Development of Tuam Stadium

Would agree 100 percent. So embarrassing as a Galway man. Not withstanding the appallingly behavior of the Stewart's the place is an eyesore, a kip. It should be sold off. Great result though!!

handpassking (Galway) - Posts: 433 - 26/11/2017 21:15:27    2063675

It's not really fit for purpose for any big match at all these days unfortunately. Al least the pitch was good at one time but even that looks in poor enough condition at the moment.

Marooned (Galway) - Posts: 2225 - 26/11/2017 22:06:20    2063679

That was embarrassing!

MTS (Galway) - Posts: 279 - 27/11/2017 08:05:45    2063714

Replying To handpassking:  "Would agree 100 percent. So embarrassing as a Galway man. Not withstanding the appallingly behavior of the Stewart's the place is an eyesore, a kip. It should be sold off. Great result though!!"
Just to clarify what happened, Both teams were told as usual with every team to conduct their warm ups behind the dressing rooms on the designated warm up area so as not to cut up the pitch doing drills, Corofin did so , Castlebar decided they wouldnt and went out on the pitch. The stewards had the gate locked and were trying to ask an official why they werent using the warm up area but the Mayo lads didnt hang around and jumped the wall and warmed up out on the pitch. Corofin came out later and the gates were opened for them. Again the conditions of the pitch was fine if you want to see a bad pitch look at the nemo Crokes game played yesterday, strips of pure mud running from the goal right down the middle of the pitch, no grass whatsoever.. The people that packed the Stand in Tuam yesterday were well glad it was there, Trust me..

Belclare1 (Galway) - Posts: 1626 - 27/11/2017 08:16:56    2063715

Replying To Belclare1:  "Just to clarify what happened, Both teams were told as usual with every team to conduct their warm ups behind the dressing rooms on the designated warm up area so as not to cut up the pitch doing drills, Corofin did so , Castlebar decided they wouldnt and went out on the pitch. The stewards had the gate locked and were trying to ask an official why they werent using the warm up area but the Mayo lads didnt hang around and jumped the wall and warmed up out on the pitch. Corofin came out later and the gates were opened for them. Again the conditions of the pitch was fine if you want to see a bad pitch look at the nemo Crokes game played yesterday, strips of pure mud running from the goal right down the middle of the pitch, no grass whatsoever.. The people that packed the Stand in Tuam yesterday were well glad it was there, Trust me.."
Let's also clarify that this designated warm up area behind the dressing room is on a concrete surface with pebbles.

In this day and GAA age, what team should be expected to warm up on bloody concrete? Castlebar were well within their right to jump out onto the pitch.

FallenStar (Galway) - Posts: 415 - 27/11/2017 10:54:34    2063739

Replying To FallenStar:  "Let's also clarify that this designated warm up area behind the dressing room is on a concrete surface with pebbles.

In this day and GAA age, what team should be expected to warm up on bloody concrete? Castlebar were well within their right to jump out onto the pitch."
And yet Corofin had no such problems warming up where they were supposed to do so. Just as well Corofin won yesterday or you'd no doubt be finding something else to complain about.

Ailteoir (Galway) - Posts: 864 - 27/11/2017 11:29:37    2063743

Replying To FallenStar:  "Let's also clarify that this designated warm up area behind the dressing room is on a concrete surface with pebbles.

In this day and GAA age, what team should be expected to warm up on bloody concrete? Castlebar were well within their right to jump out onto the pitch."
Fallen star, you need to come home now and again and pop your head down there and see that work is been prepped for a start in the new year, If you have nothing nice to say about your home town pitch say nothing at all..

Belclare1 (Galway) - Posts: 1626 - 27/11/2017 12:42:28    2063759

Replying To Belclare1:  "Fallen star, you need to come home now and again and pop your head down there and see that work is been prepped for a start in the new year, If you have nothing nice to say about your home town pitch say nothing at all.."
My home pitch would be on the Dublin Road ;)

FallenStar (Galway) - Posts: 415 - 27/11/2017 12:58:27    2063762

Replying To Ailteoir:  "And yet Corofin had no such problems warming up where they were supposed to do so. Just as well Corofin won yesterday or you'd no doubt be finding something else to complain about."
The oul Stars cynic within me is more inclined to complain because Corofin won ;) jokes aside the better team is in the last four, scoreline flattered Castlebar in the end.

You can't blame Castlebar for wanting to warm up on the pitch however. If you think there is something wrong with a team refusing to warm up on concrete, regardless of what others do or how about pitch is faring, then that shows what little time you have for health & safety or player welfare.

FallenStar (Galway) - Posts: 415 - 27/11/2017 13:09:37    2063764

Replying To Ailteoir:  "And yet Corofin had no such problems warming up where they were supposed to do so. Just as well Corofin won yesterday or you'd no doubt be finding something else to complain about."
From memory ,I think its woodchip thats at the back of the dressing rooms. Its been that way for the last year and while slightly annoying because its tight for 2 teams ,most teams have endured same,

fairplay4ever (Galway) - Posts: 417 - 27/11/2017 13:17:54    2063768

Replying To FallenStar:  "The oul Stars cynic within me is more inclined to complain because Corofin won ;) jokes aside the better team is in the last four, scoreline flattered Castlebar in the end.

You can't blame Castlebar for wanting to warm up on the pitch however. If you think there is something wrong with a team refusing to warm up on concrete, regardless of what others do or how about pitch is faring, then that shows what little time you have for health & safety or player welfare."
It's a gas you're on about health and safety and player welfare. I'm assuming that both teams given the recent weather were asked not to go on the pitch beforehand so the pitch wouldn't cut up any more. If so, seems reasonable enough to me. But clearly not to you. Just as well therefore a Castlebar player didn't injure themselves in their warm-up as you'd be giving out about that as well.

Ailteoir (Galway) - Posts: 864 - 27/11/2017 15:02:36    2063790

Castlebar didnt come out at 1.35 to do there warm-up, they obviously did use the warm up area and wanted to do a bit on the pitch..I dont know how ppl can defend not letting a team onto a pitch less than half an hour before throw in

tommy132 (Mayo) - Posts: 606 - 28/11/2017 09:49:48    2063864

Replying To tommy132:  "Castlebar didnt come out at 1.35 to do there warm-up, they obviously did use the warm up area and wanted to do a bit on the pitch..I dont know how ppl can defend not letting a team onto a pitch less than half an hour before throw in"
Tommy, I don't think the officials had an agenda here. More than likely a decision was taken by senior officials to save the pitch for "match time", in view of the heavy rainfall the previous two weeks.

The match itself was a credit to both teams, played with style and spirit. But I suppose the only good that comes out of it is, it highlights the deteriorated state of the grand old stadium and the urgent need for us as supporters to show pride, and restore her to her former glory.

"Pudge" Dwyer was recently interviewed by Connact Tribune, and the plan is to develop an 18,000 seated stadium, which will be capable, and have facilities to host Connacht championship matches v Mayo - don't know what he has against Ros/Sligo etc. lol...

Really (Galway) - Posts: 594 - 29/11/2017 10:19:33    2063968

Replying To Really:  "Tommy, I don't think the officials had an agenda here. More than likely a decision was taken by senior officials to save the pitch for "match time", in view of the heavy rainfall the previous two weeks.

The match itself was a credit to both teams, played with style and spirit. But I suppose the only good that comes out of it is, it highlights the deteriorated state of the grand old stadium and the urgent need for us as supporters to show pride, and restore her to her former glory.

"Pudge" Dwyer was recently interviewed by Connact Tribune, and the plan is to develop an 18,000 seated stadium, which will be capable, and have facilities to host Connacht championship matches v Mayo - don't know what he has against Ros/Sligo etc. lol..."
In fairness the officials did the right thing, fair play to them.

A 18,000 seated stadium !! utter madness. Why build a 18k stadium that will be full at best once every two years ? presuming no championship matches are ever held in Pearse Stadium again which is unlikely ?

Why not develop it by improving the pitch, add flood lights, seating for 4 k max and standing for another 6k. North Galway badly needs a venue for playing matches under lights. With the money left over spend it on improving the standard of coaching etc

devrandom (Galway) - Posts: 75 - 29/11/2017 13:08:39    2064006

Lets be honest warming up on concrete/wood chippings is not acceptable for a provincial final. The fact of the matter is that Tuam Stadium is not fit for purpose and until facilities are improved it shouldn't be used regardless of the great history it has.

Goalie2016 (Mayo) - Posts: 36 - 29/11/2017 15:54:12    2064030

Replying To FallenStar:  "As if the concession services would be any better in Tuam Stadium lol

Then there's the traffic whingers. They didn't care when people from Connemara had longer journeys as long as it didn't affect them. Its unacceptable they have to endure it now."
I noted today that no grant was received from the Sports capital programme for the work on the dressing rooms in Tuam as was hoped for.

Connemaraman (Galway) - Posts: 106 - 29/11/2017 21:19:29    2064063

Replying To Connemaraman:  "I noted today that no grant was received from the Sports capital programme for the work on the dressing rooms in Tuam as was hoped for."
Club awards just posted- will take another 2 weeks for Regional awards to come on stream...

Really (Galway) - Posts: 594 - 30/11/2017 00:01:30    2064070

Fair play to 'thestewards' here, for adhering to schedule last Sunday.

Pope_Benedict (Galway) - Posts: 3502 - 30/11/2017 17:08:11    2064144

Fantastic news just now that Tuam Stadium has been granted over 110,000 euro for the development work by the capital regional funding program..This along with over 140,000 approx raised by the DAFTS group will go along way in rebuilding work which will now start in the new year, small steps but very significant ones...

Belclare1 (Galway) - Posts: 1626 - 21/12/2017 10:25:43    2065756

Replying To Belclare1:  "Fantastic news just now that Tuam Stadium has been granted over 110,000 euro for the development work by the capital regional funding program..This along with over 140,000 approx raised by the DAFTS group will go along way in rebuilding work which will now start in the new year, small steps but very significant ones..."
Yee might invest in a few stewards that specialize in opening gates then;)

galwayfan (None) - Posts: 764 - 21/12/2017 11:06:10    2065762