Where to next?

A few of us are travelling down to tralee on saturday what are the best football pubs for a bit of craic and banter.

Looking in from the outside I would say yere management are fortunate to still be in charge, a bit of luck in 2014 kept them there,they make a lot of mistakes in my opinion,not as many as ours though.

Galway9 (Galway) - Posts: 59 - 20/02/2018 00:03:35    2078600

Replying To Galway9:  "A few of us are travelling down to tralee on saturday what are the best football pubs for a bit of craic and banter.

Looking in from the outside I would say yere management are fortunate to still be in charge, a bit of luck in 2014 kept them there,they make a lot of mistakes in my opinion,not as many as ours though."
Well you have the castle bar on rock street or the huddle on strand road they're all within walking distance of the town centre Hennessy's bar can be a good spot before and after the game as well.

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 20/02/2018 12:00:06    2078693

Replying To Galway9:  "A few of us are travelling down to tralee on saturday what are the best football pubs for a bit of craic and banter.

Looking in from the outside I would say yere management are fortunate to still be in charge, a bit of luck in 2014 kept them there,they make a lot of mistakes in my opinion,not as many as ours though."
The Sportsfield Bar 100 meteres from the pitch
good banter on a Sat night alot of characters in
there worth a visit

wfkerry (USA) - Posts: 933 - 21/02/2018 19:22:54    2079066

Horsebox I see the Kerry county committee and the east Kerry board are going to pick the Kerry minor captain this year, youl be happy with that news I'd say :-) looks like change might be on the way.

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 22/02/2018 12:36:56    2079185

At long last the county board have joined the 20th century - no good decision can only auger well for future leaders

Horsebox77 (Kerry) - Posts: 5491 - 22/02/2018 20:57:20    2079340

What can ye see starting I take it Jack Barry and Barry Sull will resume in the middle, I can see Crowley reverting to 6, Clifford to 13 and could see a start for Enna he looked impressive SUNDAY last

Horsebox77 (Kerry) - Posts: 5491 - 22/02/2018 21:05:24    2079343

Replying To Horsebox77:  "What can ye see starting I take it Jack Barry and Barry Sull will resume in the middle, I can see Crowley reverting to 6, Clifford to 13 and could see a start for Enna he looked impressive SUNDAY last"
I suppose we'll look at the gaurenteed starters horse, I'd say Murphy will start in goals, enright foley Shanahan definitely starting, then I think we'll have Paulie Murphy, Tom Sullivan and o'beaglaoich
Definitely jack Barry and Barry o'sullIvan
Half forwards, burns, seanie Shea, and I'd go Casey, Clifford geaney and Eanna o'conchuir.

What you think your self horse?

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 22/02/2018 22:27:41    2079361

Team for Sunday
Brian Kelly
Enright, Foley, Shanahan.
Murphy, P Crowley, O'Beaglaoich.
Jack Barry, Barry o'sullivan.
Burns , Seanie Shea, O'Brien .
Clifford, Geaney, BJK.

I noticed a lot of the old guard are making there way back on to the panel which disappoints me to no end.

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 23/02/2018 21:22:40    2079591

Replying To KingdomBoy1:  "Team for Sunday
Brian Kelly
Enright, Foley, Shanahan.
Murphy, P Crowley, O'Beaglaoich.
Jack Barry, Barry o'sullivan.
Burns , Seanie Shea, O'Brien .
Clifford, Geaney, BJK.

I noticed a lot of the old guard are making there way back on to the panel which disappoints me to no end."
That's looks to be a very young team KingdomBoy, who specifically are you referring to?

The older lads will be coming back into the fold in the coming weeks and I am sure they will get some game time to see how they are going. There will be genuine competition in most positions which is good.

GeniusGerry (Kerry) - Posts: 2105 - 23/02/2018 23:24:10    2079615

Morning, hard to argue with that team truth be told it is more or less the 15 I would pick at present- I find myself more or less looking at the bench more than the starting set of players these days, I see Mark Griffin and Fiona have been added to the bench, and last week Crowley and Mikey Geaney - who has dropped out of this 28 fr9m the first few games, Injury wise its James and Gavin Crowley, I see no Adrain Spillane - who else has fallen by the wayside.

Back Sunday this is a massive test with an unbeaten young and fresh Galway side coming down all guns blazing, in fairness to Kevin Walsh bringing in Talty has been a huge olus for him. I notice too from our side and it has been evident with the exception of the first half last week ourball retention has had a massive improvement is this down to out addition of Wealdon?

Horsebox77 (Kerry) - Posts: 5491 - 24/02/2018 09:08:35    2079627

Replying To GeniusGerry:  "That's looks to be a very young team KingdomBoy, who specifically are you referring to?

The older lads will be coming back into the fold in the coming weeks and I am sure they will get some game time to see how they are going. There will be genuine competition in most positions which is good."
It is a young enough looking team Gerry but what'll the team look like in a few weeks or a few months?

what I don't want to see is the young lads get replaced by fellas who have been tried and tried again and for the most part have failed in a Kerry jersey and I'd be referring to fion fitz Mikey geaney mark griffin , youth needs to be left there now in my opinion.

With the young fellas we're finishing games strongly instead of fading out like we usually do.

I noticed Andrew Barry Adrian Spillane are gone off the panel after only one of them getting 35 minutes of play in 3 games.

I suppose we'll have maher donnacha Walsh darran o'sullivan Morley Moran jod Star all to come back as well.

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 24/02/2018 09:20:57    2079628

If the young players keep performing they'll be kept there. Morley, Moran and JOD will all come back in if fit, Darren, Donnacha, Buckley, Young and Griffen might find it very hard to get back in to the starting 15 but time will tell. I would not be so quick to dispense with all of these experienced players. To say they have continually failed is harsh, they won an All Ireland in 2014 and have been narrowly defeated by an absolutely exceptional Dublin outfit on a number of occasions since. The Mayo games last year were bad, but I think some of that was down to preparation rather than personnel and there have been big backroom changes during the winter to try and address the issues.

I think we'll have minimum 3-4 new faces in the starting team later in the year, that's great progress as far as I am concerned. Foley, O'Beaglaoich and O'Shea have played there way in for me, and Burns also, although Donnacha will be looking for that jersey shortly. Clifford has been very good too but we need to see how he goes for the rest of the league. I'm very happy personally with where we are at.

GeniusGerry (Kerry) - Posts: 2105 - 24/02/2018 11:11:26    2079641

Replying To GeniusGerry:  "If the young players keep performing they'll be kept there. Morley, Moran and JOD will all come back in if fit, Darren, Donnacha, Buckley, Young and Griffen might find it very hard to get back in to the starting 15 but time will tell. I would not be so quick to dispense with all of these experienced players. To say they have continually failed is harsh, they won an All Ireland in 2014 and have been narrowly defeated by an absolutely exceptional Dublin outfit on a number of occasions since. The Mayo games last year were bad, but I think some of that was down to preparation rather than personnel and there have been big backroom changes during the winter to try and address the issues.

I think we'll have minimum 3-4 new faces in the starting team later in the year, that's great progress as far as I am concerned. Foley, O'Beaglaoich and O'Shea have played there way in for me, and Burns also, although Donnacha will be looking for that jersey shortly. Clifford has been very good too but we need to see how he goes for the rest of the league. I'm very happy personally with where we are at."
I don't know Gerry, 1 allireland in 9 years isn't really a lot of success in Kerry , I'd be very disappointed if we only have 4 young lads in the starting 15 come championship but unfortunately fitzmaurice will get scared and go back to doing what he does which be reactive rather than proactive and try not to get hammered by Dublin.

Fear is an awful thing, it's like a virus and it spreads like wildfire.

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 24/02/2018 11:43:33    2079652

Replying To KingdomBoy1:  "I don't know Gerry, 1 allireland in 9 years isn't really a lot of success in Kerry , I'd be very disappointed if we only have 4 young lads in the starting 15 come championship but unfortunately fitzmaurice will get scared and go back to doing what he does which be reactive rather than proactive and try not to get hammered by Dublin.

Fear is an awful thing, it's like a virus and it spreads like wildfire."
You can't turnover an entire team in one season and expect success either. It's a balancing act. We were all pleading for the youngsters to be put in and they are in, it's early days yet but if they keep developing and improving then it would make no sense to drop them. As above, I think 3-4 have already secured their place for the summer barring injury or a dramatic loss of form and the others continue to get opportunities to play. I really don't see any reason to be criticising the team selection at the moment.

What are the thoughts on Kelly coming back in? I suppose it's good to see them both but I was expecting him to stick with Murphy for the rest of the league. I really hope we are not back to this rotation nonsense.

GeniusGerry (Kerry) - Posts: 2105 - 24/02/2018 13:13:13    2079673

Replying To GeniusGerry:  "You can't turnover an entire team in one season and expect success either. It's a balancing act. We were all pleading for the youngsters to be put in and they are in, it's early days yet but if they keep developing and improving then it would make no sense to drop them. As above, I think 3-4 have already secured their place for the summer barring injury or a dramatic loss of form and the others continue to get opportunities to play. I really don't see any reason to be criticising the team selection at the moment.

What are the thoughts on Kelly coming back in? I suppose it's good to see them both but I was expecting him to stick with Murphy for the rest of the league. I really hope we are not back to this rotation nonsense."
Gerry I just hope we don't get to July and August with the same team as last year as we're going nowhere with that bunch.

And I'd have kept Murphy in goals , like you I'm not a fan of the rotation thing fitzs has going on.

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 24/02/2018 14:35:58    2079690

I hope fitzmaurice sticks with the young lads come the championship. The likes of maher, donnacha darren, donaghy,killian young,buckley, m geaney all going to struggle to get back in.

aidan64 (Kerry) - Posts: 665 - 24/02/2018 20:45:54    2079771

Replying To aidan64:  "I hope fitzmaurice sticks with the young lads come the championship. The likes of maher, donnacha darren, donaghy,killian young,buckley, m geaney all going to struggle to get back in."
Ya I agree 100% Aidan and I see cormac Coffey and jack savage are numbers 27 and 28 so basically gone off the panel as well just like Andrew Barry and Adrian Spillane.
Also no sign of Kevin Mac.

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 24/02/2018 21:03:41    2079787

Ok I know off topic but Tomas O'Se was unreal today boys

Horsebox77 (Kerry) - Posts: 5491 - 24/02/2018 23:46:11    2079873

Replying To Horsebox77:  "Ok I know off topic but Tomas O'Se was unreal today boys"
He was deadly horse and got a few points as well, it was great to see him flying up the field with that wonky solo of his :-)

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 25/02/2018 00:55:38    2079888

It's like a slow motion in the air solo with both feet off the ground but hey it works and he is rarely dispossessed - it was a great burst by Tomas that lead ton first goal - it would be some achievement to add a club all Ireland to the mix one feat not done by Darragh or Marc

Horsebox77 (Kerry) - Posts: 5491 - 25/02/2018 10:30:38    2079923