Lee Keegan throwing GPS at Rock?

What next on Halloween day a player might get praised for showing terrific initative for lighting a black cat and throwing it in the free takers direction

hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 18/09/2017 22:47:18    2047796

As Philly McMahon said tonight in Smithfield mayo threw everything at us haha they must have plenty of money as we couldn't afford to give away our GPS's like that

hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 18/09/2017 22:50:54    2047800

Look what Lee Keegan did was poor sportsmanship but I don't think he should be crucified over it. There was quite a bit of unsporting behaviour near the end but what do people expect, this is life defining moments for these Dublin and Mayo players, they are going to do anything to win.

Green_Gold (Donegal) - Posts: 1873 - 18/09/2017 23:39:30    2047829

If Lee Keegan threw his GPS at Rock it is very disappointing to see. Keegan is better than that and shouldn't let the frustration of yet another agonising defeat get the better of him.

As for Kerry fans slating Keegan. I find that hilarious when Barry John Keane cynically booted the ball off the kicking tee as Papa Durcan was about to take a kick out in the dying stages of the 2014 final.

All the threads since the final whistle have been dominated with negativity. What about the balls Rock showed to convert that winning free, fair play to him.

Killarney.87 (Tipperary) - Posts: 2513 - 19/09/2017 00:49:40    2047855

Replying To hill16no1man:  "could you imagine if connolly done this the media and hoganstand would explode
but keegan seems to be given the badge of honour time after time for doing whatever it takes to unsettle players."
Badge of honour while his rival Diarmuid is picking up a FIFTH all Ireland title. I know who's camp id rather be in isn't that right hill ;)

waynoI (Dublin) - Posts: 13650 - 19/09/2017 01:24:35    2047860

Agree very disappointing from a player I really admire. Agree with the point above, very out of Character numerous Final defeats starting to get to them.

I actually think a couple of years away from the AI final would do Mayo good, I know this would mean that players like Moran wouldn't get their medal, but the cracks starting to show in the current team, get some fresh players on board over the next couple of years without the baggage the current squad have.

thejockey (UK) - Posts: 118 - 19/09/2017 07:55:53    2047882

Do hurlers not throw their hurls from time to time?

At the end of the day Keegan hasn't flung the gps at rock. There are people calling Keegan all sorts of names, when at the end of the day all he did was try and stop a score. He wasn't trying to Kill Dean Rock.

It's no different than the dublin players jumping on the mayo defenders backs during the last kick out.

PS. A few of the donegal posters on here would want to get off their high horses. At the end of the u21 championship game with tyrone this year, the game was in the balance in injury time and the donegal bench started launching footballs into the pitch while tyrone were lining up an attack. I had never seen it done before. I was absolutley disgusted and lost a lot of respect for them that evening.

Teams will try anything to get over the line. Such is sport. NFL, Baseball, premier league. It happens in all sports. Keegan just happens to be the first person to think of using his GPS to try distract someone.

Anyway well done Dean Rock and Dublin.

MickyThePost (Donegal) - Posts: 26 - 19/09/2017 09:27:03    2047903

I'd agree that it was unsportsmanlike. 100%. However would you think that trying to distract someone taking a free is worse than gouging someone's face as o gara did to boyler?
What Keegan did was not a big deal in the grand scheme of things that go on in a battle.

nextyear (Mayo) - Posts: 60 - 19/09/2017 11:10:12    2047951

maybe keegan should have tried something like this :

Mwepu Ilunga of Zaire in FIFA world cup 1974

s goldrick (Cavan) - Posts: 5518 - 19/09/2017 12:28:24    2048014

Replying To nextyear:  "I'd agree that it was unsportsmanlike. 100%. However would you think that trying to distract someone taking a free is worse than gouging someone's face as o gara did to boyler?
What Keegan did was not a big deal in the grand scheme of things that go on in a battle."
It was a low thing to do and if that's what it takes to win I'd rather lose. Jim Mc Guinness is spot on again in his article this week, Mayo have only themselves to blame, that must be the hardest thing to take.
Well done Dublin, and massive respect for Dean Rock kicking that winning point under the circumstances.

Tirchonaill1 (Donegal) - Posts: 2739 - 19/09/2017 12:50:27    2048033

Replying To waynoI:  "Badge of honour while his rival Diarmuid is picking up a FIFTH all Ireland title. I know who's camp id rather be in isn't that right hill ;)"
Damn straight my man

hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 19/09/2017 13:48:19    2048056

All teams pushing for honours have a ruthless cynical streak in them.

Some things get caught on camera and blow up in the media but these lads will do anything to win.
Lots of things done or said are never are seen or heard.

I see how people think it is hard watch this but these are the levels players go to win, both O'Gara and Keegan, not favouring one side. I assume neither Mayo or Dublin when the dust settled would be shocked by the opponents antics.

If you know a county footballer well enough so you don't get the scripted media answer ask them what goes on in a game.

Its mental and physical warfare on the pitch and Sunday was two great teams at both and also the two best football teams going to the edge to win. I found all of it very entertaining.

IARMHI17 (Westmeath) - Posts: 16 - 19/09/2017 14:04:29    2048069

Replying To IARMHI17:  "All teams pushing for honours have a ruthless cynical streak in them.

Some things get caught on camera and blow up in the media but these lads will do anything to win.
Lots of things done or said are never are seen or heard.

I see how people think it is hard watch this but these are the levels players go to win, both O'Gara and Keegan, not favouring one side. I assume neither Mayo or Dublin when the dust settled would be shocked by the opponents antics.

If you know a county footballer well enough so you don't get the scripted media answer ask them what goes on in a game.

Its mental and physical warfare on the pitch and Sunday was two great teams at both and also the two best football teams going to the edge to win. I found all of it very entertaining."
I agree, there isn't too much outcry about how when David Clarke was trying to kick the ball out straight from the Rock point, three of Mayo's outlets for the kick were on the ground being grappled by Dublin players.

This, like the Keegan incident. Really irrelevant. Dublin have won the All Ireland, they are the worthy Champions.

Lets back back to reality now lads and enjoy what I thought was a decent years football.

GetOverTheBar (Tyrone) - Posts: 1388 - 19/09/2017 15:26:16    2048125

Replying To nextyear:  "I'd agree that it was unsportsmanlike. 100%. However would you think that trying to distract someone taking a free is worse than gouging someone's face as o gara did to boyler?
What Keegan did was not a big deal in the grand scheme of things that go on in a battle."
What Keegan did was not a big deal in the grand scheme of things that go on in a battle.

If he'd distracted Dean and he's missed it would have been a very big deal. It's only deemed to be 'no big deal' now because he made the shot.

GaaGaa78 (UK) - Posts: 285 - 19/09/2017 16:04:49    2048152

They should punish him by taking back all his IC All Ireland Medals.....
oh...wait......

Liamwalkinstown (Dublin) - Posts: 8166 - 19/09/2017 16:25:31    2048161

Replying To jimbodub:  "Utter drivel.

You'd think I'd defend J Cooper doing that or John Small?

I'd be embarrassed and condemn it without hesitation

If you don't think this would be an even bigger story if a Dub player threw his GPS tracker at COC to put him off winning an AI title with the last kick of the game in injury time then you're either daft or a liar.

Look at the negative reaction already directed at some calls that went Dublin's way..

Your opinion of me is way off"
I can understand where you're coming from and there might well be more made of it had it been a Dublin player. That said, imagine the uproar had Keegan's efforts actually caused Rock to miss and if it wasn't noticed by the officals? I don't think Keegan would be getting away so lightly. The fact Dublin won the game and have completed the 3 in a row deserved more attention than what Lee Keegan did.

Mobot (Donegal) - Posts: 459 - 19/09/2017 16:57:54    2048175

Replying To GetOverTheBar:  "I agree, there isn't too much outcry about how when David Clarke was trying to kick the ball out straight from the Rock point, three of Mayo's outlets for the kick were on the ground being grappled by Dublin players.

This, like the Keegan incident. Really irrelevant. Dublin have won the All Ireland, they are the worthy Champions.

Lets back back to reality now lads and enjoy what I thought was a decent years football."
Hardly irrelevant when you are a point down and time is almost up - if only the Dublin players had resorted to throwing their GPS at the Mayo players, Clarke might have been able to get his kick-out to a colleague

neverright (Roscommon) - Posts: 1648 - 19/09/2017 17:38:42    2048200

Replying To Mobot:  "I can understand where you're coming from and there might well be more made of it had it been a Dublin player. That said, imagine the uproar had Keegan's efforts actually caused Rock to miss and if it wasn't noticed by the officals? I don't think Keegan would be getting away so lightly. The fact Dublin won the game and have completed the 3 in a row deserved more attention than what Lee Keegan did."
Very true.

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20600 - 19/09/2017 19:10:46    2048230

Replying To GaaGaa78:  "What Keegan did was not a big deal in the grand scheme of things that go on in a battle.

If he'd distracted Dean and he's missed it would have been a very big deal. It's only deemed to be 'no big deal' now because he made the shot."
However Clarke could not get a quick kick-out away after Rock's score because three Mayo players were being wrestled to the ground and the ref waved play on. Maybe that was a 'big deal'.

neverright (Roscommon) - Posts: 1648 - 19/09/2017 19:14:13    2048231

Replying To neverright:  "Hardly irrelevant when you are a point down and time is almost up - if only the Dublin players had resorted to throwing their GPS at the Mayo players, Clarke might have been able to get his kick-out to a colleague"
Clarke had two players unmarked standing under the Hogan stand, why didn't he just kick it to them . His manager was desperately trying to draw his attention to these options . But he chose to kick it over the sideline!!! That was the Dublin players fault? Great.

Marse (Dublin) - Posts: 217 - 19/09/2017 19:30:04    2048235