Where to next?

Lads I dont know about you but I think the backroom team should be changed. What does Mikey Sheehy contribute to the team? I'd love to see someone like Mike McCarthy/Aidan O'Mahony/Tomas O'Se/Declan O'Sullivan step in in some coaching/mentoring role. Maurice Fitz came in last year and I thought after the job he did with St Marys that this was going to be a great move. But again, what has he contributed? Should we be looking to bring in ex-players who have retired over the last 5-6 years.

What about Donal Daly? He has done a great job over the last 5 years or so. Should he be brought into the Senior set up?

aidan64 (Kerry) - Posts: 665 - 27/02/2018 12:38:02    2080896

Replying To aidan64:  "Lads I dont know about you but I think the backroom team should be changed. What does Mikey Sheehy contribute to the team? I'd love to see someone like Mike McCarthy/Aidan O'Mahony/Tomas O'Se/Declan O'Sullivan step in in some coaching/mentoring role. Maurice Fitz came in last year and I thought after the job he did with St Marys that this was going to be a great move. But again, what has he contributed? Should we be looking to bring in ex-players who have retired over the last 5-6 years.

What about Donal Daly? He has done a great job over the last 5 years or so. Should he be brought into the Senior set up?"
Aidan you could bring in seal team 6 , the magnificent 7 , and the guns of the naverone , and it wouldn't matter as they won't be listened to.

Fitz rules with an iron fist.

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 27/02/2018 13:45:01    2080924

The minors have had Declan as a forwards coach and Tommy Griffin as a defensive coach the results speak for themselves - and the ball played was pleasing to the eye

Horsebox77 (Kerry) - Posts: 5491 - 27/02/2018 13:49:26    2080925

Replying To KingdomBoy1:  "Sorry KYforsam and Gerry as I just read my post there again and it looked like I was giving out to ye but I didn't mean it to come across like that, it's just frustrating with our management not seeming to be able to learn from past mistakes .

Horse that's a good article by Quirke, he's a great writer in fairness."
Ah no your grand mate no offence taken at all.

It can be frustrating at times especially as its a vital few years for this team in terms of their development and I have a worry that they will be wasted by poor management in terms of tactics and player selection.

It seems like all games are under threat for the weekend but if any game goes ahead it will be the game in croker unless its desperate altogether. If its not playable Saturday night I guess it could be moved to Sunday but not ideal in terms of travel and booking accomadation.

Hopefully the GAA makes a decison well before the throw in time as another wasted journey in the space of two weeks wouldnt be good for the pocket or the head.

KY4SAM2015 (Kerry) - Posts: 898 - 27/02/2018 14:09:38    2080935

Replying To KY4SAM2015:  "Ah no your grand mate no offence taken at all.

It can be frustrating at times especially as its a vital few years for this team in terms of their development and I have a worry that they will be wasted by poor management in terms of tactics and player selection.

It seems like all games are under threat for the weekend but if any game goes ahead it will be the game in croker unless its desperate altogether. If its not playable Saturday night I guess it could be moved to Sunday but not ideal in terms of travel and booking accomadation.

Hopefully the GAA makes a decison well before the throw in time as another wasted journey in the space of two weeks wouldnt be good for the pocket or the head."
Sound man Ky and I feel the same way about the management, I'm afraid their negativity and fear will seep into the young players.

I loved the way Clifford came out around the half forward line the last day when things weren't working for him in the corner, I'd love to give him a free license to roam and not just tie him down in the full forward line.

Ya hopefully the GAA will sort out something before the weekend, if the weather is as bad as they're expecting then I can't see it going ahead.

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 27/02/2018 15:26:36    2080965

Replying To Horsebox77:  "The minors have had Declan as a forwards coach and Tommy Griffin as a defensive coach the results speak for themselves - and the ball played was pleasing to the eye"
In fairness horse Peter Keane is a fine manager and you can see he listens to his selectors.

And I hope Peter gets the senior job after fitz.

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 27/02/2018 15:52:52    2080974

Replying To KingdomBoy1:  "Sound man Ky and I feel the same way about the management, I'm afraid their negativity and fear will seep into the young players.

I loved the way Clifford came out around the half forward line the last day when things weren't working for him in the corner, I'd love to give him a free license to roam and not just tie him down in the full forward line.

Ya hopefully the GAA will sort out something before the weekend, if the weather is as bad as they're expecting then I can't see it going ahead."
Well how's things kingdomboy ,,, talking about Clifford, I reckon he is the best talent even seen , we went to see Monaghan and Kerry and it was great to see him in the 2nd half,,, looking forward to seeing him in the summer

topdownfan (Down) - Posts: 555 - 27/02/2018 19:50:47    2081072

Replying To topdownfan:  "Well how's things kingdomboy ,,, talking about Clifford, I reckon he is the best talent even seen , we went to see Monaghan and Kerry and it was great to see him in the 2nd half,,, looking forward to seeing him in the summer"
Alls good topdownfan thanks for asking and how are you old stock?

Ya Clifford is a special talent no doubt and we look forward to watching him develope in the years to come.

I like the cut of connaire Harrison for yer boys a real old style jinky forward and as tough as old leather as well.

Are you planning on heading to Dublin at the weekend?

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 27/02/2018 20:22:57    2081083

Replying To KingdomBoy1:  "Alls good topdownfan thanks for asking and how are you old stock?

Ya Clifford is a special talent no doubt and we look forward to watching him develope in the years to come.

I like the cut of connaire Harrison for yer boys a real old style jinky forward and as tough as old leather as well.

Are you planning on heading to Dublin at the weekend?"
Ah will have to head to Cavan to support our lads , could be looking at div 3 next year after defeat to Clare , Harrison not bad but getting suspended after Cork match could cost up bigtime , anyway will be heading to Munster final this year I would think , some good young talent coming threw for you lads now Sean o Se a special talent to

topdownfan (Down) - Posts: 555 - 27/02/2018 20:35:58    2081085

Replying To topdownfan:  "Ah will have to head to Cavan to support our lads , could be looking at div 3 next year after defeat to Clare , Harrison not bad but getting suspended after Cork match could cost up bigtime , anyway will be heading to Munster final this year I would think , some good young talent coming threw for you lads now Sean o Se a special talent to"
Oh yeah ye have Cavan sure, that'll be tough with them top of the table an all but hopefully ye get the few wins to keep ye up as I'd hate to see ye in div3 .

The Munster final will be in either cork or Tipperary I suppose Tipperary would be shorter journey for ye.

Yeah seanie Shea looks like he'll be a good one, god how we could do with a Declan o'Sullivan right now.

What did Harrison do to get the road? I never heard anything about it.

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 27/02/2018 22:52:41    2081131

Replying To KingdomBoy1:  "Oh yeah ye have Cavan sure, that'll be tough with them top of the table an all but hopefully ye get the few wins to keep ye up as I'd hate to see ye in div3 .

The Munster final will be in either cork or Tipperary I suppose Tipperary would be shorter journey for ye.

Yeah seanie Shea looks like he'll be a good one, god how we could do with a Declan o'Sullivan right now.

What did Harrison do to get the road? I never heard anything about it."
Will be tough to get another win , away to Cavan , home to tipp and away to Meath , yea Harrison got straight red for head butting last 5 mins of cork match ,, Declan and the OSe brothers are players you can't just replace over night ,

topdownfan (Down) - Posts: 555 - 28/02/2018 18:30:39    2081306

Replying To topdownfan:  "Will be tough to get another win , away to Cavan , home to tipp and away to Meath , yea Harrison got straight red for head butting last 5 mins of cork match ,, Declan and the OSe brothers are players you can't just replace over night ,"
Ah that's a balls losing your best player and those are tough games but I could see ye beating Meath as they don't seem to be going great.

Ya it's hard to replace players of the caliber of the o'sé's and Declan and it might take a few years I'd say.

jays I was real impressed with Galway and I can see them doing a bit of damage later in the year.

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 28/02/2018 20:56:40    2081337

Will this game go ahead lads?

Horsebox77 (Kerry) - Posts: 5491 - 28/02/2018 23:52:03    2081364

Replying To Horsebox77:  "Will this game go ahead lads?"
I can't see it going's ahead Anyway horse.

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 01/03/2018 01:40:01    2081372

No me neither - I cancelled the hotel yesterday but never realised you couldn't cancel tickets bought on tickets.ie unless the game is cancelled - money grabbing feckers

Horsebox77 (Kerry) - Posts: 5491 - 01/03/2018 09:17:46    2081381

Replying To Horsebox77:  "No me neither - I cancelled the hotel yesterday but never realised you couldn't cancel tickets bought on tickets.ie unless the game is cancelled - money grabbing feckers"
Oh that's a balls, but if they cancel it I take it you'll get your money back horse.

I'm kind of intrigued to see what this blizzard is going to bring, iv great memories as a child being taken out of school for weeks at a time to go scavenging around the land for fallen trees to cut up when we'd run out of turf it used to be hard work as we didn't have a chainsaw at the time and we had to use an old bushman saw but anything was better then school :-)

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 01/03/2018 10:41:57    2081390

Oh the bushman there's a blast and if the blade was dodgy or the log was damp it would stick - anyway all games off, hopefully it will suit us and players carrying knocks like Gavin Crowley will be a week further down the track recovery wise.

Lads hate being picky but two things still bother me - we are no closer to resolving our keeper issue , I've actually been disappointed with Shane Murphy also we are still in trouble when ran at directly, looking at the Mayo and Dublin game. Last weekend Dublin will killl us, as wouldTyrone

Horsebox77 (Kerry) - Posts: 5491 - 01/03/2018 13:42:16    2081430

Replying To Horsebox77:  "Oh the bushman there's a blast and if the blade was dodgy or the log was damp it would stick - anyway all games off, hopefully it will suit us and players carrying knocks like Gavin Crowley will be a week further down the track recovery wise.

Lads hate being picky but two things still bother me - we are no closer to resolving our keeper issue , I've actually been disappointed with Shane Murphy also we are still in trouble when ran at directly, looking at the Mayo and Dublin game. Last weekend Dublin will killl us, as wouldTyrone"
That's it horse, and for some reason the blade of the bushman was nearly always dodgy and the logs were nearly always wet :-)

Aye horse our goalkeeping situation is still poor and I really think fitz missed a trick with Shane Ryan, he had no right to try and push rathmore into playing him in goals.

As for us being cut open up the middle well that has been the same situation we've had since fitz took over 6 years ago and it's really worrying that he hasn't addressed it and got someone in to work on it, but then again it took him till this year to get in a strength and conditioning coach, you really wonder what's going on in secret training.

I'm happy enough the game was canceled as we were going to have a 6 day turn around otherwise and like you say it give our injured players a chance to get fit.

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 01/03/2018 15:00:23    2081442

Replying To KingdomBoy1:  "That's it horse, and for some reason the blade of the bushman was nearly always dodgy and the logs were nearly always wet :-)

Aye horse our goalkeeping situation is still poor and I really think fitz missed a trick with Shane Ryan, he had no right to try and push rathmore into playing him in goals.

As for us being cut open up the middle well that has been the same situation we've had since fitz took over 6 years ago and it's really worrying that he hasn't addressed it and got someone in to work on it, but then again it took him till this year to get in a strength and conditioning coach, you really wonder what's going on in secret training.

I'm happy enough the game was canceled as we were going to have a 6 day turn around otherwise and like you say it give our injured players a chance to get fit."
Did anybody actually confirm that Shane Ryan story? I also heard he was underwhelming in training last summer and was far from guaranteed his place on the panel. We will probably never know the full details.

Can't make the game next weekend due to a family commitment, gutted. I think a weeks break might help us work a few things out. The last thing we need now is a bad trimming from Dublin.

GeniusGerry (Kerry) - Posts: 2105 - 01/03/2018 18:07:49    2081478

Replying To GeniusGerry:  "Did anybody actually confirm that Shane Ryan story? I also heard he was underwhelming in training last summer and was far from guaranteed his place on the panel. We will probably never know the full details.

Can't make the game next weekend due to a family commitment, gutted. I think a weeks break might help us work a few things out. The last thing we need now is a bad trimming from Dublin."
No Gerry that's the story i heard and in fairness it does fit in with what I know about our management.

That's a pity you'll miss the game but something tells me your probably better off :-(

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 01/03/2018 20:04:51    2081509