Leitrim Football 2018

Jaysus such a bunch of lads you mentioned on the bank, all had their go at it, most not great at club level. Makes me thankful that we have the present management in place if that's the crew you would go with.
Lads that want to play will play. That's s basic requirement is that you want to play. No coach or guru can instill that in a player

bananapublican (Leitrim) - Posts: 878 - 03/11/2017 15:43:11    2060157

On The Bank that comment does a lot of disservice to the lads that are there and committing.

I think a lot of that list that was mentioned was just speculation as a lot of them were young lads i.e. in final year of college or first year out. All Hears Say at present.

Absolutely no evidence to back up your claims of your alleged Non NY 15

Cathal McCrann - Has Retired from Inter County
Matthew Murphy - Persisisent Injury trouble in the last 2 years, may be involved yet if asked.
Paddy McGuire - Only ancedotal evidence that he isnt committing, may be involved yet if asked.
Oisin Madden - Will be involved from what I have heard.
James Rooney - Will be involved from what I have heard.
Paul Brennan - Did a Seanie Johnston with Donegal as we all know. If returns to Melvin Gaels will surely be involved if he wants to.
Shane Quinn - May be involved if he committs, has had issues with managers in the past.
Shane Moran - Has decided not to committ for 2018. May yet join panel if asked. Early days yet.
Sean Flanagan - Only being discounted on basis of Noel Plunkett being the only A'willan player involved. Anecdotal.
Pearce Dolan - Only being discounted on basis of Noel Plunkett being the only A'willan player involved. Anecdotal.
Mark Plunkett - Only being discounted on basis of Noel Plunkett being the only A'willan player involved. Anecdotal.
Kevin Conlan - Travelling Abroad at present
Gary Plunkett - Only being discounted on basis of Noel Plunkett being the only A'willan player involved. Anecdotal.
Conor Beirne - Has never been able to commit, largely due to work.

Dodgy_Pass (Leitrim) - Posts: 374 - 03/11/2017 18:55:25    2060211

I just logged in to get a feel for whats happening with the Leitrim panel and it appears to be all problematic,at least according to On the Bank and others who seem to have the inside track.On the basis of what is being published it looks like the bulk of last years panel haven't committed and Benny and co are scraping to get 15-20 players to commit to training.!!!! Can it be that bad!!

At least expectations wont be great for 2018 and it will be great if we win one game and put up a good show in New York.I am sorry for Benny and his team who are so committed that it is as bad as some of these posters are saying.The posters are blaming the management ,but I am not so sure.It is a problem in several counties ,including Meath who have had 5/6 withdrawals.

Unlike some of our begrudging posters I take no pleasure in all this bad news and I will be there to support the whatever 20 players that commit and will keep hoping.At least nobody ,including the opposition will be expecting much.

joeman123 (Leitrim) - Posts: 463 - 04/11/2017 18:07:22    2060460

I just logged in to get a feel for whats happening with the Leitrim panel and it appears to be all problematic,at least according to On the Bank and others who seem to have the inside track.On the basis of what is being published it looks like the bulk of last years panel haven't committed and Benny and co are scraping to get 15-20 players to commit to training.!!!! Can it be that bad!!

At least expectations wont be great for 2018 and it will be great if we win one game and put up a good show in New York.I am sorry for Benny and his team who are so committed that it is as bad as some of these posters are saying.The posters are blaming the management ,but I am not so sure.It is a problem in several counties ,including Meath who have had 5/6 withdrawals.

Unlike some of our begrudging posters I take no pleasure in all this bad news and I will be there to support the whatever 20 players that commit and will keep hoping.At least nobody ,including the opposition will be expecting much.

joeman123 (Leitrim) - Posts: 463 - 04/11/2017 18:07:34    2060461

Replying To joeman123:  "I just logged in to get a feel for whats happening with the Leitrim panel and it appears to be all problematic,at least according to On the Bank and others who seem to have the inside track.On the basis of what is being published it looks like the bulk of last years panel haven't committed and Benny and co are scraping to get 15-20 players to commit to training.!!!! Can it be that bad!!

Unlike some of our begrudging posters I take no pleasure in all this bad news and I will be there to support the whatever 20 players that commit and will keep hoping.At least nobody ,including the opposition will be expecting much."
Good for you Joeman, keep your eyes closed and keep cheering. Nothing pessimistic in saying how it is. I have more of an inside line than anyone and so far if you look at my posts for past 2/3 years I have been proven right. No one would rather come on here gloating about how good it is if it was, the management team are men I respected hugely as players or in their club management roles, but were they the right fit for this job at the time of getting it, then the answer is no. Nothing has changed my mind yet. It was never going to be an easy job, but it required a steady hand who has been consistently involved in football(not necessarily county) and had a track record in being innovative and leaving teams in better places than where he got them first. Not much to ask when setting out the criteria when the selection process began.

bananapublican (Leitrim) - Posts: 878 - 04/11/2017 19:27:43    2060470

Personally I am appalled that players won't commit year on year. If leitrim are to improve we need everyone pulling in the same direction and year on year it's the players that let us down. As a loyal supporter I want to see the best players play for leitrim but the first thing a player has to do is be committed and want to be there. we seem to have panels that go through the motions and are half serious about being there and kind of do what is required and laid out for them.

I support whatever team we lead in to league and championship because these lads want to be there and let's be honest Brendan and his team are doing their absolute best to get the best out of them and are, from what I hear, doing serious work already with the panel for next season.

Players let us down all the time lads and people blame the management all the time.

leitrim4sam (Leitrim) - Posts: 645 - 05/11/2017 08:29:05    2060528

So from talking to players that have been called up for S&C over the winter 90% of the reports on here are true for once. Up on 40 players have been called up which is great but their quality can be questioned. Benny Flynn is back but most of the other players mentioned are gone. 7 or 8 are gone and a few of the older ones like Ronan Kennedy have still not committed but will need a down time after Mohill's brilliant performance at the weekend. When considering all this 2018 is a scary prospect. It should be the year were all these young players begin to prosper but many of them are now not involved or the leaders are not there to guide them. When you look at the facts that Roscommon bet us by 17 points last year and have got most of their player's back who did not commit and we have lost a lot of players it is worrying to say the least. The New York game is now a toss-up if you ask me. And with Laois in division Four that only leaves one spot open for promotion and to be honest with Carlow's momentum, Antrim's pick and bounce from a new management and John Evans with Wicklow you would need to be a brave man to bet on Leitrim to be promoted with a weakened squad. If we had a full panel I honestly believe we would be promoted and rattle the Rossies. Yet as usual there will be no questions asked as to why all these players won't commit.

Leitrim1234 (Leitrim) - Posts: 297 - 08/11/2017 13:00:38    2061198

Replying To Leitrim1234:  "So from talking to players that have been called up for S&C over the winter 90% of the reports on here are true for once. Up on 40 players have been called up which is great but their quality can be questioned. Benny Flynn is back but most of the other players mentioned are gone. 7 or 8 are gone and a few of the older ones like Ronan Kennedy have still not committed but will need a down time after Mohill's brilliant performance at the weekend. When considering all this 2018 is a scary prospect. It should be the year were all these young players begin to prosper but many of them are now not involved or the leaders are not there to guide them. When you look at the facts that Roscommon bet us by 17 points last year and have got most of their player's back who did not commit and we have lost a lot of players it is worrying to say the least. The New York game is now a toss-up if you ask me. And with Laois in division Four that only leaves one spot open for promotion and to be honest with Carlow's momentum, Antrim's pick and bounce from a new management and John Evans with Wicklow you would need to be a brave man to bet on Leitrim to be promoted with a weakened squad. If we had a full panel I honestly believe we would be promoted and rattle the Rossies. Yet as usual there will be no questions asked as to why all these players won't commit."
you asking why these players wont commit? no man has endless amount of time, everyone has family, work and other priorities, you must not expect these men year after year AFTER year to commit with they county board they way its ran and to and extent the management. Some men have seen the bigger picture and fair play to them, nobody should be shaming lads who wont commit.

AverageFootball (Leitrim) - Posts: 6 - 10/11/2017 15:24:13    2061629

Replying To AverageFootball:  "you asking why these players wont commit? no man has endless amount of time, everyone has family, work and other priorities, you must not expect these men year after year AFTER year to commit with they county board they way its ran and to and extent the management. Some men have seen the bigger picture and fair play to them, nobody should be shaming lads who wont commit."
If that came across as if I was questioning the players themselves that was not my intention. I blame the management and county board for this. It is their responsibility to create an atmosphere and culture where players should be chomping at the bit to play for Leitrim not being begged. It seems as if this is now beyond the current management. Unless an extraordinary series of events Leitrim will have another average league followed by a hammering to Roscommon and a defeat in the qualifiers and then Guckian and co will step down. And with that another year will be lost and more players that committed this year will become disillusioned. Its a vicious circle that begins with the county board not appointing people with the required capabilities.

Leitrim1234 (Leitrim) - Posts: 297 - 11/11/2017 10:38:32    2061703

Replying To Leitrim1234:  "So from talking to players that have been called up for S&C over the winter 90% of the reports on here are true for once. Up on 40 players have been called up which is great but their quality can be questioned. Benny Flynn is back but most of the other players mentioned are gone. 7 or 8 are gone and a few of the older ones like Ronan Kennedy have still not committed but will need a down time after Mohill's brilliant performance at the weekend. When considering all this 2018 is a scary prospect. It should be the year were all these young players begin to prosper but many of them are now not involved or the leaders are not there to guide them. When you look at the facts that Roscommon bet us by 17 points last year and have got most of their player's back who did not commit and we have lost a lot of players it is worrying to say the least. The New York game is now a toss-up if you ask me. And with Laois in division Four that only leaves one spot open for promotion and to be honest with Carlow's momentum, Antrim's pick and bounce from a new management and John Evans with Wicklow you would need to be a brave man to bet on Leitrim to be promoted with a weakened squad. If we had a full panel I honestly believe we would be promoted and rattle the Rossies. Yet as usual there will be no questions asked as to why all these players won't commit."
It's laughable to think that you believe leitrim with a full panel could 'rattle' Roscommon. What players are not there that ud consider starters?

Frawnci3 (Leitrim) - Posts: 64 - 12/11/2017 20:54:38    2061930

Replying To Leitrim1234:  "If that came across as if I was questioning the players themselves that was not my intention. I blame the management and county board for this. It is their responsibility to create an atmosphere and culture where players should be chomping at the bit to play for Leitrim not being begged. It seems as if this is now beyond the current management. Unless an extraordinary series of events Leitrim will have another average league followed by a hammering to Roscommon and a defeat in the qualifiers and then Guckian and co will step down. And with that another year will be lost and more players that committed this year will become disillusioned. Its a vicious circle that begins with the county board not appointing people with the required capabilities."
NY will be no pushovers so the hammering by Rossies mightn't happen. NY will feel that Leitrim will be there for the taking and will sense an upset.

Buzzcagney62 (Leitrim) - Posts: 217 - 13/11/2017 09:06:15    2061999

Darren Carberry floated around 3 clubs in 3 years in Longford, if it's the same fella that I'm thinking of. Not the type of footballer you'd be looking to call into your county panel if I'm honest.

Spinx (Longford) - Posts: 1236 - 16/11/2017 22:17:15    2062784

In Ryan O'Rourke, Darragh Rooney, Keith Beirne, Conor Cullen, Dean McGovern Etc. I think we have some of the best talent around. However, it is fantasy to think that they can develop and thrive without leaders and men to set example. Ronan Gallagher, Gary Reynolds, Paddy McGuire, Wayne McKeown, Shane Moran, Ronan Kennedy and Mark Plunkett (Who was all them young players U21 captain last year) are gone along with Pearce Dolan and Gary Plunkett who have both been man of the match in recent county finals. Add in that Paul Brennan will be playing with a team he obviously sees as progressive and that Kevin Conlan wont be representing any county team and you will understand how their is no leaders left. Yet nobody is being held to account. This is what happens when the "Jobs for the boys" approach is used when making appointments. Talk to some of the 40 players who have been called up for S&C if you don't believe me. Ask them if any of last years panel wanted change and then question yourself as to why no change has been made.

OnTheBank (Australia) - Posts: 170 - 17/11/2017 13:03:40    2062863

Replying To Spinx:  "Darren Carberry floated around 3 clubs in 3 years in Longford, if it's the same fella that I'm thinking of. Not the type of footballer you'd be looking to call into your county panel if I'm honest."
Darren carberry played for only clonguish and st Bridges. He played ffor kilashee all his playing career

Danielsgaa (Leitrim) - Posts: 8 - 17/11/2017 19:42:41    2062921

Carberry also played for Kenagh.

Spinx (Longford) - Posts: 1236 - 18/11/2017 00:12:59    2062939

Some very good players listed on these posts and Leitrim's future looking bright and fingers crossed we can have a good run in league and finally get promotion. . What struck me however in the last few Leitrim games I attended , the last one been our defeat to Carlow, was the size of opposition teams compared to Leitrim. We could do with about 7 or 8 6 foot plus players, Just a thought.

Buzzcagney62 (Leitrim) - Posts: 217 - 20/11/2017 12:48:02    2063079

What seems to be happening at the moment is that the players are not buying what the management are trying to sell them. At this stage the only way to turn this around is to appoint a high profile manager who has had success with young players in the past. The old cliche that "Leitrim just doesn't have the players" is not true anymore.

Flynn
McGuire Wrynn McWeeny
Plunkett Brennan Rooney
McGovern
Dolan
Plunkett Moran Conlan
Rooney Beirne O'Roruke

That team I named would easily be good enough to gain promotion from division four and would give themselves a fighting chance in the Connacht championship. It would then build momentum and give itself a foundation to compete consistently in the league and then eventually in the championship over 3 years. Think of the quality players I have left out here to who could make an impact of the bench - Cullen, Gaffney, Kennedy, Mulligan, Madden, Heslin etc
One of the remits of a management team must be that it can inspire and motivate players. This has become even more apparent in recent years with the amount of effort and time players must now give to the county scene if they want to compete. This clearly isn't happening as in that team 6 of the players are not going to be playing next year for Leitrim. People might not like saying this as Benny Guckian and Seamus Quinn are Leitrim Legends but that just isn't good enough especially when we have a small playing pool already.

GreenMan94 (Leitrim) - Posts: 29 - 21/11/2017 13:53:55    2063173

Replying To GreenMan94:  "What seems to be happening at the moment is that the players are not buying what the management are trying to sell them. At this stage the only way to turn this around is to appoint a high profile manager who has had success with young players in the past. The old cliche that "Leitrim just doesn't have the players" is not true anymore.

Flynn
McGuire Wrynn McWeeny
Plunkett Brennan Rooney
McGovern
Dolan
Plunkett Moran Conlan
Rooney Beirne O'Roruke

That team I named would easily be good enough to gain promotion from division four and would give themselves a fighting chance in the Connacht championship. It would then build momentum and give itself a foundation to compete consistently in the league and then eventually in the championship over 3 years. Think of the quality players I have left out here to who could make an impact of the bench - Cullen, Gaffney, Kennedy, Mulligan, Madden, Heslin etc
One of the remits of a management team must be that it can inspire and motivate players. This has become even more apparent in recent years with the amount of effort and time players must now give to the county scene if they want to compete. This clearly isn't happening as in that team 6 of the players are not going to be playing next year for Leitrim. People might not like saying this as Benny Guckian and Seamus Quinn are Leitrim Legends but that just isn't good enough especially when we have a small playing pool already."
If all those players named are gone we're back to square 1 another year of rebuilding seems we're doing this for the last decade going nowhere never having a full panel to pick from never giving ourselves a chance to progress really.
On a different note why did Melvin Gaels decide to enter the U21 A championship when they only played 1 game and conceded all other games they won Minor A last year i think surely they have enough numbers and surely Manor shouldn't have been allowed into B championship they would have the numbers for the A competition.

green.and.gold (Leitrim) - Posts: 427 - 23/11/2017 10:56:50    2063346

Replying To green.and.gold:  "If all those players named are gone we're back to square 1 another year of rebuilding seems we're doing this for the last decade going nowhere never having a full panel to pick from never giving ourselves a chance to progress really.
On a different note why did Melvin Gaels decide to enter the U21 A championship when they only played 1 game and conceded all other games they won Minor A last year i think surely they have enough numbers and surely Manor shouldn't have been allowed into B championship they would have the numbers for the A competition."
going to be a long year. excellent point on the under 21 saga, crucial age for player development obviously but in my opinion the manor saga was avoidable and again underlines the ineptitude of county board officials, big clubs calling all the shots from what i can see. Manor picking their trophies which is frustrating for smaller clubs, they obviously didnt see the 15 a saide as winnable with the like of Mohill and Ballinamore, so they were allowed drop down to 13 a side, and land out in championship games with 10/11 subs. is it really any wonder that players at this age in small clubs are struggling to bother playing??

journeyman11 (Leitrim) - Posts: 47 - 24/11/2017 11:43:13    2063437

As a county I wish we were a small bit more proactive in promoting our game. We are missing a trick by not having a Leitrim club team of the year. Each position could have three players nominated and then either each club manager and club captain could pick one and then tally the votes or an online vote for each position. In the technological age we are in it would be a brilliant way of gaining the younger generations attentions while also rewarding our players. Clearly, there is never going to be agreement on all these awards but here's mine to start debate.

Club of the year - Mohill
Up and coming club - Leitrim Gaels
Club Player of the Year - Shane Quinn, Mohills most consistent performer
County Player of the Year - Darragh Rooney - Nobody else even comes close
Young Player of the Year - Conor Cullen/ Cillian McGloin
Manager of the Year - David Casey - Aughnasheelin

(Only nominating an overall pick for each section of the field for this forum)
Goalkeeper - Colin McGuire (Aughawillan)
Defender - Paddy McGuire (Manor)
Midfielder - Barry McWeeny (Aughnasheelin)
Attacker - Keith Beirne (Mohill)

Disappointment of the year - The U21s first half performance in Tuam, threw away at the least a Connacht championship
Boost of the year - The amount of young quality players who are coming through at once in Leitrim
Looking forward to - Club championship 2018 - 5 very strong teams who can all defeat eachother
Worry for 2018 - The alarming amount of players not committing to the county set up

LeitrimWay (Leitrim) - Posts: 66 - 05/12/2017 16:45:34    2064493