Where to next?

Replying To TheHermit:  "Was Sheedy not in the running, they could do worse.

Carlsberg? A 6 pack of Tuborg for €7 too good for you these days Kingdomboy ;D"
Ha ha I was more of a linden village man the hermit :-) that might be a bit before your time though ( it was really cheap cider back in the day ) .

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 08/03/2018 08:53:40    2082619

Replying To Horsebox77:  "More a cultured Chilean Merlot myself these days, god the ancestors must be turning in the grave at the sight I'd me sipping a glass - still might revert to the bottles of Johnny jump up for old times sake.... looking forward to team selection it will be interesting to see who will be added to bench.

On another note just finish goochs book, I had been meaning to get around to it but the weather last weekend gave me the perfect chance to do so.... interesting insight, but nothing mad or out of the norm, very like Darragh's in that regard, still think of all the recent books Paul and Tomas were the best reads"
Jays horse wine eh! I'd only ever really drink wine on Christmas Day or maybe a glass at a wedding, jays the head would be banging after it .

I still haven't read the gooches book, that reminds me I have to finish paul Galvin book as well, out of all the books I liked jack o'connors the best.

As for team news like you say it'l be interesting to see who makes the panel.

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 08/03/2018 09:01:00    2082620

Holy God, it's far from Chilean Merlot you were raised!! I'm with Kingdomboy, have no gra for wine at all, I can drink white when I have to, but red wine to me is like sucking vinegar! Give me a nice larger or pint of plain, or better yet a glass of Hennessy's!

Got Gooch's book for Christmas but haven't got around to reading it yet as I'm finishing a novel. Of the Kerry biographies of the last 10-12 years, I'd say Jack's Keys to the Kingdom and Donaghay's are the best. I thought Darragh's was very poor, Tomas's not much better and Galvin's was decent and I'd give him a bit more credit as it was an actual autobiography. Martin Brehenny's book on Micko was a travesty, but I liked Paidi's own book, only picked it up and read it a couple of years ago.
The father has Pat Spillane's Shooting From the Hip on the shelf at home but I never got around to reading it, is it any good?
One of the best book's brought out over the same period on Kerry GAA is Princes of Pigskin, if anyone hasn't got a copy or read it they really should.

TheHermit (Kerry) - Posts: 6354 - 08/03/2018 11:39:46    2082668

The confidence from the Dublin supporters is at an all time high. 90% of them are convinced of a 5-6 point win against us on Sunday. I dont think this confidence is passed on to the team itself but it just shows how good they are at the moment. They really want to show our young lads who are top of the tree and are hoping that they can give us a hiding on Sunday. I hope to God they dont. Would give great confidence for the young lads if they can stay to within 3-4 point of the Dubs at the end.

aidan64 (Kerry) - Posts: 665 - 08/03/2018 14:04:53    2082698

Replying To aidan64:  "The confidence from the Dublin supporters is at an all time high. 90% of them are convinced of a 5-6 point win against us on Sunday. I dont think this confidence is passed on to the team itself but it just shows how good they are at the moment. They really want to show our young lads who are top of the tree and are hoping that they can give us a hiding on Sunday. I hope to God they dont. Would give great confidence for the young lads if they can stay to within 3-4 point of the Dubs at the end."
Stay within 3-4points of Dublin? F*ck that, a young Kerry team went up their last April and knocked them on their ass and if the management had stuck by those lads last summer we would be all the stronger now.
Send the young lads out on Sunday to take them on and do what we did to them in the League final. These young boys have won plenty in Croker all the way up, go for it and see where we are come 6pm.

TheHermit (Kerry) - Posts: 6354 - 08/03/2018 14:31:04    2082708

Replying To TheHermit:  "Holy God, it's far from Chilean Merlot you were raised!! I'm with Kingdomboy, have no gra for wine at all, I can drink white when I have to, but red wine to me is like sucking vinegar! Give me a nice larger or pint of plain, or better yet a glass of Hennessy's!

Got Gooch's book for Christmas but haven't got around to reading it yet as I'm finishing a novel. Of the Kerry biographies of the last 10-12 years, I'd say Jack's Keys to the Kingdom and Donaghay's are the best. I thought Darragh's was very poor, Tomas's not much better and Galvin's was decent and I'd give him a bit more credit as it was an actual autobiography. Martin Brehenny's book on Micko was a travesty, but I liked Paidi's own book, only picked it up and read it a couple of years ago.
The father has Pat Spillane's Shooting From the Hip on the shelf at home but I never got around to reading it, is it any good?
One of the best book's brought out over the same period on Kerry GAA is Princes of Pigskin, if anyone hasn't got a copy or read it they really should."
Princes of pigskin is an excellent read an ideal coffee table book that can be picked up and put down after a quick chapter - my favourite is Micko's original auto by Owen McCrohan maybe early 90's best by a county mile - Forging the Kingdom is a good accurate read also

Horsebox77 (Kerry) - Posts: 5491 - 08/03/2018 15:39:19    2082736

Replying To Horsebox77:  "Princes of pigskin is an excellent read an ideal coffee table book that can be picked up and put down after a quick chapter - my favourite is Micko's original auto by Owen McCrohan maybe early 90's best by a county mile - Forging the Kingdom is a good accurate read also"
I heard that Micko book was good Horse, someone else was telling me about it only a bit ago. I suppose it would be hard to track down these times?

TheHermit (Kerry) - Posts: 6354 - 08/03/2018 19:20:03    2082786

Actually no you'd see the odd copy on ebay being honest I often trail the second hand shops for a Gaa memorabilia you'd be surprised what nuggets you'd pick up cheap and available no where else - it is one and of the best reads as it goes through every Gaa game of this playing and management career showing teams scorers and a brief match report - I was always a football man but can actually relate to this book as the one that hooked to read about teams before my time - this book is basically the paperback version of the golden years Video - if you can't source a copy let me know and I'll lend you mine - I'm sure at this stage I can trust it's safe return but seriously or me know you are more than welcome

Horsebox77 (Kerry) - Posts: 5491 - 08/03/2018 20:51:48    2082806

Actually Hermit there is one on ebay for under €2 with about €9 post and package - type in Mick O'Dwyer in the search if you cannot see I can post the link

Horsebox77 (Kerry) - Posts: 5491 - 08/03/2018 20:55:17    2082807

Lads do ye think it's a good idea that fitzmaurice names the team tonight?
If I was him I wouldn't name it till 2 or 3 on Sunday.

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 09/03/2018 09:31:34    2082871

Replying To Horsebox77:  "Actually Hermit there is one on ebay for under €2 with about €9 post and package - type in Mick O'Dwyer in the search if you cannot see I can post the link"
Cheers for the offer Horse, your grand, I'll have a look for a copy online. I usually have a look through the sports books section anytime I'm in the library in Tralee and I just never saw a copy of that Micko book which is strange!

Kingdomboy, for a game like this against what will probably be a close to full strength Dublin I'd be all for doing our own thing- name our team at the usual time, trust the youth, take them on and see where we are come full-time. If we come up short than we have a clear idea what we need to sort out before the Championship begins, if we win then we know we are in good fettle if we come up against them again later in the summer.

TheHermit (Kerry) - Posts: 6354 - 09/03/2018 10:28:08    2082886

Replying To TheHermit:  "Cheers for the offer Horse, your grand, I'll have a look for a copy online. I usually have a look through the sports books section anytime I'm in the library in Tralee and I just never saw a copy of that Micko book which is strange!

Kingdomboy, for a game like this against what will probably be a close to full strength Dublin I'd be all for doing our own thing- name our team at the usual time, trust the youth, take them on and see where we are come full-time. If we come up short than we have a clear idea what we need to sort out before the Championship begins, if we win then we know we are in good fettle if we come up against them again later in the summer."
True I'd say jim Gavin will have a good idea of our team anyway the hermit, it'l be interesting to see what team is picked hopefully he'll stick with youth.

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 09/03/2018 14:43:13    2082952

There is no talk of additions with the exception of Kevin McCarthy so I cannot see much deviation from the las5 few panel or teams named

Horsebox77 (Kerry) - Posts: 5491 - 09/03/2018 16:13:38    2082982

Replying To Horsebox77:  "There is no talk of additions with the exception of Kevin McCarthy so I cannot see much deviation from the las5 few panel or teams named"
Is McCarthy definitely back? Would like to see him included he was very good throughout the league and in the league final last year. Needs to contribute more on the scoreboard if he comes back in but a promising player all the same.

Anybody know when David Moran and JOD are likely to be back in contention?

GeniusGerry (Kerry) - Posts: 2105 - 09/03/2018 16:48:58    2082988

Replying To GeniusGerry:  "Is McCarthy definitely back? Would like to see him included he was very good throughout the league and in the league final last year. Needs to contribute more on the scoreboard if he comes back in but a promising player all the same.

Anybody know when David Moran and JOD are likely to be back in contention?"
Ya Gerry, McCarthy would be more of a defensive half forward and would be grand to bring on if we had a lead late in a game and we wanted to see out the game.

Haven't heard anything about jod but I heard we won't have Moran for this game.

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 09/03/2018 20:42:26    2083035

Here we go:

1 Shane Murphy (Captain) Dr. Crokes

2 Shane Enright Tarbert

3 Jason Foley Ballydonoghue

4 Ronan Shanahan Austin Stacks

5 Paul Murphy Rathmore

6 Peter Crowley Laune Rangers

7 Brian Ó Beaglaoich An Ghaeltacht

8 Jack Barry Na Gaeil

9 Barry O'Sullivan Dingle

10 Micheál Burns Dr. Crokes

11 Séan O'Shea Kenmare

12 Adrian Spillane Templenoe

13 David Clifford Fossa

14 Paul Geaney Dingle

15 Kevin McCarthy Kilcummin

16 Brian Kelly Killarney Legion

17 Barry John Keane Kerins O'Rahillys

18 Tom O'Sullivan Dingle

19 Éanna Ó Conchúir An Ghaeltacht

20 Matthew Flaherty Dingle

21 Dáithí Casey Dr. Crokes

22 Michael Geaney Dingle

23 Fionn Fitzgerald Dr. Crokes

24 Mark Griffin St. Michaels/Foilmore

25 Jack Savage Kerins O'Rahillys

26 David Moran Kerins O'Rahillys

TheHermit (Kerry) - Posts: 6354 - 09/03/2018 21:10:57    2083042

That answer's you question anyway Gerry, the two lads are back. I like that starting 15 I have to say. It's an exciting prospect now to see what these young guys can do against the Dubs now on Sunday!

TheHermit (Kerry) - Posts: 6354 - 09/03/2018 21:12:03    2083043

Kerry team v Dublin
Murphy,
Enright, foley, Shanahan.
Murphy, P Crowley, o'Beaglaoich .
Jack Barry, Barry O'sullivan.
Burns, O'Shea, A Spillane
Clifford, geaney, Kevin McCarthy.

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 09/03/2018 21:29:17    2083046

Replying To KingdomBoy1:  "Kerry team v Dublin
Murphy,
Enright, foley, Shanahan.
Murphy, P Crowley, o'Beaglaoich .
Jack Barry, Barry O'sullivan.
Burns, O'Shea, A Spillane
Clifford, geaney, Kevin McCarthy."
Well are you heading up on sunday sir

topdownfan (Down) - Posts: 555 - 09/03/2018 22:31:21    2083058

Good to see McCarthy and Spillane in the team, to be honest I thought Fitzmaurice had made up his mind on Spillane but it seems I was wrong, glad to see him there. I don't think the wing is his position but let's see how he goes.

That's a good youthful team, very happy with it.

GeniusGerry (Kerry) - Posts: 2105 - 09/03/2018 23:04:57    2083068