible to have a debate here.

tiobraid (Tipperary) - Posts: 4119 - 30/11/2017 13:56:27    2064116

Replying To PremierGold:  "Barry Kelly with his 18 frees to 6 and failure to send off a player for breaking a helmet never mind interfering with it pushed ye over the line in the semi this year!!"
Doesn't take much for the real Tipp to emerge on here. Enjoy chewing those sour grapes over the winter.

Ailteoir (Galway) - Posts: 863 - 30/11/2017 14:47:38    2064121

Replying To Canuck:  "Another poster put Waterford at 4th. Tipperary and Kilkenny did not win their provence either. If you were to use percentage of wins over losses in championship hurling, Waterford's record over Galway is superior to any one else's. A second string Waterford team ran them around the field at home in the league this year until they decided to take their foot off the pedal. Galway should probably be more concerned running into Waterford than anyone else.
I stayed to applaud Galway at the final. They deservedly beat a Waterford team who did not play at their best with one of the best player side lined and a top forward away. To supplement what was on the field they have to come in defence,McNulty, Lyons, Pendergast, Prunty etc. In attack Devine. Curran, Roche, Foran, Stephen Bennett, Hogan and others. Ian O'Regan is probably the second best keeper in the country. So look out and anyone who discounts Wexford, Limerick and Clare it is at their peril."
A few things on the above post that make absolutely no sense and I cant make head -nor-tail of:

1) "Waterford's record over Galway is superior to any one else's," this cannot be used as a legitimate argument (maybe if these historical matches were over recent years but most of these have some from the 1950's so what this got to do with modern-day hurling?)

2) "A second string Waterford team ran them around the field at home in the league this year," they did for about 20minutes. I was at this game and Galway actually had similar amount of chances but shot a lot of wide's or took poor scoring options and the half-time score is not reflective of the possession within the game. Also Waterford finished the match with one of their strongest teams, look at the final team on the pitch they had sent on all of their 'big-guns' in the 2nd half and it was in fact this strong Waterford team that Galway overturned by over 12 points in the 2nd half. Again, this is a dud point.

I'm sorry I have nothing against Waterford and I had mighty craic with ye up at the AI final, but when these points keep being made for whatever reason and they make zero sense then I just have to put my point across.

The_DOC (Galway) - Posts: 709 - 30/11/2017 15:20:45    2064127

Replying To Ailteoir:  "Doesn't take much for the real Tipp to emerge on here. Enjoy chewing those sour grapes over the winter."
Define the real Tipp...
You take issue with one persons comments and you label the whole county in your head as something that admin probably wouldn't post here. Very grown up of you.

tiobraid (Tipperary) - Posts: 4119 - 30/11/2017 15:38:46    2064132

Replying To tiobraid:  "Define the real Tipp...
You take issue with one persons comments and you label the whole county in your head as something that admin probably wouldn't post here. Very grown up of you."
I think both yourself and the poster I replied to earlier define sadly a streak in some Tipp people that as I remarked earlier, doesn't take a lot to emerge. Take your comment about Hanbury for example earlier in this thread. Bad tackle? Yes. But to follow it up with "It was definitely the most dangerous tackle I've seen on a hurling field", is to put it mildly, ridiculous. We can all pick out bad tackles on YouTube. Bad as Hanbury's was, it wasn't as bad as the John Leahy pull across Pete Finnerty in the '89 semi for example.

Instead of wondering about others with blinkers, you might start with taking your own off first.

Ailteoir (Galway) - Posts: 863 - 30/11/2017 16:49:15    2064140

Replying To Ailteoir:  "Doesn't take much for the real Tipp to emerge on here. Enjoy chewing those sour grapes over the winter."
Prior to this year ye were still chewing grapes since 1989!!
I wont begrudge Galway an AI, it is great to see a team with a couple of AI's get another.
In 1899 we in Tipp felt the same (I presume) when we won our 5th AI.

PremierGold (Tipperary) - Posts: 121 - 30/11/2017 16:49:22    2064141

Replying To PremierGold:  "Prior to this year ye were still chewing grapes since 1989!!
I wont begrudge Galway an AI, it is great to see a team with a couple of AI's get another.
In 1899 we in Tipp felt the same (I presume) when we won our 5th AI."
True, we don't have too many senior hurling All Irelands. But it was clearly too many for a genius like yourself to know we had more than 2 before we won the latest one.

Ailteoir (Galway) - Posts: 863 - 30/11/2017 16:57:52    2064143

Replying To Ailteoir:  "I think both yourself and the poster I replied to earlier define sadly a streak in some Tipp people that as I remarked earlier, doesn't take a lot to emerge. Take your comment about Hanbury for example earlier in this thread. Bad tackle? Yes. But to follow it up with "It was definitely the most dangerous tackle I've seen on a hurling field", is to put it mildly, ridiculous. We can all pick out bad tackles on YouTube. Bad as Hanbury's was, it wasn't as bad as the John Leahy pull across Pete Finnerty in the '89 semi for example.

Instead of wondering about others with blinkers, you might start with taking your own off first."
I was expressing an opinion and if you bothered to look at the youtube link I put up to try prove my opinion then youd see what I meant. We constantly hear rugby commentators saying those type of tackles are career ending. Its a matter of opinion and not a thing got to do with sour grapes as I said I felt Galway deserves to win two of the last three years and to be honest were the better team on the day last year too.
I'm not around long enough to remember the incident you mentioned from Leahy. If it was a head high pull then fair enough...if it wasn't then it was dangerous but we've all received belts of hurls and while dangerous generally doesn't leave any lasting impact. But as I said I didn't see it so if you have a link then maybe I'll change my mind.
We in Tipp are well aware of what some Galway people feel about us and we have heard some of the stuff that apparently went on in the height of the rivalry in the 80's but your comments are pure childish. If you want to debate something then debate it! Do you real think that turning someone and driving them head first into the ground while putting all your weight down on them isn't remotely dangerous?

Everytime a Tipp man comments on Galway it's sour grapes. How come I never had the same issue with KK? Strange worl we live in

tiobraid (Tipperary) - Posts: 4119 - 30/11/2017 17:19:04    2064145

Replying To Ailteoir:  "True, we don't have too many senior hurling All Irelands. But it was clearly too many for a genius like yourself to know we had more than 2 before we won the latest one."
BTW did ye stop with the cup in Westmeath on the way home??Bad form if ye did'nt!!

PremierGold (Tipperary) - Posts: 121 - 30/11/2017 17:20:55    2064147

Replying To tiobraid:  "I was expressing an opinion and if you bothered to look at the youtube link I put up to try prove my opinion then youd see what I meant. We constantly hear rugby commentators saying those type of tackles are career ending. Its a matter of opinion and not a thing got to do with sour grapes as I said I felt Galway deserves to win two of the last three years and to be honest were the better team on the day last year too.
I'm not around long enough to remember the incident you mentioned from Leahy. If it was a head high pull then fair enough...if it wasn't then it was dangerous but we've all received belts of hurls and while dangerous generally doesn't leave any lasting impact. But as I said I didn't see it so if you have a link then maybe I'll change my mind.
We in Tipp are well aware of what some Galway people feel about us and we have heard some of the stuff that apparently went on in the height of the rivalry in the 80's but your comments are pure childish. If you want to debate something then debate it! Do you real think that turning someone and driving them head first into the ground while putting all your weight down on them isn't remotely dangerous?

Everytime a Tipp man comments on Galway it's sour grapes. How come I never had the same issue with KK? Strange worl we live in"
Opinions are fine, we all have them. But when you make sweeping statements like the worst tackle ever, then it's hard to take the opinion seriously. As I said before, a bad tackle from Hanbury, but I'd rather be on the receiving end of it than a dirty belt like the one that Finnerty received.

Ailteoir (Galway) - Posts: 863 - 30/11/2017 17:34:37    2064149

Replying To PremierGold:  "BTW did ye stop with the cup in Westmeath on the way home??Bad form if ye did'nt!!"
I see your ability to count is matched by your ability to spell. But speaking of matters Westmeath, you lost because you weren't good enough on the day.

Ailteoir (Galway) - Posts: 863 - 30/11/2017 17:44:29    2064150

Replying To PremierGold:  "Barry Kelly with his 18 frees to 6 and failure to send off a player for breaking a helmet never mind interfering with it pushed ye over the line in the semi this year!!"
Why don't you cry over it we beat ye fair and square end off.

bud14 (Galway) - Posts: 296 - 30/11/2017 20:50:39    2064169

Look it's very difficult to win back to back All-Ireland's (unless you are Kilkenny) but Galway are in as good a place as any to try. The squad has a fairly young age profile, they haven't lost any players to retirement apart from Cyril Donnellan who was only an occasional sub this year. They will hope to have Paul Killeen back from injury next year and have young players like Thomas Monaghan, Sean Loftus and possibly Jack Canning ready to make the breakthrough. Will they have the same hunger? Very hard to say but they definitely have the talent to repeat next year but the competition will be fierce.

Marooned (Galway) - Posts: 2223 - 03/12/2017 03:42:54    2064293

Replying To Marooned:  "Look it's very difficult to win back to back All-Ireland's (unless you are Kilkenny) but Galway are in as good a place as any to try. The squad has a fairly young age profile, they haven't lost any players to retirement apart from Cyril Donnellan who was only an occasional sub this year. They will hope to have Paul Killeen back from injury next year and have young players like Thomas Monaghan, Sean Loftus and possibly Jack Canning ready to make the breakthrough. Will they have the same hunger? Very hard to say but they definitely have the talent to repeat next year but the competition will be fierce."
Agreed though talent has NEVER been their problem but now that they got the 400 lb gorilla off their backs they may actually hurl better. I don't think I have ever looked forward to the League as much as I'm looking forward to the 2018 League.

Trump2020 (Galway) - Posts: 2135 - 04/12/2017 19:18:44    2064416

Replying To Marooned:  "Look it's very difficult to win back to back All-Ireland's (unless you are Kilkenny) but Galway are in as good a place as any to try. The squad has a fairly young age profile, they haven't lost any players to retirement apart from Cyril Donnellan who was only an occasional sub this year. They will hope to have Paul Killeen back from injury next year and have young players like Thomas Monaghan, Sean Loftus and possibly Jack Canning ready to make the breakthrough. Will they have the same hunger? Very hard to say but they definitely have the talent to repeat next year but the competition will be fierce."
Jack Canning? That's if the Australians don't grab him first!!!

https://www.balls.ie/gaa/galways-jack-canning-among-gaa-prospects-todays-afl-combine-378796

Trump2020 (Galway) - Posts: 2135 - 05/12/2017 23:59:33    2064516

Hard to know if they will, it is hard to retain a title, look at Tipperary. It will be a big test of their resolve and commitment to win in 2018. They will push hard for promotion from division 1B of the league

Tipperary, Cork, Waterford, are their biggest rivals for Liam Mc Carthy next year.

thelongridge (Offaly) - Posts: 1747 - 09/12/2017 15:19:31    2064743

Replying To thelongridge:  "Hard to know if they will, it is hard to retain a title, look at Tipperary. It will be a big test of their resolve and commitment to win in 2018. They will push hard for promotion from division 1B of the league

Tipperary, Cork, Waterford, are their biggest rivals for Liam Mc Carthy next year."
You'd put Cork ahead of Wexford as a threat to Galway?

Trump2020 (Galway) - Posts: 2135 - 09/12/2017 18:05:41    2064746

Replying To Trump2020:  "You'd put Cork ahead of Wexford as a threat to Galway?"
Yes.

thelongridge (Offaly) - Posts: 1747 - 09/12/2017 22:44:26    2064753

Replying To Trump2020:  "You'd put Cork ahead of Wexford as a threat to Galway?"
Well ahead I would think.

Westfester (Limerick) - Posts: 944 - 10/12/2017 00:13:19    2064757