Eire Og Greystones situation

Two questions- What did eire og officials say when championship was deferred after a vote? Why did Eire og players not withdraw then? This should have been a big issue last spring

jokeshop (Wicklow) - Posts: 32 - 03/10/2017 19:36:57    2052803

Replying To icehonesty:  "Fair play to the Eire Og players. They are serious footballers and hurlers, and are right in my opinion to withdraw over this issue. Your Co Board clearly had no regard for their welfare.

Also, obviously I'm an outsider. I had a chat last week about this situation with a lad I work with from Meath, and we both agreed this never would have happened to one particular club in Wicklow anyway. The bias/politics in Wicklow are clear to see even from far away."
Disappointed to hear that the Eire Og players won't be making themselves available for selection to the county panels. Disappointed but hardly surprised. The worst aspect of this is the lads will be the biggest losers out of this. Not being available won't make a whit of difference to those who made the decisions to play the games on those dates, or to those at the helm. They will be busy arranging them selves for re-election. Some will change seats, one or two may step down but there are plenty of subs on the bench to ensure a smooth transition. Usual delegates to Leinster Council and Central Council. The usual safe hands sent off to Congrrss. I am no spring chicken but a lot of people at our top table have been around longer than I have. Lip service will be paid in patronising those who feel aggrieved, but there it will end. Perhaps clubs need to do a little soul searching about the quality of representation they send to county convention and monthly board meetings. At the end of the day, the clubs have it in their power to change everything.

Freethinker (Wicklow) - Posts: 999 - 03/10/2017 19:38:55    2052805

Everyone should just take a second to consider the Eire Og Greystones club & players position. All anyone wants is fair play and as far as I understand the officials in Greystones lobbied vigorously against the two fixtures being played back to back inside 24hrs. The players that have withdrawn from county duty do so with a heavy heart I'd say but they obviously feel like they've been treated appallingly despite their years and years of service, for example Stephen Kelly & Darren Hayden have given 10 years of honesty and effort to Wicklow and have dies with their boots on time after time, Billy Cuddihy and Peter Keane the same. It's a pity for young James Cranley and Anto Byrne as they are at the beginning of their careers but you must applaud all these guys for taking this stance and representing all club players who have and may be in the future screwed over by a County Board with zero regard for player welfare. Finally, ask yourselves what would you think if it happened to your club???

Julius (Wicklow) - Posts: 23 - 03/10/2017 19:52:46    2052812

All that anyone expects is fair play in any competition and while I am not aware of the internal politics within Wicklow GAA; if there is some sort of internal politics going on that favours one club over another then as a county we run the risk losing our integrity. I don't see what the benefit is to individuals who are appointed to run all domestic competitions favouring one club over another but then maybe I just believe that all players, clubs, officials etc should be reward and punished fairly and above board. I think the people concerned (be they officials, clubs or whoever) should look at this as a massive learning and ensure that it doesn't happen again because if it continues to occur year after year then there is no doubt that players, mentors and supporters will walk away and the bigger risk is that that gaa within the county will suffer irreversible damage,if it hasn't done so already. I hope that the players concerned can return to the county team and that they and their welfare will treated with the utmost importance going forward.

wicklowsupport (Wicklow) - Posts: 1910 - 03/10/2017 21:22:16    2052844

Replying To jokeshop:  "Two questions- What did eire og officials say when championship was deferred after a vote? Why did Eire og players not withdraw then? This should have been a big issue last spring"
That's not even relevant. Nobody, from any club, was going to expect that they would be instructed to play 2 big Championship games in less that 24 hours. From the interview their chairman gave in the paper, all they were asking for was a 3 or 4 day break between the 2 games.

ogra (Wicklow) - Posts: 142 - 04/10/2017 10:19:58    2052924

Replying To wicklowsupport:  "All that anyone expects is fair play in any competition and while I am not aware of the internal politics within Wicklow GAA; if there is some sort of internal politics going on that favours one club over another then as a county we run the risk losing our integrity. I don't see what the benefit is to individuals who are appointed to run all domestic competitions favouring one club over another but then maybe I just believe that all players, clubs, officials etc should be reward and punished fairly and above board. I think the people concerned (be they officials, clubs or whoever) should look at this as a massive learning and ensure that it doesn't happen again because if it continues to occur year after year then there is no doubt that players, mentors and supporters will walk away and the bigger risk is that that gaa within the county will suffer irreversible damage,if it hasn't done so already. I hope that the players concerned can return to the county team and that they and their welfare will treated with the utmost importance going forward."
A here. Irreversible damage. Would you go away out of that square ball.

Fellas dont want to play for the county because of a row about a club fixture. Sure let them off thats grand its an amateur game we go with whoever wants to play. Irreversible damage my eye. I know you are away and a good bit out of touch but for most of us the county donesnt matter that much and nowhere as much as the club. That is what the GAA is about.

Fellas dont want to play county any more then grand let it be. How on earth could you come about like that and say irreversible damage. Cop on to yourself.

Pat Mustard (None) - Posts: 385 - 04/10/2017 21:38:56    2053149

If players don't want to play for their county that's their own decision, no one elses.
I see posts on here constantly complaining about this, that and the other. If you want to effect change in this county, you ensure your club sends the right people to these county board meetings. There are decisions being made at these meetings and if truth be told , half the people that go to the meetings have no interest whatsoever in some of the decisions being made.

Eire Og should not have been asked to play two important games one day after the other. Now that they have, ensure it doesn't happen again and let clubs take an active interest in what goes on at these meetings . How many clubs actually send delegates to these meetings ?

61123 (Wicklow) - Posts: 172 - 06/10/2017 14:23:01    2053586

Replying To Pat Mustard:  "A here. Irreversible damage. Would you go away out of that square ball.

Fellas dont want to play for the county because of a row about a club fixture. Sure let them off thats grand its an amateur game we go with whoever wants to play. Irreversible damage my eye. I know you are away and a good bit out of touch but for most of us the county donesnt matter that much and nowhere as much as the club. That is what the GAA is about.

Fellas dont want to play county any more then grand let it be. How on earth could you come about like that and say irreversible damage. Cop on to yourself."
Didn't think you'd be back on here so soon Pat after embarrassing yourself on the new manager thread. What new nuggets of wisdom have you got for us now?.

Hawkeye2 (Wicklow) - Posts: 121 - 06/10/2017 15:40:24    2053617

Any thoughts on how the whole Catalonia situation's going to play out Pat? Presumably you know people in the know there too just like you did re: the Wicklow job?

stanley (None) - Posts: 434 - 06/10/2017 19:23:57    2053655

Replying To stanley:  "Any thoughts on how the whole Catalonia situation's going to play out Pat? Presumably you know people in the know there too just like you did re: the Wicklow job?"
Dont know anything about that Stan and couldnt care less. I do know all about Wicklow gaa however and at this stage what I care about for the rest of this year is will Blesso finally bridge the gap next Sunday and county Scor at the end of the month.
What happened with the county manager job was a disgrace and the chickens will come home to roost when the kerry man realise what hes dealing with. They should have stuck with the plan and not dump on our own

Pat Mustard (None) - Posts: 385 - 09/10/2017 13:16:49    2054110

Pat, what you say in relation to the county manager that was appointed may be how some people feel and maybe that is the biggest issue within the county - that we have no idea how to run our own affairs but we would rather run them into the ground ourselves than give it over to someone from outside the county who can run it right. Is that the receipe for success we have been following for our history? If so, it isn't hard to see why we are always last/bottom of the pile, all the time. There appears to be people in Wicklow and I haven't come across it in the counties I circulate in; who don't want wicklow to succeed and I'm not sure what they would do if Wicklow ever do succeed - this is a strange attitude for a county to have and it is a sad reflection on us as a county; it gives oxygen to people in other counties who describe wicklow gaa as a wasteland. I was at the matches over the weekend and I saw John Evans there; the biggest issue he has is that there were very few players on show who were inter county standard which makes the absence of the players from Eire Og even more critical going into 2018.

wicklowsupport (Wicklow) - Posts: 1910 - 09/10/2017 18:24:25    2054230

Is it true that Eire Og County players have met with management of hurling and football and agreed to play after all??

hurlingnut (Wicklow) - Posts: 311 - 13/10/2017 22:50:03    2055164

I hadn't heard that story hurlinghut but I hope it is true as I believe that the players from Eire Og are vital to the on-going progress for both the footballers and hurlers. As a county, we can't afford to be without any players that are good enough to play at inter county level and it would be a shame if these guys were caught up in a tug of war over a situation that should never have arisen and should never, ever be allowed to happened again. Lets hope that this type of situation is never repeated and that the necessary lessons are learnt from what happened.

wicklowsupport (Wicklow) - Posts: 1910 - 14/10/2017 12:16:12    2055225

"Lets hope that this type of situation is never repeated and that the necessary lessons are learnt from what happened.

wicklowsupport (Wicklow) - Posts:958 - 14/10/2017 12:16:12 2055225
"

Wouldn't hold my breath on anyone in this county learning a lesson.

hurlingnut (Wicklow) - Posts: 311 - 29/10/2017 13:57:01    2058944