Mageean Cup

Replying To nosides:  "Down were well beat last night only for their number 11 who kept them in the game from frees there scoring from open play was extremely poor and there first touch was poor at this standard.
The complete down half back line was over run and no changes was made here also it looked like down were only playing a 4 man forward line and the Derry school just kept their shape so they just swept up every ball. Down played their 14 & 12 in the back line it's getting like the football get all the players behind the ball very poor management decisions and again the down players not physically strong enough losted most of the dirty ball"
You moan about senior management, you moan about Mageenan management ......why not step up and do something as you seem to have all the solutions. As a matter of interest how did your own club do at u16 and minor this year, the age group these lads are from?

You do know that number 14 was switched to centre back to replace Cathal Coulter going off.....try keep up with the game

As for the frees, reason An Dun got a lot of those was that Maghera were determined to stop Down's running game and fouling the runner was part of that......so while the free taker converted those frees the reality was he wasn't the only one winning them

That team scored 0-23, 2-21, 1-21 and 2-12 in four games that is some return in winter hurling over 60 minute games, they unfortunately lost last night but rubbish talk like poor touch, relying on singular players etc are rubbish as the FACTS suggest otherwise but why use facts when it's easier to make snide remarks about minors behind the anonymity of a keyboard

Well done to the lads, they did us proud as they did all year and will do into the future

PaudieSull1 (Down) - Posts: 738 - 28/10/2017 11:17:52    2058766

Personally i feel for young cathal coulter,in my opinion he is the brightest future in down if not the province,but last night he was badly advised by who ever to cut of his cast and clearly he wasnt comfortable at all,shame really cause hes a real class act,maybe management made his mind up for him???????

crannumber2 (Down) - Posts: 334 - 28/10/2017 11:57:54    2058770

Replying To crannumber2:  "Personally i feel for young cathal coulter,in my opinion he is the brightest future in down if not the province,but last night he was badly advised by who ever to cut of his cast and clearly he wasnt comfortable at all,shame really cause hes a real class act,maybe management made his mind up for him???????"
I agree with your assessment of the young player but surely he didn't remove a cast to play and if he did management have some serious questions to answer.

Profit1 (Antrim) - Posts: 37 - 28/10/2017 12:26:06    2058774

Im led to believe he did remove it

crannumber2 (Down) - Posts: 334 - 28/10/2017 13:34:04    2058781

Replying To crannumber2:  "Im led to believe he did remove it"
He got it removed at the hospital before anyone thinks he done it himself to many stories told on here

Down97 (Down) - Posts: 20 - 28/10/2017 14:59:28    2058791

Credit to the players and management team proud down man at the dub last night watching our lads go toe to toe against a very strong team.. Agree small pitch didn't suit Down due to size but all the same Maghera got nothing easy.. Some begrudgers on here. Future is bright if our Celtic challenge set up is replicated at u21 and senior ages in the future.. Not magic bullet re. s&c to be fair down hurlers and footballers are generally naturally smaller than other counties so all we can do is play to our strengths

dingle82 (Down) - Posts: 213 - 28/10/2017 15:30:40    2058794

Unbelievable down wouldn't have won the game played for a month wake up

Thekid14 (Down) - Posts: 222 - 28/10/2017 22:27:39    2058856

Replying To Thekid14:  "Unbelievable down wouldn't have won the game played for a month wake up"
Not going to single anyone out. Clear favourites on the starting team, who didn't perform on Friday night. Some struggled for pace. As someone else pointed out except for one occasion St. Pats defence won EVERY tussle. What was the bench for. Surely they couldn't have been any worse. The "hard luck" calls from the management after each relatively easy clearance still ringing in my ears.

coalbunker (Down) - Posts: 58 - 29/10/2017 12:58:56    2058936

Pace seen more pace under 14 hurling match. Need clear out top to bottom.

Thekid14 (Down) - Posts: 222 - 31/10/2017 10:50:49    2059239

Replying To Thekid14:  "Pace seen more pace under 14 hurling match. Need clear out top to bottom."
Kid would you wise up seriously .....these young lads were 8 Pts down fought back to be level with 10 mins left but just lost out to a physically stronger side who had six of the Derry minor footballers who reached all Ireland final on the field.....that big game experience and strength told in the end.......that team gave serious pace as they proved at times last week and certainly against Cross and Passion etc....

Pretty clear that some posters here have clear agendas, either not making the team themselves or more likely their sons not making the team........

PaudieSull1 (Down) - Posts: 738 - 31/10/2017 11:45:26    2059260

Some people on here expect too much. It's County Down not Kilkenny, we are CENTURIES behind the rest.

RedDog68 (Down) - Posts: 291 - 31/10/2017 13:16:30    2059282

What was the management team ?

cahill (None) - Posts: 2567 - 31/10/2017 16:26:51    2059326

I am watching hurling a lot longer than anybody on this group down hurling is at rock bottom lads playing full forward line other night at dub take them week to get turned. Not big enuf very slow sick work mile of the pace of the game. Won't be commenting on this page again facts plan to be seen

Thekid14 (Down) - Posts: 222 - 31/10/2017 16:48:10    2059336

Anyone who watched the mageean cup this year would know that the one thing down forwards did have was pace. That statement was ridiculous.

BigJoeRabbitte (Down) - Posts: 15 - 02/11/2017 21:04:18    2059873

I said full forward line u not at the game

Thekid14 (Down) - Posts: 222 - 02/11/2017 21:35:07    2059887