This is not Kerry football

I am of Kerry, like my father before me and my mother,
and my father's father and my mother's mother and every drop before,
And I look out on the Scellig, and I see the sun set on the Blasket,
and I hear the ripple of the Luane, and I smell fresh cut turf on the bogs of Lyreacrompane,
and I see the eagle over Knockanure, and the deer across Glencar.
And I am Kerry, like my fathers and Mothers before me,
And I know Sam Maguire calls this land home
And I know he will always return,

An Riocht Abu

TheHermit (Kerry) - Posts: 6354 - 27/08/2017 05:10:37    2038426

Replying To mayo_123:  "ref was brilliant"
didnt think you were so fond of him in other years.

jobber (Westmeath) - Posts: 1457 - 27/08/2017 05:49:57    2038427

Replying To TheHermit:  "I am of Kerry, like my father before me and my mother,
and I hear the ripple of the Luane, and I smell fresh cut turf on the bogs of Lyreacrompane,

An Riocht Abu"
I like that. It speaks to a deeper understanding of who you are. I like it.

seanie_boy (Tyrone) - Posts: 4235 - 27/08/2017 06:35:26    2038434

To be fair to the ref he did alright in the circumstances.

He could have handed out a lot more cards.

Mayo were excellent and Kerry were very poor.

Kerry let themselves down as well,none more so than Donaghy.

I'd say that Fitzmaurice will be exiting the scene shortly.

Moyle (Tipperary) - Posts: 86 - 27/08/2017 08:25:19    2038447

Replying To TheHermit:  "37 ALL IRELANS, THAT's KERRY FOOTBALL. Enjoy your petty name calling chumps"
Wow, that argument was so clear and full of so many good points I can't possibly think of a reply, you addressed all the points so clearly....

Iamlegion666 (Monaghan) - Posts: 285 - 27/08/2017 08:34:41    2038451

Its late August and with another semi final to go either Tyrone or Dublin are going to be loosers today its in the melting pot and plenty of scope for either county to have egg on their face or unravel as Kerry did yesterday.

Kerry are fantastic competitors, consistently there or thereabouts year after year. Its a lean period but after living through our own, i know it doesn't matter really outside opinions the harshest criticism will be their own.

Everything in context yesterday was a semi final, Mayo have won nothing yet, nor Dublin or Tyrone (albeit provincial honors). Indeed Mayo could finish with no silverware to show this year at all.

Kerry have won a national title and a Munster title and contributed to a brilliant game in Croke Park that day. The minors will be in Croker on the third Sun (hopefully against the Dubs) and their is great hope there. If a balance can be struck between youth and experience and a core philosophy developed - i get the sense that Fitz tries to mimic what is working for other counties, you would expect Kerry to be having a say in this era over the next few years.

We look forward to seeing you and welcoming you again in the biggest days when football is played, head high and chest out lads.

TheUsername (Dublin) - Posts: 4445 - 27/08/2017 09:13:19    2038461

Replying To offyertrolley:  "Replying to westkerry

Really? Get over yourself. You made your point quite clearly, and if you had omitted that condescending little swipe you chose to add, then there would not have been any post from me. I stated my admiration for Kerry football as have a lot of people on here. And the general consensus is that they were poor today. But you very deliberately chose to insert that cliche to convey a very specific image of the limitations of other county teams, in general, which clearly reflects your attitude. Your words, not mine. Now, you chose to make that swipe, not in a verbal exchange, but through the medium of text. Yet, you managed to mangle that sarcastic little swipe so badly that you left yourself open to a little ridicule. I too, quite clearly have limitations with my grammar, so be it. The point was not about English grammar, but dignity in defeat. Don't start 'poor mouthing'. You are from the most successful footballing county on the island. Your whingeing is akin to one of those rich bankers complaining about the recession! It happens to us all. I stand by my original point."
How am I playing the poor mouth or whinging about the result ?
The result was never in doubt yesterday and the best team won by a mile.
I was defending my county from the usual abuse we take after a defeat.
Regardless of what county you originate from your opinion is equal to the next regardless of history or success in the game, I was simply making the point that some should look at the state of their own county team before sticking the boot into Kerry.

westkerry (Kerry) - Posts: 1250 - 27/08/2017 09:14:05    2038462

Replying To TheHermit:  "37 ALL IRELANS, THAT's KERRY FOOTBALL. Enjoy your petty name calling chumps"
I think someone needs to cut down on the gargle.

Dubsfan28 (Dublin) - Posts: 2509 - 27/08/2017 09:33:34    2038472

I echo your sentiments on the pundits seanie_boy. If this was a game involving 2 other teams it would have had a much different narrative attached. It will be interesting to see what the take is on the Sunday Game tonight in a match with 3 red, 2 black and a lot of yellows including a lot of ugly scenes.
Will the Kieran Donaghy punch be zoomed in on and played over and over again? Will Darren O'Sullivans intimidating approach to the linesman be brought up? Will both teams pulling and dragging off the ball be highlighted (I counted 3 frees given to Mayo where Kerry players were fouling off the ball).
Whats good for one analysis is good for another.

keithlemon (Australia) - Posts: 920 - 27/08/2017 09:43:05    2038474

After today's game yesterday's carry on will seem like mild turbulence:) But regardless, if the Dubs do come through Whelan's microscope will come out for Mayo on the SG and we can expect a thorough bit of forensics, with the vague hint of educating the officials. I'm sure he'll try to maintain the illusion of balance, so the Kingdom won't get off the hook, but there won't be much profit in pushing that too far except to patronize them a bit. If the game today turns into a torrid affair and Dublin lose, then Tyrone bashing will be back with a bang (if it ever went away you know?) and our lads will be elevated to sainthood. Saints we're not... no team who wants to win Sam can be under the present rules and officiating. Besides these are physical contact sports, so that's the culture and officials are damned if they do or they don't.

Whatever, I'm going to enjoy today and the prospect that both sides will knock the living crap out of eachother!

Pericles (Mayo) - Posts: 2521 - 27/08/2017 10:03:07    2038481

Topics like this amuse me. If you are going to be holier than thou and preach to all but live in a glasshouse then don't be annoyed when the stones come flying back and hit you on the head. What happened yesterday wasn't an anomaly, a Halleys Comet or the cherished blue moon. If the fine people of Kerry wish to vent then turn towards Mssr Spillane and let it out as he has a lot to answer for in regards to the pedestal he put youse on as the purveyors of pure football.

Offside_Rule (Antrim) - Posts: 4058 - 27/08/2017 10:36:36    2038497

Replying To TheUsername:  "Its late August and with another semi final to go either Tyrone or Dublin are going to be loosers today its in the melting pot and plenty of scope for either county to have egg on their face or unravel as Kerry did yesterday.

Kerry are fantastic competitors, consistently there or thereabouts year after year. Its a lean period but after living through our own, i know it doesn't matter really outside opinions the harshest criticism will be their own.

Everything in context yesterday was a semi final, Mayo have won nothing yet, nor Dublin or Tyrone (albeit provincial honors). Indeed Mayo could finish with no silverware to show this year at all.

Kerry have won a national title and a Munster title and contributed to a brilliant game in Croke Park that day. The minors will be in Croker on the third Sun (hopefully against the Dubs) and their is great hope there. If a balance can be struck between youth and experience and a core philosophy developed - i get the sense that Fitz tries to mimic what is working for other counties, you would expect Kerry to be having a say in this era over the next few years.

We look forward to seeing you and welcoming you again in the biggest days when football is played, head high and chest out lads."
Good post Username, Kerry will be back, maybe sooner than people think. The league win covered over some big issues in our team but there is no hiding from it after yesterday. It may be a blessing in disguise as it will likely force some much needed change.

I, along with others have been saying for some time that this is the weakest Kerry panel in a generation. We need at least two new faces in the full back line and two more in the half forward line, and ideally a new midfielder. We need to add pace throughout and come up with a defensive system suited to the players we have. There may be no All Ireland for a while and the supporters can live with that once we see progress.

Eamon will admit himself that he got things badly wrong yesterday and there will be plenty of others sticking the boot in so I'm not going to. There is something missing in that backroom team in general though. Players didn't look as strong, fit or as sharp as Mayo. Maybe it's just the extra games they have played but bit of a shake up in the management team might be no harm at this stage.

GeniusGerry (Kerry) - Posts: 2105 - 27/08/2017 10:58:24    2038507

If this thread was like the game yesterday thehermit would have lashed out and been sent off by now

;)

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20600 - 27/08/2017 11:57:52    2038519

An Riocht Abu"
But he'll pay a visit next door, sometimes, to where his ancestors came from.

Midleton (Cork) - Posts: 643 - 27/08/2017 12:15:57    2038528

An Riocht Abu"
I am of Limerick, the Wife is from Kerry
being married to me is not very merry.....
She has learned Humility through my misery and tears, as I watch my county lose all throughout the years..
She may be from Kerry but this much I know, she'd never write sh##e like that^ or stoop so low,
having delusions of grandeur based on where she's from,
her sense of herself based on what other men have won..
So to all those Kerry lads hurting this day.......

This is all I really can say.
Theres nothing bad that could be worse.
You could be from Limerick, which is worse than Mayos curse.. :)

skillet (Limerick) - Posts: 1062 - 27/08/2017 12:29:28    2038537

Replying To jimbodub:  "If this thread was like the game yesterday thehermit would have lashed out and been sent off by now

;)"
Lap it up while you can wee man

TheHermit (Kerry) - Posts: 6354 - 27/08/2017 12:38:39    2038540

Replying To TheHermit:  "Lap it up while you can wee man"
Not lapping up anything chief

Hard luck but stop the poetry reading crap FFS...

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20600 - 27/08/2017 12:42:02    2038542

Replying To jimbodub:  "Not lapping up anything chief

Hard luck but stop the poetry reading crap FFS..."
Oh really that's why you've crawled out from under the rock yesterday to start you petty little threads. Funny how you weren't on here for the 3 weeks before after being told off by the admin over your comments on Kerry. But once we are down you come back out in all your glory.

PS At least I know some poetry wee man

TheHermit (Kerry) - Posts: 6354 - 27/08/2017 13:06:15    2038562

Replying To Pericles:  "After today's game yesterday's carry on will seem like mild turbulence:) But regardless, if the Dubs do come through Whelan's microscope will come out for Mayo on the SG and we can expect a thorough bit of forensics, with the vague hint of educating the officials. I'm sure he'll try to maintain the illusion of balance, so the Kingdom won't get off the hook, but there won't be much profit in pushing that too far except to patronize them a bit. If the game today turns into a torrid affair and Dublin lose, then Tyrone bashing will be back with a bang (if it ever went away you know?) and our lads will be elevated to sainthood. Saints we're not... no team who wants to win Sam can be under the present rules and officiating. Besides these are physical contact sports, so that's the culture and officials are damned if they do or they don't.

Whatever, I'm going to enjoy today and the prospect that both sides will knock the living crap out of eachother!"
when tyrone win today watch for the numerous threads, tweets, column inches and phone ins in the southern media, especially around the d4 area and watch the hyperbole coming from that plonker Whelan and venom against the tyrone lads and spillane making out Kerry were angels yesterday and puke football has returned with a new level as for brolly, well he just goes with the winners on the day

bulmccabe (Tyrone) - Posts: 361 - 27/08/2017 13:14:29    2038566

Replying To skillet:  "I am of Limerick, the Wife is from Kerry
being married to me is not very merry.....
She has learned Humility through my misery and tears, as I watch my county lose all throughout the years..
She may be from Kerry but this much I know, she'd never write sh##e like that^ or stoop so low,
having delusions of grandeur based on where she's from,
her sense of herself based on what other men have won..
So to all those Kerry lads hurting this day.......

This is all I really can say.
Theres nothing bad that could be worse.
You could be from Limerick, which is worse than Mayos curse.. :)"
Your wife sounds like a lovely woman, God bless here for putting up with you, your not a Kerryman so you'll never understand anything about it

TheHermit (Kerry) - Posts: 6354 - 27/08/2017 13:25:45    2038570