Wexford hurling 2018

In spite of a great league ( apart from semi hammering) if we lose vs Clare especially by a big margin then it will have been a poor championship. And no progress on last year. By Davy's comments he seems to have given up on us and doesn't show any confidence going into the Clare match. He seems to be putting his excuses out before games anymore - eg the fatigue factor earlier. A manager cribbing about fatigue before a match will only make players tired.

When will this date and venue be announced some of have to pull a few strings to attend these things with work etc. I see no reason for the delay

Yellow (Wexford) - Posts: 551 - 09/07/2018 12:45:51    2119969

Replying To Yellow:  "In spite of a great league ( apart from semi hammering) if we lose vs Clare especially by a big margin then it will have been a poor championship. And no progress on last year. By Davy's comments he seems to have given up on us and doesn't show any confidence going into the Clare match. He seems to be putting his excuses out before games anymore - eg the fatigue factor earlier. A manager cribbing about fatigue before a match will only make players tired.

When will this date and venue be announced some of have to pull a few strings to attend these things with work etc. I see no reason for the delay"
I don't know. Seems to me that Davy was publicly saying what we all feel.....that a similar performance vs Clare that we put in at the weekend will see us beat. Nothing unreasonable with that statement, and certainly doesn't come across as making excuses before the fact.

Ourselves and Clare are on a fairly even keel form-wise this year. We have both lost twice and have combined some sublime hurling with some poor fare. For our first half vs Kilkenny, see their first half in the Munster final. Inconsistency has rocked both sides. But we haven't reached the same heights in terms of winning performance as they have (yet). Then again, if anyone is best placed to be forensically au fait with the Clare set-up, then surely to god it's Davy. Fancy us to sneak it.....

beano (Wexford) - Posts: 1421 - 09/07/2018 13:35:17    2119989

Confirmed -

Saturday July 14
Clare v Wexford, Pairc Ui Chaoimh, 3pm, RTE

Sunday July 15
Kilkenny v Limerick, Semple Stadium, 2pm, RTE

Wexgal96 (Wexford) - Posts: 11 - 09/07/2018 13:41:39    2119992

Replying To Yellow:  "In spite of a great league ( apart from semi hammering) if we lose vs Clare especially by a big margin then it will have been a poor championship. And no progress on last year. By Davy's comments he seems to have given up on us and doesn't show any confidence going into the Clare match. He seems to be putting his excuses out before games anymore - eg the fatigue factor earlier. A manager cribbing about fatigue before a match will only make players tired.

When will this date and venue be announced some of have to pull a few strings to attend these things with work etc. I see no reason for the delay"
Sat 3 in Cork

edshamrocks (Wexford) - Posts: 385 - 09/07/2018 13:56:16    2120004

This is a joke?? Saturday at 3? Do they not realise people work for a living, there wont be half a crowd there. Whats wrong with Saturday evening? Very annoyed as I'm sure plenty of other supporters will be.

alwaysasub (Wexford) - Posts: 403 - 09/07/2018 14:17:55    2120016

Just get a grip and I'll leave it at that

bostonredsox (Wexford) - Posts: 4368 - 09/07/2018 14:44:29    2120036

Venue and time make no sense, getting tickets won't be a struggle anyway

bostonredsox (Wexford) - Posts: 4368 - 09/07/2018 14:45:21    2120038

will be working,but would have voted with my feet if i wasnt.
i think they aiming for the smallest crowd ever at ai quarter final

perfect10 (Wexford) - Posts: 3929 - 09/07/2018 14:58:42    2120043

What a joke

Less than 5 days notice for fans.

Yellow (Wexford) - Posts: 551 - 09/07/2018 16:22:51    2120086

Replying To Yellow:  "What a joke

Less than 5 days notice for fans."
I know people who had booked Sunday off work for the match so they'll have to try and switch again.. For years it was always a double header whether at the time croke park and then thurles and the minute pairc ui chaoimh finished last year everything changes nothing makes sense the time is ridiculous and You couldn't beat going to a double header great atmosphere great banter but at the end of the day the GAA don't care about the supporters and they haven't a clue FACT..

Juan36 (Wexford) - Posts: 9 - 09/07/2018 16:53:28    2120097

when do people think they should have announced the time and venue? was it before the Westmeath game? And to the person booking the day off on a Sunday, the day of the World cup final when it was fairly clear they wouldnt put another game on to clash with that. Jesus lads, will ye have some sense here. Cork is a handy drive, much better than the crappy roads to Thurles. Getting to both grounds are the same as each other. Last year was grand, and we got to the game on the same route as the Waterford crowd, so it should be better again this time. We're in a quarter final and lads moaning about a game on at 3 on a Saturday in the best weather we've had in years. Such a crowd of whingers.

james2011 (Wexford) - Posts: 602 - 09/07/2018 17:27:36    2120112

Replying To hurlingexpert:  "Clare are 2/5 in the bookies for this which is absolutely scandalous. i would have thought it would be 50/50 are possibly even favouring wexford!!

I was very concerned about this game until i read the comments on here. To be honest i havent seen wexford much this year so wasnt particularly sure where ye were at!

I presume rory o'connor will be fit - to be honest from a clare perspective he is probably the wexford player that we fear most! of the few times ive seem him he looks like a serious player..

we'll have to have a plan as well to stop diarmuid o'keeffes driving runs.

Will conor firman come back into the team as well for one of the corner backs?"
Yeah I'd see it as a 50-50 game both teams will not fear the other and view it as a massive opportunity, I think those odds are scandalous too.

Both teams come in really from a game where they threw away a big lead, ourselves against kk and Clare against cork.

The big battle on Saturday is conlon and liam Ryan. Conlon was really the player off the provincial round robins and Ryan needs to keep tabs on him, if he's preventing conlon from winning clean possession our other backs will have to be alert to the breaks. I'd imagine paudie Foley or O'Hanlon will pick up duggan aswel. I'd imagine firman will start in the corner for us.

Massive game for both if we lose its our 4th quarter final defeat in 5 years,if clare lose its 3rd year in a row to lose at that stage. We haven't reached a semi-final sense 2007 and Clare it's 2013. The time and venue will mean a smaller crowd than what should be there but whoever wins won't care.

bostonredsox (Wexford) - Posts: 4368 - 09/07/2018 18:24:00    2120125

Replying To hurlorhurley:  "A Westmeath team that was hurling flower baskets off the walls on the Main Street in Mullingar last week were left in the game far too long. We going is as underdogs now which is far better for us. The big worry for me is our lack of a good freetaker. I wonder is Paul Codd free for a few hours next weekend?"
Lads.....what is the story on a freetaker.....either Ned Buggy or Paul Codd may take a few....shocking stuff all year with the frees....all the successful teams have an ace freetaker.....I think if the lads can click upfront we can take the Clare backs....Fitz needs a Quarter Final win badly

buckler91 (Wexford) - Posts: 11 - 09/07/2018 20:51:09    2120179

Replying To james2011:  "when do people think they should have announced the time and venue? was it before the Westmeath game? And to the person booking the day off on a Sunday, the day of the World cup final when it was fairly clear they wouldnt put another game on to clash with that. Jesus lads, will ye have some sense here. Cork is a handy drive, much better than the crappy roads to Thurles. Getting to both grounds are the same as each other. Last year was grand, and we got to the game on the same route as the Waterford crowd, so it should be better again this time. We're in a quarter final and lads moaning about a game on at 3 on a Saturday in the best weather we've had in years. Such a crowd of whingers."
there is already a match up against the world cup final.
do you think nobody has anything to do on a Saturday other drive to cork?
cork is not a handy drive like you say......i think people would have tolerated 7pm in thurles.
why not out a super 8 match on at 3pm?at least that way one set of support at home.
i knew as soon as there was talk of cork hosting a quarter wexford would be the ones to pony up.

perfect10 (Wexford) - Posts: 3929 - 09/07/2018 21:21:29    2120190

Replying To james2011:  "when do people think they should have announced the time and venue? was it before the Westmeath game? And to the person booking the day off on a Sunday, the day of the World cup final when it was fairly clear they wouldnt put another game on to clash with that. Jesus lads, will ye have some sense here. Cork is a handy drive, much better than the crappy roads to Thurles. Getting to both grounds are the same as each other. Last year was grand, and we got to the game on the same route as the Waterford crowd, so it should be better again this time. We're in a quarter final and lads moaning about a game on at 3 on a Saturday in the best weather we've had in years. Such a crowd of whingers."
Youre 100% right!

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 12046 - 09/07/2018 21:23:20    2120192

Interesting to see if liam og gets a start on Saturday, looked very sharp when introduced in Mullingar, I know it's 4 years ago but was immense against clare in 2014

bostonredsox (Wexford) - Posts: 4368 - 09/07/2018 21:24:36    2120195

Wexford GAA website had it for Sunday with location to be decided.

gminor (Wexford) - Posts: 488 - 09/07/2018 23:34:45    2120228

Replying To perfect10:  "there is already a match up against the world cup final.
do you think nobody has anything to do on a Saturday other drive to cork?
cork is not a handy drive like you say......i think people would have tolerated 7pm in thurles.
why not out a super 8 match on at 3pm?at least that way one set of support at home.
i knew as soon as there was talk of cork hosting a quarter wexford would be the ones to pony up."
3 or 7 makes very little difference to anyone going on a Saturday. They can either go or they can't. You're not even going yet you've been moaning about the distance and the location of it being in cork. I much rather the drive to cork than Thurles. Having it at 3 means I can bring the kids, go to a comfortable stadium and enjoy it. 7 in Thurles would mean they couldn't go. Some people thinking this inconveniences wexford are mad. Clare would have much more support and the team be much more used to Thurles. It's better for wexford to be in cork.

james2011 (Wexford) - Posts: 602 - 10/07/2018 00:00:50    2120234

Replying To james2011:  "3 or 7 makes very little difference to anyone going on a Saturday. They can either go or they can't. You're not even going yet you've been moaning about the distance and the location of it being in cork. I much rather the drive to cork than Thurles. Having it at 3 means I can bring the kids, go to a comfortable stadium and enjoy it. 7 in Thurles would mean they couldn't go. Some people thinking this inconveniences wexford are mad. Clare would have much more support and the team be much more used to Thurles. It's better for wexford to be in cork."
if you have all day to just get up and head on for cork,on with you.
but let me put this to you.wexford v galway at 5pm in wexford park was 3/4 full.the earlier you play the game,the more the crowd decreases.
i am not going,because i have to work,but even if i wasnt,i have a family with interests which would mean leaving for cork at 10.30-11am is not possible.
lots of people work on saturday who would get away from work a bit early,etc to get to a game at 7,or would go on a sunday,these are the people who wont be able to make it.
that evening v waterford a few years ago in nowlan park was the best evening in years supporting wexford.the place was heaving,big crowd,because the bloody time suited.
i hope people turn out in force on saturday,but i dont think it will be the case.pity

perfect10 (Wexford) - Posts: 3929 - 10/07/2018 08:41:39    2120258

Replying To Wexboi92:  "Starting to get really worried about nect week. I thought by what Davy has been saying that weeould be geared up to go again after a month off. We should he at peak fitness again and our hirling should be sharp. If what people are saying is true then we could be in for an awful beating Next weekend.

Whats more worrying is that we havent been able to put together a complete 70 minute performance since we beat kilkenny last year. The performance needs to come next weekend."
What are people supposedly saying?

dbyrney1 (Wexford) - Posts: 74 - 10/07/2018 12:03:37    2120329