Meath 2018

Replying To Royalio11:  "The way the League has gone for the last number of years, teams wishing to be promoted cannot afford to lose more than one game i.e drop 2 points

A step too far I reckon and I can see Meath finishing 3rd again. It just seems we are the Bridesmaids of Division 2

Realistically, if this team wants to be recognised the push to Div.1.

It has been an eternity since we have been a top player in the league"
Losing just two games and winning the rest will get us promoted just as it would of done the last four years, a realistic target in my opinion.

Royal.Legend (Meath) - Posts: 665 - 11/01/2018 21:29:42    2067877

Replying To pauk123:  "The only focus for this year is the league. Fitness and game readiness the entire focus of the squad is geared solely on Roscommon. I think that's why you are seeing relatively strong starting lineups in the OBC. A couple of wins starting out against Roscommon and Clare we'll be on our way."
Won't get within 5 points of us in the opener.

OhtobeARossie (Roscommon) - Posts: 1764 - 11/01/2018 22:19:05    2067882

Replying To OhtobeARossie:  "Won't get within 5 points of us in the opener."
Roscommon are favourites no doubt. They have good experience of winning and have had dv1 football.

ziggy320001 (Meath) - Posts: 2432 - 11/01/2018 22:41:44    2067888

There has been some criticism of Andy McEntee on this message. Overall what I have heard is a lot of positives coming from the camp. Joe Sheridan backed this up wth an interview on LMFM. Joe Sheridan interview on LMFM. Its very good Joe talks about his career in the jersey under Boylan to McEntee. Its a great summation of 15 years of Meath football. Actually anyone interested in modern player from any county should listen to it. I have written the link below

https://soundcloud.com/lmfmradio/sunday-sport-joe-sheridan-in-studio

He is highly positive about Andy. He believes his man management skills are excellent, the word he uses is incredible. Something other inter county players have said before. Michael Dara Mcauley was full of praise for Andy when he was in charge of Bodens, said he was top class manger. And Conal Keaney Dublin best dual player of recent times said Andy was the best manager he worked with .Keaney would have been managed by Paul Caffrey Pat Gilroy and Anthony Daly. All three highly regarded managers. I think there is near 40 or 50 players on a panel now. As Joe says in the interview your not going to keep everyone happy. That's correct. Theres always going to one or to disgruntled players. But overall I have heard some bad stories from Meath camps in recent years regards manager. Anything I have heard about McEntee has been hugely positive with words like very professional.

Points Joe Makes/Spoiler Alert

1 The team he belonged to underachieved from 2007 to 2010.
2 He talks about all the management team Barry Coyle O Dowd etc. And Sean of course was the best manager he ever played under.
3 Praises McEntees man management skills, calls him incredible. A good sign for the future.

And regards players leaving , this is happening everywhere . Wexford and other have had players leaving this season. And Down Derry and Laois are other couties with players leaving panels in recent . The training players have to go through now is incredible.
The Meath players who left where for work and college reasons and veterans retiring eg O Rourke and Sheridan. Only 1 first team regular has left eg Harnan. With the return of Rooney and Mckeever and other news additions to the squad ( Andy has 13 players on the panel that have never played for Meath before 2018 Byrne cup). I think the loses are dealt with as in the additions to the panel have replaced any loses .

Furlong1949 (Meath) - Posts: 1067 - 11/01/2018 22:46:16    2067890

Replying To OhtobeARossie:  "Won't get within 5 points of us in the opener."
Thats fighting talk ohtobeaRossie, really looking forward to this game a win here for meath would be massive, I'm going for a two point win for the royals, on paper this game and Cavan away I think will be the toughest two games in div 2 for meath.

Royal.Legend (Meath) - Posts: 665 - 11/01/2018 22:52:20    2067891

A couple points regarding our team

Regards Centre back, it has been a problem since Enda McManus. Players from other teams running up the middle of the defence has occurred over and over again . Power is a natural holding centee back. I would leave him there. Conlon is an option also. But I think we might need him in midfield. I think we need a more defensive holding centre back. And I think Power is that. Basically we need a Ger Brennan type center back not an attacking Cian Sullivan type.

At Midfield Flanagan has potential. But he has not found any decent form since doing his cruciate. Menton showed leadership and maturity last year. But his best position is wing back. But we need him in the middle.

Rooneys return is vital. With the mark and kickouts to 20 metres line next seaaon. Having a high fielding midfielder is now essential. We have not had a top class midfielder since McDermont. Gillespie was a great prospect and I think he could have become a top class midfielder. It's no coincidence the last good year we had was in 2013 when we had a strong midfield partnership with Gillespie and Meade at the center. So many of our defeats in recent times have been games where we have had trouble at centre field. Eg second half v Cork 07 second half v kildare 2010 and Westmeath in 2015. And many more games also. Until we have a strong partnership at center field and improve at breaking ball, we will be not be progressing. Rooney has potential and is a natural midfielder. And one of the reasons we lost v kildare last year was Feehily dominating the midfield sector. We had no one to compete with him in the high fielding department. Rooney would improve this area of the field for us.

Brian Conlon has been top class for his club in the last 2 seasons. In his cameos for the county, he has been excellent. He looks like he could be a big player for us in coming years. We need to find his best position. We will probaly play him at midfield until Rooney returns to full fitness. Wing back for me would be his best position.

Mckeever has been the best club forward in the county for the last 2 seasons. I think he could form a good partnership with Lenihan. I would also consider playing Sullivan in the full forward line. He is a top class act. But we need to get the best out of him. Eamon Wallace has had a good season for his club. If he can return to the form of 2013 that would be a massive plus. Bryan McMahon is one of the best natural inside forwards we have. He has shown some real good form in the championship already v Carlow in 2014 and Westmeath first half in 2015. He has been hampered by injuries. But I think he has potential.

Ben Brennan played well v Carlow. Was always looking for the ball. And was aggressive in the tackle. I think he could be a player to watch out for. Could be and should be a starter v Roscommon. Himself and Forde could be very useful on the half forward line. I like Forde. I think he is a player we have been crying out for. A Paul Galvin /Brian Dooher type player. Forde can score but he also can get back to defend and tackle . His return in the late Spring will be a massive addition.

G Reilly is a very talented footballer. Unlucky to be around at a low ebb for the footballers. He is apable of destroying an opposition team. But I do get the feeling he has maybe two seasons left as a first team regular. As good as an attacking wing forward in the last few years in div 4 div 3 or div 2. But yet has to do it v Dublin to be considered a Meath great. But we still rely on him. We need more players standing up in the forwards. Lenihan is. Brennan looks promising. Hopefully Mckeever hits the ground running.

I think we have the making of a good team with players like Keoghan McGill Conlon Menton Rooney Sullivan Lenihan Mckeever Forde J McEntee Reilly. We have one of the young teams in the country. And this has been a disadvantage recently. Sometimes I have seen us play games where in the half back line Midfield and half foward line, we only had player in the 20 to 22 age group. Most players peak at 27. Thr Galway team that won liam last year. The average age of the team was 27. Ww have allot of players around the 23 24 age group. These players will hittheir peak in 2020 2021 2022. I can see Meath making a bigger impact in the championship then. Also at the start of the next decade Dublin could be weaker with the retirement of all time greats like Brogan Cluxton Connolly Flynn and McMahon.

The key to sucess is keeping Andy McEntee in charge for 4 or 5 years at least. When these players peak( many of them from Andys minor team of 2011) , we need Andy in charge. This will take time. We need patience. Andy is the best manager we have had since Boylan. But there is no quick fix. We don't have the underage sucess other young teams have had like Galway Tyrone Roscommon Kildare and Cavan. Many of our players have had bad experiences at underage level and senior level in the Meath jersey. It will take time to build the players up mentally.

I thought there was improvements last year in the area of fitness and stopping the second half collapses. Leaving the kildare game to one side. We finished every game strongly. And the second half collapses stopped. We have had this problem of second half collapses since Boylan left. For example Cork 07 Wexford 08 Kildare 2010 Westmeath 2015 and many more games we had very poor second half's. We even had the first proper Meath comeback in a long time when we're losing by 9 to Cork in the league and drew the game.

The kildare performances coloured many peoples opinion of the season. Kildare are a year ahead of us in development. While the result was a continuation of results, Kildare have had over Meath teams at minor and under 21 level. Kildare do have a tendency to up their game big time when they see the green and gold of Meath. Overall the gap between Kildare and Meath is not as big as people think. If the game was in Croke Park the game would have been much closer ( Croke Park is a nightmare for Kildare at the moment 5 loses in Croker in the last 2 year's. Followed beforehand by record defeats in Croker to Kerry and Dublin). And remeber Kildare played Gakway twice last year and lost on both accounts. You would expect Galway then to beat Meath. Instead Meath defeated Galway this year and drew last year v Galway and in the previous 5 or 6 meetings Meath have only been beaten once by Gakway.

The media have always upgraded Kildare and downgraded Meath. How come when Meath lose by 10 points to Dublin in 2016 it is a hammering. Yet when kildare lose to Dublin by 9 points, it's not. Kildare were not hammered by 9 points but their performance was celebrated in the media. Meaths performance in 2012 and 13 v Dublin where better then Kildares last year. Meath where ahead in 2013 at half time ( Kildare were never ahead). Meath lost by 3 points in 2012 . Yet the performance of Kildare . a 9 points defeat was more acclaimed in the media. The media always hype Kildare. The gap between us and Kildare is closer then people think.

Overall I think we will be much stronger in the coming years. Last year was always going to be tough. Nearly all manager's have a bad first year. For example Cian O Neill Kevin Walsh Donal Kingston Michael Donoghue Pat Gilroy Jimmy Barry Murphy Nicholas English Eugene McGee and many many more have had dreadful first years starts. It was not til the second year and sometimes in to the third year things turned and all the above managers turned things around. Remeber it took Sean Boylan 4 years to turn Martin O Connell liam Hayes Colm O Rourke Mick Lyons and Brian Stafford into winners.

It was highly unlikely that Andy would have made a massive impact last year. He was only getting to know the players. I think this year could be tough as well. We have Roscommon in the first match in the Hyde . A game Meath will be underdogs and a game we nearly have to win. The only way our team will develop is in Division 1.We have not been in divsion 1 since 2007. And have only played their once since 2001. That stat alone explains why we have had little sucess in the last while. Get promoted to div 1 and stay there and we will win a leinster title, it will happen.

So it so important we have the McEntees in charge in 2020 when our players mature. We have a very small team in stature. The last time we made a serious impact in the championship was 09 and 2010. We had a big powerful team then. When these players reached 26 27 28 they will be much better in the tackle and able to with the physicality of Dublin and Ulster teams. Our record v Ulster teams is shocking. In the last 15 years we have been knocked out of the championship 7 times by Ulster teams eg Cavan Fermanagh Armagh Derry Donegal Tyrone ( twice). We have found it hard to deal with the physicality of Ulster teams but also the sweeper and blanket defence. Even last night we seemed to have problems v Carlow defence. We seem you fall between two stools 1 Trying to play a possession game.2 Trying to play a traditional game. We end up playing neither. And our game suffers. Until we get structure to our game, we are going nowhere. Play the modern way like Dublin. But overall I am optimistic and looking forward to 2018.

Furlong1949 (Meath) - Posts: 1067 - 11/01/2018 23:00:10    2067893

Jaysus that was a long post but fair play!

Yeah I don't think we will get promoted this year tbh. People think it's an easier league than last year but that's not true at all.
Roscommon are as good as Galway. Cavan as good as Kildare. I think Cork are stronger this year and Tipp are better than Derry. Down have improved too. Also we play away to Rossies and Cavan.
I said when Andy came that it would be year 3 when we look to make serious moves and I stand by that..

ziggy320001 (Meath) - Posts: 2432 - 12/01/2018 08:27:13    2067906

Replying To Furlong1949:  "A couple points regarding our team

Regards Centre back, it has been a problem since Enda McManus. Players from other teams running up the middle of the defence has occurred over and over again . Power is a natural holding centee back. I would leave him there. Conlon is an option also. But I think we might need him in midfield. I think we need a more defensive holding centre back. And I think Power is that. Basically we need a Ger Brennan type center back not an attacking Cian Sullivan type.

At Midfield Flanagan has potential. But he has not found any decent form since doing his cruciate. Menton showed leadership and maturity last year. But his best position is wing back. But we need him in the middle.

Rooneys return is vital. With the mark and kickouts to 20 metres line next seaaon. Having a high fielding midfielder is now essential. We have not had a top class midfielder since McDermont. Gillespie was a great prospect and I think he could have become a top class midfielder. It's no coincidence the last good year we had was in 2013 when we had a strong midfield partnership with Gillespie and Meade at the center. So many of our defeats in recent times have been games where we have had trouble at centre field. Eg second half v Cork 07 second half v kildare 2010 and Westmeath in 2015. And many more games also. Until we have a strong partnership at center field and improve at breaking ball, we will be not be progressing. Rooney has potential and is a natural midfielder. And one of the reasons we lost v kildare last year was Feehily dominating the midfield sector. We had no one to compete with him in the high fielding department. Rooney would improve this area of the field for us.

Brian Conlon has been top class for his club in the last 2 seasons. In his cameos for the county, he has been excellent. He looks like he could be a big player for us in coming years. We need to find his best position. We will probaly play him at midfield until Rooney returns to full fitness. Wing back for me would be his best position.

Mckeever has been the best club forward in the county for the last 2 seasons. I think he could form a good partnership with Lenihan. I would also consider playing Sullivan in the full forward line. He is a top class act. But we need to get the best out of him. Eamon Wallace has had a good season for his club. If he can return to the form of 2013 that would be a massive plus. Bryan McMahon is one of the best natural inside forwards we have. He has shown some real good form in the championship already v Carlow in 2014 and Westmeath first half in 2015. He has been hampered by injuries. But I think he has potential.

Ben Brennan played well v Carlow. Was always looking for the ball. And was aggressive in the tackle. I think he could be a player to watch out for. Could be and should be a starter v Roscommon. Himself and Forde could be very useful on the half forward line. I like Forde. I think he is a player we have been crying out for. A Paul Galvin /Brian Dooher type player. Forde can score but he also can get back to defend and tackle . His return in the late Spring will be a massive addition.

G Reilly is a very talented footballer. Unlucky to be around at a low ebb for the footballers. He is apable of destroying an opposition team. But I do get the feeling he has maybe two seasons left as a first team regular. As good as an attacking wing forward in the last few years in div 4 div 3 or div 2. But yet has to do it v Dublin to be considered a Meath great. But we still rely on him. We need more players standing up in the forwards. Lenihan is. Brennan looks promising. Hopefully Mckeever hits the ground running.

I think we have the making of a good team with players like Keoghan McGill Conlon Menton Rooney Sullivan Lenihan Mckeever Forde J McEntee Reilly. We have one of the young teams in the country. And this has been a disadvantage recently. Sometimes I have seen us play games where in the half back line Midfield and half foward line, we only had player in the 20 to 22 age group. Most players peak at 27. Thr Galway team that won liam last year. The average age of the team was 27. Ww have allot of players around the 23 24 age group. These players will hittheir peak in 2020 2021 2022. I can see Meath making a bigger impact in the championship then. Also at the start of the next decade Dublin could be weaker with the retirement of all time greats like Brogan Cluxton Connolly Flynn and McMahon.

The key to sucess is keeping Andy McEntee in charge for 4 or 5 years at least. When these players peak( many of them from Andys minor team of 2011) , we need Andy in charge. This will take time. We need patience. Andy is the best manager we have had since Boylan. But there is no quick fix. We don't have the underage sucess other young teams have had like Galway Tyrone Roscommon Kildare and Cavan. Many of our players have had bad experiences at underage level and senior level in the Meath jersey. It will take time to build the players up mentally.

I thought there was improvements last year in the area of fitness and stopping the second half collapses. Leaving the kildare game to one side. We finished every game strongly. And the second half collapses stopped. We have had this problem of second half collapses since Boylan left. For example Cork 07 Wexford 08 Kildare 2010 Westmeath 2015 and many more games we had very poor second half's. We even had the first proper Meath comeback in a long time when we're losing by 9 to Cork in the league and drew the game.

The kildare performances coloured many peoples opinion of the season. Kildare are a year ahead of us in development. While the result was a continuation of results, Kildare have had over Meath teams at minor and under 21 level. Kildare do have a tendency to up their game big time when they see the green and gold of Meath. Overall the gap between Kildare and Meath is not as big as people think. If the game was in Croke Park the game would have been much closer ( Croke Park is a nightmare for Kildare at the moment 5 loses in Croker in the last 2 year's. Followed beforehand by record defeats in Croker to Kerry and Dublin). And remeber Kildare played Gakway twice last year and lost on both accounts. You would expect Galway then to beat Meath. Instead Meath defeated Galway this year and drew last year v Galway and in the previous 5 or 6 meetings Meath have only been beaten once by Gakway.

The media have always upgraded Kildare and downgraded Meath. How come when Meath lose by 10 points to Dublin in 2016 it is a hammering. Yet when kildare lose to Dublin by 9 points, it's not. Kildare were not hammered by 9 points but their performance was celebrated in the media. Meaths performance in 2012 and 13 v Dublin where better then Kildares last year. Meath where ahead in 2013 at half time ( Kildare were never ahead). Meath lost by 3 points in 2012 . Yet the performance of Kildare . a 9 points defeat was more acclaimed in the media. The media always hype Kildare. The gap between us and Kildare is closer then people think.

Overall I think we will be much stronger in the coming years. Last year was always going to be tough. Nearly all manager's have a bad first year. For example Cian O Neill Kevin Walsh Donal Kingston Michael Donoghue Pat Gilroy Jimmy Barry Murphy Nicholas English Eugene McGee and many many more have had dreadful first years starts. It was not til the second year and sometimes in to the third year things turned and all the above managers turned things around. Remeber it took Sean Boylan 4 years to turn Martin O Connell liam Hayes Colm O Rourke Mick Lyons and Brian Stafford into winners.

It was highly unlikely that Andy would have made a massive impact last year. He was only getting to know the players. I think this year could be tough as well. We have Roscommon in the first match in the Hyde . A game Meath will be underdogs and a game we nearly have to win. The only way our team will develop is in Division 1.We have not been in divsion 1 since 2007. And have only played their once since 2001. That stat alone explains why we have had little sucess in the last while. Get promoted to div 1 and stay there and we will win a leinster title, it will happen.

So it so important we have the McEntees in charge in 2020 when our players mature. We have a very small team in stature. The last time we made a serious impact in the championship was 09 and 2010. We had a big powerful team then. When these players reached 26 27 28 they will be much better in the tackle and able to with the physicality of Dublin and Ulster teams. Our record v Ulster teams is shocking. In the last 15 years we have been knocked out of the championship 7 times by Ulster teams eg Cavan Fermanagh Armagh Derry Donegal Tyrone ( twice). We have found it hard to deal with the physicality of Ulster teams but also the sweeper and blanket defence. Even last night we seemed to have problems v Carlow defence. We seem you fall between two stools 1 Trying to play a possession game.2 Trying to play a traditional game. We end up playing neither. And our game suffers. Until we get structure to our game, we are going nowhere. Play the modern way like Dublin. But overall I am optimistic and looking forward to 2018."
Fair play, that is a honest and truthful post I have seen on here in many a long time.
Particularly the perceived gap between us and Kildare, to use a horse racing term the form doesn't suggest it is that wide. However they are slightly ahead of us, we have a tough div 2 this year. Far tougher than last, however I think we will just squeeze a promotion, no more than 2 defeat and I think we will get it

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 12/01/2018 09:16:01    2067911

Replying To royaldunne:  "Fair play, that is a honest and truthful post I have seen on here in many a long time.
Particularly the perceived gap between us and Kildare, to use a horse racing term the form doesn't suggest it is that wide. However they are slightly ahead of us, we have a tough div 2 this year. Far tougher than last, however I think we will just squeeze a promotion, no more than 2 defeat and I think we will get it"
Kildare are only slightly ahead of us? Get a grip and look at the two hammerings they gave us last year. Time for a bit of realism RD.

RoylerKing (Meath) - Posts: 809 - 12/01/2018 09:41:35    2067918

So it so important we have the McEntees in charge in 2020 when our players mature. We have a very small team in stature. The last time we made a serious impact in the championship was 09 and 2010. We had a big powerful team then. When these players reached 26 27 28 they will be much better in the tackle and able to with the physicality of Dublin and Ulster teams. Our record v Ulster teams is shocking. In the last 15 years we have been knocked out of the championship 7 times by Ulster teams eg Cavan Fermanagh Armagh Derry Donegal Tyrone ( twice). We have found it hard to deal with the physicality of Ulster teams but also the sweeper and blanket defence. Even last night we seemed to have problems v Carlow defence. We seem you fall between two stools 1 Trying to play a possession game.2 Trying to play a traditional game. We end up playing neither. And our game suffers. Until we get structure to our game, we are going nowhere. Play the modern way like Dublin. But overall I am optimistic and looking forward to 2018."
That's a great post. I think patience is key!

GlasgowRoyal (Meath) - Posts: 293 - 12/01/2018 10:53:49    2067934

Excellent post Furlong1949. Fair play. So much truth in that. Patience is key if we are to progress.

Loyalroyal17 (Meath) - Posts: 627 - 12/01/2018 11:44:38    2067943

Just a question...

Why do people think dv2 is easier this year?

ziggy320001 (Meath) - Posts: 2432 - 12/01/2018 11:50:53    2067946

Replying To ziggy320001:  "Just a question...

Why do people think dv2 is easier this year?"
Do they? I certainly don't, but I've faith in Andy that he can achieve promotion.

GlasgowRoyal (Meath) - Posts: 293 - 12/01/2018 12:05:23    2067949

Replying To Loyalroyal17:  "You know something we dont know about Captaincy?? There has been no mention on last two programs of who is but im presuming its still Biggy?"
No more than anyone else - but I do find it surprising when a Manager commits to a Captain for afull season as generally the expectation is that teh Captain then has to start! I suspect Andy will want to see who is in form and who is likely to be a regular starter before committing. Biggy is probably in the driving seat - but what happens if his form is awful through the league!

Royalblufill (Meath) - Posts: 475 - 12/01/2018 12:30:28    2067950

Great post!

One player you didn't mention is Joey Wallace! He was injured for most of last year - I went to the Tones Ratoath q final and he was by far Ratoaths best player! Tones coped very well with the older Wallace but struggled with Joey. He reminds me of Bernard Flynn a bit! I was in Dunganny recently and he looks a lot stronger than he did when I last saw him close up last year!

Royalblufill (Meath) - Posts: 475 - 12/01/2018 12:39:15    2067951

Replying To Royalblufill:  "No more than anyone else - but I do find it surprising when a Manager commits to a Captain for afull season as generally the expectation is that teh Captain then has to start! I suspect Andy will want to see who is in form and who is likely to be a regular starter before committing. Biggy is probably in the driving seat - but what happens if his form is awful through the league!"
Thats a risk id say Andy will have to take keeping him as Captain. Id imagine Biggy has learned alot from last year so id have high expectations from him this year if he is kept Captain. In all honesty i dont see who he can give it to.

Loyalroyal17 (Meath) - Posts: 627 - 12/01/2018 13:51:55    2067962

Replying To Loyalroyal17:  "Thats a risk id say Andy will have to take keeping him as Captain. Id imagine Biggy has learned alot from last year so id have high expectations from him this year if he is kept Captain. In all honesty i dont see who he can give it to."
Personally I think Bryan Menton would be our best choice for Captain - Almost a guaranted starter if fit (nobody is 100% guaranteed obviously but hes a close as anyone) rarely has a poor game and never hides or gives less than his all even when the chips are down. Against Kildare last year, despite us being dominated I felt he was one of our better players.

Micky Burke is the other choice for me but not a dead cert to play every game in the way I would see Menton. I just don't see Biggy as a leader....a highly talented individual who when on form is dynamite, but hes not consistant enough or motivating enough for those around him in my opinon.

ratlag (Meath) - Posts: 557 - 12/01/2018 14:27:30    2067968

Replying To Loyalroyal17:  "Thats a risk id say Andy will have to take keeping him as Captain. Id imagine Biggy has learned alot from last year so id have high expectations from him this year if he is kept Captain. In all honesty i dont see who he can give it to."
It's tough because by and large you expect your County Captain to start all the important games. Maybe Menton and Burke would be contenders, but would they start every game? Keogan would I'd imagine, but he's had it before.

GlasgowRoyal (Meath) - Posts: 293 - 12/01/2018 14:28:26    2067969

Replying To ratlag:  "Personally I think Bryan Menton would be our best choice for Captain - Almost a guaranted starter if fit (nobody is 100% guaranteed obviously but hes a close as anyone) rarely has a poor game and never hides or gives less than his all even when the chips are down. Against Kildare last year, despite us being dominated I felt he was one of our better players.

Micky Burke is the other choice for me but not a dead cert to play every game in the way I would see Menton. I just don't see Biggy as a leader....a highly talented individual who when on form is dynamite, but hes not consistant enough or motivating enough for those around him in my opinon."
Agree, when things go wrong Menton does not hide. He has very good games, but when he doesn't he keeps going, hallmarks of a captain imo.

ziggy320001 (Meath) - Posts: 2432 - 12/01/2018 14:40:38    2067973

Furlong1949 (Meath) - very long post with a lot of detail and points made -some of which could be questioned. On one point as an example! Big O'Rourke was the best and most important player the senior champs have had over the last two years. I'm not aware of any forwards of the calibre of Dooher or Galvin on the panel yet. I do agree that players do not reach their full potential until 27 (and sometimes later). One Dublin player recently retired having won all his 5AI's between 30 and 35. Over the last 1-3 years promotion was missed by very narrow margins and sometimes a little bit of luck is needed.

browncows (Meath) - Posts: 2342 - 12/01/2018 17:14:19    2067992