New Sligo Manager

"I think we so much focus given to young lads to get bigger and stronger in GAA and your name is muscles" ha ha

RealSouthSligo (Sligo) - Posts: 84 - 13/09/2017 17:10:00    2045711

eoinog - you have to move with the times. Did you see the article today about the height and weight of both mayo and Dublin team - very good.
They have invested huge money in S&C as have tip and galway hurlers. Tyrone / Donegal are other teams that have as well but its easy to see this in teams when they play.

You wont get a chance to kick the size over the bar if your not strong enough to win it or break a tackle.

RealSouthSligo (Sligo) - Posts: 84 - 13/09/2017 17:15:55    2045713

Replying To tubberman2010:  "I do however think a holistic approach would be of huge benefit to Sligo going forward, lets take Kerry as the model 8 years ago they made a serious decision to improve the type and condition of the players they had coming from underage, they introduced the best coaches they had to the underage system and gave them the best S&C and dieticians available. something similar needs to be looked at with us at everything from u20 down.

looking through the teams at u14, u15 and u16 in the last few years it is quiet striking the physical difference of the other Connaught teams to our lads. take the ted webb completion that just finished we where fair behind Roscommon and galway city in terms of size and preparation. the difference between the Sligo v Leitrim game and the ross v galway city game last Friday was amazing, it really was like junior and senior. there is massive effort going into schools in Sligo and they are reaping the rewards but this is not been transformed to county level. we have to ask the serious questions here as to why ? is it the structures r the coaches or the players that are at fault? or is it them all!! these are serious questions that need answers.
in my mind and this is purely one mans opinion I feel that we need our best coaches managing u17 and u20 in the next two years with huge emphases on s&c, diet and gaining the necessary skill sets to be able to walk into the county team and thrive. any player coming out of the u20 set up should be physically and mentally ready to drive the county senior team forward, this has never been the case as we look always for them allusive titles at these grades instead of cutting our cloth according to our needs.
1. we need county ready players for the senior team
2. we need physically and mentally strong players
3. we need young senior players with drive and ambition to progress the county senior team.

focus on these things at underage aim to bring 3 players from each team with these set of capabilities and we will thrive going forward. rather than sit hoping for the next player to magically appear we need to actively create them"
"there is massive effort going into schools in Sligo"

To paraphrase Sir Humphrey from Yes Minister: the schools, both of them.

ChasingShadows (Sligo) - Posts: 54 - 13/09/2017 17:17:10    2045716

RealSouthSligo, Your missing O'Kelly-Lynch who has had a big impact

Lads like Laffey, Cummins, Rooney, Cathal Henry along with Liam Henry and Nicholson (who both went to states this year) are all breaking into the panel and hopefully keep progressing

And like all good nicknames, muscles is meant to be ironic

muscles (Sligo) - Posts: 444 - 13/09/2017 19:31:37    2045765

FOD - unless you know the inner workings of him and his management style then you cant possibly make assumptions that he is some fantastic manager. I have to say I do and I know closely many if his players both past and present. they where very unimpressed by him in general, his man management is extremely poor. his squad management is even worse and this is something we really need to work on in Sligo.

I for one know the inner workings and know you are talking total hogwash here. Let me guess you were probably told something by someone that probably holds a grudge against O Donnell? and you were foolish enough to believe what you were told.

Workrate and team play are key parts of his management make up and any type of success or progress can't be achieved without decent man management skills. His squad management has been about retaining as many of the players that were there with the last management (stability) and introducing a few of his own choices. For the record Conor Devaney,Fintan Cregg were brought back after a spell away last year and both have arguably been our best players since their returns

he peaked with the minor success which was built on serious fitness and hardwork. something you wont be able to replicate at senior level because all teams have this

In 2006 at minor level Galway,Kerry,Meath and Mayo who we beat had a higher fitness levels than us simply because they have better training facilitates and more money to prepare their teams. More often of not and whatever the grade the hardest working team wins the game. For the record the only teams that have serious fitness at senior level are the top four Kerry,Tyone,Mayo and Dublin the rest have a lot of catching up to do.

Oh and BTW we scored 6 frees in the Connacht final in 2010 not 9 and the following year we gave away 8 scoring frees to C O Connor in the Connacht final many of which they played for against a weak ref. So we could have easily won back to back Connacht titles back then something we haven't achieved since 1990/91.

The_analyser (Roscommon) - Posts: 3766 - 15/09/2017 19:52:42    2046318

Replying To The_analyser:  "FOD - unless you know the inner workings of him and his management style then you cant possibly make assumptions that he is some fantastic manager. I have to say I do and I know closely many if his players both past and present. they where very unimpressed by him in general, his man management is extremely poor. his squad management is even worse and this is something we really need to work on in Sligo.

I for one know the inner workings and know you are talking total hogwash here. Let me guess you were probably told something by someone that probably holds a grudge against O Donnell? and you were foolish enough to believe what you were told.

Workrate and team play are key parts of his management make up and any type of success or progress can't be achieved without decent man management skills. His squad management has been about retaining as many of the players that were there with the last management (stability) and introducing a few of his own choices. For the record Conor Devaney,Fintan Cregg were brought back after a spell away last year and both have arguably been our best players since their returns

he peaked with the minor success which was built on serious fitness and hardwork. something you wont be able to replicate at senior level because all teams have this

In 2006 at minor level Galway,Kerry,Meath and Mayo who we beat had a higher fitness levels than us simply because they have better training facilitates and more money to prepare their teams. More often of not and whatever the grade the hardest working team wins the game. For the record the only teams that have serious fitness at senior level are the top four Kerry,Tyone,Mayo and Dublin the rest have a lot of catching up to do.

Oh and BTW we scored 6 frees in the Connacht final in 2010 not 9 and the following year we gave away 8 scoring frees to C O Connor in the Connacht final many of which they played for against a weak ref. So we could have easily won back to back Connacht titles back then something we haven't achieved since 1990/91."
some of your points are good some are not, it may surprise you to know that I do not quiet a lot about what went on in 2006, and lets be honest there was very little money spared by Roscommon in terms of preparation for that team, including weekend trips up north and to the Curragh. that team was extremely fit and hard working with one or two excellent footballers in the mix. I am not taking anything away from FOD at all, in fact I thought considering where that team started ( 30 point defeat to Armagh in challenge ) he did a remarkable job to win the all Ireland.
at senior level he isn't great in todays game that's my opinion. I wouldn't be in favour of him as Sligo manager but that isn't my call

tubberman2010 (Sligo) - Posts: 22 - 15/09/2017 21:24:24    2046335

some of your points are good some are not, it may surprise you to know that I do not quiet a lot about what went on in 2006, and lets be honest there was very little money spared by Roscommon in terms of preparation for that team, including weekend trips up north and to the Curragh. that team was extremely fit and hard working with one or two excellent footballers in the mix. I am not taking anything away from FOD at all, in fact I thought considering where that team started ( 30 point defeat to Armagh in challenge ) he did a remarkable job to win the all Ireland.
at senior level he isn't great in todays game that's my opinion. I wouldn't be in favour of him as Sligo manager but that isn't my call

tubberman2010 (Sligo) - Posts:20 - 15/09/2017 21:24:24 2

If you want to be honest well more was spent on our minor teams after 2006 and the furthest we got since then was All Ireland semi final. Extremely well organized and hard working is what i would consider our 2006 All Ireland winning team more than extremely fit as i pointed out already we faced and beat sides that were fitter than us. It wasn't our only minor team to a have a few excellent players on it either. Challenge results mean next to nothing and a more recent example would be our U17s losing by a lot more to Kerry in a challenge yet when in came to a competitive championship game we beat Kerry in the AIl Ireland semi final.

Thinking O Donnell isn't great for todays game is indeed your opinion which you are entitled to and anyway i have my doubts if the man himself will be in favour of going back into senior inter county management so soon especially after his last gig that was meant to be a 3 year project and he then had to step away against his wishes after 1 year.

The_analyser (Roscommon) - Posts: 3766 - 16/09/2017 13:55:31    2046434

People are only talking about S&C of our players because we are not at our maximum physique and fitness wise, we conceded more goals under Carew than other manager, WHY was that? He kept bemoaning the runners weren't tracked deeper out the field WHY was that, first of all he picked players in unsuitable match ups physically and fitness wise, and the players themselves weren't able to keep up with the running power, there's responsibility on both sides but players do need guidance on this. Alot of people have this perception of this current Sligo team, it is strange that Brendan Egan who has PHD in sports and exercise etc.. and I know we have others with plenty of knowledge that we are not leaders in this field and having an advantage.

Another point made is about finance, isn't it interesting how fermanagh can afford Rory Gallaghers set up? Jim McGuinness has stated many times you need to get seperate funding from local rich millionaires to fund the best intercounty set ups of today. I take peoples point on Scarden and i know maintenance and upkeep is a cost, but we need an outside set up, we haven't had a manager who has won big trophies before as a manager be appointed as Sligo Manager, we need that this more than ever. If we continue with obscure choices, or managers using us as a stepping stone we will continue to repeat our history of winning very little. We need to do something different, as doing the same will only give us the same results as the saying goes. Fergal O Donnell would be a great choice the more i hear of him, massive opportunity for us there. Local candidates as selectors.

Sligonian (Sligo) - Posts: 1642 - 17/09/2017 15:32:11    2046682

Anyone hear any rumours about who's in the hat? I've heard Stephen Joyce, Glenn Young and Nigel Dinneen over the last few days

NewSligofan (Sligo) - Posts: 258 - 28/09/2017 21:36:11    2051493

Replying To NewSligofan:  "Anyone hear any rumours about who's in the hat? I've heard Stephen Joyce, Glenn Young and Nigel Dinneen over the last few days"
Well Pete Mc Grath is out as is Rory Gallagher so it appears that whoever gets the gig they will not have been in too much demand elsewhere. Hardly what the leaders of the mutiny were expecting.
The words barrel , bottom and scraping come to mind!

Maggiepie (Sligo) - Posts: 231 - 29/09/2017 07:59:10    2051562

I would not be a fan of Young. He has been with a few teams but no major success to report. Other two that were mentioned I have no clue what they would be like

townbuck (Leitrim) - Posts: 197 - 29/09/2017 11:32:40    2051632

Look there is no looking beyond Nigel Dineen. He is the most qualified candidate having taken Roscommon to two under 21 All Irelands. Fergie didnt work out in Roscommon and Nigel is a players man in waiting. Lets not lose him. The thing that baffles me is why it will take 6 weeks to find someone.

JohnChicago63 (Sligo) - Posts: 1 - 30/09/2017 22:15:53    2052039

The line here in Galway is that Alan Flynn who won U21 all Ireland with Galway in 2013 and was Clare coach last year is on his way to Sligo?

tuamstars25 (Galway) - Posts: 82 - 02/10/2017 09:45:43    2052290

Anyone see Aidan Rooney's interview with the gaa.ie? Looked for all the world like he was making a pitch for a senior inter county job, I wonder which one he is eyeing up....

pointman2007 (Sligo) - Posts: 188 - 05/10/2017 10:26:43    2053221

John it is really disappointing that their aiming for an end of October Appointment although it is that long away now, but when announced it was 6 weeks duration. I know in my field of work it would never be accepted. It is also a pity the new manager is not going to be in place for final stages of our Championships.

That article on Aidan Rooney is very good, he talks a lot of sense and seems to have infinite enthusiasm. He has built up a huge body of knowledge from underage to senior and I'm still hoping he is a selector for us as I feel he is an asset we need to keep hold of especially helping bring through 2015 minors.

I am pleased the County Board did add John Tobin to the selection committee, I don't know much about Tom Reilly and what I have heard was mixed. Whilst I would have preferred some of the current members not having a say, at least there is an attempt here to avoid the appearance of political appointments with having outsiders involved.

Fergal O Donnell or Holmes/Connelly for me still the favourites, Horan should be approached, he is managing hurling club in Galway at present.
At this point in time whoever is in the running would have been approached by now, I'd say some of the candidates would have declined the invitation so it is probably a very short list.

They have to go with a Senior manager who has won county trophies before and has experience. We have to go for tried and tested for a change.

U20 is between Taylor and Cummins. Id hope Cummins gets it but we all know how Taylor got the gig 2 yrs ago.

Sligonian (Sligo) - Posts: 1642 - 06/10/2017 13:44:17    2053571

Replying To Sligonian:  "John it is really disappointing that their aiming for an end of October Appointment although it is that long away now, but when announced it was 6 weeks duration. I know in my field of work it would never be accepted. It is also a pity the new manager is not going to be in place for final stages of our Championships.

That article on Aidan Rooney is very good, he talks a lot of sense and seems to have infinite enthusiasm. He has built up a huge body of knowledge from underage to senior and I'm still hoping he is a selector for us as I feel he is an asset we need to keep hold of especially helping bring through 2015 minors.

I am pleased the County Board did add John Tobin to the selection committee, I don't know much about Tom Reilly and what I have heard was mixed. Whilst I would have preferred some of the current members not having a say, at least there is an attempt here to avoid the appearance of political appointments with having outsiders involved.

Fergal O Donnell or Holmes/Connelly for me still the favourites, Horan should be approached, he is managing hurling club in Galway at present.
At this point in time whoever is in the running would have been approached by now, I'd say some of the candidates would have declined the invitation so it is probably a very short list.

They have to go with a Senior manager who has won county trophies before and has experience. We have to go for tried and tested for a change.

U20 is between Taylor and Cummins. Id hope Cummins gets it but we all know how Taylor got the gig 2 yrs ago."
How did Taylor get the "gig" 2 years ago

eoinog (Sligo) - Posts: 1668 - 06/10/2017 14:12:44    2053583

Replying To eoinog:  "How did Taylor get the "gig" 2 years ago"
Taylor has been under 21 manager for the last two years.

RealSouthSligo (Sligo) - Posts: 84 - 09/10/2017 11:51:06    2054061

Replying To RealSouthSligo:  "Taylor has been under 21 manager for the last two years."
I know Taylor has been there last 2 years but one poster said" we all know how he got the gig two years ago " but sorry I don't know how he got it, so I was looking for an answer

eoinog (Sligo) - Posts: 1668 - 09/10/2017 13:12:00    2054107

Eoin Og - Job was not advertised two years ago so presume that's what the poster means.
He was appointed by the county board two years ago and nobody else was interviewed.

RealSouthSligo (Sligo) - Posts: 84 - 10/10/2017 11:32:40    2054352

Replying To RealSouthSligo:  "Eoin Og - Job was not advertised two years ago so presume that's what the poster means.
He was appointed by the county board two years ago and nobody else was interviewed."
OK. So this year the position is advertised and It's between Taylor and Cummins. Taylor will get it.

eoinog (Sligo) - Posts: 1668 - 10/10/2017 13:49:18    2054401