Where to next?

Was back on Gallarus yesterday the homeside were without Begley and Enna while the Narries had a full deck. Moran was impressive but no one was able for him really he didn't have much of a test. Any of ye take any game in at the weekend?

TT will be PC perfect with no real hard questions asked, he will just be sending out the right messages to keep us informed now thst the gates are locked. Would love an actual questions and answers but this will be well rehearsed like an oral exam in school pre done and everything in its place.

Horsebox77 (Kerry) - Posts: 5491 - 16/04/2018 12:50:44    2093256

Nothing to learn here only same ol crap Donnaghy, Donnacha and Maher back in training J O D another freak injury not back yet Killian the same lord god is that depressing or what.

chicago09 (Kerry) - Posts: 694 - 16/04/2018 16:31:40    2093340

Well lads I can't say I'm any the wiser after an hours interview with fitzmaurice, I also can't say I'm any more confident of our future under his management.

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 16/04/2018 19:30:02    2093377

Did ye nor understand my post from above? Seriously though did ye expect an insight or a Kerry management mission statement?

Horsebox77 (Kerry) - Posts: 5491 - 17/04/2018 08:24:07    2093443

Replying To Horsebox77:  "Did ye nor understand my post from above? Seriously though did ye expect an insight or a Kerry management mission statement?"
You were spot on horse, I had to laugh when Tim asked him have you any plans Incase we meet Dublin or mayo and he said no that he was concentrating on Clare/limerick on the 3rd of June.

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 17/04/2018 11:57:29    2093486

Sure you'd never learn anything from any of the interviews nowadays. Well versed in the art of waffle and say nothing.

catch22 (USA) - Posts: 2148 - 17/04/2018 12:21:17    2093502

Replying To catch22:  "Sure you'd never learn anything from any of the interviews nowadays. Well versed in the art of waffle and say nothing."
Ya they're pure politicians nowadays.

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 17/04/2018 13:57:12    2093551

Replying To Horsebox77:  "Was back on Gallarus yesterday the homeside were without Begley and Enna while the Narries had a full deck. Moran was impressive but no one was able for him really he didn't have much of a test. Any of ye take any game in at the weekend?

TT will be PC perfect with no real hard questions asked, he will just be sending out the right messages to keep us informed now thst the gates are locked. Would love an actual questions and answers but this will be well rehearsed like an oral exam in school pre done and everything in its place."
Yeah it wasn't exactly the Spanish Inquisition now (not that I expected it , no one expects the Spanish Inquisition :D )
It's not as if Fitzy was grilled or that awkward stuff was thrown at him.

Anyway I was more interested in what could be read between the lines or some off the cough expression he might throw out.
The sense I got was that firstly, he doesn't give a b*llox what the supporters think or are complaining about, the gates stay closed. But at least he realizes that its up to the team to give the supporters something to shout and get excited about.

In fairness I didn't expect him to start talking about how they are going to have a plan to take on Dublin, Mayo etc. He has to say the group are solely focused on the Munster semi-final you can't pronounce your looking beyond that game whatever the reality

What I did also find interesting was that he seemed very confident, perhaps even bullish, that Kerry were going to have a big Championship. Now you might argue that he has to state that Kerry are going to be serious contenders but listening to him it seemed to me that he is targeting an All-Ireland win even if he can't come out and say that and leave himself a hostage to fortune.

Look, I think Eamon is a decent fella. I've crossed passed with him once or twice and that's the impression I always got. I can't speak for other Kerry supporters but my criticism of him has never been something personal and I do appreciate the enormous time this role must take up and the huge stress that comes with it.
Of course saying that, 1 All-Ireland this whole decade is simply not enough for a county of Kerry's tradition and if he finishes with only one he'll have to take the criticism that comes with that.

TheHermit (Kerry) - Posts: 6354 - 18/04/2018 13:18:38    2093787

Replying To TheHermit:  "Yeah it wasn't exactly the Spanish Inquisition now (not that I expected it , no one expects the Spanish Inquisition :D )
It's not as if Fitzy was grilled or that awkward stuff was thrown at him.

Anyway I was more interested in what could be read between the lines or some off the cough expression he might throw out.
The sense I got was that firstly, he doesn't give a b*llox what the supporters think or are complaining about, the gates stay closed. But at least he realizes that its up to the team to give the supporters something to shout and get excited about.

In fairness I didn't expect him to start talking about how they are going to have a plan to take on Dublin, Mayo etc. He has to say the group are solely focused on the Munster semi-final you can't pronounce your looking beyond that game whatever the reality

What I did also find interesting was that he seemed very confident, perhaps even bullish, that Kerry were going to have a big Championship. Now you might argue that he has to state that Kerry are going to be serious contenders but listening to him it seemed to me that he is targeting an All-Ireland win even if he can't come out and say that and leave himself a hostage to fortune.

Look, I think Eamon is a decent fella. I've crossed passed with him once or twice and that's the impression I always got. I can't speak for other Kerry supporters but my criticism of him has never been something personal and I do appreciate the enormous time this role must take up and the huge stress that comes with it.
Of course saying that, 1 All-Ireland this whole decade is simply not enough for a county of Kerry's tradition and if he finishes with only one he'll have to take the criticism that comes with that."
Ya like iv said on here many times, I have no problems with fitzmaurice outside of his management style, I'm sure he's a gentleman.

I know I'm tough on him but we have to remember he wants to do this job, he didn't go in blind and no one is holding a gun to his head to stay on, and there are plenty of other good candidates out there who could do the job and maybe even a better job.

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 18/04/2018 15:41:31    2093811

Replying To KingdomBoy1:  "Ya like iv said on here many times, I have no problems with fitzmaurice outside of his management style, I'm sure he's a gentleman.

I know I'm tough on him but we have to remember he wants to do this job, he didn't go in blind and no one is holding a gun to his head to stay on, and there are plenty of other good candidates out there who could do the job and maybe even a better job."
Plenty ah would disagree there maybe 3, 4 at a push but definitely not more than a handful

Horsebox77 (Kerry) - Posts: 5491 - 18/04/2018 15:46:49    2093813

Replying To Horsebox77:  "Plenty ah would disagree there maybe 3, 4 at a push but definitely not more than a handful"
Ah that's plenty horse.

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 18/04/2018 16:09:28    2093823

Replying To Horsebox77:  "Plenty ah would disagree there maybe 3, 4 at a push but definitely not more than a handful"
Well look at the nature of these things right down through the history of the game, some fella can be brought in and end up being an amazing appointment.
I was listening to the interview Cody gave to TT last week and how he was saying he never had any notion of managing Kilkenny only that someone in his club suggested he take it on in 1998 when there was few enough wanting to put their name in. The Cats haven't done too badly since have they!
Fella's like Peter Keane, Tommy Griffin, Marc O'Se, Declan, one of them could be given the chance over the next few years and turn out to be an inspired selection.
We had a wonderful team full of some of the best players to ever grace Croke Park ten years ago and there's a few lads from them days that are coming to the age of maybe getting involved seriously at the coaching side.

TheHermit (Kerry) - Posts: 6354 - 18/04/2018 17:39:17    2093838

Replying To TheHermit:  "Well look at the nature of these things right down through the history of the game, some fella can be brought in and end up being an amazing appointment.
I was listening to the interview Cody gave to TT last week and how he was saying he never had any notion of managing Kilkenny only that someone in his club suggested he take it on in 1998 when there was few enough wanting to put their name in. The Cats haven't done too badly since have they!
Fella's like Peter Keane, Tommy Griffin, Marc O'Se, Declan, one of them could be given the chance over the next few years and turn out to be an inspired selection.
We had a wonderful team full of some of the best players to ever grace Croke Park ten years ago and there's a few lads from them days that are coming to the age of maybe getting involved seriously at the coaching side."
I'd go for Peter Keane, but the county board will probably bring back jack when fitzmaurice goes, I'd put the farm on that.

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 19/04/2018 13:08:53    2093951

Replying To KingdomBoy1:  "I'd go for Peter Keane, but the county board will probably bring back jack when fitzmaurice goes, I'd put the farm on that."
'The Farm', you mean that collection of bog and stones that fella's in West Kerry think is agricultural land?? Sure that's no bet at all. Now if you were from Ardfert it might be a weighty bet ;D

TheHermit (Kerry) - Posts: 6354 - 19/04/2018 15:00:00    2093978

Replying To TheHermit:  "'The Farm', you mean that collection of bog and stones that fella's in West Kerry think is agricultural land?? Sure that's no bet at all. Now if you were from Ardfert it might be a weighty bet ;D"
Haha it might be rough land but we've got a lot of it :-)

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 19/04/2018 16:16:40    2093993

Lads I was listening back to the interview and fitz said something interesting that I didn't catch the first time around and that was how important it was last year for him to let the U21 players back to jack for the U21 championship, that the U21 and U 20 grades are better feeders to the senior team, and I was wondering could we see Clifford and seanie being given to the U20s ?
I hope they stay with the seniors but you never know, it would have been nice if he would have clarified this.

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 20/04/2018 12:53:09    2094102

Replying To KingdomBoy1:  "Lads I was listening back to the interview and fitz said something interesting that I didn't catch the first time around and that was how important it was last year for him to let the U21 players back to jack for the U21 championship, that the U21 and U 20 grades are better feeders to the senior team, and I was wondering could we see Clifford and seanie being given to the U20s ?
I hope they stay with the seniors but you never know, it would have been nice if he would have clarified this."
I would say there is absolutely no chance of that happening. If they were going to be sitting on the bench for the summer I'd welcome it, but they both look like first team starters to me. Last year was different with the U21s being finished before the senior championship.

GeniusGerry (Kerry) - Posts: 2105 - 20/04/2018 19:12:54    2094143

Replying To GeniusGerry:  "I would say there is absolutely no chance of that happening. If they were going to be sitting on the bench for the summer I'd welcome it, but they both look like first team starters to me. Last year was different with the U21s being finished before the senior championship."
Hopefully Gerry and look it might just be me reading too much into things but I just found it a strange thing to say.

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 20/04/2018 21:12:48    2094151

I see Gavin Whyte got a run out for Crokes at the weekend - I suppose seeing as he has seen no ball yet it is unlikely he will kick an intercounty ball this year - any other update on injured or players that had taken an extended break

Horsebox77 (Kerry) - Posts: 5491 - 30/04/2018 21:32:17    2095822

Replying To Horsebox77:  "I see Gavin Whyte got a run out for Crokes at the weekend - I suppose seeing as he has seen no ball yet it is unlikely he will kick an intercounty ball this year - any other update on injured or players that had taken an extended break"
I heard maher was asked back to the panel horse but with his bad hips I don't know if that's a good thing or a bad thing, also I heard the two Barry's jack and Andrew played brilliant for their club at the weekend, it'l be interesting to see if Gavin white will get a shot.

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 01/05/2018 11:54:02    2095935