Where to next?

It's been confirmed eir sport are showing the game, seems that's why they're putting it on at 4. What a joke, why did the county board agree to this , shows what they really think of us supporters.

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 06/03/2018 16:05:12    2082238

Replying To KingdomBoy1:  "It's been confirmed eir sport are showing the game, seems that's why they're putting it on at 4. What a joke, why did the county board agree to this , shows what they really think of us supporters."
So no TG4 showing it, that's very unfair on Kerry people that can't travel alright.
In all the talk about SKY, you barely hear a word about EIR having rights to games. I mean how do the number of people who have access to EIR sport stake up against people who have access to Sky Sports in this country?

TheHermit (Kerry) - Posts: 6354 - 06/03/2018 20:36:11    2082310

Replying To TheHermit:  "So no TG4 showing it, that's very unfair on Kerry people that can't travel alright.
In all the talk about SKY, you barely hear a word about EIR having rights to games. I mean how do the number of people who have access to EIR sport stake up against people who have access to Sky Sports in this country?"
Good question the hermit, all in all it equates to a ball of shite.

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 06/03/2018 20:47:49    2082315

Replying To KingdomBoy1:  "Good question the hermit, all in all it equates to a ball of shite."
I'd be interested to know alright, how many subscribers has one against the other and how much do they pale in insignificance compared to Free to Air viewership.

TheHermit (Kerry) - Posts: 6354 - 06/03/2018 21:38:28    2082329

Happen to have Eir Sport but yes it's lousy if you don't. Then again, it was never due to be on FTA in the first place so if Eir have paid for the rights to show it then they should keep them. Whether or not the GAA should have sold them is another matter.

Not hopeful of a win but would be great to see a big improvement the next day out. Big test for the young lads again, first game in Croker at this level for many of them.

GeniusGerry (Kerry) - Posts: 2105 - 06/03/2018 22:56:51    2082353

I just want to pass on my sympathy and condolences to anyone who was affected by the loss of poor Aodhán ó Conchúir.
It broke my heart and I can only imagine how his people are feeling. Rest in peace little man.

realdub (Dublin) - Posts: 8596 - 06/03/2018 23:58:16    2082362

Replying To realdub:  "I just want to pass on my sympathy and condolences to anyone who was affected by the loss of poor Aodhán ó Conchúir.
It broke my heart and I can only imagine how his people are feeling. Rest in peace little man."
Fair play to you realdub, it was an awful tragedy for all involved.

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 07/03/2018 10:51:57    2082403

Id imagine the number of people who have eir sport in kerry is low enough.

I think they have shown all of Dublins games so far so i guess the travelling supporters is the least of the GAA's worries once they keep the focus on them and the money rolling in.

I wonder if the kerry county board had any saying or objections in this, its not rocket science that Sunday 4pm throw in will not suit our supporters.

KY4SAM2015 (Kerry) - Posts: 898 - 07/03/2018 17:00:06    2082502

Replying To KY4SAM2015:  "Id imagine the number of people who have eir sport in kerry is low enough.

I think they have shown all of Dublins games so far so i guess the travelling supporters is the least of the GAA's worries once they keep the focus on them and the money rolling in.

I wonder if the kerry county board had any saying or objections in this, its not rocket science that Sunday 4pm throw in will not suit our supporters."
They should give their answer next year by fixing the League game against Dublin for Sunday under lights at 6pm!
Then we'd see...

TheHermit (Kerry) - Posts: 6354 - 07/03/2018 17:29:28    2082510

The GAA doesn't give 2 fiddlers about ourselves or any other team outside of Dublin, we're nothing but cannon fodder , meat for the grinder.

I was reading an interview with Padraig Duffy yesterday where he defended giving the dubs all the money saying he didn't think it would lead to them totally dominating Gaelic football for ever, I mean what did he think was going to happen? He has totally screwed up the Gaelic football eco system.

He also thinks Kerry will beat them eventually because of all our underage success, what a tool.

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 07/03/2018 17:58:25    2082520

Replying To KingdomBoy1:  "The GAA doesn't give 2 fiddlers about ourselves or any other team outside of Dublin, we're nothing but cannon fodder , meat for the grinder.

I was reading an interview with Padraig Duffy yesterday where he defended giving the dubs all the money saying he didn't think it would lead to them totally dominating Gaelic football for ever, I mean what did he think was going to happen? He has totally screwed up the Gaelic football eco system.

He also thinks Kerry will beat them eventually because of all our underage success, what a tool."
Sure what would a Monaghan man know about winning All-Irelands? ;D

TheHermit (Kerry) - Posts: 6354 - 07/03/2018 19:18:24    2082530

Replying To TheHermit:  "Sure what would a Monaghan man know about winning All-Irelands? ;D"
Too true :-) but he expects us to save football now from the monster that they created , that's nice of him as he scurries back to where he came from.

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 07/03/2018 19:25:19    2082534

Replying To KingdomBoy1:  "Too true :-) but he expects us to save football now from the monster that they created , that's nice of him as he scurries back to where he came from."
History will judge them and not kindly, when in 20 years the Westmeath/Longford/Offaly Hawks franchise are playing the Wicklow/Wexford/Carlow Vikings for a place in the semi-final of the Irish National Conference B against the Dublin Demons :D
Lord if this crap doesn't stop soon the game will have no choice to go semi-pro and amalgamate the smaller counties

TheHermit (Kerry) - Posts: 6354 - 07/03/2018 20:01:59    2082542

Replying To KY4SAM2015:  "Id imagine the number of people who have eir sport in kerry is low enough.

I wonder if the kerry county board had any saying or objections in this, its not rocket science that Sunday 4pm throw in will not suit our supporters."
If you have your broadband package with Eir you get Eir sport with it, I thought there would be a lot of people that would be able to access it this way. It's also relatively easy to get it if you have a decent internet connection but I don't think we could discuss that here.

4pm Sunday tells you that Kerry fans were not even considered when they were rescheduling the game. It just won't be an option for most people. As somebody else said, if it was Dublin making the trip down to Kerry there is simply no way the game would be put on at that time.

You'll probably get a couple of thousand Kerry fans there, the ones that live in and around Dublin and the usual die hards that follow the team everywhere regardless of the hardship involved. It's a pity, I think we'd have had a good crowd last weekend.

GeniusGerry (Kerry) - Posts: 2105 - 07/03/2018 20:33:25    2082551

Replying To GeniusGerry:  "If you have your broadband package with Eir you get Eir sport with it, I thought there would be a lot of people that would be able to access it this way. It's also relatively easy to get it if you have a decent internet connection but I don't think we could discuss that here.

4pm Sunday tells you that Kerry fans were not even considered when they were rescheduling the game. It just won't be an option for most people. As somebody else said, if it was Dublin making the trip down to Kerry there is simply no way the game would be put on at that time.

You'll probably get a couple of thousand Kerry fans there, the ones that live in and around Dublin and the usual die hards that follow the team everywhere regardless of the hardship involved. It's a pity, I think we'd have had a good crowd last weekend."
Ya that's how I have Eir through the broadband package - I have a full house by all accounts Sunday at least 6 last count are coming over to watch - should be a bit of Craic

Horsebox77 (Kerry) - Posts: 5491 - 07/03/2018 20:45:33    2082555

Replying To GeniusGerry:  "If you have your broadband package with Eir you get Eir sport with it, I thought there would be a lot of people that would be able to access it this way. It's also relatively easy to get it if you have a decent internet connection but I don't think we could discuss that here.

You'll probably get a couple of thousand Kerry fans there, the ones that live in and around Dublin and the usual die hards that follow the team everywhere regardless of the hardship involved. It's a pity, I think we'd have had a good crowd last weekend."
They'll be a few of us going anyway Gerry, hopefully we can make a bit of noise, PROVIDED, Kerry give us something to make noise about, another dismal display like the last day and I'll be retiring to the bar behind the stand!

TheHermit (Kerry) - Posts: 6354 - 07/03/2018 21:05:20    2082560

Replying To Horsebox77:  "Ya that's how I have Eir through the broadband package - I have a full house by all accounts Sunday at least 6 last count are coming over to watch - should be a bit of Craic"
A few bottles of carlsberg and ye be laughing horse .

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 07/03/2018 21:43:57    2082570

Replying To TheHermit:  "History will judge them and not kindly, when in 20 years the Westmeath/Longford/Offaly Hawks franchise are playing the Wicklow/Wexford/Carlow Vikings for a place in the semi-final of the Irish National Conference B against the Dublin Demons :D
Lord if this crap doesn't stop soon the game will have no choice to go semi-pro and amalgamate the smaller counties"
It's the way it's going the hermit, and we'll be the Kerry conquistadors :-) any word on who got Duffy's job.

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 07/03/2018 21:50:25    2082573

Replying To KingdomBoy1:  "It's the way it's going the hermit, and we'll be the Kerry conquistadors :-) any word on who got Duffy's job."
Was Sheedy not in the running, they could do worse.

Carlsberg? A 6 pack of Tuborg for €7 too good for you these days Kingdomboy ;D

TheHermit (Kerry) - Posts: 6354 - 07/03/2018 22:12:25    2082579

Replying To KingdomBoy1:  "A few bottles of carlsberg and ye be laughing horse ."
More a cultured Chilean Merlot myself these days, god the ancestors must be turning in the grave at the sight I'd me sipping a glass - still might revert to the bottles of Johnny jump up for old times sake.... looking forward to team selection it will be interesting to see who will be added to bench.

On another note just finish goochs book, I had been meaning to get around to it but the weather last weekend gave me the perfect chance to do so.... interesting insight, but nothing mad or out of the norm, very like Darragh's in that regard, still think of all the recent books Paul and Tomas were the best reads

Horsebox77 (Kerry) - Posts: 5491 - 07/03/2018 22:13:21    2082581