Where to next?

Replying To GeniusGerry:  "Did anybody actually confirm that Shane Ryan story? I also heard he was underwhelming in training last summer and was far from guaranteed his place on the panel. We will probably never know the full details.

Can't make the game next weekend due to a family commitment, gutted. I think a weeks break might help us work a few things out. The last thing we need now is a bad trimming from Dublin."
Ya Gerry I'm in the same position family function -I'm usually bottle half full man but still like K'boy I'm half fearful of next weekend

Horsebox77 (Kerry) - Posts: 5491 - 01/03/2018 20:17:20    2081511

Replying To Horsebox77:  "Ya Gerry I'm in the same position family function -I'm usually bottle half full man but still like K'boy I'm half fearful of next weekend"
Lads I think the game is being postponed till Sunday week now so ye might be able to make it after all , let's hope fitz doesn't name the team till the Saturday night if that's the case as Jim Gavin won't name his team till the day of the match, there is no point giving the dubs anymore extra advantage imo.

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 02/03/2018 10:38:31    2081546

Replying To KingdomBoy1:  "Lads I think the game is being postponed till Sunday week now so ye might be able to make it after all , let's hope fitz doesn't name the team till the Saturday night if that's the case as Jim Gavin won't name his team till the day of the match, there is no point giving the dubs anymore extra advantage imo."
Yea see the match on Sunday , so means good weekend of football over to Cavan on Saturday evening then down to croker on Sunday , Great , also added bonus Ciarán Brannigan from Down is ref , good friend of our family , first time he out against Dublin since the Connolly incident last year ,

topdownfan (Down) - Posts: 555 - 02/03/2018 19:28:36    2081629

Replying To topdownfan:  "Yea see the match on Sunday , so means good weekend of football over to Cavan on Saturday evening then down to croker on Sunday , Great , also added bonus Ciarán Brannigan from Down is ref , good friend of our family , first time he out against Dublin since the Connolly incident last year ,"
That's right Ciaran brannigan was linesman that day in the league final topdownfan and he showed some real bravery that day drawing the attention of paddy neilan to the incident, another linesman would have sh*t them selves at doing that.

It's great that you'll get to go to it now and hopefully the weather will come good.

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 02/03/2018 21:06:00    2081636

I'm glad to see tomás o'sé and Ger power and other Kerry greats start to call out our senior management on the style of football we played last week as it's just not good enough at the top level.

We are Kerry we should be setting the standard not playing that rubbish we saw last Sunday.

Did they analyze Galway at all?

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 03/03/2018 19:05:48    2081745

Replying To KingdomBoy1:  "I'm glad to see tomás o'sé and Ger power and other Kerry greats start to call out our senior management on the style of football we played last week as it's just not good enough at the top level.

We are Kerry we should be setting the standard not playing that rubbish we saw last Sunday.

Did they analyze Galway at all?"
I think this is a more worrying aspect K'boy there are a few sanarios here, we either didn't study Gslway, we did study them but our plans were enept, we totally underestimated them, we were looking at the Dublin game and took the eye off the ball, or we had a game plan but the players either didn't understand it, not believe in it or it just was plain and simply wasn't good enough.

Either way the sideline has to take the flack - why too was our chair on the sideline,? I train teams and my golden rule is top table stays where they are - they don't tell me how to run my team and I similarly don't tell them how to run the club. Each has a role independently and doesn't cross over

I fear our sideline is losing the players but hope I'm wrong

Horsebox77 (Kerry) - Posts: 5491 - 04/03/2018 08:32:02    2081784

Well lads, how's tricks?? So things have gone a little south while I was away I see!! Didn't get to see either game, had to rely on my mother's text updates as the Wi-Fi was sketchy. Monaghan seemed to be a case of not being up to the pace in the first half but with the lads fighting back manly.

But this Galway match seems to have been a disaster by all accounts, certainly that's the vibe I got from the lads at the game, on here and the Kerry GAA forum.

Personally delighted the Dublin game got cancelled, means I get to head to it now. Would have been tough missing 3 League games in a row.
Is it confirmed yet when it's on and what time??
The Monaghan cancellation seemed to break out momentum, perhaps this weekend's cancellations will work now in our favour.

Expecting a big performance now and I think we'll have a good idea where we are once the full time whistle blows.

Seem to have missed all the fun with the snow, hope ye all survived it ok.

TheHermit (Kerry) - Posts: 6354 - 04/03/2018 11:57:55    2081791

Replying To Horsebox77:  "I think this is a more worrying aspect K'boy there are a few sanarios here, we either didn't study Gslway, we did study them but our plans were enept, we totally underestimated them, we were looking at the Dublin game and took the eye off the ball, or we had a game plan but the players either didn't understand it, not believe in it or it just was plain and simply wasn't good enough.

Either way the sideline has to take the flack - why too was our chair on the sideline,? I train teams and my golden rule is top table stays where they are - they don't tell me how to run my team and I similarly don't tell them how to run the club. Each has a role independently and doesn't cross over

I fear our sideline is losing the players but hope I'm wrong"
Ya horse after reading tomás o'sé's article and hearing Ger power on terrace talk you'd have to imagine that the management didn't put much time into preparing for Galway which is very poor management, if jim gavin was playing a game of tiddlywinks he'd want to win it and you got to admire him for that.

Our team have zero consistency, we turn up at games as fans and we never know what to expect it is so irritating as a supporter and then they have the cheek to give out about the numbers of fans that turn up for games!

Also I'm with you in regards our chairman cozying up to our management on the sidelines it's not right in my view , it's like a thing you'd see nowhere and you are dead to run your own teams away from the top brass at the club.

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 04/03/2018 13:36:23    2081795

Replying To TheHermit:  "Well lads, how's tricks?? So things have gone a little south while I was away I see!! Didn't get to see either game, had to rely on my mother's text updates as the Wi-Fi was sketchy. Monaghan seemed to be a case of not being up to the pace in the first half but with the lads fighting back manly.

But this Galway match seems to have been a disaster by all accounts, certainly that's the vibe I got from the lads at the game, on here and the Kerry GAA forum.

Personally delighted the Dublin game got cancelled, means I get to head to it now. Would have been tough missing 3 League games in a row.
Is it confirmed yet when it's on and what time??
The Monaghan cancellation seemed to break out momentum, perhaps this weekend's cancellations will work now in our favour.

Expecting a big performance now and I think we'll have a good idea where we are once the full time whistle blows.

Seem to have missed all the fun with the snow, hope ye all survived it ok."
Welcome back the hermit, I hope you had a great holiday bud.

You didn't miss much in your absence and I'm glad you'll get to see the match next week which is on next Sunday at at 2:30.

lets hope fitz and the management team analyze the dubs for next week game as it appears they didn't do much work on Galway and that's for sure, this is our managements 6th year in charge now and I all I can see is the same mistakes being made over and over again, clueless we're the arsenal of Gaelic football.

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 04/03/2018 14:26:46    2081799

Well I have to give management a bit of slack here as we have a lot of young lads starting and with all the college games and all the league game coming all bunched together I would have to think there is not too many squad training sessions done. With our two starting midfielders in Dublin and the rest scattered all over the place how many sessions did they have together. Contrast that to say for example ocallaghan who played in the sigerson final and most of the Dublin students playing for Dublin how long does it take them to travel to training ? what maybe fifteen , twenty minutes. I'm sure most of the galway lads are also going to college in galway. I think Eamon is happy enough just to throw them in there and give them the experience they need and learn from mistakes which I'm very happy to see. I agree something has to be done about the backs and some kind of system has to be installed before the championship. (they need a week in Portugal to sort this out). The only thing that will pi## me off is if they bring back the likes of donnaghy and Donacha and some more that are around way too long and don't have the legs anymore.

chicago09 (Kerry) - Posts: 694 - 04/03/2018 17:55:58    2081825

Replying To chicago09:  "Well I have to give management a bit of slack here as we have a lot of young lads starting and with all the college games and all the league game coming all bunched together I would have to think there is not too many squad training sessions done. With our two starting midfielders in Dublin and the rest scattered all over the place how many sessions did they have together. Contrast that to say for example ocallaghan who played in the sigerson final and most of the Dublin students playing for Dublin how long does it take them to travel to training ? what maybe fifteen , twenty minutes. I'm sure most of the galway lads are also going to college in galway. I think Eamon is happy enough just to throw them in there and give them the experience they need and learn from mistakes which I'm very happy to see. I agree something has to be done about the backs and some kind of system has to be installed before the championship. (they need a week in Portugal to sort this out). The only thing that will pi## me off is if they bring back the likes of donnaghy and Donacha and some more that are around way too long and don't have the legs anymore."
The young lads are flying Chicago like you say the big problem will arise when all the old lads return and the young lads will only be used for training matches.

I have no faith in our management absolutely zero. 6 years now and no defensive strategy! They only decided to bring in a strength and conditioning coach this year! it begs the question what going on behind closed doors? What's all the secrecy?

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 04/03/2018 18:37:56    2081834

You are so right this is 2018 now its time to wake the hell up we need to get up to date with all this crap look at Dublin and the backroom team they have if we don't cop on soon they will get further and further ahead of us. This is not the corn ui mhuiri or the north Kerry championship we are playing we need people who are up to date with everything the more I think of mayo game last year the madder I get. We even have a selector who played forty five years ago and a man whose team went from division 1 to division 3 a couple short years ago. One thing for sure if he brings back those ol lads I mentioned I'm done watching this team.

chicago09 (Kerry) - Posts: 694 - 04/03/2018 22:18:25    2081862

Replying To chicago09:  "You are so right this is 2018 now its time to wake the hell up we need to get up to date with all this crap look at Dublin and the backroom team they have if we don't cop on soon they will get further and further ahead of us. This is not the corn ui mhuiri or the north Kerry championship we are playing we need people who are up to date with everything the more I think of mayo game last year the madder I get. We even have a selector who played forty five years ago and a man whose team went from division 1 to division 3 a couple short years ago. One thing for sure if he brings back those ol lads I mentioned I'm done watching this team."
Oh those players will be back Chicago if not for the league then for the championship , a lot of our managements problems come from one thing and that's stubbornness, being focused on one style of play and unfortunately the GAA is one size fits all.

I'm sure Horse will tell you there that some days depending on what club his team are playing he'l Change his tactics to give his lads the best chance to win, some days he'll probably send them out man v man and other days he might drop back one of his forwards to help out the backs if they need it.

We are so far behind the dubs now it's getting serious, and we're even behind Mayo now as well, I know people will say that we've won an allireland 5 Munsters and a national league as if that should be plenty , and we should be happy, but to me that's mediocre, we are Kerry and we didn't get 37 allirelands by being happy with mediocrity.

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 05/03/2018 00:24:41    2081876

Guys our game isn't on till 4 o'clock now on Sunday, that's awful late on a Sunday evening trying to get home and with work and school the following morning isn't fair on the kids.

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 05/03/2018 15:29:41    2081954

Replying To KingdomBoy1:  "Guys our game isn't on till 4 o'clock now on Sunday, that's awful late on a Sunday evening trying to get home and with work and school the following morning isn't fair on the kids."
But it suits the Dubs fine KYBoy, and isn't that the whole point of the GAA these days?!!!

TheHermit (Kerry) - Posts: 6354 - 05/03/2018 20:31:03    2082037

Replying To TheHermit:  "But it suits the Dubs fine KYBoy, and isn't that the whole point of the GAA these days?!!!"
Ah it's a balls the hermit, it'll be 11:00 by the time we get home and that's if we don't stop. Plus the the roadworks between junction 8 and 10 really slows things down :-(

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 05/03/2018 21:57:33    2082072

Definitely cannot make it will it be on telly?

GeniusGerry (Kerry) - Posts: 2105 - 05/03/2018 22:26:15    2082080

Replying To KingdomBoy1:  "Ah it's a balls the hermit, it'll be 11:00 by the time we get home and that's if we don't stop. Plus the the roadworks between junction 8 and 10 really slows things down :-("
Ah yeah the motorway around the Naas junction will be a disaster until its done, and that's what, 2-3 years away?!

TheHermit (Kerry) - Posts: 6354 - 06/03/2018 00:31:56    2082105

Well what is the feeling towards the next day, I was half gutted that the game was cancelled as I have never been to a night time game under lights in Croker and was really looking forward to it, I unfortunately cannot make the rescheduled game due to other commitments which is a pity so hoping TG4 will come to the rescue here, anyway going on form I was happy with well I suppose relatively happy with the first 2 games, we seriously rode our luck against Donegal and Mayo and I initially felt that there was a steel about us, in particular the Mayo Game which was not evident before, for the Monaghan game I suppose the week delay and the fact that we were missing our current midfield paring due to the Sigerson cup exploits hindered our momentum, but the fiasco of the Galway game and how easily we were opened up when ran at and old failings again resurfacing has me slightly worried. I have a serious fear that we could be riddled through the middle the next day if no improvement or plan is put in place.

At this stage a final berth is looking out of our hands, a win against Kildare will keep us up so for that reason I'd throw caution to the wind and try and play like we did against Mayo, where we met fire with fire and in the later stages attacked from deep and kept it wide.

For Sunday I would again try Shane Murphy, but if there is not an improvement I'd be seriously considering the options and bring in Tomas Mac an tSaoir, I always felt he got a raw deal under Jack or move heaven and earth to get Shane Ryan back into the fold, anyway back to Sunday, we need to be more physical in both lines of defence so for me: Shane Murphy, Peter Crowley, Jason Foley, Ronan Shanahan, Paul Murphy, Tadgh Morley, Brión O'Beagleach, Jack Barry, Barry O'Sullivan, Michael Burns, Seanie Sé, Enna O'Connor, David Clifford, Paul Geaney, Stephen O'Brien

I have decided to give Enright a break and I would love to see how Peter Croley would fair in the corner, he has that initial burst of pace and is physical, it may not work admitidly but at this stage we need to think and have ideas and options. Another reason for me playing Peter inside is if we have a short kickout plan he is better equipt and more composed on the ball. Put it this way if I was playing a team with a corner back who was not confortable with ball in hand I would purposely leave him free for kickouts and then when in possession the 3 forwards isolate and rush. he only has to fumble one ball and it could be a certain goal…no I feel we need to shore up our defense and if this does not work swop Crowley and Morley… we need to give Gavin White game time too. If he was available for Sunday for me O'Beagleach would go to 2, Foley at 3, Shanahan at 4 and an outside line of Murphy, Morley and White.

What would ye pick to take the field on Sunday.

Horsebox77 (Kerry) - Posts: 5491 - 06/03/2018 08:10:15    2082117

Replying To Horsebox77:  "Well what is the feeling towards the next day, I was half gutted that the game was cancelled as I have never been to a night time game under lights in Croker and was really looking forward to it, I unfortunately cannot make the rescheduled game due to other commitments which is a pity so hoping TG4 will come to the rescue here, anyway going on form I was happy with well I suppose relatively happy with the first 2 games, we seriously rode our luck against Donegal and Mayo and I initially felt that there was a steel about us, in particular the Mayo Game which was not evident before, for the Monaghan game I suppose the week delay and the fact that we were missing our current midfield paring due to the Sigerson cup exploits hindered our momentum, but the fiasco of the Galway game and how easily we were opened up when ran at and old failings again resurfacing has me slightly worried. I have a serious fear that we could be riddled through the middle the next day if no improvement or plan is put in place.

At this stage a final berth is looking out of our hands, a win against Kildare will keep us up so for that reason I'd throw caution to the wind and try and play like we did against Mayo, where we met fire with fire and in the later stages attacked from deep and kept it wide.

For Sunday I would again try Shane Murphy, but if there is not an improvement I'd be seriously considering the options and bring in Tomas Mac an tSaoir, I always felt he got a raw deal under Jack or move heaven and earth to get Shane Ryan back into the fold, anyway back to Sunday, we need to be more physical in both lines of defence so for me: Shane Murphy, Peter Crowley, Jason Foley, Ronan Shanahan, Paul Murphy, Tadgh Morley, Brión O'Beagleach, Jack Barry, Barry O'Sullivan, Michael Burns, Seanie Sé, Enna O'Connor, David Clifford, Paul Geaney, Stephen O'Brien

I have decided to give Enright a break and I would love to see how Peter Croley would fair in the corner, he has that initial burst of pace and is physical, it may not work admitidly but at this stage we need to think and have ideas and options. Another reason for me playing Peter inside is if we have a short kickout plan he is better equipt and more composed on the ball. Put it this way if I was playing a team with a corner back who was not confortable with ball in hand I would purposely leave him free for kickouts and then when in possession the 3 forwards isolate and rush. he only has to fumble one ball and it could be a certain goal…no I feel we need to shore up our defense and if this does not work swop Crowley and Morley… we need to give Gavin White game time too. If he was available for Sunday for me O'Beagleach would go to 2, Foley at 3, Shanahan at 4 and an outside line of Murphy, Morley and White.

What would ye pick to take the field on Sunday."
Honestly I'd like to see that team you picked horse, I'd also like to see gavin white and killian Spillane, I think it would be very important to have Morley back for this game as he always plays well on Kilkenny, if we played Crowley in the corner he could take manion, jack Barry will mark Fenton and Barry Dan will have his work cut out against either McCarthy or McCauley , our backs are the real worry for me and like you say if there's no defensive plan put in place we're gonna get hammered for sure.

The hermit
Ya it's gonna take 2 year the reckon, what a disaster.

Gerry
As far as I know they are try to get the game on telly whether that be eir or tg4 I don't know bud.

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 06/03/2018 11:08:05    2082149