New Wexford football manager

Replying To icehonesty:  "Just because a team is young and transition, doesn't mean we can overlook the shambles this season has been. A second year will set us back further.

Agree, Eoin Porter is a talent."
I am agreeing with you to a degree just if we hire someone else again we will have had 3 managers in 3 years. We will have the in transition speal again.

If and it's a big "if" a proper name is put forward who has standing in the game (not like what happened last year) then yes I wpull be in favour of change.

But I think there should be transparency in who and why we have chosen a person not like last yesterday when Paul was named and everyones first two questions were who and why.

wexcore (Wexford) - Posts: 740 - 09/06/2018 17:01:21    2108972

Replying To wexcore:  "I am agreeing with you to a degree just if we hire someone else again we will have had 3 managers in 3 years. We will have the in transition speal again.

If and it's a big "if" a proper name is put forward who has standing in the game (not like what happened last year) then yes I wpull be in favour of change.

But I think there should be transparency in who and why we have chosen a person not like last yesterday when Paul was named and everyones first two questions were who and why."
I think we are pretty much on the one page here. I agree, turnover of managers isn't good for us or for any team. BUT it's even more important to get the right person in charge, and I'm pretty sure we need change.

And I agree. My first two questions last year were who and why.

icehonesty (Wexford) - Posts: 2553 - 09/06/2018 17:44:48    2108989

grand so we get rid of paul wat den , who will get who is better than he is who would want the job , its a 3 to 5 year cycle we need changing the manager just for the sake of it is not the answer .

gusseraneman (Wexford) - Posts: 521 - 09/06/2018 21:32:38    2109109

Replying To wexcore:  "Tough to take but Waterfords intensity blew us open in the first half ... I have said mcloughlin should get another year but after that when time and time again we were exposed straight down the middle it makes you wonder.

One positive I will say before it gets all doom and gloom eoin Porter was outstanding"
that contrasts wildly with your "analysis" of the hurlers last week.
hard luck to the lads,i did not see that result coming when i predicted 5-6 point victory.

perfect10 (Wexford) - Posts: 3929 - 10/06/2018 08:06:02    2109248

Replying To gusseraneman:  "grand so we get rid of paul wat den , who will get who is better than he is who would want the job , its a 3 to 5 year cycle we need changing the manager just for the sake of it is not the answer ."
I agree gusseraneman, but it's not changing the manager just for the sake of it. It's changing the manager because he is just not good enough. I don't know who we will get to take the job, but I don't see why we stick with something that isn't up to the standard. That wouldn't make sense.

icehonesty (Wexford) - Posts: 2553 - 10/06/2018 09:51:26    2109279

Replying To perfect10:  "that contrasts wildly with your "analysis" of the hurlers last week.
hard luck to the lads,i did not see that result coming when i predicted 5-6 point victory."
Excuse me ... I never wrote one post in the hurling thread till Thursday and my analysis was we are not as good as some thing but not as bad as others.. like I said last year you actually worse then a mother hen.

Did you make the match or was the soccer back on tv ?

wexcore (Wexford) - Posts: 740 - 10/06/2018 10:11:35    2109287

We played 11 competitive matches, we lost 9, and won two. The two we won were against Armaghs reserves and Dublin's 4th string. Abysmal

890202 (Wexford) - Posts: 1278 - 10/06/2018 10:37:48    2109298

your post was completely derogatory towards the team.
i dont watch soccer,it is often on where i work and that is it.

perfect10 (Wexford) - Posts: 3929 - 10/06/2018 12:26:32    2109351

Some people on here are living in a different word, they think we have a good football team. The reality is that we don't. We lost at home to possibility one of the worst football team in Ireland. They were beating us by 7 points going into injury time. It not the manager fault or the players fault or the county board fault. we just don't have the players. Look at the minor team this year, hammered by everyone in Leinster. I don't know what happen next year because possible our 3 best players might retire. Daithi, Malone and Ben. We're just not anywhere near the standard required and that the reality

hunting (Wexford) - Posts: 942 - 10/06/2018 13:16:34    2109368

Replying To perfect10:  "your post was completely derogatory towards the team.
i dont watch soccer,it is often on where i work and that is it."
One of the best posts on here I have seen. When things are going well we think we are amazing when we lose we are horrendous ... the answer is some where in between. We can rattle any team on our day and do into any match with a degree of confidence (unlike the last decade ) maybe bar galway who look a cut above everyone this year.
wexcore (Wexford) - Posts: 680 - 07/06/2018 10:15:44 2108291

My last post on the hurling page till this morning ... where is the analysis?? Where is the running down players or team... lie down like a good Chap

wexcore (Wexford) - Posts: 740 - 10/06/2018 13:26:14    2109371

Replying To hunting:  "Some people on here are living in a different word, they think we have a good football team. The reality is that we don't. We lost at home to possibility one of the worst football team in Ireland. They were beating us by 7 points going into injury time. It not the manager fault or the players fault or the county board fault. we just don't have the players. Look at the minor team this year, hammered by everyone in Leinster. I don't know what happen next year because possible our 3 best players might retire. Daithi, Malone and Ben. We're just not anywhere near the standard required and that the reality"
I agree whole heartily that we need to realise where we are. We are not in a good moment but that doesn't mean we can't strive for better.

We should have beaten laois who are now playing in a leinster semi...

We have had a bad year possibly the worst in a long time.Questions need to be asked on how to progress. I am on the fence about mcloughlin if I am honest.

I was all for him continuing but the fact he couldn't rectify the fact Waterford ran through our middle constantly by pulling Rossiter from the middle is a bit worrying.

Let me just say Waterford were the better team and we're full merit for there win.

wexcore (Wexford) - Posts: 740 - 10/06/2018 13:30:09    2109376

Replying To hunting:  "Some people on here are living in a different word, they think we have a good football team. The reality is that we don't. We lost at home to possibility one of the worst football team in Ireland. They were beating us by 7 points going into injury time. It not the manager fault or the players fault or the county board fault. we just don't have the players. Look at the minor team this year, hammered by everyone in Leinster. I don't know what happen next year because possible our 3 best players might retire. Daithi, Malone and Ben. We're just not anywhere near the standard required and that the reality"
Ridiculous post

hurlorhurley (Wexford) - Posts: 1660 - 10/06/2018 13:57:42    2109388

Reality is we don't have the population to sustain both codes at a high level in the county. The days of dual counties are numbered in the smaller counties and going forward the supposed dual counties apart from say Galway, Dublin and Cork, one of the codes will take preference. In Wexford hurling will always be number one and most of our underage should be put into the development of hurling in the county. If we don't we will forever have two below average county teams.

Finchfurlong996 (Wexford) - Posts: 255 - 10/06/2018 14:01:57    2109390

Replying To Finchfurlong996:  "Reality is we don't have the population to sustain both codes at a high level in the county. The days of dual counties are numbered in the smaller counties and going forward the supposed dual counties apart from say Galway, Dublin and Cork, one of the codes will take preference. In Wexford hurling will always be number one and most of our underage should be put into the development of hurling in the county. If we don't we will forever have two below average county teams."
30 players can play hurling at senior level in a year? Have we only 60 or 70 adult gaa players in the county or am I missing something here?
Blaming hurling won't cure football and blaming football won't cure hurling either

hurlorhurley (Wexford) - Posts: 1660 - 10/06/2018 14:50:38    2109411

Replying To hurlorhurley:  "Ridiculous post"
What ridiculous about it??

hunting (Wexford) - Posts: 942 - 10/06/2018 17:01:52    2109463

Here come the hurling only people out from under their rocks.

icehonesty (Wexford) - Posts: 2553 - 10/06/2018 18:21:12    2109494

Replying To icehonesty:  "Here come the hurling only people out from under their rocks."
to be expected lad they blame football for everything ,

gusseraneman (Wexford) - Posts: 521 - 10/06/2018 21:12:32    2109577

we have a big enough county to support both games,but do we need clubs to focus on one game?i know it might be considered un-gaa etc,but lets face it do we want success or continued mediocrity?
galway are successful and they have definite hurling and football areas.i feel we need to do the same.
i know people will point to matt o hanlon,etc but is 1-2 players enough to justify something?
before people jump on me about it,i am trying to find solutions for football,playing poor us wont get the game anywhere.
looking at sunday game and laois into the final,ugh what might have been.i would rather be in a final and lose it.

perfect10 (Wexford) - Posts: 3929 - 10/06/2018 22:11:18    2109610

Stupid rule from the powers that be but bringing on the 2 u20s was simply unforgivable

Yesterday just shows our level whatever about management etc. but I think division 4 is simply level at the moment

Fair play to John Tubritt 9 points from play in our 2 championship games couldn't ask for much better from a corner forward

bostonredsox (Wexford) - Posts: 4368 - 10/06/2018 22:23:47    2109619

Replying To perfect10:  "we have a big enough county to support both games,but do we need clubs to focus on one game?i know it might be considered un-gaa etc,but lets face it do we want success or continued mediocrity?
galway are successful and they have definite hurling and football areas.i feel we need to do the same.
i know people will point to matt o hanlon,etc but is 1-2 players enough to justify something?
before people jump on me about it,i am trying to find solutions for football,playing poor us wont get the game anywhere.
looking at sunday game and laois into the final,ugh what might have been.i would rather be in a final and lose it."
If we had beaten Laois Carlow would have beaten us. Beaten us handy lad.

And no. We are privileged in Wexford to be in a dual county. We don't need to concentrate on just one.

icehonesty (Wexford) - Posts: 2553 - 11/06/2018 09:12:06    2109724