Where to next?

Replying To Horsebox77:  "Both Maher and Moran are a backward step no coldly I'd cull both - at this stage ye know I'm a big fan of Barry Sull he has greatly impressed me of late and his stint for the college beside the Na Gaeil man has done him no harm at all... no he has greatly impressed me they both have and I think their progressive style and ball winning ability as well as they direct style of play is exactly what we have been lacking and need - I feel Maher to a degree and Moran most definitely do not process this critical and vital commodity, Moran in particular would slow up the play and return us to this lateral passing football that has gotten us no where.....

They both too are well able and won't shy away from the dark side of midfield play - they are well able to mix it, Mayo was a case and point here - last year Moran was horsed out of it, both he and Maher for big men are "afraid of it" this was not repeated in Castlebar.....

Ok this week we are missing the two but no I wouldn't pump for Moran/Maher I'd be happier to see Brendan Sull, Enna O'Conner or Daithi picked there, of the 3 mentioned I would put those 3 in a second bracket and Adrain Spillane in first..... this is now if I was picking.. of course last year against Donegal we had Tadgh Morley at Midfield, another option is of course a fit Peter Crowley at 6 and Andrew Barry in midfield - Jack O'Conner picked the Tralee man over Barry Sullivan last year at U21 level if my memory serves me right.

So we have plenty options I just hope it's a progressive and not a regressive choice for Sunday"
Horse like you I wouldn't want to see Maher and Moran come back in as I think we need to go with youth but I can bet you any money you want that Moran will back in midfield for the championship barring injury.

Fitz has proved time and time again that when things start to get serious he'll revert to type and return to being ultra conservative, the fear grabs him tight and consumes him, and Barry O'sullivan won't be seen again when the ground firms up.

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 15/02/2018 00:12:25    2076953

Replying To KingdomBoy1:  "Horse like you I wouldn't want to see Maher and Moran come back in as I think we need to go with youth but I can bet you any money you want that Moran will back in midfield for the championship barring injury.

Fitz has proved time and time again that when things start to get serious he'll revert to type and return to being ultra conservative, the fear grabs him tight and consumes him, and Barry O'sullivan won't be seen again when the ground firms up."
Unfortunately I agree with you bit it's at the demise of progress

Horsebox77 (Kerry) - Posts: 5491 - 15/02/2018 09:06:42    2076977

Replying To Horsebox77:  "Unfortunately I agree with you bit it's at the demise of progress"
Ya he should keep with the youth now as it's the only chance we'll have to win the allireland this year.

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 15/02/2018 10:25:04    2077003

Replying To KingdomBoy1:  "Ya he should keep with the youth now as it's the only chance we'll have to win the allireland this year."
Jez I though that the first team selection against Donegal and the style of play adopted would tell a lot, but I think the choices that Fitz will make for next weekend and they choice to either be brave and be progressive or just revert to the tried and trusted will tell a lot ..... it will be interesting Friday's selection

Horsebox77 (Kerry) - Posts: 5491 - 15/02/2018 19:31:45    2077221

I'd be surprised I'd Moran and Barry isn't our midfield pairing for the championship but O'Sullivans emergence will have him looking over his shoulder for sure. The team selection in the coming weeks will be very interesting alright.

Was thinking a championship team through in my head yesterday and there are a lot of positions up for grabs. I don't think anybody outside of Geaney and Murphy is 100% sure of their place at this stage, possibly Sean O'Se now too unless his form deserts him. That's a good or a bad thing depending on how you look at it.

GeniusGerry (Kerry) - Posts: 2105 - 15/02/2018 20:45:39    2077245

Going to be an interesting three weeks that's for sure, tricky away match on Sunday and then going up against an impressive looking Galway side and the Dubs who are still doing their thing.

We'll get a good idea of the lay of the land with Kerry after this hectic run of games has ended.

Anyway I'm outta here for a few weeks, raging I'll now miss the next three games but it can't be helped. I'll look forward to reading what ye make of them lads. Enjoy!

TheHermit (Kerry) - Posts: 6354 - 15/02/2018 21:59:56    2077273

Replying To Horsebox77:  "Jez I though that the first team selection against Donegal and the style of play adopted would tell a lot, but I think the choices that Fitz will make for next weekend and they choice to either be brave and be progressive or just revert to the tried and trusted will tell a lot ..... it will be interesting Friday's selection"
Horse I don't think fitz will name a team tomorrow night as the program that was printed last week will probably be used this week and what ever changes that are to be made we'll probably find out before the game Sunday.

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 15/02/2018 22:04:04    2077277

Replying To TheHermit:  "Going to be an interesting three weeks that's for sure, tricky away match on Sunday and then going up against an impressive looking Galway side and the Dubs who are still doing their thing.

We'll get a good idea of the lay of the land with Kerry after this hectic run of games has ended.

Anyway I'm outta here for a few weeks, raging I'll now miss the next three games but it can't be helped. I'll look forward to reading what ye make of them lads. Enjoy!"
Safe trip Hermit

Horsebox77 (Kerry) - Posts: 5491 - 15/02/2018 22:05:44    2077278

Replying To TheHermit:  "Going to be an interesting three weeks that's for sure, tricky away match on Sunday and then going up against an impressive looking Galway side and the Dubs who are still doing their thing.

Anyway I'm outta here for a few weeks, raging I'll now miss the next three games but it can't be helped. I'll look forward to reading what ye make of them lads. Enjoy!"
Are you heading off on your holidays the hermit? If so then enjoy yourself and like you say we should have a fair idea of how things are going after these 3 games.

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 15/02/2018 22:06:56    2077279

Replying To GeniusGerry:  "I'd be surprised I'd Moran and Barry isn't our midfield pairing for the championship but O'Sullivans emergence will have him looking over his shoulder for sure. The team selection in the coming weeks will be very interesting alright.

Was thinking a championship team through in my head yesterday and there are a lot of positions up for grabs. I don't think anybody outside of Geaney and Murphy is 100% sure of their place at this stage, possibly Sean O'Se now too unless his form deserts him. That's a good or a bad thing depending on how you look at it."
Gerry do you really think Moran will looking over his shoulder during the summer? Cos I think he'll play every minute of every game barring injury and I'd say jack Barry and Barry o'sullivan Will fight it out for the number 9 shirt.

As for gaurenteed starters I'd say you can include Moran Peter Crowley and Morley to the two Paul's although Morley is going into his third year now and needs to stand up and become a leader like the two Paul's and Crowley.

In the forwards Mikey geaney and Stephen O'brien need to find some consistency but I'd be happy to see burns and O'Shea in there for scores.

As for jod I don't know what to say about him, he could have been one of the greatest Kerry forwards of all time but "injuries " I suppose got the better of him, he's 28 now and his time is really running out and he needs to get his act together.

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 16/02/2018 10:57:58    2077348

Well that team is a ringer.... sure 4 or 5 of them are unavailable

Horsebox77 (Kerry) - Posts: 5491 - 16/02/2018 21:39:03    2077512

Replying To KingdomBoy1:  "Gerry do you really think Moran will looking over his shoulder during the summer? Cos I think he'll play every minute of every game barring injury and I'd say jack Barry and Barry o'sullivan Will fight it out for the number 9 shirt.

As for gaurenteed starters I'd say you can include Moran Peter Crowley and Morley to the two Paul's although Morley is going into his third year now and needs to stand up and become a leader like the two Paul's and Crowley.

In the forwards Mikey geaney and Stephen O'brien need to find some consistency but I'd be happy to see burns and O'Shea in there for scores.

As for jod I don't know what to say about him, he could have been one of the greatest Kerry forwards of all time but "injuries " I suppose got the better of him, he's 28 now and his time is really running out and he needs to get his act together."
If Moran's form slips and O'Sullivan is coming in doing well then yes, he should be looking over his shoulder. Fitzmaurice might be reluctant to drop such a big name though as you rightly say. Either way, we have better options at midfield than last year.

Crowley will probably be starting at centre back but I wouldn't say Morley is guaranteed his starting spot when Brian O'Beaglaoich, Gavin Crowley and Tom O'Sullivan and Shanahan will all be looking for places come the summer. One of the above needs to play in the full back line, probably O'Beaglaoich, even though he is a much better half back. Killian Young might find it very tough to get back in, and who knows where Fionn fits. He is our captain and will be lucky to see any game time IMO.

GeniusGerry (Kerry) - Posts: 2105 - 16/02/2018 21:42:31    2077513

Replying To GeniusGerry:  "If Moran's form slips and O'Sullivan is coming in doing well then yes, he should be looking over his shoulder. Fitzmaurice might be reluctant to drop such a big name though as you rightly say. Either way, we have better options at midfield than last year.

Crowley will probably be starting at centre back but I wouldn't say Morley is guaranteed his starting spot when Brian O'Beaglaoich, Gavin Crowley and Tom O'Sullivan and Shanahan will all be looking for places come the summer. One of the above needs to play in the full back line, probably O'Beaglaoich, even though he is a much better half back. Killian Young might find it very tough to get back in, and who knows where Fionn fits. He is our captain and will be lucky to see any game time IMO."
Hi Gerry it bodes well and yes we have unearthed defenders and scoring half forwards the nail that was in our coffin last few years - we have and ok I know it's early doors but this midfield pairing is progressive to revert back to the Moran Maher axis would be a step in the wrong direction in my opinion

Horsebox77 (Kerry) - Posts: 5491 - 16/02/2018 22:26:08    2077521

Replying To Horsebox77:  "Hi Gerry it bodes well and yes we have unearthed defenders and scoring half forwards the nail that was in our coffin last few years - we have and ok I know it's early doors but this midfield pairing is progressive to revert back to the Moran Maher axis would be a step in the wrong direction in my opinion"
Oh I agree. Assuming everyone is available I think Jack Barry and Moran will be partners for the summer, with Maher / O'Sullivan to come in when needed. It's not a bad situation to be fair.

GeniusGerry (Kerry) - Posts: 2105 - 16/02/2018 23:48:42    2077540

Boys with all due respect I really want it to work out for Barry O'sullivan as he's a great young fella but lads he's too slow, he's grand this time of year when the sod is wet but come summer I'd go with Barry and maher if maher is available.

Barry O'sullivan is a great foot passer and has all the skills except speed.

Gerry 100% our midfield come summer is Moran and jack Barry.

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 17/02/2018 01:22:40    2077549

Game on TG4 at half five - you know I have to be honest here I think TG4 is unreal for sports coverage - the horsies, the Pro Rugby and the Gaa league and club action, the only blot in my opinion was the cancellation of Seò Sport

Horsebox77 (Kerry) - Posts: 5491 - 17/02/2018 09:01:44    2077563

Replying To Horsebox77:  "Game on TG4 at half five - you know I have to be honest here I think TG4 is unreal for sports coverage - the horsies, the Pro Rugby and the Gaa league and club action, the only blot in my opinion was the cancellation of Seò Sport"
It is fantastic horse and unfortunately they dropped seo sport as it was the best spots show on telly,

Also RTÉ should bring back sports stadium.

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 17/02/2018 10:37:42    2077585

Just a quick question lads, did I read somewhere that Michael Geaney was dropped from panel a while back?? Am I out of touch??

bernard3 (Kerry) - Posts: 106 - 17/02/2018 11:52:17    2077602

Just a quick question lads, did I read somewhere that Michael Geaney was dropped from panel a while back?? Am I out of touch??

bernard3 (Kerry) - Posts: 106 - 17/02/2018 11:52:39    2077604

Ya Bernard that was touted a bi5 ago but it transpired he was in the US , this is a knock on effect of the closed doors policy, something gets half mentioned and then it just grows legs.

Horsebox77 (Kerry) - Posts: 5491 - 17/02/2018 13:19:16    2077632