New Donegal Manager

Replying To panamasam:  "Personally I think its time for a change but who? Not against Declan getting one more year with a proper league and some kind of backdoor. There is no doubt in my mind who the man for the job is and that is Jim McGuinness but with Declan putting his name forward it would appear he is not interested which is a shame."
I agree with this, it feels like a time for change but we just don't seem to have a suitable candidate. If Jim wants the job, I'd say he would be installed by now. Malachy O'Rourke would be a great choice but not sure if he would be interested.

My problem with Bonner is that he seems to have his favourites and some lads never get a proper chance. For example, Oisin Gallen, Caolan Ward and Jason McGee seem to have been tossed aside. He is picking injured players ahead of them, surely that can't be right. Anybody who has any clue about football will tell you that Oisin Gallen should be getting game time.

Green_Gold (Donegal) - Posts: 1876 - 27/08/2021 12:49:59    2375206

donegal need to make big changes to there defence and attitude , its unfair to think Martin Mchugh will do that when his families kids are involved

ballyshannon (Donegal) - Posts: 176 - 27/08/2021 13:08:15    2375214

Replying To Green_Gold:  "I agree with this, it feels like a time for change but we just don't seem to have a suitable candidate. If Jim wants the job, I'd say he would be installed by now. Malachy O'Rourke would be a great choice but not sure if he would be interested.

My problem with Bonner is that he seems to have his favourites and some lads never get a proper chance. For example, Oisin Gallen, Caolan Ward and Jason McGee seem to have been tossed aside. He is picking injured players ahead of them, surely that can't be right. Anybody who has any clue about football will tell you that Oisin Gallen should be getting game time."
Was Gallen and Mcgee not injured themselves for larges spells of last year? Agree on Ward though, he should have got more gametime, at least he is a proper defender.

FootballGuy (Donegal) - Posts: 229 - 27/08/2021 13:10:40    2375215

* Wildcard shout *

Michael Murphy - player manager with Rochford continuing as assistant. Murphy is the manager on the field anyway, so why not?

Lockjaw (Donegal) - Posts: 9155 - 27/08/2021 15:12:42    2375235

Replying To Lockjaw:  "* Wildcard shout *

Michael Murphy - player manager with Rochford continuing as assistant. Murphy is the manager on the field anyway, so why not?"
Can't see Murphy and rochford going up against. Bonner. My take is if Murphy and players weren't happy with bonner, he would not put his name forward . It looks like bonner will get the job , he knows himself he has to change things and I've no doubt he will. Any shouts on who he'll take in . with bonner any things possible maybe even Jim gavin low ball.

rorysboys (Donegal) - Posts: 2410 - 27/08/2021 16:01:00    2375247

Replying To Lockjaw:  "* Wildcard shout *

Michael Murphy - player manager with Rochford continuing as assistant. Murphy is the manager on the field anyway, so why not?"
One would feel he would need to step down from his role at LYIT to some extent to facilitate that. I'm not sure that that would be in his or the counties best interest for now.

He's part of an exciting and ambitious project in the college which will lead to more representation from north west footballers in third-level football. He's got the opportunity to spearhead that and learn an awful lot along the way, all whilst playing his golden years for club and county.

SurelyToGod (Donegal) - Posts: 385 - 27/08/2021 16:36:00    2375256

Replying To Green_Gold:  "I agree with this, it feels like a time for change but we just don't seem to have a suitable candidate. If Jim wants the job, I'd say he would be installed by now. Malachy O'Rourke would be a great choice but not sure if he would be interested.

My problem with Bonner is that he seems to have his favourites and some lads never get a proper chance. For example, Oisin Gallen, Caolan Ward and Jason McGee seem to have been tossed aside. He is picking injured players ahead of them, surely that can't be right. Anybody who has any clue about football will tell you that Oisin Gallen should be getting game time."
Both McGee and Gallen were fast tracked into senior football before their time and as a consequence they have been injury ravaged. Cannot blame Bonner with Jason but he definitely made mistakes with Gallen. We have become a soft touch again I am afraid and really don't see that changing with present management. A real shame Jim wouldn't come back. It would send shockwaves and make us real contenders again.

panamasam (Australia) - Posts: 2782 - 27/08/2021 22:27:19    2375329

Replying To panamasam:  "Both McGee and Gallen were fast tracked into senior football before their time and as a consequence they have been injury ravaged. Cannot blame Bonner with Jason but he definitely made mistakes with Gallen. We have become a soft touch again I am afraid and really don't see that changing with present management. A real shame Jim wouldn't come back. It would send shockwaves and make us real contenders again."
Yeah McGuinness is the only man that can throw a shape on us, we are regressing back to the early noughties type team, very talented but under achieving.

Tirchonaill1 (Donegal) - Posts: 2757 - 27/08/2021 23:17:53    2375342

Mc Guinness is not coming back, how many times do people have to be reminded. It's comical at this stage.? Come 5 o clock tomorrow the names that are in are all that matters.

rorysboys (Donegal) - Posts: 2410 - 28/08/2021 11:10:35    2375375

Replying To rorysboys:  "Mc Guinness is not coming back, how many times do people have to be reminded. It's comical at this stage.? Come 5 o clock tomorrow the names that are in are all that matters."
Who suggested he was coming back?

panamasam (Australia) - Posts: 2782 - 28/08/2021 14:42:15    2375426

Replying To panamasam:  "Who suggested he was coming back?"
He's mentioned enough if he's not. That ship has sailed im afraid.

rorysboys (Donegal) - Posts: 2410 - 28/08/2021 18:27:38    2375552

Time for The Barrets to take over the team.

jacktheboy (Donegal) - Posts: 407 - 28/08/2021 18:47:49    2375580

Replying To jacktheboy:  "Time for The Barrets to take over the team."
Ah here - I'll leave it there……………..

eunans4ever (Donegal) - Posts: 1595 - 28/08/2021 19:49:41    2375649

Replying To rorysboys:  "He's mentioned enough if he's not. That ship has sailed im afraid."
Of course he is mentioned and obviously so as he who is this team need. But I don't think myself included suggested he would be coming back so why comment like we have.

panamasam (Australia) - Posts: 2782 - 28/08/2021 19:50:34    2375650

Replying To panamasam:  "Of course he is mentioned and obviously so as he who is this team need. But I don't think myself included suggested he would be coming back so why comment like we have."
Are you telling me that Mc Guinness is not mentioned as a replacement for bonner. He's mentioned nearly in every post. Let's move on the past is the past Mc Guinness was a great manager end of story.

rorysboys (Donegal) - Posts: 2410 - 28/08/2021 21:02:28    2375706

Replying To rorysboys:  "Are you telling me that Mc Guinness is not mentioned as a replacement for bonner. He's mentioned nearly in every post. Let's move on the past is the past Mc Guinness was a great manager end of story."
Lets move on says the man with the username 'rorysboys'. Why do you say 'was' a great manager? I am pretty sure he could still well be. Of course people are going to speculate given Jim is actually back living in Donegal. Yes unlikely he is coming back but I'll tell ya what if he did there would be shockwaves. When you actually weigh it up the timing is pretty good. You still have Murphy playing. The Dubs are probably not the force they were. You have Mayo and Tyrone contesting an AI final two teams Donegal would be at a similar level to. We can dare to dream given how unlikely it is sure where the harm in that? Instead of Mr Killjoy repeatedly telling us he is not coming back even though nobody suggested he was.

panamasam (Australia) - Posts: 2782 - 29/08/2021 01:43:11    2375849

Replying To jacktheboy:  "Time for The Barrets to take over the team."
Oh dear

SurelyToGod (Donegal) - Posts: 385 - 29/08/2021 23:56:47    2376225

Looks like Bonner will get another year. Not sure if that'll turn out to be the right move for Donegal, wouldn't be convinced with some of his team selections and substitution calls.

greatpoint (USA) - Posts: 427 - 30/08/2021 00:14:17    2376230

Replying To panamasam:  "Lets move on says the man with the username 'rorysboys'. Why do you say 'was' a great manager? I am pretty sure he could still well be. Of course people are going to speculate given Jim is actually back living in Donegal. Yes unlikely he is coming back but I'll tell ya what if he did there would be shockwaves. When you actually weigh it up the timing is pretty good. You still have Murphy playing. The Dubs are probably not the force they were. You have Mayo and Tyrone contesting an AI final two teams Donegal would be at a similar level to. We can dare to dream given how unlikely it is sure where the harm in that? Instead of Mr Killjoy repeatedly telling us he is not coming back even though nobody suggested he was."
Sadly we look like we are going back to post 92, a succession of managers that play nice football, but lack the physicality and mental strength and winning mentality to bring us on. The county board are as much to blame, far to close to current manager. Rather than making a deadline for sunday, and having the current manager get it again uncontested. What they should have been doing is drawing up a ambitious list of top quality managers and contacting them to see if they are interested.
We have plenty of great footballers and i am sure there are plenty of top quality managers that would be interested.
But it appears to me they have already settled for bonner, the sunday deadline is just a show.
I have nothing against bonner personally, he is a good gaa man.
But look at our neighbours and what they have achieved, we should be embarrassed with the amount of talent we have in the county and not competing for all irelands.
Donegal deserve better, we as supporters deserve better, and the players deserve better.
The county board need to wake up and be more professional, otherwise we will fall completely behind.

The keeper (Donegal) - Posts: 687 - 30/08/2021 01:15:19    2376236

I support Declan getting another year, but he and his team need to focus on defense and change our system of play, which while successful in 2018 and 2019, has now become too predictable.

Commodore (Donegal) - Posts: 1121 - 30/08/2021 09:45:56    2376272