New Donegal Manager

I must say I feel totally uninspired about another 2 years of Bonner. I have absolutely nothing against him, in fact I was delighted with his first 2 years in charge, he changed the way we played from ultra defensive to attacking and some of the football we played was a joy to watch. We lost in 2018 to Tyrone and 2019 to Mayo in tight physical battles but there is no great shame in losing to those teams. After the defeat to Mayo in 2019, although disappointing, I thought we could push on as the younger lads would get ore physical. Last year we were flying until the wheels came off the wagon against Cavan and I am not sure we have recovered from that defeat psychologically.

I still feel we are over reliant on Murphy, McHugh and McBrearty, the team is built around those players and if they are not in the game then we seem to lack ideas. We have a lot of talented young players like Langan, NOD, Gallen, Mogan, Jamie Brennan, McMenamin, Ban, Jason McGee, etc. It is time for them to be given the responsibility. As all posters have pointed out, we could do with a few defenders as playing forwards in the back line just doesn't work. It is fine when you play weaker teams and have most of the possession but when you come up against the top teams you get exposed.

Green_Gold (Donegal) - Posts: 1876 - 02/09/2021 09:28:47    2377176

Replying To thelowball:  "Now all of a sudden Rory u and the soap boy are trying to drum up support for your perennial loser manager. Do the math Rory and 75 to80 percent posters on here and the majority of ur supporters in the county, I'd say 90percent think it's a shambles. Sit back boys and enjoy the little bit of adulation for now, he'll be gone soon enough. To keep u guys guessing I wouldn't let Bonner touch my laces in the day lol!, By the way Rory, have Bonner call Peter Keane, whose about to be canned after his Croke Park exploits ,he can probably give Bonner a few pointers Oh yes u did mention Croke Park in a recent post,guess u found it on the map, now Show Bonner where it is. By the way as long as Adm allows it, I will not be goin away much to ur consternation."
You usually go away when Donegal start winning games and come back when we lose. People are seeing through you. You may as well join the bandwagon and support bonner. But then again seeing your in the good old USA that might be hard for you. Any idea who you would like in Bonner's backroom team you never know he might read this.. bonner keeping quiet this week will he surprise us all with his new backroom team??. Watch this space

rorysboys (Donegal) - Posts: 2410 - 02/09/2021 10:49:44    2377206

Replying To Green_Gold:  "I must say I feel totally uninspired about another 2 years of Bonner. I have absolutely nothing against him, in fact I was delighted with his first 2 years in charge, he changed the way we played from ultra defensive to attacking and some of the football we played was a joy to watch. We lost in 2018 to Tyrone and 2019 to Mayo in tight physical battles but there is no great shame in losing to those teams. After the defeat to Mayo in 2019, although disappointing, I thought we could push on as the younger lads would get ore physical. Last year we were flying until the wheels came off the wagon against Cavan and I am not sure we have recovered from that defeat psychologically.

I still feel we are over reliant on Murphy, McHugh and McBrearty, the team is built around those players and if they are not in the game then we seem to lack ideas. We have a lot of talented young players like Langan, NOD, Gallen, Mogan, Jamie Brennan, McMenamin, Ban, Jason McGee, etc. It is time for them to be given the responsibility. As all posters have pointed out, we could do with a few defenders as playing forwards in the back line just doesn't work. It is fine when you play weaker teams and have most of the possession but when you come up against the top teams you get exposed."
I would agree with all this, like I mentioned I totally understand a bit of disappointment or lack of enthusiasm about Bonner staying on, it's not particularly exciting as things maybe feel a bit stale at the minute. But I think there aren't many options out there and unless there was severe issues within the camp then I am happy for him to have another go, hopefully without any COVID disruptions next year.

Totally agree with your 2nd paragraph, the three you mentioned are of course massively important but I think it's time to start really focussing on bringing out the best in Langan, NOD and Eoghan Bán. For me, those three in particular are absolute game changers. And in fairness to Langan and NOD in particular, I feel they have been putting in massive performances over the past few years and hopefully the 2nd half against Tyrone means EBG is back to his best.

JoeSoap (Donegal) - Posts: 1432 - 02/09/2021 12:29:04    2377226

Agree with majority of posts on here about 90percent know this is a bad move...declan has give great service but his race was run...he has had 4 years to get a replacement for mcgee at no.3 we are further back than ever...4 years to get a no.6 we are as far back as ever...hasn't developed any man markers conceding 23 points v Tyrone was pathetic in chship football...no defensive structure whatsoever...his loyalty is turning out to be his downfall as well ...how o Donnell, gallen and Jason mcgee didn't feature v Tyrone is beyond some of subs being used instead were confusing really..very disappointed with county board they should have had vision, desire and hunger to approach certain candidates and offer them a package to bring county team forward...ill find it very difficult going to games next year knowing that we are beat on the line before the game even starts .

marty234 (Donegal) - Posts: 158 - 02/09/2021 17:53:30    2377330

Replying To marty234:  "Agree with majority of posts on here about 90percent know this is a bad move...declan has give great service but his race was run...he has had 4 years to get a replacement for mcgee at no.3 we are further back than ever...4 years to get a no.6 we are as far back as ever...hasn't developed any man markers conceding 23 points v Tyrone was pathetic in chship football...no defensive structure whatsoever...his loyalty is turning out to be his downfall as well ...how o Donnell, gallen and Jason mcgee didn't feature v Tyrone is beyond some of subs being used instead were confusing really..very disappointed with county board they should have had vision, desire and hunger to approach certain candidates and offer them a package to bring county team forward...ill find it very difficult going to games next year knowing that we are beat on the line before the game even starts ."
Welcome back it's been a while. Do you honestly think it matters what the posters on here think. The people that mattered were the executive and the clubs and there the reason bonner is reinstated.. hopefully it goes well for him . as a supporter who goes to all the games, at this time he's the right choice, hopefully he'll take in a good defensive coach. We might be conceding big scores but after watching Donegal before bonner came in. at least we're good to watch and we're not afraid to go man on man as they showed against Kerry in 2019.

rorysboys (Donegal) - Posts: 2410 - 02/09/2021 19:17:11    2377356

Replying To rorysboys:  "Welcome back it's been a while. Do you honestly think it matters what the posters on here think. The people that mattered were the executive and the clubs and there the reason bonner is reinstated.. hopefully it goes well for him . as a supporter who goes to all the games, at this time he's the right choice, hopefully he'll take in a good defensive coach. We might be conceding big scores but after watching Donegal before bonner came in. at least we're good to watch and we're not afraid to go man on man as they showed against Kerry in 2019."
Lot of genuine dgl supporters on here so the day that the county board and executive forgets about what they think is the downfall of themselves which means less revenue etc..playing nice football is a bit pathetic when likes of Cavan beating you in an Ulster final(from what i remember our nice football could only managed 3 points in 2nd half against a div 4 team) and a bang average Monaghan team opening up the heart of your defence in a league game we should have conceded 10goals ..its about winning games...everyone loves a winner and bonner is proving not to be one

marty234 (Donegal) - Posts: 158 - 02/09/2021 20:52:51    2377393

Replying To marty234:  "Lot of genuine dgl supporters on here so the day that the county board and executive forgets about what they think is the downfall of themselves which means less revenue etc..playing nice football is a bit pathetic when likes of Cavan beating you in an Ulster final(from what i remember our nice football could only managed 3 points in 2nd half against a div 4 team) and a bang average Monaghan team opening up the heart of your defence in a league game we should have conceded 10goals ..its about winning games...everyone loves a winner and bonner is proving not to be one"
What 4 th division team are you on about.

rorysboys (Donegal) - Posts: 2410 - 02/09/2021 21:57:38    2377411

Replying To marty234:  "Lot of genuine dgl supporters on here so the day that the county board and executive forgets about what they think is the downfall of themselves which means less revenue etc..playing nice football is a bit pathetic when likes of Cavan beating you in an Ulster final(from what i remember our nice football could only managed 3 points in 2nd half against a div 4 team) and a bang average Monaghan team opening up the heart of your defence in a league game we should have conceded 10goals ..its about winning games...everyone loves a winner and bonner is proving not to be one"
Ah here Marty we get you don't want Bonner and I would agree in that the time was right for a change but who? But using a league match against Monaghan as a reason to replace Bonner is definitely scraping a bit. Tyrone in an AI final a few months after their trip to Killarney shows its relevance in the grand scheme. The Cavan debacle and Derry game better examples. However Murphy getting sent off against Tyrone has bought him time imo.

panamasam (Australia) - Posts: 2782 - 02/09/2021 22:33:30    2377416

@ Marty, How dare u come on here and have an opinion.Just kiddin! You realize that unless u bow to Bonner u will be ostracized by Rory and the Soap Guy. For someone that's an authority on GAA u don't know which div 4 team embarassed Bonner last year. The Cavan boys are still havin a real good laugh, what's next , the Kilkenny footballers takin a div 1 scalp. For the moment Rory u are calling for names for his back room team. Who cares, if he had an entourage of 50 trailing him it wouldn't do one iota for his managerial ability as we have seen. Then again that's the stuff of pop stars which Bonner Is not. Still confused Rory!

thelowball (USA) - Posts: 400 - 03/09/2021 05:58:31    2377442

Replying To panamasam:  "Ah here Marty we get you don't want Bonner and I would agree in that the time was right for a change but who? But using a league match against Monaghan as a reason to replace Bonner is definitely scraping a bit. Tyrone in an AI final a few months after their trip to Killarney shows its relevance in the grand scheme. The Cavan debacle and Derry game better examples. However Murphy getting sent off against Tyrone has bought him time imo."
Grand scheme? We haven't got to an all ireland semi in 4 years with an extremely talented bunch of footballers...Tyrones management grand scheme is now being in a final with a 50/50 chance of winning an Ireland in less than 8 months. Don't agree there was no one else the way the whole thing was conducted was a shambles hearing nothing for 7/8 weeks then 3/4 days to apply...What serious candidate would apply under them circumstances...proper procedure would have been to go to bonner and thank him for years of service and make him do the proper thing and then go out and find that candidate that will bring this team forward we had loads of time to do that.

marty234 (Donegal) - Posts: 158 - 03/09/2021 07:13:33    2377443

Replying To marty234:  "Grand scheme? We haven't got to an all ireland semi in 4 years with an extremely talented bunch of footballers...Tyrones management grand scheme is now being in a final with a 50/50 chance of winning an Ireland in less than 8 months. Don't agree there was no one else the way the whole thing was conducted was a shambles hearing nothing for 7/8 weeks then 3/4 days to apply...What serious candidate would apply under them circumstances...proper procedure would have been to go to bonner and thank him for years of service and make him do the proper thing and then go out and find that candidate that will bring this team forward we had loads of time to do that."
Not disagreeing with anything you said above just disagree about using a league game as an example to ditch. Who are the other candidates that might have applied given time? Bonner will have a year if things remain stagnant next year. He had built in excuses this year and probably the backing of the players especially Murphy after he got sent off. If he doesn't get to an AI final semi final minimum next year that should be it. Be interesting to see who comes into the backroom team. Couple of strong characters needed. You look at Tyrone and how they have used their bench Donegal have the quality to do the same but wil need strong characters to do so.

panamasam (Australia) - Posts: 2782 - 03/09/2021 10:56:42    2377486

Replying To marty234:  "Grand scheme? We haven't got to an all ireland semi in 4 years with an extremely talented bunch of footballers...Tyrones management grand scheme is now being in a final with a 50/50 chance of winning an Ireland in less than 8 months. Don't agree there was no one else the way the whole thing was conducted was a shambles hearing nothing for 7/8 weeks then 3/4 days to apply...What serious candidate would apply under them circumstances...proper procedure would have been to go to bonner and thank him for years of service and make him do the proper thing and then go out and find that candidate that will bring this team forward we had loads of time to do that."
Your club should have nominated a candidate doesn't take three days to put a name forward. Bonner's term was up after the Tyrone game. Potential candidates had eighth weeks to put there names forward. Do yous want to be taken by the hand. Bonner I presume was making up his mind so he wasn't stopping anybody opposing him. The end results executive and clubs agreed that he should get two more years which he richly deserves end of story. One more point I was reading Facebook comments about Bonner's getting the job I knew a good few of the posters and it would make you laugh the biggest mouths were people I 100 per cent know that don't even go to games but are the normal barstool idiots..

rorysboys (Donegal) - Posts: 2410 - 03/09/2021 10:59:38    2377487

Replying To AudiMan:  "Hi Lockjaw: Any idea what is causing these injuries this past few years with the county men. It can't be just down to bad luck, it's occurring too regularly with too many players."
Couldn't answer that to be honest. Lot of it down to age profile. Simply put, the older you get the more susceptible you are to injury. Fellas like McGee, McGrath, Murphy etc who never seemed to get injured in the past have all had their troubles in recent years.

Bad luck plays its part to of course. You can't legislate for a freak knock and a shoulder getting dislocated for example. And with those types of injuries - if they go once, chances are they'll go again and again.

Lockjaw (Donegal) - Posts: 9155 - 03/09/2021 15:55:43    2377608

Replying To rorysboys:  "Your club should have nominated a candidate doesn't take three days to put a name forward. Bonner's term was up after the Tyrone game. Potential candidates had eighth weeks to put there names forward. Do yous want to be taken by the hand. Bonner I presume was making up his mind so he wasn't stopping anybody opposing him. The end results executive and clubs agreed that he should get two more years which he richly deserves end of story. One more point I was reading Facebook comments about Bonner's getting the job I knew a good few of the posters and it would make you laugh the biggest mouths were people I 100 per cent know that don't even go to games but are the normal barstool idiots.."
I guarantee you I'm not one of the barstool boys I backed bonner even last year in embarrassment v Cavan saying it was a one off blip...but enough is enough now...he doesn't deserve another 2 hours never mind 2 years.. if it was Tyrone Kerry, Dublin or mayo he would have been let go...but suppose that's why they are coming at the top table..90percent knows it was time for him to go even people outside county know it but think they are happy that we are continuing with same regime... read his article that he plans to make very little changes that gives supporters and ambitious players great hope of getting into a county set up...doing the same old thing and getting same results ...

marty234 (Donegal) - Posts: 158 - 03/09/2021 19:21:06    2377638

Replying To marty234:  "I guarantee you I'm not one of the barstool boys I backed bonner even last year in embarrassment v Cavan saying it was a one off blip...but enough is enough now...he doesn't deserve another 2 hours never mind 2 years.. if it was Tyrone Kerry, Dublin or mayo he would have been let go...but suppose that's why they are coming at the top table..90percent knows it was time for him to go even people outside county know it but think they are happy that we are continuing with same regime... read his article that he plans to make very little changes that gives supporters and ambitious players great hope of getting into a county set up...doing the same old thing and getting same results ..."
Sure Tyrone held onto Micky Harte for over twenty years. Your making statements to suit your own agenda you still didn't answer who the division 4 team was. You liking putting a spin on things.

rorysboys (Donegal) - Posts: 2410 - 03/09/2021 19:54:34    2377646

Replying To rorysboys:  "Sure Tyrone held onto Micky Harte for over twenty years. Your making statements to suit your own agenda you still didn't answer who the division 4 team was. You liking putting a spin on things."
Division 4 team are Cavan they beat Donegal 9 months ago in an Ulster final...where Donegal were 1/8 favourites....harte v bonner... I can't take this conversation serious anymore comparing bonner to a multiple all Ireland and Ulster winner...i have 1 agenda and that is seeing Donegal competing at very top

marty234 (Donegal) - Posts: 158 - 03/09/2021 20:37:33    2377653

Replying To marty234:  "Division 4 team are Cavan they beat Donegal 9 months ago in an Ulster final...where Donegal were 1/8 favourites....harte v bonner... I can't take this conversation serious anymore comparing bonner to a multiple all Ireland and Ulster winner...i have 1 agenda and that is seeing Donegal competing at very top"
Cavan weren't a fourth division team last year. Your a bluffer. I can't really take you serious anymore.

rorysboys (Donegal) - Posts: 2410 - 03/09/2021 21:47:35    2377667

Replying To marty234:  "Division 4 team are Cavan they beat Donegal 9 months ago in an Ulster final...where Donegal were 1/8 favourites....harte v bonner... I can't take this conversation serious anymore comparing bonner to a multiple all Ireland and Ulster winner...i have 1 agenda and that is seeing Donegal competing at very top"
We do compete at the top. Division 1 status and lost to our closest rival in Ulster.

Rolo2010 (Donegal) - Posts: 739 - 03/09/2021 23:35:47    2377687

I think the overall feeling from about 85% of the people here is that bonner should not have not gotten the 2 years and I for one would have to agree. But he is our manger now and we have to stick by him for this year. On a slightly different point.. Does anyone know what's exactly is going on with Kiaran Gillespie..? I've heard he's done his knee again but I follow him on Instagram and he's looking very fit punping the weights out.. Surely to god if he done his cruciate he wouldn't be able to do them weights he's putting up on Instagram.???

RoryGall35 (Donegal) - Posts: 167 - 03/09/2021 23:49:48    2377689

Replying To rorysboys:  "Sure Tyrone held onto Micky Harte for over twenty years. Your making statements to suit your own agenda you still didn't answer who the division 4 team was. You liking putting a spin on things."
Seriously Declan Bonner and Mickey Harte not even comparable.

panamasam (Australia) - Posts: 2782 - 04/09/2021 09:26:14    2377710