Wexford hurling 2018

you are right in part finch,but galway arent trimming leinster counties.
being honest,i think galway have added to,not taken from,our province.look at the u21 final we had.
i think cork are too good for everyone in u21.they have destroyed all before them in munster.

state of the art facilities never won anything hurling is a game of skills.plenty of clubs in wexford have great facilities and win nout.because club down the road has something,we need it too is the wrong mentality.

rathnure for example won more when they had lesser facilities.buffers alley same.kilanerin and duffry likewise the football

perfect10 (Wexford) - Posts: 3929 - 06/08/2018 12:57:49    2129967

It's funny reading about spending the Davy money on a top class coaching!

Is that not exactly what Davy Fitz is? Multiple title winner as coach and manager at different levels?

If people want to help out Wexford gaa football and hurling then go down your club and help out. It's amazing when he talk to people who give you reams of advice about what needs to be done and you ask them what do they do themselves in their club and they tell ye nothing, sure I don't have the time, sure there's bigger issues than me not doing something in the club etc etc.

Do the courses that are available, take on the underage teams. Go into the schools, rather than taking the easy way out and amalgamating with another club go out and knock on doors to get chaps who may have given up playing again. Educate yourself, a quick google alone bring ye down literally hundreds of sources online to help with every type of coaching you can imagine.

It's the clubs that produce players, everything else helps them such as Centre's of excellence etc but 90 plus walkovers in Wexford since the 1st of June tells you all that's wrong with Wexford gaa.

tearintom (Wexford) - Posts: 1351 - 06/08/2018 13:09:42    2129977

Lads don't always blame the underage coaches and lack of work in the clubs, lots of posters here wanted an all Ireland winning manager who was going to solve all our problems... ? A high profile manager.. our former chairman who secured Davy said we would win an all Ireland within two years .. the marvelous achievements in staying in 1 A, after the players were flogged over the winter period, for the last two years. When we got to the league semi finals, teams had caught up with us, and we had v poor performances. The all ireland championships will come from div 1 B for the second year in a row. 3 of the last 4 years the league champions have come from div 1 B. And we think it's great progress being in 1 A, think we need a reality check and revisit our goals.

castletownman (Wexford) - Posts: 262 - 06/08/2018 19:30:51    2130142

If these players make themselves available they should be added to squad next year. Ian byrne, podge Doran, Andrew shore, Jack guiney, James Breen
Under 21 to look at; Casey, byrne, carthy, Joe o connor, Higgins
then club form: ross banville has really caught my eye this year and there are also a few more that were mentioned before.
if Davy stays he needs to do a few things: strengthen the panel, go and approach these players mentioned above ,experiment in Walsh cup and try lads in league, not just stick to the same 18/19 players and peak for championship. Not the league, the league doesn't matter that much really.

hunting (Wexford) - Posts: 952 - 08/08/2018 10:20:21    2130747

Replying To hunting:  "If these players make themselves available they should be added to squad next year. Ian byrne, podge Doran, Andrew shore, Jack guiney, James Breen
Under 21 to look at; Casey, byrne, carthy, Joe o connor, Higgins
then club form: ross banville has really caught my eye this year and there are also a few more that were mentioned before.
if Davy stays he needs to do a few things: strengthen the panel, go and approach these players mentioned above ,experiment in Walsh cup and try lads in league, not just stick to the same 18/19 players and peak for championship. Not the league, the league doesn't matter that much really."
players will not always want,or be able,to commit though.some dont have the time,some dont have the interest,some dont have the commitment,some the $15k in the usa for hurling is just to enticing.
many of the first list,left at their own volition.
one of the above is not involved,it could be libel if i put the reason why he is not playing but i would say if you ask around you will find why
if we have learned 2/3 things this year.
- 1. hurling is now a 20-25 man game,and in 2 years of davy we have about 18-19.more blood needed.
- 2. forget the league,try to stay in 1a but it cant be our #1 priority.win 1-2 games and we are ok.
- 3. a sweeper gets found out by the best teams.
- 4. when we get the ball,we move it well,but we take to many balls into contact and get turned over.
- 5. we need a 90% free taker,and a line ball specialist.i think seamus casey is the man here.
- 6. we cant flog players in december/january and expect them not to be leggy and tired in july.whoever is doing our s&c work needs to look at us this year.

perfect10 (Wexford) - Posts: 3929 - 08/08/2018 12:47:41    2130809

Wexford fans are hilarious at times too.

We dont want to parachute in the 96 crew. We dont want coaches who never played the game. Building dressing rooms and improving grounds affected Rathnure/Alley etc. Building massive developments and new grounds didnt affect the Martins, Horeswood, Oulart or any of the other clubs who improved their grounds. You cant on one hand blame clubs for investing in their grounds, ensuring they keep numbers up and then end up going through lean periods and say they should have spent it on coaching. The Martins have one of the finest set ups around, the grounds didnt affect them.

As for the full time paid coaches, they are more qualified than plenty of lads who know how to get a shot away under pressure. And most of them have (and some still do) played to a decent level. The Tusla coaches are there for support, not to be relied on. And stories of 14 year old girls holding cul camp training sessions? There are trained coaches at every camp to support numbers. Clubs then can provide their own helpers. Never can a group be left with just helpers. Now I dont think that every coach there is world class, most are college students doing summer jobs, but even so, what are we expecting here?

The county off season is always ripe for this sort of stuff. Again, Ross Banville scores a crap load for the Shels and talks of him being brought into the seniors. He was a minor last year and wasnt even on this years U21 panel. Give the lad a chance to develop, he is still very young and light. This expectation we put on lads with no realism is just nuts.

james2011 (Wexford) - Posts: 602 - 08/08/2018 17:01:22    2130909

Replying To james2011:  "Wexford fans are hilarious at times too.

We dont want to parachute in the 96 crew. We dont want coaches who never played the game. Building dressing rooms and improving grounds affected Rathnure/Alley etc. Building massive developments and new grounds didnt affect the Martins, Horeswood, Oulart or any of the other clubs who improved their grounds. You cant on one hand blame clubs for investing in their grounds, ensuring they keep numbers up and then end up going through lean periods and say they should have spent it on coaching. The Martins have one of the finest set ups around, the grounds didnt affect them.

As for the full time paid coaches, they are more qualified than plenty of lads who know how to get a shot away under pressure. And most of them have (and some still do) played to a decent level. The Tusla coaches are there for support, not to be relied on. And stories of 14 year old girls holding cul camp training sessions? There are trained coaches at every camp to support numbers. Clubs then can provide their own helpers. Never can a group be left with just helpers. Now I dont think that every coach there is world class, most are college students doing summer jobs, but even so, what are we expecting here?

The county off season is always ripe for this sort of stuff. Again, Ross Banville scores a crap load for the Shels and talks of him being brought into the seniors. He was a minor last year and wasnt even on this years U21 panel. Give the lad a chance to develop, he is still very young and light. This expectation we put on lads with no realism is just nuts."
Youre 100% right. Young lads need time to develop. But if they r good enough then the league is the best place for them to develop. Especially in 1a. Most of Galways team developed there. And all the other top teams. Limerick have an unreal bunch of underage players coming through which is why they have done well this year. Also their senior club championship has been very competitive which has helped bring their young hurlers on. Hopefully our lads getting another season in 1a will help them especially with basic ball skills and confidence in themselves. I still think nerves are affecting us though. If you tire yourself out mentally for the week before a match you will look leggy during it. I dont think winter physical fitness or winter training really affects July fitness either for good or bad. The lads probably need some talks from top professional athletes on how they switch off between games. And as an aside I hope Davy stays. He has proved himself 1 of the top coaches in the country. And all the players seem to want him to stay too.

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 12053 - 08/08/2018 18:14:04    2130943

Replying To castletownman:  "Lads don't always blame the underage coaches and lack of work in the clubs, lots of posters here wanted an all Ireland winning manager who was going to solve all our problems... ? A high profile manager.. our former chairman who secured Davy said we would win an all Ireland within two years .. the marvelous achievements in staying in 1 A, after the players were flogged over the winter period, for the last two years. When we got to the league semi finals, teams had caught up with us, and we had v poor performances. The all ireland championships will come from div 1 B for the second year in a row. 3 of the last 4 years the league champions have come from div 1 B. And we think it's great progress being in 1 A, think we need a reality check and revisit our goals."
To develop a team that has won nothing on a national level you need to be playing against the top teams in order for their development. You also gain confidence from beating these sides so it is important for a county like ourselves who have a limited enough panel to be playing at that level. Plus the county board need the revenue from the big home league games which they will not get in 1B. I agree that our main aim has to be the championship next year but with Davy most likely leaving, looks like another season of rebuilding under a new coach. That will probably mean another season emphasized on the league.

Finchfurlong996 (Wexford) - Posts: 255 - 08/08/2018 20:35:02    2130995

Replying To Finchfurlong996:  "To develop a team that has won nothing on a national level you need to be playing against the top teams in order for their development. You also gain confidence from beating these sides so it is important for a county like ourselves who have a limited enough panel to be playing at that level. Plus the county board need the revenue from the big home league games which they will not get in 1B. I agree that our main aim has to be the championship next year but with Davy most likely leaving, looks like another season of rebuilding under a new coach. That will probably mean another season emphasized on the league."
Theoretically that is correct, however statistically and from a strategic plan for the team the 'gaining of experience in 1A' is nice but not necessary... the full year cycle needs to be strategically planned, not a saving of face exercise, and get a few wins under our belt approach. The team needs a real leader to anchor and steady the ship.

castletownman (Wexford) - Posts: 262 - 09/08/2018 00:12:37    2131086

Don't know how true or untrue it is but saw on another forum claims Davy is staying and will be over the u20s aswel

bostonredsox (Wexford) - Posts: 4368 - 13/08/2018 01:10:50    2132496

Replying To wexico15:  "Don't know how true or untrue it is but saw on another forum claims Davy is staying and will be over the u20s aswel"
i heard last night he wasnt coming back......but i didnt know the man who said it.

perfect10 (Wexford) - Posts: 3929 - 14/08/2018 11:24:15    2133109

Davy on board again

lochgarmanabu (Wexford) - Posts: 1020 - 14/08/2018 12:46:13    2133158

Great news Davy is staying. Good sign that the man has a plan and he has confidence in the team- because whatever he is or isnt he HATES losing!

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 12053 - 14/08/2018 12:47:40    2133161

i will vet my sources before i post!

perfect10 (Wexford) - Posts: 3929 - 14/08/2018 13:43:52    2133186

Probably good news overall, but the gameplan and blooding of new players, as well as the team itself, needs a real examination.

StoreysTash (Wexford) - Posts: 1737 - 14/08/2018 14:08:45    2133205

Not good news in my view. He hasn't brought along a squad or developed players, we have basically a tiny group of players similar to those under Liam Dunne. Compare the last two years to the last two years of Kilkenny development under Cody. Loads of players have been blooded and developed. Wexford haven't done that. I am not looking forward to another year of Picking the same team over and over again and failing to address major problems.

890202 (Wexford) - Posts: 1278 - 14/08/2018 14:10:57    2133207

Replying To 890202:  "Not good news in my view. He hasn't brought along a squad or developed players, we have basically a tiny group of players similar to those under Liam Dunne. Compare the last two years to the last two years of Kilkenny development under Cody. Loads of players have been blooded and developed. Wexford haven't done that. I am not looking forward to another year of Picking the same team over and over again and failing to address major problems."
I agree totally. Those who are celebrating this news obviously know little about the state of hurling in wexford. We needed a new direction at this stage of the panel's development. I can't see next year being much better than this year....i.e. savage training in winter and some decent league results followed by an underwhelming championship. We will see all the old faces again as Davy does not seem to make attending club games in wexford a priority. Hence there is no new talent being discovered. Lets face it....the reality is that he is coming back because no other county wants him right now.
He should have been told a month ago, thanks for your efforts but wexford will be looking for a new manager. As it is, we are going to stagnate for another year. Davy seems to be very anxious to let it be known that the players are desperate for him to stay with some of them even travelling to Clare to plead with him......the bottom line is that we are not competitive when we need to be in the summer and no end of league wins can paper over that.

wexford1997 (Wexford) - Posts: 88 - 14/08/2018 16:23:29    2133274

Replying To wexford1997:  "I agree totally. Those who are celebrating this news obviously know little about the state of hurling in wexford. We needed a new direction at this stage of the panel's development. I can't see next year being much better than this year....i.e. savage training in winter and some decent league results followed by an underwhelming championship. We will see all the old faces again as Davy does not seem to make attending club games in wexford a priority. Hence there is no new talent being discovered. Lets face it....the reality is that he is coming back because no other county wants him right now.
He should have been told a month ago, thanks for your efforts but wexford will be looking for a new manager. As it is, we are going to stagnate for another year. Davy seems to be very anxious to let it be known that the players are desperate for him to stay with some of them even travelling to Clare to plead with him......the bottom line is that we are not competitive when we need to be in the summer and no end of league wins can paper over that."
agree with every bit of that,except for 1 point-i dont think it should be solely up to davy to find talent in clubs,surely jj doyle etc have a role to play there?
i am sure if somebody is outstanding at club level,davy will find out.
i only hope the team isnt trained to death over the winter,the championship is where it is at.
use the league to blood a few new players,and if players clearly are not going to make it (e.g. mick o regan) give him the option of re-joining the football squad.

perfect10 (Wexford) - Posts: 3929 - 14/08/2018 16:42:54    2133282

On balance I think this is good news..............hopefully there will be more focus put on the championship next year. Will be harder to make a 1/4 next year being away to Dublin. As disappointing as 2018 was we are still in a better place than we were 2 years ago and shouldnt lose sight of that. Hopefully he will change things up a bit.

dumptruck1 (Wexford) - Posts: 206 - 14/08/2018 17:19:01    2133322

cant say i'm over joyed to be honest. I cant see davy suddenly adapting his system or style but as mentioned i hope he doesn't flog us early in the year as has been happening. Personally I would of felt a new system with new priorities would of been a better route to take. I think were spending a fortune that doesn't need to be spent. If we keep doing the same things expect us to keep getting the same results. Can davy develop our panel more and give more lads oppertunities? Can he get away from his sweeper obsession and come up with a system that gets more out of our best player? Can davy stretch our panel and have us peaking next summer? Alot of questions for davy to answer. Lets see does he have the answers because theres a fine panel of young players there and plenty of talent to add to it.

cragask (Wexford) - Posts: 892 - 14/08/2018 17:55:32    2133339