Leitrim Football 2018

Replying To MagnumPIG:  "Anyone know the date for New York?"
May 6th with potential semi final against the Rossies on May 26th

SeanMacDiarmada (Leitrim) - Posts: 395 - 05/12/2017 20:56:19    2064505

I agree from with all the above points. Hopefully with the new website the county board will be a bit more proactive. Even with simple things like a top scorer chart after every league/championship game. The U21 game was a real kick in the teeth. Darragh Rooney and McTague from Aughawillan being injured were unbelievable loses. Then add in that Ryan O'Rourke had to go off injured and Pearce Dolan and Conor Cullen were not fit to start it really shows how much of a missed opportunity that U21 championship was in hindsight.
The club scene is in great shape. Sean Pierson becoming the new Allen Gaels manager is intriguing. They have an abundance of talent who were successful at underage. The Mulveys, Martin Beirne, Diarmuid McKiernan, Nicholas Moore etc. However, it always seems they don't have the required commitment or motivation for a whole year which lets them down.
What is Aidan Rooney's situation with Manor? I know he had agreed to become Sligo selector before there was a change in coach? Mohill after their exploits against Castlebar will be able to attract a big name manager and with their sponsors I wouldn't see money being an issue. Has there been anyone linked to it? Their next batch of youngsters coming through should also strengthen their team which is a scary prospect. The Willies are keeping the McCormacks after a bad year which is a wise move as they have had success wherever they went. Melvin Gaels looking for a new manager is interesting, they seem to be on an upward curve and I thought consistency in what they were doing would have been important. Mulligan returning will push them to the next level though. David Casey staying in charge of Aughnasheelin is a great boost for them as I've heard many touting him as a future inter-county manager. They could upset the apple cart at Senior Level next year.
Have there been any other appointments or changes?

OnTheBank (Australia) - Posts: 170 - 06/12/2017 17:25:22    2064557

LeitrimWay you make great points, the one with the team of the year could've done with the Observer, GaelicLife in Ulster can do a 15 strong team every week weeding through schools, club and county and picking the best from male and female teams to make the 15, now that's a tough task. Can never understand how Observer and county board didn't join together to get this going and have the all stars play during Christmas for charity v the county team.
Club player of the year had to Ciallan Canning, tremendous all year.
County player of the year Dara Rooney
Goalie of the year Benny Flynn
Defender of the year James Glancy (Marys) or Paddy McGuire
Midfielder of the year Darren McLoughlin
Forward of the year Ronan Kennedy

bananapublican (Leitrim) - Posts: 878 - 07/12/2017 16:28:51    2064620

Highlight of 2017 for me was Mohill holding their own against Castlebar which restored my faith in Leitrim football for the future. Disappointment of 2017 was fellow division 4 team Carlow cutting through us like butter in the second half of qualifier as if they were Dublin. Leitrim abu.

Buzzcagney62 (Leitrim) - Posts: 217 - 11/12/2017 08:15:33    2064812

Anyone here manor back training last few weeks? doing alot of work inside camp supposedly

LeitrimLoyal (Leitrim) - Posts: 16 - 11/12/2017 16:16:57    2064857

Just reading and listening to the reports from the convention last night. Certain things stand out. Leitrim Gaa finances now have a surplus of 100,000 from a supposed dire position last year. This has to be seen as great news but now where will this be spent? Pairc Seans pitch is a disgrace as we all know and needs to be revamped. Annaduff is only half finished etc. etc. Money spent on all our county teams dropped by nearly 100,000 yet I know for a fact players struggled to get expenses which has left a bad taste? They were requested to each sell a booklet of 100 quid tickets which is an absolute disgrace. These players are also clubman who will be selling club tickets etc. throughout the year and yet they are asked to go begging or they won't get their expenses? Does it not worry anyone that we know that cost of running intercounty teams in general are increasing yet what we are spending is decreasing. It doesn't take a genius to correlate this in some ways to our dreadful results last year. Also, on the very important issue regarding the abuse of Referees which our chairman was correct on and we all know the team that he was talking about. However, there has to be better training for our referees or more consistency applied as the standard is shocking which then leads to stupid abuse. From the addresses given at the convention it looks like everything is now Rosie in the garden as a result of our good finances yet there was no talk of accountability for our terrible results or the departure of half of last year's senior inter county team for 2018.

Leitrim1234 (Leitrim) - Posts: 297 - 12/12/2017 13:11:30    2064979

Bit odd that the Observer was covered in news stories 3 months ago about the County Board not being able to afford the rates on Pairc Sean, and then profits of over a hundred grand were announced last night.

MagnumPIG (Leitrim) - Posts: 143 - 12/12/2017 15:08:28    2064991

Replying To MagnumPIG:  "Bit odd that the Observer was covered in news stories 3 months ago about the County Board not being able to afford the rates on Pairc Sean, and then profits of over a hundred grand were announced last night."
I have just listened to Martin Mc Cartin's excellent interview on Shannonside and thought' well done',you have got the county finances back on track .Then I logged into this site a,nd low and behold, there is nothing but criticism for his efforts from Leitrim 1234.
Can we do anything but whinge about the county board and the team management.Is it any wonder it is difficult to get young able people to go forward for office?
Martin explained the surplus was used to pay off €80,000 in creditors ,presumably including players expenses.Without money nothing can be done including resurfacing of Pairc Sean.At least they start with a clean sheet this year and hopefully things will improve.

As for the Centre Of Excellence I notice work is on going on the Car Park and it is beginning to look much better.

At least our much malinged County Board has a training centre unlike some of our neighbours who are only starting out on the process.

Anyway,back to my starting point about whinging ,why not give it up for 2018 and get behind everybody who is putting their shoulder to the wheel.According to earlier reports the senior team panel is very small this year but I am hopeful that those involved including the management will give it their all.

joeman123 (Leitrim) - Posts: 463 - 12/12/2017 20:09:02    2065025

Co Board are to be commended for delivering a surplus, no doubt increased gates due to new championship format and the Cairde Liatroma money contributed to it.

Awful disappointing that the Grand total of sponsorship our jersey attracts is €16,500 (15k front, 1.5k back), I really wish we could try and attract somewhere in the region of €40K for jersey and see about selling naming rights to Pairc Sean

That would be a start.

Co Board must cash in on NY trip. Have a massive dinner dance over there on the Friday or Sat night .. charge to the hilt

Tap up some of the NY connections for money exclusively for the Centre of Excellence or for floodlighting Pairc Sean *rumored to be the next project

I wonder does Martin read these pages, theres some food for though

every other county is at it .. we should be at the same

Dodgy_Pass (Leitrim) - Posts: 374 - 12/12/2017 23:45:13    2065049

Joeman123 there is spin with everything, yes the treasurer deserves great credit but by spending more we could attract more. The jersey sponsorship is about right for 1 live game every 2 years.
NY dinner dance will bring in money but not as much as it could as the wealthy exiles tried to give county board money early in 2017 but it was rejected leaving a sour taste in their mouths.
The cheerleaders will keep cheering for every little shoot of green but some of us just expect more so no promises that I will keep singing ole ole even if I hear wrongdoings or shortcuts. Don't be blinded by loyalty, wanting what's best for your county is far more loyal than just yahooing.

bananapublican (Leitrim) - Posts: 878 - 14/12/2017 00:04:58    2065142

Replying To bananapublican:  "Joeman123 there is spin with everything, yes the treasurer deserves great credit but by spending more we could attract more. The jersey sponsorship is about right for 1 live game every 2 years.
NY dinner dance will bring in money but not as much as it could as the wealthy exiles tried to give county board money early in 2017 but it was rejected leaving a sour taste in their mouths.
The cheerleaders will keep cheering for every little shoot of green but some of us just expect more so no promises that I will keep singing ole ole even if I hear wrongdoings or shortcuts. Don't be blinded by loyalty, wanting what's best for your county is far more loyal than just yahooing."
i'd agree with most of that. any reason the county board turned down NY money.

Dodgy_Pass (Leitrim) - Posts: 374 - 14/12/2017 17:32:54    2065190

Can someone tell me is Leitrim Roscommon on this Wednesday, if so, where and what time?

journeyman11 (Leitrim) - Posts: 47 - 02/01/2018 10:07:45    2066464

Replying To journeyman11:  "Can someone tell me is Leitrim Roscommon on this Wednesday, if so, where and what time?"
7pm in Annaduff.

Buzzcagney62 (Leitrim) - Posts: 217 - 02/01/2018 14:50:56    2066492

Replying To Buzzcagney62:  "7pm in Annaduff."
With the weather we're having today i wouldn't be surprised if the game is called off. Is there any covered stand in this new pitch in Annaduff?

green.and.gold (Leitrim) - Posts: 427 - 02/01/2018 23:25:41    2066538

Anyone know if there's any package trips or that kind of thing on sale for NY?

MagnumPIG (Leitrim) - Posts: 143 - 03/01/2018 10:13:19    2066576

Replying To green.and.gold:  "With the weather we're having today i wouldn't be surprised if the game is called off. Is there any covered stand in this new pitch in Annaduff?"
Fair play for even thinking of going. Let us know how they get on ( I live away before anyone starts)
There is a bit of stand alright but if you have oilskins, bring them!

Mugatay (Leitrim) - Posts: 157 - 03/01/2018 12:55:01    2066598

Well that went well

Fr.spodo_gamodo (Leitrim) - Posts: 184 - 03/01/2018 21:08:23    2066684

Embarrassing last night. Roscommon are so far ahead of us in every aspect its scary . From what i heard last night there isn't many more to come back in so thats more or less our squad for the year. Doubt we'll meet Roscommon again this year as i can't see that team getting out of New York with a win. The great rivalry and close games we had with Roscommon for years is dead in the water im sad to say.

green.and.gold (Leitrim) - Posts: 427 - 04/01/2018 08:58:07    2066728

I was at the game last night. great crowd to be fair for the first week in January but little to get them going. it is incredibly early in the year, but Leitrim lads looked like they barely knew each other. this will of course improve over the year. thought the backs did relatively well considering that was a strong forward line Roscommon had out but the forwards looked like kids beside their markers, too small!! half forward line was non existent, all well and good flooding the defense but we re not able to get back up the field. No leadership at all on the field. before game last night i thought Roscommon were 3/4 years ahead of us, if only that was the case, absolutely miles and miles ahead. saying that, we wont be playing teams that good in div4, focus needs to be on getting what we have super fit and aim to out work and out run opposition once league starts.

journeyman11 (Leitrim) - Posts: 47 - 04/01/2018 11:09:37    2066748

1 score from play over 70 minutes says it all really. We were never going to beat Roscommon but where is our pride ? Surely somebody at County board must soon call a halt to this lunacy. The players dont even want to play for this management. And soon we will have the Supporters club tickets.

williewonka (Leitrim) - Posts: 34 - 04/01/2018 11:33:43    2066757