New Donegal Manager

Replying To rorysboys:  "Don't gave up lad. Get the New Jersey and hopefully it'll be a long glorious summer. In bonner we trust. Hopefully the legend that is bonner will finish off in style . one of our most decorated managers ever."
Might be legend around the Gweebara, never was heard of on the big stage , suppose Bonner and Mayo would have lot in common, hot air and no delivery.In Bonner u trust, that's Bible stuff, not sure which reading. Get out the beads lad, divine intervention might help.Safe to say, your legend looks like he might be afflicted with some kind of Curse. Naw, that's only Mayo!

thelowball (USA) - Posts: 400 - 15/09/2021 16:48:18    2380940

Theres a whole heap of tit for tat here about whether Bonner should have been kept on or shouldn't have, but one way or the other he'll be in charge of Donegal next year like it or lump it. Personally I'd have entertained the idea of seeking a new bainisteoir, but if the right man isn't available then so be it. One thing that will be changing next year by the sounds of it is the back room team.

I'd like to see someone come in with some defensive nous. Tackling technique throughout the squad was of a very poor standard last year, which I think is more of an issue than defensive shape. You can have whatever defensive structure you want in the world, but if you cant cleanly dispossess your man then you'll be in great bother. Sure I could be chatting complete ***** but thats just me opinion.

Personally, I thought travelling from Kerry to Mayo was really pushing it for Donie Buckley, let alone Monaghan. For him to travel from Kerry to Donegal would be really taking the biscuit. Is there anyone within the province that might be able to add some wisdom in this regard? I know Tony McEntee is with Sligo, but he had a good thing going with Rochford down in Mayo. Mayo didn't strike me as a poor team defensively under Rochford - whether than was down to the quality of the coaching or some of the talents at the back (such as Higgins, Boyle, Harrison, Barrett etc) I don't know. Would McEntee even entertain the notion of coming here? Would he improve our coaching? It's hard to know. Would there be merit in bringing Eamon McGee into the fold, to build on what hes been doing at underage? I'm sure Bonner is thinking long and hard about who he should be approaching to help bring us to the next step - whether that person is in the county, the province or elsewhere.

We're not far away at all. Theres a number of Tyrone players that before this year I would have considered a soft touch. I wouldn't have been that big on McGeary, Meyler, Sludden before this year. There was clear ability in these players, but they weren't match winners like this year. Peter Harte has as much talent as any player in the province but went missing on the big days. McCurry under Harte was nothing to write home about. Excellent coaching has brought Tyrone on miles. That doesn't have to mean changing the Bainisteoir, but there has to come change somewhere. I can't wait until the league starts next Spring, and hope that the disappointments of this year have the lads chomping at the bit.

papa_pump (Donegal) - Posts: 71 - 15/09/2021 17:13:06    2380948

Replying To thelowball:  "Might be legend around the Gweebara, never was heard of on the big stage , suppose Bonner and Mayo would have lot in common, hot air and no delivery.In Bonner u trust, that's Bible stuff, not sure which reading. Get out the beads lad, divine intervention might help.Safe to say, your legend looks like he might be afflicted with some kind of Curse. Naw, that's only Mayo!"
Never heard on the big stage . What planet are you living in has won club championship at senior, and intermediate level and every title as manager in ulster. And your trying to replace him with some journey man manager. Oh yea he also took Donegal to an all Ireland minor final. Name anybody in Donegal with the same level of success.. that my point proved and that is the reason he's the only man for the job. And with this new backroom things hopefully will get better again.. so you and Marty 3 names will have to put up with it. If you query any of the titles I named il gladly answer your query.

rorysboys (Donegal) - Posts: 2410 - 15/09/2021 17:48:54    2380954

Replying To TheRock2121:  "We've beaten the All Ireland winners 4 out of the last 5 times we've played them. We lost to them with 14 men. We lost to Tyrone with the exact same team as they played the year before when we lost to them. Its not like they've discovered 5 or 6 new players."
A lot of strong views on our manager and where we are in relation to Tyrone.It is all a matter of opinions but it is interesting to look at a few facts including that we have beaten Tyrone 4 times during Bonners tenure'
2018 Tyrone reached the All Ireland Final losing to a Dublin team at their peak
2019 Tyrone reached the All Ireland Semi Final losing to Kerry by 1-18 to 0-18
2020 Tyrone lost to Donegal in November by 2 points
2021 Tyrone All Ireland Champions beating Donegal,Monaghan, Kerry and Mayo.
In that time we have got 2 Ulster titles and haven't reached a semi final.Questions:-
Are we better than that or have we an inflated opinion on how good we are.My own opinion is that with both teams playing to their ability we are not as good as Tyrone.Just look at their bench and some of the players that don't even make the match day 26.

gunman (Donegal) - Posts: 1059 - 15/09/2021 19:48:17    2380971

Replying To gunman:  "A lot of strong views on our manager and where we are in relation to Tyrone.It is all a matter of opinions but it is interesting to look at a few facts including that we have beaten Tyrone 4 times during Bonners tenure'
In that time we have got 2 Ulster titles and haven't reached a semi final.Questions:-
Are we better than that or have we an inflated opinion on how good we are.My own opinion is that with both teams playing to their ability we are not as good as Tyrone.Just look at their bench and some of the players that don't even make the match day 26."
In 2011 to 14 we got to 2 all Ireland finals, 3 all Ireland semis, 3 Ulster chships with a panel of players that couldn't beat Antrim 2 years previous and got annihilated by average Armagh team in 2010...its to do with mgt and coaching....fact...and ours isn't up to the required standard...fact

marty234 (Donegal) - Posts: 158 - 15/09/2021 20:18:27    2380976

Replying To marty234:  "In 2011 to 14 we got to 2 all Ireland finals, 3 all Ireland semis, 3 Ulster chships with a panel of players that couldn't beat Antrim 2 years previous and got annihilated by average Armagh team in 2010...its to do with mgt and coaching....fact...and ours isn't up to the required standard...fact"
Your not denying the accusations Marty. Sad when you have to have a few accounts. Lol

rorysboys (Donegal) - Posts: 2410 - 15/09/2021 22:09:08    2381010

Replying To gunman:  "A lot of strong views on our manager and where we are in relation to Tyrone.It is all a matter of opinions but it is interesting to look at a few facts including that we have beaten Tyrone 4 times during Bonners tenure'
Are we better than that or have we an inflated opinion on how good we are.My own opinion is that with both teams playing to their ability we are not as good as Tyrone.Just look at their bench and some of the players that don't even make the match day 26."
Think if we click and Tyrone click, we have the better team. But again, that depends on our current team. If mc gee is gone, Mc grath gone, Gillespie and morrison out etc, we have huge issues.

TheRock2121 (Donegal) - Posts: 1142 - 15/09/2021 23:07:43    2381023

Its essentially the same Tyrone side from the last 5-6 years, they just tweaked their system and made some positional changes and it all clicked. If you look at the Tyrone team in 2015 that we beat in Ballybofey, a lot of those All Ireland winners were playing. They now have a fairly settled starting 15, and they kinda know their strongest back six.

Donegal don't know their strongest back six, and until they adapt the half back line, drop Ryan McHugh from and automatic choice wing back, we are going to suffer the same problems next season. We could play Ryan at center half forward or wing forward if needed, but not in the half back line, he isn't suitable when we face any capable side.

I would go with a new look starting lineup next season,
Full back: Ward, McMenamin (If fit), McFadden Ferry or Morrison (If fit)
Half back line: Eoghan Ban, Hugh McFadden and Paul Brennan.
Midfield: Caolan McGonigle, Jason McGee
Half forward line: Michael Langan, Ryan McHugh, Odhran MacNiallais
Full forward line: McBrearty, Murphy, O'Donnell

Commodore (Donegal) - Posts: 1121 - 15/09/2021 23:23:10    2381025

Replying To marty234:  "In 2011 to 14 we got to 2 all Ireland finals, 3 all Ireland semis, 3 Ulster chships with a panel of players that couldn't beat Antrim 2 years previous and got annihilated by average Armagh team in 2010...its to do with mgt and coaching....fact...and ours isn't up to the required standard...fact"
The first part of your post are facts.The last sentence is an opinion which could be right or wrong.I haven't got enough information to know if Bonner is a good manager or not,neither do I know if some body else would have got any better results.

gunman (Donegal) - Posts: 1059 - 15/09/2021 23:51:45    2381028

Replying To gunman:  "The first part of your post are facts.The last sentence is an opinion which could be right or wrong.I haven't got enough information to know if Bonner is a good manager or not,neither do I know if some body else would have got any better results."
I have information ...he has been manager of dgl for 7/8 years and we have never competed in all Ireland semis that's enough for me to decide if he is good enough or not

marty234 (Donegal) - Posts: 158 - 16/09/2021 12:38:55    2381079

Replying To marty234:  "I have information ...he has been manager of dgl for 7/8 years and we have never competed in all Ireland semis that's enough for me to decide if he is good enough or not"
Maybe the players are not good enough. I would say that never crossed your mind. Your keeping very quiet about your multiple accounts. Are you not going to defend yourself. I like the way low ball gaves you a like after every post.

rorysboys (Donegal) - Posts: 2410 - 16/09/2021 13:44:06    2381091

Replying To rorysboys:  "Maybe the players are not good enough. I would say that never crossed your mind. Your keeping very quiet about your multiple accounts. Are you not going to defend yourself. I like the way low ball gaves you a like after every post."
It's one thing to defend the manager, I get that. But you're being very disrespectful to the players if you're suggesting they're not good enough. What were people not saying in 2010 after the drubbing in Crossmaglen? 10 of the men who started that day started the final against Mayo in 2012, and if Cassidy hadn't shafted himself it would have been 11. 2 years before those men became immortals they were written off as a bunch of fit for nothing losers.

Coaching coaching coaching. If a player isn't reaching their potential you bring them to the training pitch and train them. Tyrone players all week long are preaching of the hours and hours Dooher and Logan spent working through their weaknesses with them post-Killarney.

Whether it's Bonner, Rochford or some new addition, it's up to the coaching ticket to work with the players they have and help them improve. Many Tyrone players "weren't good enough" until this year. Such a laughably short sighted view to say that our players aren't good enough.

papa_pump (Donegal) - Posts: 71 - 16/09/2021 15:24:52    2381112

Replying To Commodore:  "Its essentially the same Tyrone side from the last 5-6 years, they just tweaked their system and made some positional changes and it all clicked. If you look at the Tyrone team in 2015 that we beat in Ballybofey, a lot of those All Ireland winners were playing. They now have a fairly settled starting 15, and they kinda know their strongest back six.

Donegal don't know their strongest back six, and until they adapt the half back line, drop Ryan McHugh from and automatic choice wing back, we are going to suffer the same problems next season. We could play Ryan at center half forward or wing forward if needed, but not in the half back line, he isn't suitable when we face any capable side.

I would go with a new look starting lineup next season,
Full back: Ward, McMenamin (If fit), McFadden Ferry or Morrison (If fit)
Half back line: Eoghan Ban, Hugh McFadden and Paul Brennan.
Midfield: Caolan McGonigle, Jason McGee
Half forward line: Michael Langan, Ryan McHugh, Odhran MacNiallais
Full forward line: McBrearty, Murphy, O'Donnell"
Agree fully about moving McHugh back to the forwards. I was listening to the DL Debate and Brendan Kilcoyne reckoned that moving McHugh from centre back up to the half forwards made a big difference for Kilcar against Eunan's. If anybody here was at the match maybe ye could confirm or deny whether or not that had any great bearing on the match.

I like Ward, I think he's well worth a spot in the team. Only thing is, I think McCole was one of our better performers this year. I'd chance either Ward or McCole at centre back would be about the only change I'd make to what you have there.

Aidan O'Rourke made an argument earlier in the year for starting McBrearty on the bench. At the time I laughed at it, thought it was ridiculous. But in fairness, he was pretty much marked out of it against Derry and Tyrone, and between that and seeing the impact McShane had coming on from the bench this year, it makes me wonder whether there'd be merit in bringing Paddy on around the 50th minute when things are a bit looser.

papa_pump (Donegal) - Posts: 71 - 16/09/2021 15:41:34    2381120

Replying To papa_pump:  "It's one thing to defend the manager, I get that. But you're being very disrespectful to the players if you're suggesting they're not good enough. What were people not saying in 2010 after the drubbing in Crossmaglen? 10 of the men who started that day started the final against Mayo in 2012, and if Cassidy hadn't shafted himself it would have been 11. 2 years before those men became immortals they were written off as a bunch of fit for nothing losers.

Coaching coaching coaching. If a player isn't reaching their potential you bring them to the training pitch and train them. Tyrone players all week long are preaching of the hours and hours Dooher and Logan spent working through their weaknesses with them post-Killarney.

Whether it's Bonner, Rochford or some new addition, it's up to the coaching ticket to work with the players they have and help them improve. Many Tyrone players "weren't good enough" until this year. Such a laughably short sighted view to say that our players aren't good enough."
I said maybe the players aren't good enough. Manager s always get the blame but there comes a time when maybe the players might have to take a hard look at themselves. There's no doubting the players potential a lot of outstanding players but to beat teams like Tyrone you need a bit of grit and a bit of nastiness. Players like the Mc gees in there pomp.

rorysboys (Donegal) - Posts: 2410 - 16/09/2021 15:57:30    2381125

Replying To ballyshannon:  "Totally agree with you ! Bonnar has had a serious generation of talent under him that is sadly under performing . I was attacked here at suggesting Enda McGinley for the role as Donegal manager but he is a born winner and has done an excellent job with Antrim .
I would like us to look at Rory Gallagher again as well , i still think he has the edge required to be a successful manager and with the players more mature now I think he could bring us to the next level .

On another topic Has Kieran Gillespie done his knee again ? what a waste of talent he was if he has"
Rory Gallagher? You actually from Tyrone?

panamasam (Australia) - Posts: 2782 - 17/09/2021 00:31:43    2381239

Replying To marty234:  "I have information ...he has been manager of dgl for 7/8 years and we have never competed in all Ireland semis that's enough for me to decide if he is good enough or not"
Interesting post. I'm not sure it is fair to blame him for the Rory Gallagher years. You also seem to be unaware that Donegal reached an All Ireland final in 2014.

themaddog (Wicklow) - Posts: 130 - 17/09/2021 09:30:07    2381245

Looks like Kieran Gillespie has another long road ahead of him, God love him. The poor man has been cursed with injuries.

Hopefully in the club Championship in the weeks ahead we'll unearth a few new defenders capable of making the step up. Donal Mac Giolla Bhride looked a good prospect anytime I saw him play. I think he might be in the Development squad and he'd probably need a good bit of strength work.

Anyone else catch the eye?

Lockjaw (Donegal) - Posts: 9155 - 17/09/2021 11:24:33    2381275

Some of the things that really worked for Tyrone this year were the footballing ability of their full back line.Every one of them as well as defending would be equally comfortable playing in the forward line.Also their half forward line have great engines and are as good at defending as attacking.There is a lot of talk about our half back line but I think we have loads of options there.My prefered 3 would be Mogan,Eoghan Ban and O'Baoill.

gunman (Donegal) - Posts: 1059 - 17/09/2021 12:50:05    2381294

Replying To gunman:  "Some of the things that really worked for Tyrone this year were the footballing ability of their full back line.Every one of them as well as defending would be equally comfortable playing in the forward line.Also their half forward line have great engines and are as good at defending as attacking.There is a lot of talk about our half back line but I think we have loads of options there.My prefered 3 would be Mogan,Eoghan Ban and O'Baoill."
I really think Mogan can be very similar to a McGeary type player for us. He was always good defensively and getting turnovers as well as immense footballing ability and leadership skills. Ban's ability is undoubted but think its more regaining full confidence after his injury worries. The problem with O'Baoill is that he gets too easily beaten in one on one situations and has an annoying habit of holding onto the ball too long. I really like him as a player but needs to rediscover his form of a couple of years ago and kick on again. Caolan Ward must surely be reconsidered especially if he has a good club championship. There are a couple of lads at Eunans worth watching. Another player to consider would be Conor Doc at Kilcar. He has very similar attributes to Meyler of Tyrone. Gets through an awful lot of work with plenty of pace and a great engine. Andrew McClean another who gets through lots of work but also a very good footballer.

panamasam (Australia) - Posts: 2782 - 17/09/2021 16:26:41    2381353

Replying To themaddog:  "Interesting post. I'm not sure it is fair to blame him for the Rory Gallagher years. You also seem to be unaware that Donegal reached an All Ireland final in 2014."
Nothing to do with Rory Gallagher years was previous 3 he was there in late 90s and did nothing as well that's what I was talking about

marty234 (Donegal) - Posts: 158 - 17/09/2021 21:06:45    2381397