Where to next?

Replying To GeniusGerry:  "That was hard watching lads. I know the temptation to tear in to Fitzmaurice and co will be too strong for some but I think there was always a risk something like this might happen with so many youngsters in the team.

Dublin are miles ahead of us in terms of physicality and endurance and are a seasoned and hardened team now. It was quite literally men vs boys today. Maybe it's no harm in the long run to get a bit of a spanking. Remember back in 2009 a Dublin team with several now household names got utterly humiliated by Kerry in Croke Park. It didn't do them any harm and they turned things around quite quickly.

There were signs of encouragement in that first half before the wheels came off. We could do a full post mortem on the second half but I think it's pointless given that it's March and we are trying to integrate 7-8 new players in to the team. All they can do now is try to learn from it."
Well said Gerry I think myself he should stick with this team now they will learn a lot from today.

chicago09 (Kerry) - Posts: 694 - 11/03/2018 23:00:31    2083726

Replying To avonali:  "sorry, don't wish to seem rude but were you watching the game today but the Kerry half forward line did not function at all today."
I don't think any line functioned today to be fair. The whole middle was completely overrun.

I think Burns and O'Shea in particular have been good up to today and have the potential to be very good players in the long run. They are still very young.

GeniusGerry (Kerry) - Posts: 2105 - 11/03/2018 23:06:51    2083735

I think if we mix our best young performers from the league with some of our more experienced players we have a side that can challenge for Sam. From what I have seen to date I would pick the following team:

1. Shane Murphy
2. O'Beaglaoich
3. Foley
4. Young/ Enright
5. Morley
6. Gavin Crowley
7. Paul Murphy
8. Jack Barry
9. David Moran
10. Burns
11. O'Shea
12. Donnacha Walsh
13. David Clifford
14. Paul Geaney
15. JOD

I would expect plenty of pressure to be put on the above as the summer goes on and lads get more experience but the most important thing as a aide it is a huge improvement on what we had last year.

as_ky (Kerry) - Posts: 535 - 11/03/2018 23:22:33    2083743

Well to say yesterday was disappointing is an understatement although there were glimpses of hope in the first half when we moved the ball fast we had the beaten of the Dublin backs but we had a fair bit of sloppy play and I think you could forgive a fella for not being fit or for maybe switching off for a few minutes and losing his man especially when we still don't seem to have any kind of a defensive structure but for me the worrying thing was our lack of basic skill like hand passing foot passing even soloing and shooting from any kind of distance, which has me asking the question what is going on in Kerry training? We used to be the best kick passers in the game But not anymore unfortunately.

Lads I have absolutely no hope for us for the rest of the year none at all, and if I were Sean O'Shea and David Clifford I'd be heading off with the U20s as at least they'd have some chance of winning an allireland.

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 12/03/2018 09:37:23    2083805

Jesus the title of this tread suddenly makes a whole load of sense again, was yesterday rock bottom???
At least of it was the only way is up.
The Hill jeering for the last 10 minutes iced the cake, it's bad to lose but to lose to that shower.
Sorry if that comes across badly but there's an element to their fans I've always hated a kind of soccer crowd mentality, and on days like yesterday it was there in spades.
How I'd wish we could turn around and rub their noses in it come the summer, but after yesterday it looks a forlorn hope.
Can't see anything stopping their 4 in a row, hell Kerry don't seem near stopping their 5 in a row.
Long week ahead...

TheHermit (Kerry) - Posts: 6354 - 12/03/2018 12:43:00    2083911

Replying To TheHermit:  "Jesus the title of this tread suddenly makes a whole load of sense again, was yesterday rock bottom???
At least of it was the only way is up.
The Hill jeering for the last 10 minutes iced the cake, it's bad to lose but to lose to that shower.
Sorry if that comes across badly but there's an element to their fans I've always hated a kind of soccer crowd mentality, and on days like yesterday it was there in spades.
How I'd wish we could turn around and rub their noses in it come the summer, but after yesterday it looks a forlorn hope.
Can't see anything stopping their 4 in a row, hell Kerry don't seem near stopping their 5 in a row.
Long week ahead..."
Haha the hermit I was thinking the same thing last about the name of the thread.

You started this thread back last August and do you know what we should keep it for the rest of this year :-) you have to laugh at this mire we're stuck in or else you'd break down and cry.

The only thing that gives me solace at the moment is that when we get knocked out of the championship which won't take long then this management team will be gone.

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 12/03/2018 13:16:30    2083928

Well folks ,during the first 10 /15 mins I thought the game was going to go to the wire , it was obvious from the start D Clifford had the beating of the Dublin defence, he is also very good at getting between the defenders and the goal when kerry on the attack , not sure why kerry didnt put that quick ball in when they saw this was happening,when a lad as good as that is prowling around the square he needs to get face supply , in saying all that if the 2 goal chances had of when in things could of been different, but folks it only March !!

topdownfan (Down) - Posts: 555 - 12/03/2018 13:32:30    2083934

Replying To topdownfan:  "Well folks ,during the first 10 /15 mins I thought the game was going to go to the wire , it was obvious from the start D Clifford had the beating of the Dublin defence, he is also very good at getting between the defenders and the goal when kerry on the attack , not sure why kerry didnt put that quick ball in when they saw this was happening,when a lad as good as that is prowling around the square he needs to get face supply , in saying all that if the 2 goal chances had of when in things could of been different, but folks it only March !!"
A bad weekend for Down and Kerry topdownfan.

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 12/03/2018 14:02:03    2083945

Replying To KingdomBoy1:  "Haha the hermit I was thinking the same thing last about the name of the thread.

You started this thread back last August and do you know what we should keep it for the rest of this year :-) you have to laugh at this mire we're stuck in or else you'd break down and cry.

The only thing that gives me solace at the moment is that when we get knocked out of the championship which won't take long then this management team will be gone."
Oh yeah Fitzmaurice is gone, every Kerry person I spoke to yesterday is saying the same thing.
The only thing that will keep him in the job is winning Sam in September and that ain't going to happen if yesterday is anything to go by. Whether he singed a three year deal or not, he should be shown in the door once we are knocked out of the Championship in the summer.
In fairness 6 years is long enough and he has had plenty of chances to right the many wrongs.

Look I'll be down in the stand in Tralee next Saturday roaring the lads on. I'm not trying to imply I'm going to turn into one of those sore b*stards that goes to games to heckle players or the management but it's time for change.
I'll be behind our lads all the way this summer, but once the summer is out, Eamon should be told to move along.

The hangover is dissipating and with it the anger from yesterday. I suppose it's a lot better for something like this to happen in March than in August. I remember the Dubs giving us a similar sort of trimming in Killarney in 2013 and we were a whisker from beating them in that year's All-Ireland semi-final.

I don't think I can bare to rewatch that game but fitness wise we were well off pace and hopefully that will be easily sorted out. We can't do anything much about the physical disparity, that will take time.
We all said in January that this League was about staying in Division 1, giving the youth its fling and uncovering 4 or 5 players for the championship. We're still on course for all of that. It would have been nice to do it without being humiliated like we were yesterday, but what can you do.

Massive, massive statement now needed against Kildare. If this group can't rally themselves to get a result than we are really in dire straits.

TheHermit (Kerry) - Posts: 6354 - 12/03/2018 16:22:36    2083997

Replying To TheHermit:  "Oh yeah Fitzmaurice is gone, every Kerry person I spoke to yesterday is saying the same thing.
The only thing that will keep him in the job is winning Sam in September and that ain't going to happen if yesterday is anything to go by. Whether he singed a three year deal or not, he should be shown in the door once we are knocked out of the Championship in the summer.
In fairness 6 years is long enough and he has had plenty of chances to right the many wrongs.

Look I'll be down in the stand in Tralee next Saturday roaring the lads on. I'm not trying to imply I'm going to turn into one of those sore b*stards that goes to games to heckle players or the management but it's time for change.
I'll be behind our lads all the way this summer, but once the summer is out, Eamon should be told to move along.

The hangover is dissipating and with it the anger from yesterday. I suppose it's a lot better for something like this to happen in March than in August. I remember the Dubs giving us a similar sort of trimming in Killarney in 2013 and we were a whisker from beating them in that year's All-Ireland semi-final.

I don't think I can bare to rewatch that game but fitness wise we were well off pace and hopefully that will be easily sorted out. We can't do anything much about the physical disparity, that will take time.
We all said in January that this League was about staying in Division 1, giving the youth its fling and uncovering 4 or 5 players for the championship. We're still on course for all of that. It would have been nice to do it without being humiliated like we were yesterday, but what can you do.

Massive, massive statement now needed against Kildare. If this group can't rally themselves to get a result than we are really in dire straits."
Ya same as that bud, il be there shouting them on Saturday if we don't win this game we're in big trouble as I can't see us beating Tyrone away from home.

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 12/03/2018 17:47:15    2084041

I think people really need to start putting things in perspective, some of those Dubs have more all Ireland medals than the number of senior appearances the likes of Clifford and burns have. We are on two total different trajectories. We will come on in leaps and bounds as the summer goes on, its not even paddy's day yet.

as_ky (Kerry) - Posts: 535 - 12/03/2018 21:23:32    2084104

Replying To as_ky:  "I think people really need to start putting things in perspective, some of those Dubs have more all Ireland medals than the number of senior appearances the likes of Clifford and burns have. We are on two total different trajectories. We will come on in leaps and bounds as the summer goes on, its not even paddy's day yet."
Ya but the dubs will come on leaps and bounds as well as-Ky they were missing 7 starters yesterday, we can't even beat Mayo nowadays we have no sign of any kind of a defensive strategy.

Why when we were losing yesterday did fitz take off McCarthy and bring on fion fitz?

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 12/03/2018 22:04:25    2084116

Replying To as_ky:  "I think people really need to start putting things in perspective, some of those Dubs have more all Ireland medals than the number of senior appearances the likes of Clifford and burns have. We are on two total different trajectories. We will come on in leaps and bounds as the summer goes on, its not even paddy's day yet."
Hope your right, yesterday was just pretty humiliating

TheHermit (Kerry) - Posts: 6354 - 12/03/2018 22:29:38    2084124

Well said as_ky some people are completely losing the run of themselves (not necessarily on here, I had a look on a few other online forums today). We have important players to come back and our fitness will improve, we will be a much better team by the summer.

The big issue is that we are still going to be much lighter than the Dubs and Mayo come the summer which is why we won't win Sam IMO. The difference in physiques was very evident yesterday but I'd stick with most of the young lads nonetheless as going back to the old guard would be a huge step back at this stage.

On the much maligned defence, I think we will end up naming someone like Murphy at half forward and have him screening the back leaving 4-5 up front. We are not good enough to go man v man at the back with the best teams, that much is absolutely clear now if it wasn't before. If we can shore things up a bit and stop coughing up so many goals we have enough forwards to hurt anybody. Morley cannot come back in soon enough, it's a pity he will be starting his year playing catch-up. I also think Killian Young would be a very useful player to have right now if he was fit but I don't know what his story is.

GeniusGerry (Kerry) - Posts: 2105 - 12/03/2018 22:57:28    2084130

Replying To GeniusGerry:  "Well said as_ky some people are completely losing the run of themselves (not necessarily on here, I had a look on a few other online forums today). We have important players to come back and our fitness will improve, we will be a much better team by the summer.

The big issue is that we are still going to be much lighter than the Dubs and Mayo come the summer which is why we won't win Sam IMO. The difference in physiques was very evident yesterday but I'd stick with most of the young lads nonetheless as going back to the old guard would be a huge step back at this stage.

On the much maligned defence, I think we will end up naming someone like Murphy at half forward and have him screening the back leaving 4-5 up front. We are not good enough to go man v man at the back with the best teams, that much is absolutely clear now if it wasn't before. If we can shore things up a bit and stop coughing up so many goals we have enough forwards to hurt anybody. Morley cannot come back in soon enough, it's a pity he will be starting his year playing catch-up. I also think Killian Young would be a very useful player to have right now if he was fit but I don't know what his story is."
Gerry didn't we have Murphy screening our defense against Mayo last August and he was totally redundant, that's what I'm talking about all along doing the same thing over and over and we'll keep getting the same results, ( I'm not giving out to you by the way ) and I understand that you're not privileged to know what's going on in training same as ourselves.

I just can't see how we're going to stop the dubs, Martin Horgan seems to think that we'll be in the final and that we're going to win it , I wish I had his optimism.

I thought john Kennedy made a good point last night on TT about opening up one training session a month so the team could reconnect with the supporters and it would be great for the young kids to be able to see their heroes and the hard work they put into becoming the best.

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 13/03/2018 08:50:20    2084174

I think our major defensive problems are due to the fact we are too flat when we are attacking. The lateral play is killing us, teams can push up on us and when we are turned over they can easily counter. I imagine with everyone fit the full forward line will be JOD, Geaney and Clifford. We need to start getting quick ball into these lads. Don't give teams the chance to push up on us and put the fear of god into the likes of the dubs back line that would think about making runs up the pitch.
Really need to start putting more ball through Sean o Shea as well, think he is a perfect replacement for the declan o Sullivan role. We need Paul Murphy playing wing back no matter what, he is very like Tomas and is a great outlet when moving the ball out of defence.
The young lads are a bit light but as the ground hardens it will really start to suit them. I would be confident that when you add a bit more experience into the side that we will be a lot stronger, when u look at the lads that will be coming in there is definitely a major improvement on last year. Hopefully a couple of more lads will put there hands up over the coming months as well.

as_ky (Kerry) - Posts: 535 - 13/03/2018 10:16:36    2084192

Replying To KingdomBoy1:  "Gerry didn't we have Murphy screening our defense against Mayo last August and he was totally redundant, that's what I'm talking about all along doing the same thing over and over and we'll keep getting the same results, ( I'm not giving out to you by the way ) and I understand that you're not privileged to know what's going on in training same as ourselves.

I just can't see how we're going to stop the dubs, Martin Horgan seems to think that we'll be in the final and that we're going to win it , I wish I had his optimism.

I thought john Kennedy made a good point last night on TT about opening up one training session a month so the team could reconnect with the supporters and it would be great for the young kids to be able to see their heroes and the hard work they put into becoming the best."
Yeah that's true about Murphy last year but that was with a weeks turnaround when he had been playing a conventional formation all along. It takes time to work these things through. The only way you're going to stop all these runners is with more bodies at the back and fellas holding their shape instead of following their men up into the opposition half. I would say our tackling is atrocious and we give away a tonne of unnecessary frees, at least partially because we keep isolating our defenders in disasterous one v one situations with oceans of space for the forwards.

I share some of your reservations about our management team but we have what we have for now so we need to get the best out of what is available to us. Don't forget all the changes over the winter with new coaches and a dedicated S & C man coming in. These things take time and there have been so many players unavailable that I think it's too early to judge the team at the moment.

Taking a hiding from the Dubs is never nice but it won't mean much later in the year when everyone is settled and we have more games under our belt. I cannot see us winning the All Ireland this year though, and I do think the team needs a new approach. Fitzmaurice really should have walked away last year to be honest.

GeniusGerry (Kerry) - Posts: 2105 - 13/03/2018 10:49:28    2084205

In the League final last year we seemed to cope well enough defensively. We have Morley and Griffith to come back and I presume Killlian Young.
Burns and O'Shea look the real deal but we still need another option or two in that line, a Paul Galvin figure. On Sunday it was really noticeable how few Kerry players were around to clean up the breaking ball around the midfield.
I'm also worried about midfield too. Barry and Moran look certain to be the Championship pair but are they too much of a similar sort of player? What cover is there, Barry O'Sullivan does not look like he is cut out for this level yet. The reluctance to go long with kickouts was very noticeable and worrying.
Like everyone else I can't see us winning an All-Ireland now given that we were toyed with in the second half by a Dublin team missing a lot of players. I hope to God I'm wrong but it's hard to see how the gap shown up on Sunday can close so drastically in just a few months come the summer.

TheHermit (Kerry) - Posts: 6354 - 13/03/2018 12:09:20    2084231

Replying To GeniusGerry:  "Yeah that's true about Murphy last year but that was with a weeks turnaround when he had been playing a conventional formation all along. It takes time to work these things through. The only way you're going to stop all these runners is with more bodies at the back and fellas holding their shape instead of following their men up into the opposition half. I would say our tackling is atrocious and we give away a tonne of unnecessary frees, at least partially because we keep isolating our defenders in disasterous one v one situations with oceans of space for the forwards.

I share some of your reservations about our management team but we have what we have for now so we need to get the best out of what is available to us. Don't forget all the changes over the winter with new coaches and a dedicated S & C man coming in. These things take time and there have been so many players unavailable that I think it's too early to judge the team at the moment.

Taking a hiding from the Dubs is never nice but it won't mean much later in the year when everyone is settled and we have more games under our belt. I cannot see us winning the All Ireland this year though, and I do think the team needs a new approach. Fitzmaurice really should have walked away last year to be honest."
I agree with all you say there Gerry, spot on and I will fall in behind fitz for the rest of the year I just hope he isn't so stubborn and he listens to these people who have been brought in to help him. Some people you just can't help and some people just always think they know better and do things there own way ( my self included ) :-)

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 13/03/2018 16:01:12    2084303

Replying To TheHermit:  "In the League final last year we seemed to cope well enough defensively. We have Morley and Griffith to come back and I presume Killlian Young.
Burns and O'Shea look the real deal but we still need another option or two in that line, a Paul Galvin figure. On Sunday it was really noticeable how few Kerry players were around to clean up the breaking ball around the midfield.
I'm also worried about midfield too. Barry and Moran look certain to be the Championship pair but are they too much of a similar sort of player? What cover is there, Barry O'Sullivan does not look like he is cut out for this level yet. The reluctance to go long with kickouts was very noticeable and worrying.
Like everyone else I can't see us winning an All-Ireland now given that we were toyed with in the second half by a Dublin team missing a lot of players. I hope to God I'm wrong but it's hard to see how the gap shown up on Sunday can close so drastically in just a few months come the summer."
Morley young griffin and Gavin Crowley will make a big difference in the back also I'm surprised Tom o'sullivan Hasn't been given more time and gavin white has been given no time at all, maybe he feels he has blooded enough young lads in the backs this year.

You're correct about our midfield as well, there are none of them going to win a sprint against Fenton or McCauley and our best bet there is in Oz unfortunately for us although I believe Liam Kearney is back fit and playing for spa again so who knows if he shows a bit of form or of course john mark foley although it's hard to see anyone breaking in now this late in the spring.

Forwards I believe burns could be moulded in to a Galvin type player and he's got the tattoos and everything but young Dara Moynihan is the closest I've seen to take over that roll but he's a year or two away yet .

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 13/03/2018 16:10:33    2084306