Leitrim Football 2018

Hard to read into that. Roscommon had very strong team out on paper, the likes of the Daly's and Domican back and the Smiths on the bench .. like come on .. men vs boys considering the amount of blooding we were doing.

That's how McStay wil operate though .. a tight group of 28-30 and absolutely flog them for the year in pursuit of success.

Not the best start on the scoreboard for the year admittedly, and with a very unforgiving League fixture list, Guckian and Co. need to find their best 22 players ASAP and get them playing.

No time for messing around with 'experimentation' and 'new blood' ... there's juniors and u20's for that.

Some counties can afford that luxury. We can't.

Dodgy_Pass (Leitrim) - Posts: 374 - 04/01/2018 11:43:52    2066762

There was no structure to the set up. Flood back all right but no one with clearly outlined duty. An immobile full forward. Beirne isolated when he came on with absolutely no one to help him. It's too negative, Ryan and Ward battled hard. A few players think too much of themselves over carrying the ball in positions that slowed down any chance of catching Roscommon out. Poor marking,no pressure on the ball carrier, a lot of needless fouling. These are characteristics of a poorly drilled outfit. We had players playing that are there on merit but have a lot of development required to step up to the mark. Are the coaching team the best to maximize the potential, so far the answer is an overwhelming "No". Tough to watch.
The cheerleaders will be posting to berate our negativity but we keep doing what we always have and we keep expecting results. It's madness.
I hate to say but flooding the opposition half with players is not defending, too many players didn't lay a finger on the rossies. Easy to look good. Second goal with the ease they got through was embarrassing as we had plenty back but no one picking up anyone. Fullback line had no chance.
Saying that the Rossies looked so much a better footballing team. Their skills were excellent and clearly the result of 5/6 years of being involved at a high level so I would like to see our players be given the opportunity to work under a really innovative and top end coach. Balancing the finances can not be seen as success as kids will have no value on the county jersey in the coming years and will have no aspiration to wear it if yesterday's game is allowed to be the norm which it steadily is becoming.

bananapublican (Leitrim) - Posts: 878 - 04/01/2018 12:33:19    2066774

Just looking at last night in isolation as I know that some posters are still accepting of the lack of foresight in the county board.
We started with 5 debutants. Two more of the bench and a few that didn't even get on. We had 5 Intermediate players starting and another one of the bench who played. The Centre back was his intermediate team's best forward last year. While last year's Centre back and captain was played at midfield with another ball winner but neither has pace. The full back who plays wing back for his club made his debut and his man kicked atleast 1 -5, doesn't exactly help a young players confidence. The corner back also making his debut was clearly targeted for his lack of height but wasn't switched. Our half forward line had no height or strength, no ball winning capabilities and yet people wondered how we couldn't get out of our own half. Our full forward line was made up of 2 players from intermediate clubs making their debuts and a 20 year old from Ballinamore yet their will be surprise how we got 4 scores in the whole game. And by no way am I criticising these players who have the pride to tog out for Leitrim. Just to finish, surely one of the requirements for a management team is that they can inspire players to want to play for the county team. This is clearly not happening.

LeitrimWay (Leitrim) - Posts: 66 - 04/01/2018 13:24:16    2066784

how many more lads are to come back into the panel. Dean McGovern, the plunketts, a few lads from Mohill ?.

Ouryear (Leitrim) - Posts: 270 - 04/01/2018 13:56:50    2066797

Replying To Ouryear:  "how many more lads are to come back into the panel. Dean McGovern, the plunketts, a few lads from Mohill ?."
Mick Duignan and Mossy Beirne also

MagnumPIG (Leitrim) - Posts: 143 - 04/01/2018 16:28:56    2066817

Last night and what and what is to come is just an accumulation of poor management by the coaching team and the county board of the past number of years. The lads where like lambs to the slaughter last night. it wasn't fair to put so many unproven names in altogether. As you see happening in other counties they should be introduced gradually. But because so many players have chosen not to play for the current set up last nights team looked out of their depth. Shane Quinn who we all know is capable for this level was good and Carberry and a few others have promise but it was hard to judge them individually.
I cannot remember a time when we have had so many players come through at one time with the level of talent required for inter-county football. However, from last year's panel we have lost. Shane Moran, Paddy McGuire, Ronan Kennedy, Mark Plunkett, Ronan Gallagher, Gary Plunkett, Pearce Dolan and Gary Reynolds. I think it's fair to say that all these players would start in most people's choices of teams bar maybe Reynolds and Gallagher and them two were our most experienced and brought vital leadership to the group. It's just so frustrating to see most other counties developing while we are taking one step forward and two back.

OnTheBank (Australia) - Posts: 170 - 04/01/2018 17:17:15    2066825

Look last night's game was an embarrassment. While Roscommon have been busy getting back players who wouldn't play last year after beating us by a record 17 points and then going on to win Connacht we have typically be going through turmoil where up to 10 players are gone from last year's panel. To be fair we were missing Ryan O'Rourke, Darragh Rooney, Keith Beirne and Dean McGovern last night. Noel Plunkett and Matthew Murphy should also strengthen up our defence whenever they get playing and Conor Cullen if he returns after injury. Any word on Emlyn Mulligan or Nevin O'Donnell? But let's get real Roscommon only had a few starters from last year's team aswell. The worry is now that the players who have committed will drop off to focus on their club teams if they keep receiving beatings. I would guess that the carrot of a trip to NYC is the only reason why a few more haven't departed. Is anyone going to shout stop? It's not fair to these players or the clubs who will be without them all year if this ineptness is allowed to continue.

Leitrim1234 (Leitrim) - Posts: 297 - 04/01/2018 18:26:55    2066835

Replying To Dodgy_Pass:  "Hard to read into that. Roscommon had very strong team out on paper, the likes of the Daly's and Domican back and the Smiths on the bench .. like come on .. men vs boys considering the amount of blooding we were doing.

That's how McStay wil operate though .. a tight group of 28-30 and absolutely flog them for the year in pursuit of success.

Not the best start on the scoreboard for the year admittedly, and with a very unforgiving League fixture list, Guckian and Co. need to find their best 22 players ASAP and get them playing.

No time for messing around with 'experimentation' and 'new blood' ... there's juniors and u20's for that.

Some counties can afford that luxury. We can't."
Roscommon were so far from full strength, most of the senior players are not back training yet. McStay is hardly flogging the lads as you say. Leitrim are just very poor from what I seen last night

reffingmad (Roscommon) - Posts: 371 - 04/01/2018 22:39:13    2066867

From top of the head mc manus, seanie mc, fintan cregg, brian stack, kilroy, connolly(gone from panel from connacht final victory werent on panel add in the likes of harney, cathal cregg,mc keown, comptons who are also in training ye are in dreamland if ye think we are at full tilt already i didnt see match but was at dinegal challenge ild say we are at about same fitness levels as last years ill fated league campaign which was a mile off what he got them for championship
They are all on individual fitness regimes and goals some wont feature till later league some like brian stack rested due to age and ball played last year

OhtobeARossie (Roscommon) - Posts: 1764 - 05/01/2018 11:54:53    2066920

Replying To reffingmad:  "Roscommon were so far from full strength, most of the senior players are not back training yet. McStay is hardly flogging the lads as you say. Leitrim are just very poor from what I seen last night"
I never said they were full strength.

I said they were strong on paper. Which they were, and more so again when you compare both starting 15's from last Wednesday in terms of Inter County experience, and that translated in the result on Wednesday night.

I also never said McStay was flogging the Roscommon lads.

I said when he gets his group of 28-30 together that's what he will do, as he did last year. Worked hard with what he had despite player losses.

Please don't come criticising posts in an attempt to defend where no such need exists.

Roscommon should have a very strong panel this year made up of last year's team plus a number of returning players of quality.

I expect them to get to the Divsion 2 final winning games in such a way that allows them to build and prepare for a retaining the Nestor Cup.

Dodgy_Pass (Leitrim) - Posts: 374 - 05/01/2018 15:47:23    2066973

In light of the positive result in McHale park tonight and its important that we keep this forum as negative as possible in case any glimmer of encouragement emerges. SO we'll play a game of Find A Fault Bingo. For every negative/complaint comment made about the game you get:

- 2 points for making a negative comment
- 5 points for finding a negative about the players that represented the county
- 10 points for a fault with how the management approached the game / management in general
- 20 points for a fault with how the Co. Board handled/travelled/ organisation for the fixture.

There is also a bonus 50 points for anyone who can include all four above and a further 50 points if you can mention the players that are not playing for us.

N.B. Points will be deducted if you are a member of the supporters club / club cairde cos that's been positive toward the county team.

Castelfore (Leitrim) - Posts: 49 - 10/01/2018 20:45:16    2067706

Firstly Castlefore putting up your North Korea like post censoring any negative comments is a new low for you.
Firstly well done to the 20+ players who donned the jersey last night. None of them were found wanting in terms of effort and commitment for every ball.
Having said that Darragh and James Rooney have better days ahead, getting our two starting midfielders to last 50 minutes plus for a variety of reasons could prove tough and some dreadful shooting saw us relying on a last second goal to rescue a draw when if we had taken half our chances we would have been leading.
Mayo played Barry Moran, Jason Gibbons, Alan Freeman and Kevin McLoughlin with Ger McDonagh and Neil Douglas from Castlebar but overall it was really weakened team from their usual team.
Now here comes the bit where I tip my hat to management, Benny allowed players go man to man, one sweeper at times but pushed up on the kickout which allowed us as fans to see who is up to what. Micheal McWeeney was magnificent throughout and could be our answer at full back, Ryan was his usual busy self putting out fires. Keith Keegan was very assured in the half backs with a terrific first half from Shane Quinn. Wrynn and Moreton were more than holding their own, with both spraying fast ball inside with accuracy. Moreton's discipline left him on thin ice and management did the right thing withdrawing him especially with some of the dramatic falling of the Mayo players when touched.
Gaffney, Gallagher, Flynn put in tremendous work throughout. Their choice of shots and accuracy needs working on to give them the rewards for their toil. Carbery again scored a beauty when Leitrim needed it and has that little jink thatcan fool defenders.
All in all a massive improvement on Roscommon game. It's time management started trusting the players in going man to man, how will they improve otherwise if hiding in a blanket defence doing nothing. This was a huge step in the right direction .

bananapublican (Leitrim) - Posts: 878 - 11/01/2018 08:21:14    2067753

Using strict form lines Leitrim will be challenging for All Ireland glory this year. Fair play to the management team for turning it all around.

MagnumPIG (Leitrim) - Posts: 143 - 11/01/2018 10:22:43    2067765

Replying To Castelfore:  "In light of the positive result in McHale park tonight and its important that we keep this forum as negative as possible in case any glimmer of encouragement emerges. SO we'll play a game of Find A Fault Bingo. For every negative/complaint comment made about the game you get:

- 2 points for making a negative comment
- 5 points for finding a negative about the players that represented the county
- 10 points for a fault with how the management approached the game / management in general
- 20 points for a fault with how the Co. Board handled/travelled/ organisation for the fixture.

There is also a bonus 50 points for anyone who can include all four above and a further 50 points if you can mention the players that are not playing for us.

N.B. Points will be deducted if you are a member of the supporters club / club cairde cos that's been positive toward the county team."
Get a grip , Leitrim supporters on this forum are entitled to be as constructively negative as they wish. God knows we have suffered enough over the years with false dawns, humiliations and disappointments. Supporting Leitrim would make a skeptic even out of the most positive person.
Yes last night was encouraging but for both teams it was a glorified challenge match with both teams fielding a lot of youngsters. Yes last night there were glimmers of encouragement but lets not get carried away.

Buzzcagney62 (Leitrim) - Posts: 217 - 11/01/2018 10:53:12    2067773

I'll take a result in Castlebar over any Mayo team any day, well done to all involved. Does anyone know is this close to the team or panel that will be contesting division 4? Will Ryan O'Rourke be coming back for the league? or indeed will there be many more players from last year, Dean McGovern or Emlyn Mulligan etc...?

leitrim4sam (Leitrim) - Posts: 645 - 11/01/2018 11:15:45    2067781

Attitude and tactical nous is all this group need to build on. There is nothing wrong with fitness and I think if they go out with a positive mindset, a couple of lads work on their overall fitness and their touch I do think the days of getting hammered will be behind us. It's a step forward in the right direction and great to see management realizing we do not have personnel capable of playing an ultra defensive game. Conor Cullen, Dean McGovern and a fit Emlyn Mulligan will be great additions as will Caillin Canning. No one getting carried away but there is reason for optimism. And that's all we have to cling to.

bananapublican (Leitrim) - Posts: 878 - 11/01/2018 11:54:30    2067785

Replying To bananapublican:  "Attitude and tactical nous is all this group need to build on. There is nothing wrong with fitness and I think if they go out with a positive mindset, a couple of lads work on their overall fitness and their touch I do think the days of getting hammered will be behind us. It's a step forward in the right direction and great to see management realizing we do not have personnel capable of playing an ultra defensive game. Conor Cullen, Dean McGovern and a fit Emlyn Mulligan will be great additions as will Caillin Canning. No one getting carried away but there is reason for optimism. And that's all we have to cling to."
Correction - I'm getting carried away.

MagnumPIG (Leitrim) - Posts: 143 - 11/01/2018 12:54:06    2067791

Replying To Buzzcagney62:  "Get a grip , Leitrim supporters on this forum are entitled to be as constructively negative as they wish. God knows we have suffered enough over the years with false dawns, humiliations and disappointments. Supporting Leitrim would make a skeptic even out of the most positive person.
Yes last night was encouraging but for both teams it was a glorified challenge match with both teams fielding a lot of youngsters. Yes last night there were glimmers of encouragement but lets not get carried away."
Supporters is defined as a person or people who approves of and encourages a public figure, political party or a team .. to be fair castlefore has a point... many on this talk about the player turnover which is a very valid point but it's happening the last 6-10 years , maybe it's becasuse players are told by the negative people who populate this forum why would they bother and everything is wrong at every opportunity. Not asking for blinkers we all know lots of work to be done but be nice if the lads who are giving up 6 nights a week get some credit from their small band of 'supporters'.. difference between constructive criticism and pure negativity , on some post since last night u can feel the begrudgery of people having to say it wasn't bad ... A new team will take time to develop a style or system of play yet some people on this forum expect it to happening instantly and blame management they are only 2 games in, please try and give the thing a chance, everyone was quick again to put everything down after the Roscommon game yet they hammered Sligo last night and only for 2 last minute goals the margin would have been well over 15 points .... finally and sorry for long winding this we have a young group of players who are willing to work themselves into the ground and last night shows they have the stomach for it as well, regardless of the result that is the most pleasing thing for me

Robroy1 (Leitrim) - Posts: 121 - 11/01/2018 15:43:59    2067821

2 games in, wrong management are there over a year. It's taken too long for them to find basic one v one marking best suits the players in the county. There will never be begrudging respect given to any team or management I see trying to do the thing right. I am born and bred Leitrim man, I love my county, I have gone to over 80% of Leitrim games since 1987. If I see wrong I will say it and not clap like a seal. I never try and criticize people on a personal level but if I think lads are not capable of doing their job I will say it. Honesty will bring a thing on better than pretending things are great. So I ask who is the better supporter??

bananapublican (Leitrim) - Posts: 878 - 11/01/2018 17:24:15    2067846

Hello lads...thought Ye were well worth the draw and possibly the win last night. Thought yer team out great pressure on Mayo anytime we were in possession and shut down our one dimential attack very well.

Question, is that Leitrim team close to a full team for 3018 or were Ye missing a host of players? Looked to be a lot of young lads out there as with mayo.

yew_tree (Mayo) - Posts: 11236 - 11/01/2018 18:27:48    2067855