Where to next?

Replying To KingdomBoy1:  "Gerry didn't we have Murphy screening our defense against Mayo last August and he was totally redundant, that's what I'm talking about all along doing the same thing over and over and we'll keep getting the same results, ( I'm not giving out to you by the way ) and I understand that you're not privileged to know what's going on in training same as ourselves.

I just can't see how we're going to stop the dubs, Martin Horgan seems to think that we'll be in the final and that we're going to win it , I wish I had his optimism.

I thought john Kennedy made a good point last night on TT about opening up one training session a month so the team could reconnect with the supporters and it would be great for the young kids to be able to see their heroes and the hard work they put into becoming the best."
Well what do we think for Saturday. What changes would everyone like to see for Kildare.
I assume we all hope that Fitzmaurice does not press the panic button, and keeps faith with the youth and gives them the chance to respond on the field to what happened last week.

Kingdomboy, I listened back to TT last night and it was uplifting to hear the optimism coming through from the panel. Martin Horgan is very bullish and he is a guy whose opinion I'd respect so it's given me a little more hope than I had on Monday morning!

It's interesting that he referenced the closed door policy as regards the senior's training. We've all had a go about it on here at this stage but I do think there is a significant point to it.
I was in Brazil recently, and I was talking to anyone I meet about soccer in general there, what they thought their chances in the World Cup were, the attitude towards the national team etc. I'd always have seen Brazil as a place (a bit like Kerry) where the national team (or inter-county team in our case) was the obsession and the passion. But actually what I was hearing back was that over the past 15-20 years there has been a growing disconnect with the team and the Brazilian players. They talked about how any decent Brazilian player is gone to Europe by the age of 15 or probably much younger. They spoke of how every national player now will probably spend most of their adult lives living in Europe, how they never really see those players in the flesh playing with Brazilian clubs anymore and how increasingly the view is, that these are just strangers to them who every so often come back to pull on the yellow jersey.
So while they will get excited for a World Cup, its a bit of a bandwagon thing now. And at the back of their mind they are only waiting for them to fail so they can throw their hands up and say - what did we expect, they aren't true Brazilians anymore!!
I thought it was a) understandable and b) that it had some echos with what seems to be happening in Kerry.
We don't get to see these lads enough, the kids don't get to interact with them enough and something special is being lost. And once it's gone it will probably never come back.

TheHermit (Kerry) - Posts: 6354 - 15/03/2018 15:02:30    2084756

Wouldn't panic at all for the weekend I'd put Moran in if he is match fit enough though.

McCarthy and Spillane were thrown in at the deep end last weekend and they tired very quickly. I hope they get another run as it will have brought them on. I'm assuming Geaney and Sean O'Shea won't be available so I'd imagine they will keep their places with BJK coming in for Geaney and maybe Casey for O'Shea? If I was Casey and I don't get a start under these circumstances I wouldn't even tog off and I'd tell Eamon where to go.

Griffen has been on the subs the past few weeks and must surely be due a run out? Maybe give Enright a rest and move Foley to the corner. Alternatively try Griffen at 5 or 6.

Kildare have nothing to lose at this stage and will fancy a crack at us after what they saw last weekend. They are not a bad team and we are in woeful form so this could be a banana skin!

GeniusGerry (Kerry) - Posts: 2105 - 15/03/2018 19:37:33    2084807

Replying To GeniusGerry:  "Wouldn't panic at all for the weekend I'd put Moran in if he is match fit enough though.

McCarthy and Spillane were thrown in at the deep end last weekend and they tired very quickly. I hope they get another run as it will have brought them on. I'm assuming Geaney and Sean O'Shea won't be available so I'd imagine they will keep their places with BJK coming in for Geaney and maybe Casey for O'Shea? If I was Casey and I don't get a start under these circumstances I wouldn't even tog off and I'd tell Eamon where to go.

Griffen has been on the subs the past few weeks and must surely be due a run out? Maybe give Enright a rest and move Foley to the corner. Alternatively try Griffen at 5 or 6.

Kildare have nothing to lose at this stage and will fancy a crack at us after what they saw last weekend. They are not a bad team and we are in woeful form so this could be a banana skin!"
Yeah Kildare have been very unlucky in their games and they are only losing matches by a score or two. In Division 1 there aren't any easy games.
Would put Moran in midfield too if he is match fit. I'd also give Spillane and particularly McCarthy another chance. And like yourself Gerry if Casey doesn't start given probable injuries then you'd have to wonder why he asked into the panel at all.

TheHermit (Kerry) - Posts: 6354 - 15/03/2018 21:10:14    2084823

Replying To TheHermit:  "Yeah Kildare have been very unlucky in their games and they are only losing matches by a score or two. In Division 1 there aren't any easy games.
Would put Moran in midfield too if he is match fit. I'd also give Spillane and particularly McCarthy another chance. And like yourself Gerry if Casey doesn't start given probable injuries then you'd have to wonder why he asked into the panel at all."
In reality he will probably go with Mikey Geaney at centre forward with Casey coming in for a while at the end. Casey won't make the championship panel by the looks of it.

GeniusGerry (Kerry) - Posts: 2105 - 15/03/2018 21:49:13    2084828

Replying To GeniusGerry:  "In reality he will probably go with Mikey Geaney at centre forward with Casey coming in for a while at the end. Casey won't make the championship panel by the looks of it."
I'd say he's afraid to play Casey Incase he does well and people will start questioning why hasn't he been on the team all along, now that's just my opinion .

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 16/03/2018 08:47:13    2084869

Replying To TheHermit:  "Well what do we think for Saturday. What changes would everyone like to see for Kildare.
I assume we all hope that Fitzmaurice does not press the panic button, and keeps faith with the youth and gives them the chance to respond on the field to what happened last week.

Kingdomboy, I listened back to TT last night and it was uplifting to hear the optimism coming through from the panel. Martin Horgan is very bullish and he is a guy whose opinion I'd respect so it's given me a little more hope than I had on Monday morning!

It's interesting that he referenced the closed door policy as regards the senior's training. We've all had a go about it on here at this stage but I do think there is a significant point to it.
I was in Brazil recently, and I was talking to anyone I meet about soccer in general there, what they thought their chances in the World Cup were, the attitude towards the national team etc. I'd always have seen Brazil as a place (a bit like Kerry) where the national team (or inter-county team in our case) was the obsession and the passion. But actually what I was hearing back was that over the past 15-20 years there has been a growing disconnect with the team and the Brazilian players. They talked about how any decent Brazilian player is gone to Europe by the age of 15 or probably much younger. They spoke of how every national player now will probably spend most of their adult lives living in Europe, how they never really see those players in the flesh playing with Brazilian clubs anymore and how increasingly the view is, that these are just strangers to them who every so often come back to pull on the yellow jersey.
So while they will get excited for a World Cup, its a bit of a bandwagon thing now. And at the back of their mind they are only waiting for them to fail so they can throw their hands up and say - what did we expect, they aren't true Brazilians anymore!!
I thought it was a) understandable and b) that it had some echos with what seems to be happening in Kerry.
We don't get to see these lads enough, the kids don't get to interact with them enough and something special is being lost. And once it's gone it will probably never come back."
Excellent post the hermit, and it makes perfect sense, and I hope the management team knows what they're doing but the evidence would probably prove that they don't.

Also I see all our posts on the splitting the championship thread from yesterday have been wiped out, in fairness I can see why, all that was said was the thruth. There was no badness mean by anyone, it's a pity we live in such an uptight society.

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 16/03/2018 08:54:29    2084871

Saw that, pretty sad on behalf of those who run this place.

Anyway, glad Fitzy has stuck with youth.Redeem yourself lads and keep us safe in Division 1

TheHermit (Kerry) - Posts: 6354 - 16/03/2018 21:32:26    2084989

Kerry team v Kildare:
Murphy.
O'Beaglaoich, Foley, Shanahan.
Murphy, Crowley, Fion Fitz.
Jack Barry, Barry O'Sullivan.
M Burns, Daithi Casey, K McCarthy .
D Clifford, P Geaney, BJK.

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 16/03/2018 21:32:45    2084990

Replying To KingdomBoy1:  "Kerry team v Kildare:
Murphy.
O'Beaglaoich, Foley, Shanahan.
Murphy, Crowley, Fion Fitz.
Jack Barry, Barry O'Sullivan.
M Burns, Daithi Casey, K McCarthy .
D Clifford, P Geaney, BJK."
Can't complain about that team, glad McCarthy is getting another day out and Casey finally gets a start. Surprised Geaney made it given he went off injured at h/t last week.

Backs look very lightweight but looking at the bench there isn't a lot of options with all the injuries we have. I wouldn't mind seeing Tom O'Sullivan from the start as I think he is the real deal but I suppose Fionns experience is the reason he gets the nod.

GeniusGerry (Kerry) - Posts: 2105 - 16/03/2018 22:31:29    2084997

Replying To GeniusGerry:  "Can't complain about that team, glad McCarthy is getting another day out and Casey finally gets a start. Surprised Geaney made it given he went off injured at h/t last week.

Backs look very lightweight but looking at the bench there isn't a lot of options with all the injuries we have. I wouldn't mind seeing Tom O'Sullivan from the start as I think he is the real deal but I suppose Fionns experience is the reason he gets the nod."
Ya happy enough with that team , glad we'll get a good look at Casey, I don't think he'll let us down it would be good to have another option at centre forward Incase seanie gets injured or loses form. He can also play on the wings and help the midfield.

Ya I'd like to see more of Tom O'sullivan as well as he's all go.

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 16/03/2018 22:52:32    2085002

Happy enough again with team giving the young lads a great run at it to prove themselves at the high level. Glad to see Fionn back I think he could still do a job at half back but really how many chances is Barry john getting. This kid is around a long time now and I'm sure there's loads of corner forwards in the county better than this guy. I an glad casey is finally starting too interesting to see how he does. One thing that is missing in this team is the lack of goals we need to score more if we have any chance I think we scored three goals so far one from Crowley one from penalty and the only forward who scored is Stephen O'Brien need to do better than that should has a least two last week in the first half and it might have made a big difference in the final score.

chicago09 (Kerry) - Posts: 694 - 17/03/2018 16:39:26    2085089

Hope everyone has warmed up after that! A win is a win but we beat a fairly poor team in all honesty. They missed Feely when he went off but they really didn't have much to trouble us with the most notable exception of Flynn, who is a top forward. They wasted a lot of opportunities through unforced errors and don't look Division One standard yet but they are a coming team.

On our side we had good performances from Barry, Clifford and Casey and several others can be happy with their nights work. Foley had a game he won't forget in a hurry but our tactics (or lack of) left him high and dry trying to mark a very good forward in lots of space. He seemed to struggle with the physicality of Flynn at times. He is a definite championship starter but I wonder would he be better off in the corner for this year and reinstate Griffen at full back?

Our tactics once again were fairly suspect, no protection for the full back line, kick out strategy was non existent and some of the substitutions were just baffling, replacing forwards with backs when the game was still there for Kildare. I suppose now that most players are back or close to coming back they can really focus on the system in training from now on.

Still in all we got the win and that should be enough to keep us up. I would say it had been a successful league overall assuming we stay in the division. A win next weekend would be the icing on the cake.

Btw did ye see Hassett on the sideline again last night, how has somebody not pulled him aside and told him to cop himself on! Is his behaviour something that is pre planned? I don't think it's helping us in any way whatsoever.

GeniusGerry (Kerry) - Posts: 2105 - 18/03/2018 10:47:25    2085237

I thought we were fairly poor again against kildare. Geaney has either gone off the boil or else he badly needs a rest. Foley got destroyed. How he was left on the pitch for as long as he was is beyond me. The only thing I got from last nights game is that casey should be a starter. Our defence is a shambles. Cant deal with teams running at us at all. This has been a huge problem since EF has been in charge. What the hell are they doing in training coz its not working?

aidan64 (Kerry) - Posts: 665 - 18/03/2018 14:52:17    2085290

Well I'm just about tawed out from last night! Look they did the business and today's results mean we are safe and secure with a game to spare.
We didn't set the world alight last night but were more than good enough for a poor Kildare side.
Given how bitter it was Id say all the lads were worried about was a hot shower.
Clifford continues to grow into games, Burns and McCarthy were good as was Jack, Murphy and Crowley. Thought Casey was very good and should be retained in squad for the Championship.

We've got what we wanted from this year's League, it would have been nice if we didn't get embarrassed against Dublin but such is life.
Hopefully we can finish with a flourish up in Omagh.

TheHermit (Kerry) - Posts: 6354 - 18/03/2018 16:10:04    2085320

Ya lads I'm not going to bash our management this week, they did make a lot of mistakes again and like Gerry said hassett is making an awful ejit out of him self and Kerry football but I'm not going to say anything about that today.

If the management are trying to dampen our hopes for the rest of the year they're doing a great job.

Clifford was excellent again last nights as was Paul Murphy and of course a special mention to daithi Casey, the man has some range of passing and he could thread a needle for you, I'd like to see a half forward line of Casey seanie and Kevin Mac and a full forward line of Clifford Geaney and JOD.

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 18/03/2018 17:28:57    2085387

Replying To KingdomBoy1:  "Ya lads I'm not going to bash our management this week, they did make a lot of mistakes again and like Gerry said hassett is making an awful ejit out of him self and Kerry football but I'm not going to say anything about that today.

If the management are trying to dampen our hopes for the rest of the year they're doing a great job.

Clifford was excellent again last nights as was Paul Murphy and of course a special mention to daithi Casey, the man has some range of passing and he could thread a needle for you, I'd like to see a half forward line of Casey seanie and Kevin Mac and a full forward line of Clifford Geaney and JOD."
That's not a bad set of forwards at all! Please God we sort out the defence by the time the Championship starts!

Didn't see any of the football today but where the Dirty Dubs living up to their name Kingdomboy?
Is that story about Joe McQuilan travelling in the Dublin team bus true btw?

TheHermit (Kerry) - Posts: 6354 - 18/03/2018 18:24:04    2085436

Replying To TheHermit:  "That's not a bad set of forwards at all! Please God we sort out the defence by the time the Championship starts!

Didn't see any of the football today but where the Dirty Dubs living up to their name Kingdomboy?
Is that story about Joe McQuilan travelling in the Dublin team bus true btw?"
Yes it's true the hermit a guy high up in the Kerry supporters club told me, he'd be great friends with the people over the Mayo supporters club,you couldn't make that stuff up eh!

I watched the game of stick ball between cork and Waterford today but I saw no football but we'll have league Sunday now soon.

As for our backs unless we implement some sort of defensive screen then it's going to be a short championship for I'd say.

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 18/03/2018 19:05:12    2085467

Replying To KingdomBoy1:  "Yes it's true the hermit a guy high up in the Kerry supporters club told me, he'd be great friends with the people over the Mayo supporters club,you couldn't make that stuff up eh!

I watched the game of stick ball between cork and Waterford today but I saw no football but we'll have league Sunday now soon.

As for our backs unless we implement some sort of defensive screen then it's going to be a short championship for I'd say."
That's a sick joke.
I mean in the Premiership a couple of years ago that referee for a vital Lecister game was stood down because he mentioned he had gone to a couple of their games as a spectator. No one thought there was anything untoward in that, but they nevertheless had to ensure there could be no possibility of any perceived bias towards a Lecister team closing in on the title.
Look at the rugby this week, World Rugby rightly stood down the official who was due to be on duty as a linesman because he had trained with the English team earlier in the week. Again correct call.
Now look at the farce with the GAA. They are trying to portray themselves as a serious sporting body and yet year after year, match after match we have officials like McQuillan and Gough referring Dublin matches even though they work and live there and worse are active members of Dublin clubs.
In what other sport in the world would this be tolerated.
I don't think an official from even the same province of one of the two teams involved should be appointed in these games.

Like I'm not saying Dublin's success is down to biased refereeing, but they have got a lot of big calls go their way in major games with referees like the above. Combine that with their home advantage and their army of backroom staff and you get those little percentages which sport at this level is decided on.

TheHermit (Kerry) - Posts: 6354 - 18/03/2018 21:19:51    2085546

Replying To TheHermit:  "That's a sick joke.
I mean in the Premiership a couple of years ago that referee for a vital Lecister game was stood down because he mentioned he had gone to a couple of their games as a spectator. No one thought there was anything untoward in that, but they nevertheless had to ensure there could be no possibility of any perceived bias towards a Lecister team closing in on the title.
Look at the rugby this week, World Rugby rightly stood down the official who was due to be on duty as a linesman because he had trained with the English team earlier in the week. Again correct call.
Now look at the farce with the GAA. They are trying to portray themselves as a serious sporting body and yet year after year, match after match we have officials like McQuillan and Gough referring Dublin matches even though they work and live there and worse are active members of Dublin clubs.
In what other sport in the world would this be tolerated.
I don't think an official from even the same province of one of the two teams involved should be appointed in these games.

Like I'm not saying Dublin's success is down to biased refereeing, but they have got a lot of big calls go their way in major games with referees like the above. Combine that with their home advantage and their army of backroom staff and you get those little percentages which sport at this level is decided on."
Exactly the hermit it's small margins, and DJ seems to be involved one way or another in all Dublins games either as reff or linesman, can you remember when he got Aidan o'mahony sent off in the league final in 2016 I think it was, nobody knew what that was for just that Jonny cooper was on the ground and what he's like for diving..

Did you notice that RTÉ showed all the sendings off in the Tyrone and mayo game last night but they didn't show Eoghan o'garas sending off for Dublin, there afraid of the lives of Jim Gavin.

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 19/03/2018 10:14:30    2085672

I think it's unfair to just blame the dubs. Having watched the games from the weekend, football is terminally ill when it comes to cinical play. Black card is open too much to interpretation to protect referees in making a decision. Take Andy Moran for mayo he lost the run of himself but immediately acknowledged it and shook hands with the ref before leaving the field. Emotions were running high in Twickenham also but ten minutes in the bin seems to sharpen the mind and play stops clock stops policy rules out and differences in how much was added or should have been added. I also think that umpires need to have greater imput to help refs and at the very least would have a foundation ref course done. Make everyone accountable. If you had to pick between being a football or rugby referee what people would pick. Fairly one sided if everyone was honest I suspect.

manintheterrace (Kerry) - Posts: 78 - 19/03/2018 19:02:45    2085947