Where to next?

Replying To Horsebox77:  "It's like a slow motion in the air solo with both feet off the ground but hey it works and he is rarely dispossessed - it was a great burst by Tomas that lead ton first goal - it would be some achievement to add a club all Ireland to the mix one feat not done by Darragh or Marc"
It always looked to me like he was dropping the ball from his right hand to his left boot but like you say it worked for him.

Ya it was a great burst for the goal and he struck his usual 2 points as well , some footballer.

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 25/02/2018 18:28:31    2080139

Replying To Horsebox77:  "It's like a slow motion in the air solo with both feet off the ground but hey it works and he is rarely dispossessed - it was a great burst by Tomas that lead ton first goal - it would be some achievement to add a club all Ireland to the mix one feat not done by Darragh or Marc"
I was actually thinking that today as we were slowly hand-passing the ball over and back across the pitch. We have very few players capable of breaking through the opposition defensive line like Tomas.

Crowley and Murphy tried on a few occasions but we looked a bit one paced at times.

Our kick passing was poor especially with the wind in the second half. Difficult conditions of course but not many positives to be taken from today apart from more game time under the belts of the younger players.

From the games to date so far in the league, Shanahan, Foley and O Beaglaoich have been the most important players to give game time to as badly need these positions to be improved on from last year.

KY4SAM2015 (Kerry) - Posts: 898 - 25/02/2018 18:33:46    2080142

Replying To KY4SAM2015:  "I was actually thinking that today as we were slowly hand-passing the ball over and back across the pitch. We have very few players capable of breaking through the opposition defensive line like Tomas.

Crowley and Murphy tried on a few occasions but we looked a bit one paced at times.

Our kick passing was poor especially with the wind in the second half. Difficult conditions of course but not many positives to be taken from today apart from more game time under the belts of the younger players.

From the games to date so far in the league, Shanahan, Foley and O Beaglaoich have been the most important players to give game time to as badly need these positions to be improved on from last year."
Galway got a lot of bodies back in that second half so I wouldn't be too hard on our lads with the kick passing, the options weren't there a lot of the time. Galway have some outstanding young defenders and look to have really come on since last year. They got their tactics absolutely bang on today.

Our defenders aren't that bad, it's the runners coming through the middle without being tracked that is killing us the past few years.

GeniusGerry (Kerry) - Posts: 2105 - 25/02/2018 20:03:28    2080190

Being honest about it im delighted that the team is changing and that that the young lads that we have all been talking about over the last 4-5 years are starting to come through to the senior team. Its a debut season for more than half the first team so they are doing ok. I will be happy if we stay up.

aidan64 (Kerry) - Posts: 665 - 25/02/2018 21:16:12    2080236

Well lads I'm not going to say much now as last week I had upset a few lads on here with my comments directly after the game.

But I will say one thing before I retire for the night, this is fitzmaurices 6th season in charge that's right his 6th season in charge and we are still getting murdered through the middle, now if I go to work and I make a mistake and I don't rectify that mistake I get punished and if I keep making that same mistake well then I will get the sack, I'm only just saying.

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 25/02/2018 22:11:56    2080264

well that was a tough one that is a good galway team strong all over the field. Defensively we still have the same problems with teams running at us. We have no excuse now though a lot of players are getting a run and with three more games to go one win will keep us up so might as well play them and see what we got. I thing we started with six of the minor teams of the last four years and at one stage there was I think nine of them all together playing at the same time. That is a lot at one time so i'm not too disappointed. the conditions really suited galway as they are a more settled team and looked stronger on the ball than us. Of the young lads so far foley obeaglaoi tom Sullivan Burns ose and Clifford have impressed me I just don't think Barry Sullivan or killian spillane will make the cut that's just my opinion. On another note I think Paul Geaney should be rested for the championship we really need him to be fresh for the summer he has played every minute of every game since the league last year and he did go to Australia as well. I know he is young but he is our most important player and to me he looks a little frustrated as he is targeted and most teams are double teaming him too.

chicago09 (Kerry) - Posts: 694 - 25/02/2018 22:59:48    2080278

Replying To KingdomBoy1:  "Well lads I'm not going to say much now as last week I had upset a few lads on here with my comments directly after the game.

But I will say one thing before I retire for the night, this is fitzmaurices 6th season in charge that's right his 6th season in charge and we are still getting murdered through the middle, now if I go to work and I make a mistake and I don't rectify that mistake I get punished and if I keep making that same mistake well then I will get the sack, I'm only just saying."
But Kerry are the League champs and Fitz did deliver. Now we know that come the summer Kerry are top drawer material so we won't get carried away with yesterday. Just ask any Cork man. Galway have been in the desert so long that we want to stay up big time. Best of luck in HQ on Saturday lads.

suckvalleypaddy (Galway) - Posts: 1671 - 26/02/2018 10:12:50    2080357

Replying To suckvalleypaddy:  "But Kerry are the League champs and Fitz did deliver. Now we know that come the summer Kerry are top drawer material so we won't get carried away with yesterday. Just ask any Cork man. Galway have been in the desert so long that we want to stay up big time. Best of luck in HQ on Saturday lads."
I know fitzmaurice guided us to the league title but that's not enough at this stage because he just keeps making the same mistakes over and over and IMO he's training the football and natural instinct out of our young players.

He is consumed by fear and you can see it in the way our team plays, when we come up against a blanket defence we get treated to the horrible lateral hand passing game we saw yesterday, I'd say if we made 20 foot passes yesterday we were lucky.

Our players can't tackle properly after 6 years under fitz they just can't do it , which is a total disgrace at this stage also he still hasn't developed a system to stop teams tearing us apart up the middle .

Anyway Sound man paddy we'll need all of the luck we can get for Saturday.

P.s it's great to see all those hidden training sessions paying off on the field.

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 26/02/2018 10:50:55    2080374

Replying To GeniusGerry:  "Galway got a lot of bodies back in that second half so I wouldn't be too hard on our lads with the kick passing, the options weren't there a lot of the time. Galway have some outstanding young defenders and look to have really come on since last year. They got their tactics absolutely bang on today.

Our defenders aren't that bad, it's the runners coming through the middle without being tracked that is killing us the past few years."
Yes Galway got alot of bodies back but thats what we will see from most teams nowadays and I think we have to be more penetrative on the ball. Whether that is more players coming onto the ball at pace or quicker kick passing into the inside line.

We were too slow on the ball and gave the Galway defense all the time in the world to set themselves up especially with a strong wind in the second half.

Yes its from the runner coming through that is killing our defence but also from our full back and centre back constantly following their men way out the pitch leaving gaps, whether instructed to do so or not.

Yes I agree Galway must take the credit for their tactics fair play to them as they seem like a very good up and coming team. However we knew the way they would set up from seeing their previous games and should have been no surprise.

We have seen this team play some good football already this year and its good to see this team progress. Hopefully we can get back on track next week with a more positive display.

KY4SAM2015 (Kerry) - Posts: 898 - 26/02/2018 13:26:40    2080467

Replying To KY4SAM2015:  "Yes Galway got alot of bodies back but thats what we will see from most teams nowadays and I think we have to be more penetrative on the ball. Whether that is more players coming onto the ball at pace or quicker kick passing into the inside line.

We were too slow on the ball and gave the Galway defense all the time in the world to set themselves up especially with a strong wind in the second half.

Yes its from the runner coming through that is killing our defence but also from our full back and centre back constantly following their men way out the pitch leaving gaps, whether instructed to do so or not.

Yes I agree Galway must take the credit for their tactics fair play to them as they seem like a very good up and coming team. However we knew the way they would set up from seeing their previous games and should have been no surprise.

We have seen this team play some good football already this year and its good to see this team progress. Hopefully we can get back on track next week with a more positive display."
I would be surprised if they had much done tactically in terms of dealing with a mass defence at this stage given all the new personnel and injuries. We won't be so naive come the summer and should have a lot more drills and a vs b scenarios played out in training.

We should certainly have more space to operate against Dublin but I wouldn't be hopeful of going up there and beating them at this stage. A credible performance and some CP experience for the youngsters and I'll be happy.

The problems at the back are almost unbelievable, It may only be February but we should not be as bad as we are. Again you'd give Eamon some leeway because of all the new players but the level of improvement required in order to compete with the best teams is going to be huge. The players are there IMO so it's down to coaching now.

GeniusGerry (Kerry) - Posts: 2105 - 26/02/2018 16:44:52    2080633

Replying To GeniusGerry:  "I would be surprised if they had much done tactically in terms of dealing with a mass defence at this stage given all the new personnel and injuries. We won't be so naive come the summer and should have a lot more drills and a vs b scenarios played out in training.

We should certainly have more space to operate against Dublin but I wouldn't be hopeful of going up there and beating them at this stage. A credible performance and some CP experience for the youngsters and I'll be happy.

The problems at the back are almost unbelievable, It may only be February but we should not be as bad as we are. Again you'd give Eamon some leeway because of all the new players but the level of improvement required in order to compete with the best teams is going to be huge. The players are there IMO so it's down to coaching now."
Agree with everything you say there Gerry.

Yes Eamon should be given some leeway due to the number of new players but my problem is the lack of a defensive plan year on year. Whether that be opposition players running through us time after time or the number of soft fouls given in scoreable areas of the pitch for pulling or dragging when there is no danger.

As you said its only February so no need to panic yet but hopefully when the summer comes we will have a plan.

Looking forward to Dublin next week, hopefully the weather is kind as it could be a good game providing the conditions are not too bad.

One positive is that in each game so far we have kept going til the end of each game, also we do have some talented players yet to come back in so will be interesting to see how it all pans out.

There must be a huge number of players at this stage competing to be on the championship panel, will be a tough selection for the management when the time comes.

KY4SAM2015 (Kerry) - Posts: 898 - 26/02/2018 17:24:20    2080650

While we have never been rock solid I don't think we were that bad at the back during the championship until last year. Aidan O'Mahoney has been a massive loss to the panel as he could play that sweeping role very well when it was needed. We don't have anybody to do that at the moment. We tried Murphy there against Mayo in the replay and it didn't work, although they had very little time to prepare in fairness. Perhaps Killian Young would fit that role well if he could get fit? I'd be willing to give the benefit of the doubt for the moment anyway.

GeniusGerry (Kerry) - Posts: 2105 - 26/02/2018 17:52:09    2080667

Gerry you say we won't be as naive come summer and KYforsam you say we'll have a plan for our defense and I'd have to ask where is the evidence to prove that?

In our 6th year now under fitz and bar the 2014 final where he just matched Donegals blanket with a blanket of our own and told our players to just shoot away at will , when has he done anything but hang out defence out to dry?

And can he not teach them how to tackle for gods sake?

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 26/02/2018 17:56:26    2080671

Replying To KingdomBoy1:  "Gerry you say we won't be as naive come summer and KYforsam you say we'll have a plan for our defense and I'd have to ask where is the evidence to prove that?

In our 6th year now under fitz and bar the 2014 final where he just matched Donegals blanket with a blanket of our own and told our players to just shoot away at will , when has he done anything but hang out defence out to dry?

And can he not teach them how to tackle for gods sake?"
I wouldn't be denying we have problems there kingdomboy but I think last year was particularly bad due to Aidan retiring and Killian Young being unavailable, Marc also left of course, but he hadn't been playing much.

We need someone that can hold the middle, especially if Crowley is going to be going wandering all day. Off the top of my head I think Killian is the best player we have for that role. He has big game experience and good distribution, and much better discipline than some of his teammates. I don't know what his status is with injuries at the moment.

I think some of the bad tackling is down to continually getting ourselves in to panic situations. A lot of that could be eradicated with better cover. Easy for me to say that I suppose.

GeniusGerry (Kerry) - Posts: 2105 - 26/02/2018 18:57:02    2080694

Replying To KingdomBoy1:  "Gerry you say we won't be as naive come summer and KYforsam you say we'll have a plan for our defense and I'd have to ask where is the evidence to prove that?

And can he not teach them how to tackle for gods sake?"
Well Kingdomboy I did say hopefully we will will have a plan in place.

I am as pessimistic as you for this to happen as we have waited long enough and seem to be going backwards in that regard. As history has shown over the last 6 or 7 years we have not improved so I wouldn't hold my breathe for this to happen.

KY4SAM2015 (Kerry) - Posts: 898 - 27/02/2018 07:00:29    2080823

Ah usually give my speal on the game but truth be told I read big Mike Quirkes article in the examiner this morning - you know before we rant and rave some more about the importance of the Galway or upcoming Dublin game could do worse things then to log in and have a gander through his article - sums it up really

Horsebox77 (Kerry) - Posts: 5491 - 27/02/2018 08:34:59    2080833

Replying To KY4SAM2015:  "Well Kingdomboy I did say hopefully we will will have a plan in place.

I am as pessimistic as you for this to happen as we have waited long enough and seem to be going backwards in that regard. As history has shown over the last 6 or 7 years we have not improved so I wouldn't hold my breathe for this to happen."
Sorry KYforsam and Gerry as I just read my post there again and it looked like I was giving out to ye but I didn't mean it to come across like that, it's just frustrating with our management not seeming to be able to learn from past mistakes .

Horse that's a good article by Quirke, he's a great writer in fairness.

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 27/02/2018 12:19:25    2080887

Replying To KingdomBoy1:  "I know fitzmaurice guided us to the league title but that's not enough at this stage because he just keeps making the same mistakes over and over and IMO he's training the football and natural instinct out of our young players.

He is consumed by fear and you can see it in the way our team plays, when we come up against a blanket defence we get treated to the horrible lateral hand passing game we saw yesterday, I'd say if we made 20 foot passes yesterday we were lucky.

Our players can't tackle properly after 6 years under fitz they just can't do it , which is a total disgrace at this stage also he still hasn't developed a system to stop teams tearing us apart up the middle .

P.s it's great to see all those hidden training sessions paying off on the field."
I agree with the tackling. I think we should go all out to bring Donie Buckley back.

aidan64 (Kerry) - Posts: 665 - 27/02/2018 12:20:39    2080888

Replying To KingdomBoy1:  "I know fitzmaurice guided us to the league title but that's not enough at this stage because he just keeps making the same mistakes over and over and IMO he's training the football and natural instinct out of our young players.

P.s it's great to see all those hidden training sessions paying off on the field."
I agree with the tackling. I think we should go all out to bring Donie Buckley back.

aidan64 (Kerry) - Posts: 665 - 27/02/2018 12:20:39    2080889

Replying To GeniusGerry:  "While we have never been rock solid I don't think we were that bad at the back during the championship until last year. Aidan O'Mahoney has been a massive loss to the panel as he could play that sweeping role very well when it was needed. We don't have anybody to do that at the moment. We tried Murphy there against Mayo in the replay and it didn't work, although they had very little time to prepare in fairness. Perhaps Killian Young would fit that role well if he could get fit? I'd be willing to give the benefit of the doubt for the moment anyway."
Why not bring in the likes of O'Mahony as a coach? He has been there, done that and wore the t-shirt.

aidan64 (Kerry) - Posts: 665 - 27/02/2018 12:23:26    2080890