Where to next?

Replying To topdownfan:  "Well are you heading up on sunday sir"
I'm torn between between going to our county league game and the Kerry game to be honest and especially now since they put the Kerry game on at 4 o'clock but saying that I could get a mad fit in the morning and just make a burst for the capital, how about your self topdownfan?
I'd say you'll be in Cavan tonight and best of luck to ye.

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 10/03/2018 09:25:19    2083106

Replying To GeniusGerry:  "Good to see McCarthy and Spillane in the team, to be honest I thought Fitzmaurice had made up his mind on Spillane but it seems I was wrong, glad to see him there. I don't think the wing is his position but let's see how he goes.

That's a good youthful team, very happy with it."
I'd say enright is the oldest player we have and he's 29 I think, so very youthful and plenty of running in them, let's hope we go direct and none of that lateral stuff we saw against Galway.

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 10/03/2018 09:28:58    2083109

Replying To KingdomBoy1:  "I'm torn between between going to our county league game and the Kerry game to be honest and especially now since they put the Kerry game on at 4 o'clock but saying that I could get a mad fit in the morning and just make a burst for the capital, how about your self topdownfan?
I'd say you'll be in Cavan tonight and best of luck to ye."
Yea heading to Cavan surely and the down to capital in the morning after training the young lads, hope weather improves from this morning, keep me posted if your heading up might try to arrange to meet with you

topdownfan (Down) - Posts: 555 - 10/03/2018 11:33:08    2083136

Very happy with the team picked youth really getting a chance now a big test sunday we will really see what we have and where they stand hope they give a good account of themselves.

chicago09 (Kerry) - Posts: 694 - 10/03/2018 14:59:15    2083174

Hon the pobal scoil , great win today against the green 2:13 to 1:10 .

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 10/03/2018 15:44:55    2083179

Replying To KingdomBoy1:  "I'd say enright is the oldest player we have and he's 29 I think, so very youthful and plenty of running in them, let's hope we go direct and none of that lateral stuff we saw against Galway."
Yeah should have plenty of gas around the middle. Looking at the team I'd guess Spillane will play as a third midfielder with K McCarthy dropping back to the 40. J McCarthy and Fenton would have way too much for the two Barry's if they go man v man.

BJK unlucky to be dropped I think he has played well to date. It looks like a tactical change though.

GeniusGerry (Kerry) - Posts: 2105 - 10/03/2018 15:58:18    2083189

Replying To KingdomBoy1:  "Hon the pobal scoil , great win today against the green 2:13 to 1:10 ."
Feck sake, West Kerry whores, was hoping my old alma matter would get the result

TheHermit (Kerry) - Posts: 6354 - 10/03/2018 16:48:47    2083197

Replying To GeniusGerry:  "Yeah should have plenty of gas around the middle. Looking at the team I'd guess Spillane will play as a third midfielder with K McCarthy dropping back to the 40. J McCarthy and Fenton would have way too much for the two Barry's if they go man v man.

BJK unlucky to be dropped I think he has played well to date. It looks like a tactical change though."
I was thinking the same thing Gerry, that's the way it looks anyway it's robbing Peter to pay Paul but if it works then we won't complain.

Ya Barry john is in hard luck but he would not be suited against those Dublin backs at all , but he can play his part later on when the game is old and lads are tired.

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 10/03/2018 17:18:59    2083204

Replying To TheHermit:  "Feck sake, West Kerry whores, was hoping my old alma matter would get the result"
Haha I'm sorry for your troubles the hermit, jays I feel sorry for the green two defeats in two finals now and they played good stuff at times today, at times in the first half the pobal scoil played like our Kerry senior with slow lateral hand passing playing an extra man back until tommy griffin ran on and passed on the message to go and attack.

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 10/03/2018 17:25:37    2083206

Replying To KingdomBoy1:  "Haha I'm sorry for your troubles the hermit, jays I feel sorry for the green two defeats in two finals now and they played good stuff at times today, at times in the first half the pobal scoil played like our Kerry senior with slow lateral hand passing playing an extra man back until tommy griffin ran on and passed on the message to go and attack."
I wonder why they played like that lol, on that note Tommy Griffin was insufferable, invading the pitch at every given moment, can someone curtail that?

Fitzmaurice spewing some unsavoury words back to Tralee fans is something I'd rather forget too. Really took him down in my estimation.

SecretsOfFatima (Kerry) - Posts: 63 - 11/03/2018 17:35:45    2083434

As bad as it gets really today. Injuries didn't help but we were just torn apart through the middle again. This is Fitz sixth season in charge and still hasn't found a defensive structure that works.
I will remain hopeful for the long term future with the young talent we have coming through but we won't be doing much as long as fitz is at the helm.

as_ky (Kerry) - Posts: 535 - 11/03/2018 17:41:57    2083445

That was hard watching lads. I know the temptation to tear in to Fitzmaurice and co will be too strong for some but I think there was always a risk something like this might happen with so many youngsters in the team.

Dublin are miles ahead of us in terms of physicality and endurance and are a seasoned and hardened team now. It was quite literally men vs boys today. Maybe it's no harm in the long run to get a bit of a spanking. Remember back in 2009 a Dublin team with several now household names got utterly humiliated by Kerry in Croke Park. It didn't do them any harm and they turned things around quite quickly.

There were signs of encouragement in that first half before the wheels came off. We could do a full post mortem on the second half but I think it's pointless given that it's March and we are trying to integrate 7-8 new players in to the team. All they can do now is try to learn from it.

GeniusGerry (Kerry) - Posts: 2105 - 11/03/2018 19:07:22    2083527

If Fitz went in the morning who would would take over. Throw a few names out there

Gigger (Wexford) - Posts: 18 - 11/03/2018 19:32:26    2083550

Replying To Gigger:  "If Fitz went in the morning who would would take over. Throw a few names out there"
Pat o'shea, Peter Keane.

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 11/03/2018 19:54:18    2083577

Arrrrraggghhhhh

Horsebox77 (Kerry) - Posts: 5491 - 11/03/2018 20:26:22    2083604

Calmed down a bit now after the game. On the upside of things, Kerry put in a very strong first half. Some of those lads out there only have a few weeks senior experience as opposed to facing side who have won three all Ireland's in a row.
The second half was disappointing but the injuries and black card didn't help.
Hopefully training wise we are a lot further away from our peak at the moment than the dubs. No harm coming into the championship a bit under the radar as well. We must remember we had kids out there today, they got a taste of playing the dubs in croker and know what level they need to aim at.
We have some great talent, the Dubs know this and hit us with everything today to try knock our confidence, it's a compliment in one sense.
So going to stay positive, get behind fitz for the season and see where the young guns can take us this year.

as_ky (Kerry) - Posts: 535 - 11/03/2018 21:18:28    2083643

Replying To as_ky:  "Calmed down a bit now after the game. On the upside of things, Kerry put in a very strong first half. Some of those lads out there only have a few weeks senior experience as opposed to facing side who have won three all Ireland's in a row.
The second half was disappointing but the injuries and black card didn't help.
Hopefully training wise we are a lot further away from our peak at the moment than the dubs. No harm coming into the championship a bit under the radar as well. We must remember we had kids out there today, they got a taste of playing the dubs in croker and know what level they need to aim at.
We have some great talent, the Dubs know this and hit us with everything today to try knock our confidence, it's a compliment in one sense.
So going to stay positive, get behind fitz for the season and see where the young guns can take us this year."
The dubs didnt hit us with their best. They were missing a lot of their big players. Certainly wouldnt take it as a compliment to get beaten out the gate

aidan64 (Kerry) - Posts: 665 - 11/03/2018 21:50:36    2083668

Replying To aidan64:  "The dubs didnt hit us with their best. They were missing a lot of their big players. Certainly wouldnt take it as a compliment to get beaten out the gate"
They had a strong side out and played some serious football. Granted, not the same level as in the heat of the championship but when you see how little experience we have, we definitely will improve in leaps and bounds through out the summer. If we meet them again we will be a different proposition.

as_ky (Kerry) - Posts: 535 - 11/03/2018 21:57:38    2083676

Also, the A v B games will bring on the young fellas a lot once we have a full squad available and will be good for them to have the more experienced lads around the training ground. The young lads just need a bit more experience, they will improve with every game. It is an absolute blessing that we will get extra games with the super 8's this year.
I know we hate losing to Dublin but we must remember that this year in the league was all about finding 4 or 5 new players and think we can safely say we have at least found that to add into the starting team. The half forward line was a problem issue that looks to have been solved. Clifford and O'Shea are going to just keep getting better and better as the summer goes on.
If you add in Morley, Moran and JOD to the team we have today and the young lads continue to progress over the summer I would be confident we can put up a serious title challenge. Could look to maybe have Walsh start instead of O'Brien on the wing as well to do the donkey work that is needed.

as_ky (Kerry) - Posts: 535 - 11/03/2018 22:13:53    2083688

Replying To as_ky:  "Also, the A v B games will bring on the young fellas a lot once we have a full squad available and will be good for them to have the more experienced lads around the training ground. The young lads just need a bit more experience, they will improve with every game. It is an absolute blessing that we will get extra games with the super 8's this year.
I know we hate losing to Dublin but we must remember that this year in the league was all about finding 4 or 5 new players and think we can safely say we have at least found that to add into the starting team. The half forward line was a problem issue that looks to have been solved. Clifford and O'Shea are going to just keep getting better and better as the summer goes on.
If you add in Morley, Moran and JOD to the team we have today and the young lads continue to progress over the summer I would be confident we can put up a serious title challenge. Could look to maybe have Walsh start instead of O'Brien on the wing as well to do the donkey work that is needed."
sorry, don't wish to seem rude but were you watching the game today but the Kerry half forward line did not function at all today.

avonali (Dublin) - Posts: 1974 - 11/03/2018 22:42:32    2083711